Luckily, the Unpacked event is 3 days away only.
Samsung Galaxy S4 (S IV?), The New King of Android?
Mar 12 2013, 05:41 PM
2,735 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: Malaysia - Swindon Town |
probably a mock up only. Samsung has been known for trolling lots of the media prior to releasing their flagships. Remember what happened last year? The same's happening this year. They have probably 2-3 mock ups released in the wild already to make the main event itself a hype on the internet.
Luckily, the Unpacked event is 3 days away only. |
Mar 15 2013, 06:51 PM
waiting for hand-ons and benchmarks 1st to see whether the Exynos 5 Octa could live up to the expectations.
cool stuff, just hoping perhaps they would sell the 32GB version at around RM2.2K at launch. HTC One is great too, but judging from past year One X 1st build, gotta wait others to use em 1st and see whether got issues with it. Then let the judging begins! This post has been edited by emy_xvidia: Mar 15 2013, 06:52 PM |
Mar 15 2013, 07:48 PM
those scores are from the Qualcomm version. Im waiting for the Exynos version. Seem to cant find it for now
Mar 15 2013, 10:33 PM
if its rightly priced, then it'd attract more potential buyers for sure. I really hope that they change their standard pricing with the S4. Interested to get the 32GB one, but if only the price is right as in <RM2200 for a 32GB model.
design-wise, it is disappointed, especially to S3 users whose habit is upgrading phone every year. |
Mar 18 2013, 03:23 AM
there's a movement on some of the Android worldwide blogs, noticeably Android Headlines planting hatred seeds towards Samsung, with points like Samsung is heading away from Google with the S features and releasing another Tizen-based phones in the near future. I just cant believe how dumb people can be sometimes.
Even Google themselves play the 'cool' guy, for obvious reason, which is not to disappoint their OEM partners. Android is all about varieties and some people arent happy with that. I love my Nexus devices and am enjoying others as well. |
Mar 21 2013, 02:01 AM
QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Mar 21 2013, 01:17 AM) Samsung Galaxy S4 preview: Take two by GSMArena should be black la, save more power since its an OLED display. http://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_galaxy_s4-review-910.php what is screen mirroring ?? http://www.gsmarena.com/showpic.php3?sImg=...ew=910&idPage=4 *very like page 4, all the setting, multi window bar, etc .. is white colour |
Mar 30 2013, 05:50 PM
thats what happens if you change your phone on a yearly basis. sell old phone and add some more to buy a new one, if the loss is within ur financial capability.
I'll wait for the official release 1st in Malaysia. Not sure if I should get this on day one, since Im more interested in the upcoming Note 3, but its months away from now. If Samsung My could bring the 32GB with a RRP of RM2199 or below, then that would greatly influence my decision later on. If not, I'll just wait a lil bit more droolin over those who have it already. and that black pattern on the S4 is just so beautiful. |
Mar 30 2013, 08:58 PM
QUOTE(LordDenning @ Mar 30 2013, 08:46 PM) tell me bout it. It can still be considered as safe when it's in the warranty period. Outside that period, once broken, forever gone la. Sure costs an arm and a leg to fix that. Remember what happened to the early batches of HTC One X? And how fast their depreciation in value even it was only 2-3 months after releases due to major manufacturing defects and all? Fingers crossed that it wont happen to the One, plus the repairability issue? it's sad to know once a great company has turned into what they are now. I loved HTC back then, and I still have my XE with me, but now, not so much. But still wish the could make a comeback, as I will always hold to the fact that competition is really good for us consumers. Might be a HTC user again in the near future, but in this generation, a big no. And one thing that still baffles me is that, most of the HTC fans that I know bashed iPhone and BB designs so hard, and then when One came out, all praise it like it's something entirely new despite the obvious copycat. |
Mar 31 2013, 06:23 PM
QUOTE(skyline100 @ Mar 30 2013, 09:16 PM) Well it happens to every brand's fanboys. yup, i agree with you. Sadly thats the case nowadays. Nexus with their own fanboys, HTC, Samsung. Samsung's fans once bashed that the iphones' design are not innovative, well now look at S4 vs S3. Not to forget the original Galaxy S series design is an obvious copycat of iphone. Nokia is so proud of it's polycarbonate design, keep on reusing it, until today still no major changes. LG no need mention, look at the optimus pro G. just that, Im sticking with Samsung now due to the fact that they offer us freedom from Google demands; no SD slot, no removable battery. Not to say that Im biased on Samsung, but really, I am no Google yes-man either. Why would a customer follow what they want, which is to depend on the cloud, hence the 16GB max offering from the Nexus 4? I understand that its one of their money-makin part of businesses, but by restricting our options on local storage? Thats like, they're heading little by little to what Apple is now. Some might not agree with me with this, but this is just my opinion that what Samsung is offering, is a good thing for us. Freedom of not opting to go for the cloud, plus the removable battery, which as you know, battery capacity reduces with time. It's gonna be a whole lot cheaper to be able to take out the battery and replace it with another battery rather than having to send out the whole phone to the service centre in order to replace it. Rationally, why would you hate Samsung for allowing this, aside from championing the company that restricts our options? This post has been edited by emy_xvidia: Mar 31 2013, 06:24 PM |
Mar 31 2013, 08:22 PM
QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Mar 31 2013, 07:14 PM) For me, as long storage 32gb and above, no point having SD card as that also lead to slower performance. what i wrote just now is not about what you need or you think is sufficient. It's the freedom of having that option whereas other manufacturers have followed suit to what Google want. Everytime this is mentioned, cloud is something that most people would say is the future, not here, but on some other forums. Tell me, do you really wanna be that dependent on Google now? Well this is just my opinion btw, to me, its better having that options rather than not having it at all. A lot normal user even 16GB also enough for them. I am not superb light user but definitely 32GB was enough for me. I don't really see follow trend of removing sdcard is a bad move. 2nd - I never change battery for my phone in my life before. So with none removable battery can build better solid back cover is a plus for me. Nowadays a lot user change phone every year or at least two years per one. Within this period, normally battery still serve you well. This post has been edited by emy_xvidia: Mar 31 2013, 08:23 PM |
Apr 1 2013, 05:52 PM
April already now? hopefully in the mid Apr, we could see some updates from Samsung My regarding the availability of the storage options and prices as well. And with the price of their flagships, I do think Samsung need to extend the warranty period from 1 to 2 years.
Apr 1 2013, 06:12 PM
chill la guys. discussing is fine to me, regardless whether it's a plus or minus for the S4, but being repetitive in ur complaints, then perhaps that would annoy some people here and this is an S4 thread btw.
and did you guys know, North Korea is threatening for an all-out nuclear war to South and the US? there, thats something we should be worrying about, what if the missile hit Samsung HQ, no S4 liao for all of us? |
Apr 1 2013, 06:14 PM
Apr 1 2013, 07:01 PM
ok apart from the ongoing war,
Exynos 5 variant rooted! |
Apr 1 2013, 07:51 PM
QUOTE(waveweaver @ Apr 1 2013, 07:17 PM) Duhh..those are pre-rooted firmware haha it's not pre-rooted. It's a way, shown by another dev, not Chainfire though, on how to root the Exynos variant. But agreed, will wait for CF method. Should be a whole lot easier. Though it's good to have..i prefer a way to root instead of flashing the whole firmware. Will wait for Chainfire then QUOTE(weileong @ Apr 1 2013, 07:43 PM) Dunno why..I just don't like HTC phone...Own HTC One x before..hate on boot loader issue previously..also the Bad experience with HTC Service center. One X was really lousy. |
Apr 1 2013, 11:23 PM
QUOTE(mavezai1984 @ Apr 1 2013, 11:12 PM) Another issue is with PowerVR SGX544 MP3 that it carried, how well will it will powered the 1080p display is still unknown. it's faster than the Adreno 320. Its performance is known already if you care to Google it. Try heading to XDA, plenty of infos are there already. |
Apr 2 2013, 05:52 PM
Apr 2 2013, 06:04 PM
QUOTE(giovanni @ Apr 2 2013, 05:55 PM) Hopefully the same time again this round. My hands are craving or new toy! Man, so many toys I wanna buy this year. what else you wanna buy? so rich.. I'll be waiting for a 32GB or more model. Not gonna take the 16GB one. It isnt enough for my need. But that depends on the price as well. If too expensive then straight wait for Note 3. |
Apr 2 2013, 07:12 PM
QUOTE(weileong @ Apr 2 2013, 06:34 PM) for sure LTE model will be more expensive. They will market the high speed of internet with it, it's like UNIFI on the go, and it's relatively new in Malaysia, therefore price must be a tad higher.QUOTE(giovanni @ Apr 2 2013, 06:57 PM) iPad mini 2 (if it comes with retina display). Just bought my Acer Aspire s7 11inch few weeks ago. Might switch to surface pro if it comes to our market. iPhone5s/6 is on the list too! Ya, thats why i plan to have a base model of at least 32GB internal + 64GB external. Internal storage is important to me as well. Usable storage for a S4 16GB model with tonnes of features sure must be lesser than the one on S3. S3 is around 11+GB usable you know. Got card slot ler bro. You can buy micro sd card mah. What worries me is the availability of exynos octa cos I heard there's production bottleneck for this variant. Don't fancy snapdragon. |
Apr 2 2013, 07:25 PM
| Change to: | 0.0481sec
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 06:41 PM |