14 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

DIY stompboxes!

rioven
post Apr 13 2006, 01:54 AM

975 posts

bout wah switch..can we get at jalan pasar??
MetalZone
post Apr 13 2006, 01:58 AM

2,515 posts

What type of PCB did u guys need???

btw nick_drake... hehe u need to brush up on ur soldering skills. from the looks of it make sure they dont dribble to the other threads or you may get a short circuit. dont worry though. practice makes perfect. just make sure the soldering tip is clean, put the tip at the corner of the leg and the PCB, then just touch a little solder into the corner and done.

This post has been edited by MetalZone: Apr 13 2006, 02:02 AM
sean392
post Apr 13 2006, 02:11 AM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

we had a soldering gun
and the tip wasnt hot =/ the sides were lol
MetalZone
post Apr 13 2006, 02:21 AM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(sean392 @ Apr 13 2006, 02:11 AM)
we had a soldering gun
and the tip wasnt hot =/ the sides were lol
soldering gun eh. i assume not the type that dispenses the solder as well.
is the tip clear silver colour or issit black? if its black you need to scrape it off or clean with flux.
tell me about burning urself on the soldering iron... i've encountered that countless of times LOL.
TSnick_drake
post Apr 13 2006, 10:15 AM

1,449 posts

QUOTE(rioven @ Apr 13 2006, 01:54 AM)
bout wah switch..can we get at jalan pasar??
dont really know abt that. wah switch? is it any regular dpdt switch?

QUOTE(MetalZone @ Apr 13 2006, 01:58 AM)
What type of PCB did u guys need???

btw nick_drake... hehe u need to brush up on ur soldering skills. from the looks of it make sure they dont dribble to the other threads or you may get a short circuit. dont worry though. practice makes perfect. just make sure the soldering tip is clean, put the tip at the corner of the leg and the PCB, then just touch a little solder into the corner and done.
we needed a perfboard, where the copper dots beneath are not connected to one another. this Printed Circuit Board we soldered on, is the wrong one. its used for some other purpose. blink.gif

yeah, my soldering sucks. partially due to the 'not fresh' iron.

sean's one looked much better.

now need to get a perfboard.
led_zep_freak
post Apr 13 2006, 10:17 AM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(sean392 @ Apr 13 2006, 01:29 AM)
we both phailed

led_zep ur our last hope
lol
need to get another board
the pcb is THE FCKIN WRONG BOARD
AND THE JALAN PASAR LADY CON OUR MONEY
What the????? LET'S GO BACK WITH 3 SOLDERING GUNS!!! mad.gif vmad.gif mad.gif vmad.gif
TSnick_drake
post Apr 13 2006, 10:22 AM

1,449 posts

QUOTE(led_zep_freak @ Apr 13 2006, 10:17 AM)
What the????? LET'S GO BACK WITH 3 SOLDERING GUNS!!! mad.gif  vmad.gif  mad.gif  vmad.gif
more like we were, inexperienced. they say , knowledge is power. we had no knowledge. no power. blink.gif

nvm. ill go down alone and get the stuff for u guys. sean is going to pop by wohfatt soon and ask if they have switches.

the dpdt's, terpaksa order online.

http://www.smallbearelec.com/Detail.bok?no=24 this one's the cheapest. 3.75.but shipping kills. if we have anyone living in the states we cld tumpang them.

OR

http://www.diystompboxes.com/cart/int.htm which evo.com suggested.

its a total of $14.10 for two 3PDT switches, INCLUDING delivary internationally. delivary is 80 cents a pop, switch is 6.25 a pop.

difference between 3pdt and dpdt?

uhm..in my own non technical words, its much easier to do a true bypass with led with the 3pdt, whereas u have to go through some kinda small 'millenium bypass' circuit to include an led in ur DPDT.

rclxub.gif

we're not giving up arn't we?

flex.gif
evo.com
post Apr 13 2006, 11:59 AM

2,234 posts

smallbearselectronics is good... thats where i get most of my parts from...
just organise a bulk purchase....

its always better to try everything out on a breadboard 1st....
get a desoldering gun.... its not that expensive

also its good to get a digitalmeter... that way you can find the faults and stuff easily

i failed twice before i got mine working and thats only the clean boost pedal..lol
i was half way through my fuzz pedal when i had to go back to msia... when i came back i just couldnt find the time to work on it anymore.
im on my easter holidays now so i would probably drop by frequently for the next 2 weeks.....
finally there are some peeps here who are into DIY stuff smile.gif thumbup.gif
dont give up!!! for the sake of malaysia we need more DIYers
failure is the mother of success.......haahhaha
chanti-sama
post Apr 13 2006, 01:05 PM

710 posts

QUOTE(nick_drake @ Apr 13 2006, 10:22 AM)
more like we were, inexperienced. they say , knowledge is power. we had no knowledge. no power.  blink.gif
nvm. ill go down alone and get the stuff for u guys. sean is going to pop by wohfatt soon and ask if they have switches.

the dpdt's, terpaksa order online.

http://www.smallbearelec.com/Detail.bok?no=24 this one's the cheapest. 3.75.but shipping kills. if we have anyone living in the states we cld tumpang them.

OR

http://www.diystompboxes.com/cart/int.htm which evo.com suggested.

its a total of $14.10 for two 3PDT switches, INCLUDING delivary internationally. delivary is 80 cents a pop, switch is 6.25 a pop.

difference between 3pdt and dpdt?

uhm..in my own non technical words, its much easier to do a true bypass with led with the 3pdt, whereas u have to go through some kinda small 'millenium bypass' circuit to include an led in ur DPDT.

rclxub.gif

we're not giving up arn't we?

flex.gif
totally agree with the shipping for those DPDT switches. i think so far that's the hardest to find. went through the entire jln pasar, was told that they dont stock them anymore, only those plasticky ones.

long live DIY and cheap effects!
sean392
post Apr 13 2006, 02:12 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(chanti-sama @ Apr 13 2006, 01:05 PM)
totally agree with the shipping for those DPDT switches. i think so far that's the hardest to find. went through the entire jln pasar, was told that they dont stock them anymore, only those plasticky ones.

long live DIY and cheap effects!
holy shi-
very similar experience
infact
exactly the same experience
went through entire jalan pasar
only got *gh3y* plastic ones
TSnick_drake
post Apr 13 2006, 04:22 PM

1,449 posts

hmm...looks like we're not alone... i feel much better that way.

yes evo.com, for the sake of whatever we're trying to achieve, we need more people coming together and sharing their info and knowledge. everyone does their bit... smile.gif

a question for you evo.com, while your're still around online.
the 3PDT at aron's is almost double the price of the regular smallbearelec's DPDT. which should we go for? im thinking of dpdt, to save costs, cause the millenium bypass can be built cheaply. but the delivary for the smallbear dpdt's cost a bomb. whereas aron's 3PDT's are much more reasonable with international delivary.

or we could just order dpdt's and hook up with any relatives there who are coming back to malaysia in a while.

btw, the jalan pasar people are a tad notorious aren't they? hahhaha..well..just like any street..

EDIT: btw evo, its alright to de-solder the parts again right? they wont be damaged by heat or de-soldering right? dont wanna waste the parts soldered wrongly on the pcb. smile.gif

This post has been edited by nick_drake: Apr 13 2006, 05:30 PM
MoNnY
post Apr 13 2006, 10:23 PM

Ooooo... Now I know how to change this
4,423 posts

we do a small bulk la.. i also wanna do my own pedals..
and dudes, soldering gun where got nice ?
must use iron.. i'm kinda good at soldering...
but my iron kinda busted.. will have to get a new one...
u guys want help ?

oh and u can desolder it just make sure u dun burn the PCB...

This post has been edited by MoNnY: Apr 13 2006, 10:25 PM
chanti-sama
post Apr 14 2006, 01:33 AM

710 posts

doing a bulk sounds like a good idea.
count me in.
TSnick_drake
post Apr 14 2006, 12:18 PM

1,449 posts

okay...a bulk it shall be. DPDT or 3PDT's?

ill paste up the prices soon here.
TSnick_drake
post Apr 14 2006, 12:35 PM

1,449 posts

SMALL BEAR electronics DPDT

cheapest i can see there.. http://www.smallbearelec.com/Detail.bok?no=24

Switch - Taiwan X-Wing DPDT
SKU: 0204

PRICE: $3.75 (10+ $3.50) (25+ $3.25) (50+ $2.95) (100+ $2.75) (250+ $2.50)

international delivary is somewhere around $10. local usa delivery is around 5-6.

forget about the 3PDT's there. way too expensive. 10 bucks.

ARON's 3PDT http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=Post...&f=107&t=271721

Shipping costs to other countries is $1.60 for two switches via USPS First Class Air Mail and usually take about 4-14 days after being shipped
The total cost is $14.10 for a pair of switches.

if in aron's case..we dont need a bulk. unless we can personally email him , to bulk all our switches in one order..to save shipping... blink.gif

shouta
post Apr 14 2006, 06:34 PM

78 posts

haiyo... thats y i asked whether u all have done the PCB
u guys got the wrong type.. nvm let me share abit.. i am not a pro in this but i am an engineering student..

the right 1 should be made of 2 layers.. a layer of copper and a layer of plastic..

Introduction to the making of PCB
- basicly you are to draw on the copper layer.. the drawn lines will add a carbon layer or equivalent on top of the copperlayer... then the dip the PCB into acid.. where the copperlayer without the layer of carbon will be removed.. and leave only your desired conductor lines..

note : in this case u will leave the drawing of lines to the phototstat machine.. and the transfer the drawing into the board through a plastic transparency.. by using an iron (for ironing clothes)

Guide to making a PCB
1. print out the PCB layout from your respective source..

an example of a PCB layout
[attachmentid=102031]

DO NOT resize it.. just print it out in a normal A4 sized paper first.. make sure that your printer ink depth is dark enough.

2. u may need 2 transparancies for this step... (or u may cut the 1 transparancy into 2 to save $$). Photostat the PCB layout on the 1st transparency.. then inverse the 1st transparency and photostat the layout again into the 2nd transparency.. your final outcome in the 2nd transparency should be a mirror image of the original layout... in anycase of this step make sure that the ink depth is dark enough n make sure that there is no missing lines or so...

3. Transfer the PCB layout drawing from the 2nd transparency onto the PCB board.
put the 2nd transparency on top of the PCB board.. and then a piece of newspaper on top of the transparency... make sure your iron is heated up... then begin ironing... if you are doing well... the carbon on the transparency should be transfered onto the PCB board... and when u should be able to see a dark light reflective carbon layer.. otherwise use a marker pen n redraw the lines.

note : any missing lines at this point may be crucial.. but if there are some slight disconnects, u may join them back by using a marker pen..

4. Once u are satisfied.. dip the board into acid.. (not sure how dense the acid should be.... hehe).. i would say thick enough to wash away the copperlayer lo..

5. Drill holes.. the holes are for component legs

-End of the guide-

Hope this will help =)

TSnick_drake
post Apr 14 2006, 07:59 PM

1,449 posts

thanks, read thru the whole thing. that sure is a LOT of work!

nowonder they sell ready to solder pcb's at such a price.

thanks for your input, appreciated.

MetalZone
post Apr 15 2006, 02:54 AM

2,515 posts

I'd prefer to go for the 3PDT at http://www.diystompboxes.com/cart/int.htm

but if this is the case dont actually need bulk order.

btw, depending on the complexity of your circuit and your brain capacity (LOL) you can go with the current PCB you got if you know how to rearange them to utilise it.

QUOTE(shouta @ Apr 14 2006, 06:34 PM)
2. u may need 2 transparancies for this step... (or u may cut the 1 transparancy    into 2 to save $$). Photostat the PCB layout on the 1st transparency.. then inverse the 1st transparency and photostat the layout again into the 2nd transparency.. your final outcome in the 2nd transparency should be a mirror image of the original layout... in anycase of this step make sure that the ink depth is dark enough n make sure that there is no missing lines or so...
actually you dont need to waste one transparency to invert the circuit printout. there's such a thing called graphics editing. lol. just mirror it in the computer before you print out.

This post has been edited by MetalZone: Apr 15 2006, 03:01 AM
TSnick_drake
post Apr 15 2006, 11:38 PM

1,449 posts

okay guys, just went to wohfatt today.

DPDT stompswitch(they call it wah switch) is at rm20 per piece.
i asked them if i order bulk , any special price.
best is, 10 pieces above, rm.18.50 a pop.

not much difference man. blink.gif

but , phew, finally a place where there are switches..even tho not 3PDT.
sean392
post Apr 15 2006, 11:49 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(nick_drake @ Apr 15 2006, 11:38 PM)
okay guys, just went to wohfatt today.

DPDT stompswitch(they call it wah switch) is at rm20 per piece.
i asked them if i order bulk , any special price.
best is, 10 pieces above, rm.18.50 a pop.

not much difference man. blink.gif

but , phew, finally a place where there are switches..even tho not 3PDT.
in total right
is it any more cheaper or expensive than ordering online ?

14 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0231sec    1.69    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 04:41 AM