Car Care and Detailing [V2], LYN Automotive Detailing Thread

Quazacolt
post Feb 27 2013, 12:04 PM

Riding couple
5,365 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Feb 27 2013, 11:29 AM)
Nice one Quazacolt.

Been using RainX for ages now and can't seem to find any other product that works as well and as economical (value for money) on front windscreen. There are now 'coatings' for glass but they are so d*** expensive and just not economical to use. I'm currently testing Aquapel. It's still beading on my front windscreen after 6 months but, even when freshly applied, it still can't beat the way RainX 'scares' water away, even at low speed (50km/h ~ 60km/h).
EXACTLY.

other products *MAY* work better, however as you said, d*** expensive lol.
and yea water and rain x are strong enemies rolleyes.gif

mom actually likes it (and in a way appreciates that i actually picked up car detailing as another hobby lol) as she doesn't have to use the wiper as frequently especially when her wipers are long overdue for replacement (rubber, over 3 years, some parts torn, squeaks like mad and barely wipes off anything) thumbup.gif
MyWifeCar
post Feb 27 2013, 12:21 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

Finally v2 sweat.gif

Anyway, krismas please spend more time to put in step-by-step guide to clean and protect the car.

brows.gif
bakry
post Feb 28 2013, 05:02 PM

385 posts

Hi guys.

Ran out of car wash soap and would like some suggestion for:

1. car wash soap
2. last step product (for protection, shine, and beading)
3. tar remover (some people say use wd40..but i sked)
4. watermark remover (some people say use vinegar)

This post has been edited by bakry: Feb 28 2013, 05:10 PM
Quazacolt
post Feb 28 2013, 06:26 PM

Riding couple
5,365 posts

QUOTE(bakry @ Feb 28 2013, 05:02 PM)
Hi guys.

Ran out of car wash soap and would like some suggestion for:

1. car wash soap
2. last step product (for protection, shine, and beading)
3. tar remover (some people say use wd40..but i sked)
4. watermark remover (some people say use vinegar)
1) cheapo ones can try sonax/turtle/mothers
more expensive would be meguiar's or other brands mentioned
2) same as 1)
3) consider quick detailer products such as meguiar's ultimate quick detailer
4) refer first page for my guide.
TSKrisMas
post Feb 28 2013, 06:59 PM

Bakry, what kind of budget are we looking at?
bakry
post Feb 28 2013, 07:57 PM

385 posts

Budget... no idea.. tak sampai 300...

I didn't know the uqd can remove tar. Will look at it
OhmydayuM
post Mar 1 2013, 03:51 AM

Maybe Meg Bug n Tar Remover might?
mav3rick
post Mar 1 2013, 09:28 AM

45 posts

guys, can we get pinnacle stuff in Malaysia?
Quazacolt
post Mar 1 2013, 10:39 AM

Riding couple
5,365 posts

QUOTE(mav3rick @ Mar 1 2013, 09:28 AM)
guys, can we get pinnacle stuff in Malaysia?
afaik need to import, like from autogeek.

personally im interested in their glass products, maybe you can try and feedback? tongue.gif
mav3rick
post Mar 1 2013, 10:44 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Mar 1 2013, 10:39 AM)
afaik need to import, like from autogeek.

personally im interested in their glass products, maybe you can try and feedback? tongue.gif
hahaha.. i wanted to get their Micro Rejuvenator Microfiber Detergent Concentrate since i always machine was my MF. sigh.. dont think its likely anymore since shipping fee is a killer.. biggrin.gif

Quazacolt
post Mar 1 2013, 10:49 AM

Riding couple
5,365 posts

QUOTE(mav3rick @ Mar 1 2013, 10:44 AM)
hahaha.. i wanted to get their Micro Rejuvenator Microfiber Detergent Concentrate since i always machine was my MF. sigh.. dont think its likely anymore since shipping fee is a killer.. biggrin.gif
oohh yea that too...

oh well sad.gif
mav3rick
post Mar 1 2013, 10:57 AM

45 posts

ehehe.. guys, i'm still kinda noobie in terms of detailing, hence still have several questions on the following:

1) Ultimate Polish
The instructions say to work the product into the paint and not allow it to dry. My question is, how long do i need to work the product if i'm not removing any minor swirls?

2) Ultimate Liquid Wax
I'm been somewhat lazy, the instructions recommend 2 coats of the product but so far i've only been applying one.. biggrin.gif but i may want to try 2 coats in my next application (early April). How long do i need to leave the first coat (after buffing) before i apply the next?

all help is most appreciated smile.gif
MyWifeCar
post Mar 1 2013, 01:31 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

http://carguys.com.my/Super-Detailing/q?ci...&doit=showclass

This one can use too?
TSKrisMas
post Mar 1 2013, 03:24 PM

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Mar 1 2013, 01:31 PM)
Beat me to it....terribly expensive though....

QUOTE(mav3rick @ Mar 1 2013, 10:57 AM)
ehehe.. guys, i'm still kinda noobie in terms of detailing, hence still have several questions on the following:

1) Ultimate Polish
The instructions say to work the product into the paint and not allow it to dry. My question is, how long do i need to work the product if i'm not removing any minor swirls?

2) Ultimate Liquid Wax
I'm been somewhat lazy, the instructions recommend 2 coats of the product but so far i've only been applying one.. biggrin.gif but i may want to try 2 coats in my next application (early April). How long do i need to leave the first coat (after buffing) before i apply the next?

all help is most appreciated smile.gif
1. not how long...but how hard you apply pressure. Since you're not trying to do any correction, just lightly would do...like applying wax but more passes.

2. I'd normally try to leave any wax/sealant overnight or a few hours of 'baking' under the sun before/if doing another layer.....
fongss76
post Mar 1 2013, 04:22 PM

30 posts

Anyone try NanoBrite (http://www.nanobrite.com.my/) before?
mav3rick
post Mar 1 2013, 04:38 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Mar 1 2013, 01:31 PM)
nice.. but seems expensive. Have you bought from them before?

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Mar 1 2013, 03:24 PM)
Beat me to it....terribly expensive though....
1. not how long...but how hard you apply pressure. Since you're not trying to do any correction, just lightly would do...like applying wax but more passes.

2. I'd normally try to leave any wax/sealant overnight or a few hours of 'baking' under the sun before/if doing another layer.....
thanks for the advise. regarding no 2, if you leave it overnight, do you use a qd to wipeoff first before you apply the 2nd layer?
mav3rick
post Mar 1 2013, 04:38 PM

45 posts

--double post-- no idea why

This post has been edited by mav3rick: Mar 1 2013, 05:01 PM
TSKrisMas
post Mar 1 2013, 05:50 PM

QUOTE(mav3rick @ Mar 1 2013, 04:38 PM)
thanks for the advise. regarding no 2, if you leave it overnight, do you use a qd to wipeoff first before you apply the 2nd layer?
Only if I see much dirt settling on the surface (more worried on horizontal then vertical surfaces). Or else I'd just go lightly with a *very* plush mf before layering....panel by panel.
bakry
post Mar 1 2013, 11:03 PM

385 posts

Is just me or..does UQD smells really good?

Plus, using vinegar+water for my windows made me very hungry for some dumplings
bakry
post Mar 1 2013, 11:05 PM

385 posts

QUOTE(fongss76 @ Mar 1 2013, 04:22 PM)
Anyone try NanoBrite (http://www.nanobrite.com.my/) before?
Saw the photos... for the super shine.. wah damn shiny

133 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0282sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 02:08 AM