TSKrisMas
post Mar 6 2013, 09:59 AM

QUOTE(mav3rick @ Mar 5 2013, 06:14 PM)
ahh... ic..  rclxms.gif

should be  diy one right? tongue.gif
Of course..... tongue.gif

QUOTE(wke002 @ Mar 5 2013, 11:58 PM)
Anyone here use rm1.50 plasticine as clay bar ? I try on my 2 years repainted car last weekend with dis washing liquid, dry, follow by meg synthetic n quick shine. I hv not try meg clay bar but I did try perma clay bar. Not a pro but to me it's the same. I always lazy skip this clay bar and head for polish but than the cloth becomes real dirty. Well the above after applying meg synthetic, cloth comes clean.... Happy with it.
You're kidding right????
TSKrisMas
post Mar 6 2013, 01:07 PM

Waahhh!!!!....I tot I was slow.....I need AT LEAST 2 hours for my *proper* weekend wash. But I can do a *quick* wash in around 1/2 hr....hehehe

QUOTE(mav3rick @ Mar 6 2013, 11:04 AM)
ehehe.. that will be another challenge for me.. but not now.. not enough kung fu skill yet..  smile.gif
You don't need much skill to apply a good quality coating (....well...actually...I only found ONE coating so far that can be described as such...hehehe...).
TSKrisMas
post Mar 18 2013, 09:54 AM

QUOTE(CoffeeDude @ Mar 17 2013, 12:12 AM)
I washed and dried my car, and then it rains!!!

mad.gif

After the rain i decided to dry the car again.

When i wiped off the water i noticed my microfiber had some black water/dust!!
I was like WTH!!

The car was cleaned before it rained.
Where did the dust /dirt come from?
From the rain obviously.

This shows how dirty rain can be.
It's always a predicament. Wash Saturday morning and rained in the afternoon. Should I or should I not just do a simple rinse-and-dry the next day....???

I've learned to live with it and let it be unless I have the time to do a quick wash (with shampoo). A simple rinse with water alone would yield the result like you had - quite risky. The non-rinsing wash method is a no-go for me as I don't like the polymer that they leave behind. Oh what we would do keep those swirls away.....hahahaha....
TSKrisMas
post Mar 18 2013, 02:56 PM

QUOTE(mav3rick @ Mar 18 2013, 02:17 PM)
oops.. just used up my UQW last weekend. hmm.. no 20% discount promo from Megs at the moment.. hmm.. maybe a good opportunity to try out something new.. Aquawax maybe?? smile.gif
You could also try to consider CarPro ReLoad....rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

QUOTE(alexng2208 @ Mar 18 2013, 02:18 PM)
krismas, what coating are you using?
Just a normal glass coat...not a permanent type of coating....sorry but can't disclose (though somehow quite a few ppl knows already)... brows.gif
But I think I can tell you what I've tried: AQuartz, CQuartz, OptiCoat (1st version), GZox RGC, RainAway (samples), ArtDeShine (samples), 22ple, also a few samples of prototypes that didn't make it into the market.....

Hey...how did you do that? I mean putting my nick in that squarish box thingy...???? What does it suppose to do? tongue.gif
TSKrisMas
post Mar 18 2013, 04:07 PM

QUOTE(alexng2208 @ Mar 18 2013, 03:00 PM)
oh, how is 22ple? this is a singaporean product right? is it expensive to coat using this?
Of all the products, you HAVE to ask about this one eh??? I wonder why.....
Not sure how much la. I'm a cheapskate so I just buy stuffs and do myself, although it's cheaper (?) this way but a lot more tiring (but compensated by the satisfactions). I only know of a couple (?) of places doing this locally...maybe around 2k or so, and that's a BIG maybe.

QUOTE(mav3rick @ Mar 18 2013, 03:13 PM)
wow.. glass based sealant... in a Spray bottle!! smile.gif ehehe.. that would render my ULW next to useless biggrin.gif quite interesting though.. something to think about. how long does it last?

i've read reviews of AquaWax being not as durable as UQW. but its cheaper though.. and can be used while drying the car.. that should cut down the time i spend with my metal mistress and put a smile back onto my wifey's face.. biggrin.gif sigh.. decisions.. decisions...
On its own, maybe can last a couple of months or so. Can also be diluted or 'wax-on-wet' as they say, for topping up once in a while.
TSKrisMas
post Mar 18 2013, 04:41 PM

QUOTE(alexng2208 @ Mar 18 2013, 04:15 PM)
2k????

can repaint already sad.gif
Tell me about it...the main 'excuse' for DIY. Anyway, when a place use the word 'coating', you're already looking at four figure man...it's the most hot selling word right now....hehehe....
repaint vs coating.....here come that conundrum again....

QUOTE(mav3rick @ Mar 18 2013, 04:18 PM)
hmm.. not bad.. so if i use it on its own, do i still continue the routine of wash + UQD weekly? anyway, any idea where i can get this? i'm only seeing it at ultimateshine.com.my. can't seem to find it anywhere else. have you bought anything there before? If the prices there are with shipping i would say that its very very reasonable.
I think UQD would spoil it...that thing got quite a strong cleaner in it. Haven't tried that one before though...just my presumptions based on what UQD can do to other waxes/sealants.

I bought a few stuffs from them before, including my CQuartz and a couple of bottles of ReLoad (to name a few....heheh). I can't say I would vouch for him but I had known the owner for quite a few years already and met him personally on a number of occasions. You can COD with him cuz he's around Klang Valley. Doesn't seem to have ReLoad in stock though.....

There is another place that I found in fb...sort of the 'Authorised' CarPro dealer...but the page is quite dormat....I think they're based in Penang....
TSKrisMas
post Mar 18 2013, 05:16 PM

QUOTE(alexng2208 @ Mar 18 2013, 04:44 PM)
i'm still old fashioned sticking to my trusty old M21 2.0 + UQW
Don't get me wrong....waxes/sealants are still cool and I still like them very much. Maybe I'll re-visit when the kids are all grown up and can take care of themselves. Anyway, also feeling some 'lazybones' slowly developing.....hahahaha.....
TSKrisMas
post Mar 18 2013, 08:52 PM

QUOTE(mav3rick @ Mar 18 2013, 05:45 PM)
ehehe.. what's ur verdict on CQuartz? maybe i can get that and use Reload as a topper biggrin.gif that should cut down my maintenance schedule tongue.gif
Quite durable. If well maintained, I think can easily last 1 year or more. Problem is, application is a bit tricky...or should I say problematic if not done correctly.

QUOTE(mav3rick @ Mar 18 2013, 06:11 PM)
the latest model is the GEX 125-1 AE, but its a ROB and at most used for non-defect removing polishing and waxing. limited ability to correct defects. RM350.. am wondering if this is gonna be a smart investment smile.gif still contemplating. I dont really need a rotary as i do not have defects to correct (except for the orange peel). a DA should be ideal. need to speed up the polishing and waxing process..
Do not underestimate the power of the Bosch....or should I say the Bosch ROB combined with some of the latest compounds/polishes/pads.....forgot already ka....??
TSKrisMas
post Mar 19 2013, 10:14 AM

QUOTE(mav3rick @ Mar 19 2013, 09:46 AM)
How did you use it previously? Did you dilute it until it became a QD? or just spray on once and then normal weekly washes?

oh ya, i remembered your posting on the ROB. eheheh hey maybe i dont need to spend that much anyway.. biggrin.gif Osren's Ultramate cost about RM800 right?
After a wash, I just sheet most of the water off, then spray on and spread, wipe and buff with a dry mf after leaving it briefly to dry a little. Two half-sprays for the size of a door panel. I use OCWax and other spray waxes/sealants the same way. Having *some* water on the surface seemed to produce less streaking on my burgundy waja....

Ya...I think Ultramate is around that price.
TSKrisMas
post Mar 19 2013, 02:07 PM

QUOTE(mav3rick @ Mar 19 2013, 01:55 PM)
btw.. i went to the mydetailingkakis site to check on your previous post on sanding and polishing with the ROB. it looks pretty abandoned..
Well...not really many in the group and with no 'opportunists' around spamming their products/services, things can get very quite some times. And the problem with a group of hobbyist is....things only get hot when something new happened....or else the rest are just same-o same-o tongue.gif
TSKrisMas
post Mar 22 2013, 03:29 PM

...in the mean time, maybe you should try to find somebody who has one to try out. Doesn't necessarily need to be the G220, any DA would do. The reason being, some people just don't like or just can't take it's vibration...like yours trully. Just a suggestion....

oh...and you also better check whether the price included VAT or not.....just in case....

This post has been edited by KrisMas: Mar 22 2013, 03:31 PM
TSKrisMas
post Mar 22 2013, 04:19 PM

QUOTE(mav3rick @ Mar 22 2013, 03:54 PM)
by DA you mean ROB? i've never tried any machinery before. been dying to get some hands on experience. what you say makes a lot of sense.. should really try it out first.. problem is most of my friends who are into detailing are not using any machinery as well..  blush.gif 

i've also been trying to find the nxt all metal polish for my wheels and 'chrome' grill. it claims to 'clean, shines and protect'. sound better than my normal routine of applying ULW on to my rims. Would i really be better off with this product? appreciate feedback from those who have used this product.  muchos gracias.
Dang....tell you what....you find yourself a few guys....look for a place that have proper shade (under a porch would do)....arrange for one fine SUNDAY morning when everybody can get-together and I'll bring over a scrap panel, a rotary, a DA, a 'normal' ROB (Bosch) and the Bigfoot. You guys can have a go at it all day if you want, just promise not to throw them at each other.

Or maybe you can get in touch with Osren people...very helpful folks especially if you're an enthusiast. They have all sort of machine there and, if you're lucky enough, they might just let you try them out. Get in touch with Erik.

Oh...and I also have the NXT metal polish if you want to try. Never-Dull is also good and you can find it at ACE. They should be better for metal/chrome but I don't think it'll do much to rims....they're clear coated rims right?
TSKrisMas
post Mar 22 2013, 04:53 PM

Wheel cleaners would kill most waxes/sealants...have to live with that. Spray type waxes/sealants would be better....just for convenience sake as it's easy to apply them after a wash. Coatings...well...I've only tried AQuartz on them before and it only lasted ~ 3 months. But mind you AQuartz doesn't really excel in durability. Been neglecting my wheels afterwards ever since...well....long story. Nowadays I just try to keep them clean....
TSKrisMas
post Mar 22 2013, 10:15 PM

'exotic'...??? hehehe....a little bit difficult to get hold of..yes...but 'exotic'...I'm not sure about that. Swissvax, Zymol, Polish Angels, etc....those are exotics. What I have are just 'normal' stuffs la. You should see what the others got in their closet....hahahaha.

I found most of them just like other people do....google. That plus a little bit more of passion and persistance (in other word, I guess you can call it 'luck'). If you think you're ready for them, I can hook you up. We are here to share what we know...right?
TSKrisMas
post Mar 24 2013, 02:07 PM

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Mar 23 2013, 10:11 PM)
krismas open clinic I also want to join...

BTW, after I washed and 1 round of claying... I can see from reflection  big patches of "dried glue" look a like layer on the front hood.
What is that? And why can't my clay remove it?
Dried up tree sap maybe...

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Mar 24 2013, 01:21 PM)
eh if the session really happen i'd like to join too tongue.gif
Somebody need to lead this then....mav3rick?

Btw...it won't be the 'clinic' thingy la...more like a get-together and knowledge-sharing session. I'm no sifu and hardly a good 'teacher'.... sweat.gif
But I can invite a 'trainer' if you guys are interested...I might just know somebody that could be willing to 'help out'....
TSKrisMas
post Mar 24 2013, 02:29 PM

Aiyo...you guys get the people together and decide what you all want to do la. I'll try to accomodate and just prepare what/who to bring over. I'm getting too old for 'organizing' these type of get-together....hahahaha....
TSKrisMas
post Mar 25 2013, 09:07 AM

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Mar 24 2013, 06:25 PM)
Yup, it looks like tree sap thingy... But whole panel wor ...
That's odd. Any pics?
TSKrisMas
post Mar 25 2013, 11:58 AM

Aiyo....sure it's not clear coat peeling off ah???? Hopefully not la.

Some times water etchings can also look something like what you described....something like the pic below, but imagine just the edges without the whitish inside (like when you stick a thin plastic onto something, you can see the edges but the rest are transparent).

TSKrisMas
post Mar 25 2013, 12:02 PM

QUOTE(mav3rick @ Mar 25 2013, 11:40 AM)
ahahaha.. wahhh... this is too big of an honour for a noobie like me.. should be reserved for more seasoned bros.. biggrin.gif

anyway, we're all here to learn smile.gif i'll try to see what i can do.. but so far only Quazacolt and bro MyWifeCar interested?
Open table here la....the more the merrier.....

If you get a few more people from here, we might just do a 'small' get-together with the rest of the kakis as well....been a while since the last session. So there'll be plenty of people to share and guide. I might be able to help out to find a 'suitable' venue...
TSKrisMas
post Mar 25 2013, 12:22 PM

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Mar 25 2013, 12:05 PM)
Hard to explain in words, as my detailing terms are not that good.

Mine is more like the tree sap things, but patches and patches. But I do managed to remove it using OHC, and my pad from Rupes is torn like what you have shown previously. sad.gif  Think it is due to dampness.
Picture would be nice...maybe you can capture those patches with 'proper' camera and lighting or something....

Owh....so Bigfoot got a chuck of your pad as well eh....? I've narrowed it down to 3 most possible cause:

1. Overheating of the pad due to dampness (I mean the whole pad is damp, like after wash and spin dry only....)
2. Too much pressure (remember NO PRESSURE at all when using the Bigfoot)
3. Tilting the pad while polishing or when polishing curvy panels (though this only applies to non-rupes pad whereby the velcro portion is larger than the backing plate)

The last two most probably happen because the edge of the backing plate 'eating' into the back of the pad while it's spinning/oscillating.....just a little un-sceintific observations.....

23 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0411sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 07:35 PM