23 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Car Care and Detailing [V2], LYN Automotive Detailing Thread

TSKrisMas
post Mar 26 2013, 09:53 AM

Exept for 21st, any Sundays in the months of April is fine with me.....if Sundays not approriate and want to make it on Saturdays then I'd need to make prior arrangements cuz my kids got Taekwondo class in the morning....not a big problem though....
TSKrisMas
post Mar 26 2013, 01:10 PM

QUOTE(GRexer @ Mar 26 2013, 10:20 AM)
If nobody can bring along a DA, I could bring my Meguairs G220v2 along if the date is set and I could make it.
Long time no see bro. Of course la....I was going to borrow the one from Alvin...but if you can make it then no need to do that la.

QUOTE(acefreakz @ Mar 26 2013, 10:32 AM)
ahhhh wax by hand damn tiring larrrr -.- is there good tools to recommend? biggrin.gif
For waxing only....the B&D or any cheap random orbital buffer would do tongue.gif (preferably with velcro backing plate la).
TSKrisMas
post Mar 26 2013, 04:52 PM

QUOTE(GRexer @ Mar 26 2013, 02:20 PM)
Hm.. Alvin? From Megs? I need to see the date first, I'm currently no longer based in Klang Valley so I need to see how the arrangement goes.
Oooppss....sorry. I don't think you know Alvin...not from Megs, just one of the kakis but came in later. I see that you're still active....good...good...hehehe...
TSKrisMas
post Mar 26 2013, 09:00 PM

QUOTE(ir5 @ Mar 26 2013, 06:03 PM)
hi,
i have difficulties to find a very good car wash centre here in KL...do you guys have any good car wash recommendation? Looking near area Bukit Jalil and Gasing Indah area nearby....

Appreciate your sharing...
I'm a little bit particular and sensitive when it comes to 'car washes'. Could you please define 'good' in term of your expectations. Thanks.

QUOTE(acefreakz @ Mar 26 2013, 06:16 PM)
hihi bro~ ace hardware got sell? biggrin.gif thanks! if yes gonna get it this weekend xd~~~
I was really being a little bit cynical there...since you did only mention waxing...cuz that's all the B&D is really useful for. But then, you can't really expect it to do much at that specifications and price tag.

And bro GRexer is right, if you think you would be able to maintain the passion (or even would consider getting to a little higher level of doing some mild corrections) and don't mind spending a little more $$$, the Bosch 'AE' model random orbital would be a much better choice. You'd have more options for 'upgrades' in terms of compounds/polishes and buffing pads. A Dual Action (DA) would be another step higher than the Bosch, with more power and capabilities while retaining the 'safety' of a random orbital. 'Aikka' has a China made DA which is little lesser in term of quality as compared to the 'branded' ones, but it's still 'workable' (but not sure about it's reliability though cuz only tried it once and that is at a dealer's place). A 'branded' DA would cost around RM750 ~ RM850 (excluding the local G220v2 which is in four figures range). I think you've already strike the rotary out of your mind so I don't think I'd need to say anything about that.

Just one last word, although not as good, a cheap machine would work if you don't really plan to go dead serious or particular about it (unlike some of the crazy people here....tongue.gif). But you do have to remember, just like other trades/machines, quality does come at a price and the better machines are, more than often enough, better in performance and reliability. Choose whichever that suits you and your budget.

oh...and ACE Hardware got both the Bosch and B&D.
TSKrisMas
post Mar 26 2013, 09:01 PM

QUOTE(GRexer @ Mar 26 2013, 07:55 PM)
Oh.. Yeah.. I've never really met up with the "group"before, I'm still active, just, less time/effort spent on it these days, looks like I have G.A.S. (Gear Acquisition Syndrome) these days instead laugh.gif I seem to have most of the "trending" gears bar the Rupes.
Hahaha...very nice. Share with us your 'collections' then....don't be shy now....hehehe....
TSKrisMas
post Mar 27 2013, 09:27 AM

OMG...you didn't say you have a LORRY!!! If you're really dead serious, that is DEFINITELY a job for a DA man.

Ok la...maybe the Bosch with some choice of good quality pads and polishes would do if you're on a budget. But, if not, I DEFINITELY would recommend you to consider the Rupes Bigfoot....

Oh...AH only have the Bosch and the B&D, no DA there. And, again, GRexer is right, forget about the B&D. Personally, it's not worth in my book if you're serious.
TSKrisMas
post Mar 27 2013, 09:37 AM

ir5, I know one decent one in Sentul. Too far?
TSKrisMas
post Mar 27 2013, 12:31 PM

Sorry. Haven't been around that side of town much.....
TSKrisMas
post Mar 27 2013, 05:36 PM

hrrmm...never heard of it before....sure it's not CARS international...?
TSKrisMas
post Mar 28 2013, 09:16 AM

Spot on.
TSKrisMas
post Mar 28 2013, 01:43 PM

I have to echo GRexer again....the difference is just the motor, but it's a difference that really makes a difference (duh blink.gif ...what...???)
TSKrisMas
post Mar 28 2013, 04:07 PM

QUOTE(mav3rick @ Mar 28 2013, 03:34 PM)
guys, do you think this is a good deal?

http://www.cleanyourcar.co.uk/polishing-ma...r/prod_673.html

after conversion is about RM550 tongue.gif
Bro, you forgot to factor in the shipping (unless you're talking about 'kirim' to somebody than it's ok la....)

TSKrisMas
post Mar 28 2013, 08:44 PM

QUOTE(mav3rick @ Mar 28 2013, 04:10 PM)
bro, am going there in May for business trip tongue.gif my only worry now is the warranty tongue.gif
Oh...ya lor. Forgot about that. Then may I suggest something. Buy online and find a local address over there where you can ship it to and pick it up when you're there. Then you'd be exempted from VAT and only need to pay £96.....even cheaper eh....
TSKrisMas
post Mar 29 2013, 03:21 PM

QUOTE(mav3rick @ Mar 29 2013, 02:33 PM)
ermm.. i thought UK has to pay VAT? i could try to claim it back at the airport though.. tongue.gif but seriously, if its only 96, its very cheap.  biggrin.gif
UK got VAT but only for local residents there...non-residents/foreigners are exempted. You can either straight away get the exemption from VAT when buying goods at the shop by filling some forms at the cashier and let the shopkeeper handle everything or, you can also claim back the VAT charges at the customs at the airport, but that means you would need to show them the original receipts AND products bought there. If I'm not mistaken, they also have a limit of the amount that can be issued at the airport. But this was around 5 years back la...don't know if they change already.....
TSKrisMas
post Mar 29 2013, 03:23 PM

Oh...and when I bought online from there (also a couple of times), I wasn't charged VAT, but that saving would normally go to shipping charges.....
TSKrisMas
post Mar 29 2013, 07:42 PM

Don't have to claim...their price would be already without the VAT when they charge you. If you notice my post, it's the same one that I got from the link you posted. When I choose Malaysia in the shipping estimate, they deducted the VAT and became £96. The price will hold as long as the billing address (origin) or, in this case, credit card issuer is foreign. They might charge shipping when you want to sent to local address, but that would be minimal (and sometime free depending on the amount you purchased).

For shipping to a hotel, it might be a good idea to email/ask them first. For some reason, some retailer don't sent to hotels (or some hotel won't accept them).
TSKrisMas
post Mar 31 2013, 10:41 AM

LOL...you know you're not suppose to, but you had to don't you...???

Most coating would have that 'smell'...some stronger than others....some less. In general, it shows how much of the content is solvent and how much is the actual 'coating'. The 22 smells the least solventy....
TSKrisMas
post Apr 1 2013, 11:42 AM

PW those carpets mats FTW!!! Muahahaha.......
TSKrisMas
post Apr 1 2013, 12:32 PM

QUOTE(mav3rick @ Apr 1 2013, 12:10 PM)
btw.. have you bought anything from this side before?? tongue.gif

Sunday is pretty tricky for me personally. I'm usually back in Ipoh during the weekend. But if everyone wants to do it on Sunday, then I will need to make prior arrangements smile.gif

btw, what is the best time? morning or evening?
pw?? rclxub.gif
This 'side'?? You mean 'site'....yeah I got a few stuffs from CYC twice. They're ok. i4detailing got some discounts thought....type DWX when checking out....

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Apr 1 2013, 12:12 PM)
PW?
pressure washer....
TSKrisMas
post Apr 1 2013, 01:03 PM

heheh...just saying la. Well...everything is about 'time'. I also seldom do it. But when I do and have the time, the PW had worked well so far. I was surprised to see how much dirt the PW was able to 'pull' out from what look to be like a clean mat.....

23 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0430sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 10:42 PM