Samsung Galaxy S4 (S IV?), The New King of Android?
giovanni
Mar 15 2013, 05:58 PM
QUOTE(waveweaver @ Mar 15 2013, 05:55 PM) No need to Google lar.. I'm talking bout 1st experience with Amoled screen. I've using SGS > SGS2 > SGS3 Note1 > Note2 Nexus S > Galaxy Nexus All the above phones are using Amoled display and i have NONE screen burn issue. No joking here  Or your can try ask Uncle Benny as i believe he also uses the above phones and see what his answer. Check your status bar. I saw it on my Samsung galaxy S2.
waveweaver
Mar 15 2013, 05:59 PM
QUOTE(giovanni @ Mar 15 2013, 05:54 PM) I don't think I got a lemon because I checked it carefully after purchase knowing this issue (because I was leaving for UK. Was back here for a short CNY break late Jan early Feb). That time official SME set still not available. So I bought AP set (6 months local shop warranty). Who knows, after two weeks in UK, I spot the issue after checking again one night. So I rooted it and install honeybar lo. Couldn't claim warranty. Felt a bit tulan back then. Duhh..sorry to hear that bro. I really no experience with Tab 7.7 but Uncle Benny using it. Maybe you can ask him.? So far i have no issue with all my Amoled screen phone except the screen is a bit blueish..that's all
SUSLordDenning
Mar 15 2013, 06:00 PM
Aiyo bro. Just because it didnt happen to you doesnt mean it doesnt happen elsewhere ler. Like the sudden death issue. because it didnt happen to you and me, but you see in the s3 thread how many fellas kena SDS.
This post has been edited by LordDenning: Mar 15 2013, 06:01 PM
BBXiong
Mar 15 2013, 06:01 PM
QUOTE(waveweaver @ Mar 15 2013, 05:55 PM) No need to Google lar.. I'm talking bout 1st experience with Amoled screen. I've using SGS > SGS2 > SGS3 Note1 > Note2 Nexus S > Galaxy Nexus All the above phones are using Amoled display and i have NONE screen burn issue. No joking here  Or your can try ask Uncle Benny as i believe he also uses the above phones and see what his answer. so am I, mine, since I whatsapp all the time, my screen already have the keyboard characters burnt after few months usage. Not sure if AMOLED has different grade, but there are users that has such problem so, just because it doesnt happen to you, doesnt mean the problem is not there. You have not been robbed before, doesnt mean there are no robbery in Malaysia This post has been edited by BBXiong: Mar 15 2013, 06:02 PM
Andrewtst
Mar 15 2013, 06:02 PM
QUOTE(eszol @ Mar 15 2013, 05:56 PM) still waiting for those who so eager to know the exynos 5 benchmark score against snapdragon 600 S4 in S600, the performance was pretty bad for now - http://www.phonearena.com/news/Samsung-Gal...s-video_id40879
waveweaver
Mar 15 2013, 06:02 PM
QUOTE(giovanni @ Mar 15 2013, 05:58 PM) Check your status bar. I saw it on my Samsung galaxy S2. Errkk..now cannot check lor. My S2 long gone edi..so does my S3. Only left are Note1 and Note2
BBXiong
Mar 15 2013, 06:04 PM
QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Mar 15 2013, 06:02 PM) but the units on the unpacking is not running on finalized software, so there might still be room for improvement, still, best to wait retail unit review on that
Andrewtst
Mar 15 2013, 06:05 PM
QUOTE(BBXiong @ Mar 15 2013, 06:04 PM) but the units on the unpacking is not running on finalized software, so there might still be room for improvement, still, best to wait retail unit review on that It needs to improve, the score was too low for S600, anyway that was US edition only. Others country will be Exynos.
waveweaver
Mar 15 2013, 06:09 PM
QUOTE(LordDenning @ Mar 15 2013, 06:00 PM) Aiyo bro. Just because it didnt happen to you doesnt mean it doesnt happen elsewhere ler. Like the sudden death issue. because it didnt happen to you and me, but you see in the s3 thread how many fellas kena SDS. The same can be said here bro..it happen to you doesn't mean all will be that way. I'm not saying it cannot happen..it just that not all user have this issue..so for me it's an isolate case or random case. Yellow tint issue..yes..i know quite a lot of ppl having it and yet again it was on random. Samsung even change to display FOC for you if you have bad yellow tint.
BBXiong
Mar 15 2013, 06:09 PM
QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Mar 15 2013, 06:05 PM) It needs to improve, the score was too low for S600, anyway that was US edition only. Others country will be Exynos. yes, even the Exynos version is far too weak in benchmark when A15 suppose to have higher performance than Krait. For most cases optimization is one of the last phase for software development, so I guess the pre-released software they have tested today has not gone thru optimization yet.
waveweaver
Mar 15 2013, 06:12 PM
QUOTE(BBXiong @ Mar 15 2013, 06:01 PM) so am I, mine, since I whatsapp all the time, my screen already have the keyboard characters burnt after few months usage. Not sure if AMOLED has different grade, but there are users that has such problem so, just because it doesnt happen to you, doesnt mean the problem is not there. You have not been robbed before, doesnt mean there are no robbery in Malaysia  But it doesn't mean all M'sian getting robbed. Random case bro. And i rest my case here..no point of arguing
BBXiong
Mar 15 2013, 06:15 PM
QUOTE(waveweaver @ Mar 15 2013, 06:12 PM) But it doesn't mean all M'sian getting robbed. Random case bro. And i rest my case here..no point of arguing  yeah, just saying that it will still happen too, it's friday, so we all just chill
arslow
Mar 15 2013, 06:16 PM
I wonder if the benchmark scores are not good because the apps do not fully support the big.little architecture?
soulseeker6187
Mar 15 2013, 06:25 PM
QUOTE(arslow @ Mar 15 2013, 06:16 PM) I wonder if the benchmark scores are not good because the apps do not fully support the big.little architecture? i see the benchmarks are from the snapdragon 600 version. have links from exynos version?
arslow
Mar 15 2013, 06:29 PM
QUOTE(soulseeker6187 @ Mar 15 2013, 06:25 PM) i see the benchmarks are from the snapdragon 600 version. have links from exynos version? but how sure are you that the ones available are from s600 and not octa?  AFAIK this part of the phone is still not clear yet oops sorry, what am I talking about  yeah the available ones are only s600, exynos version none yet This post has been edited by arslow: Mar 15 2013, 06:30 PM
soulseeker6187
Mar 15 2013, 06:30 PM
QUOTE(arslow @ Mar 15 2013, 06:29 PM) but how sure are you that the ones available are from s600 and not octa?  AFAIK this part of the phone is still not clear yet http://www.phonearena.com/news/Samsung-Gal...s-video_id40879this benchmarks is clearly from snapdragon.
SUSLordDenning
Mar 15 2013, 06:34 PM
QUOTE(waveweaver @ Mar 15 2013, 06:09 PM) The same can be said here bro..it happen to you doesn't mean all will be that way. I'm not saying it cannot happen..it just that not all user have this issue..so for me it's an isolate case or random case. Yellow tint issue..yes..i know quite a lot of ppl having it and yet again it was on random. Samsung even change to display FOC for you if you have bad yellow tint. thats why i said you should google it and i also told you it's a quite well known issue. Meaning it's not actually an isolate or random case. but instead you go and say QUOTE(waveweaver @ Mar 15 2013, 05:55 PM) Just to give you an insight of what this issue is about, when this happens is not directly when you buy it you can check for it. It happens after a period of time where the pixels start to burn out and then it causes imbalance on the whole screen, example, some parts of the screen darker than the rest. and after an even longer period of time, the burned out pixel will become a dead pixel which of course will be a bigger problem. This post has been edited by LordDenning: Mar 15 2013, 06:46 PM
arslow
Mar 15 2013, 06:49 PM
QUOTE(soulseeker6187 @ Mar 15 2013, 06:30 PM) http://www.android.gs/galaxy-s4-specs-2/#that was b4 the official unveiling, but if you see the version number its clearly version 3.2, whereas the one on phonearena is using 3.0.x might have some difference?
emy_xvidia
Mar 15 2013, 06:51 PM
waiting for hand-ons and benchmarks 1st to see whether the Exynos 5 Octa could live up to the expectations. cool stuff, just hoping perhaps they would sell the 32GB version at around RM2.2K at launch. HTC One is great too, but judging from past year One X 1st build, gotta wait others to use em 1st and see whether got issues with it. Then let the judging begins! This post has been edited by emy_xvidia: Mar 15 2013, 06:52 PM
Andrewtst
Mar 15 2013, 07:04 PM