EPF DIVIDEND, EPF

plumberly
post Feb 15 2016, 05:13 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Feb 15 2016, 10:02 AM)
hypothetically you can use past trends as avg for dividends moving forward.
since every year % differs and fluctuates, what would be your basis to lay your 'bigger retirement foundation'.
surely this year's announcement itself may not be conclusive for your decision.
if it's high, you want to to increase permanently? what if next year's divvy dips?

just wondering  hmm.gif
My 2 cents on this ....

I do not add more if I see a higher EPF %. Just glad in my head that my fund has grown a bit more than I expected.

Yes, lazy man investment style! Ha.

plumberly
post Feb 17 2016, 08:27 AM

4,761 posts

Very surprised and impressed that EPF means what it says on announcing the % after CNY. Announcing on the last day of CNY. I hope that consistency and integrity go from top to bottom! Ha.

Worries me a bit on the delay. Why? Difficult to get the accounting done? Trying to find some extra $ to jack up the %? Don't want to hurt the chinese feeling with the bad news during the CNY?

Ha.

P/S My "prediction" on the announcement date has been way off. doh.gif

Now asking myself will my 6.1-6.3% also be way off? icon_rolleyes.gif

Once wrong forever wrong? Ha. notworthy.gif brows.gif

This post has been edited by plumberly: Feb 17 2016, 10:21 AM
plumberly
post Feb 17 2016, 04:32 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Feb 17 2016, 04:26 PM)
maybe 6.80??
If true, PM me your bank ac no and I will supply 1 month worth of Star Buck coffee! Ha. rclxm9.gif thumbup.gif biggrin.gif
plumberly
post Feb 20 2016, 08:58 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(titanic_crash @ Feb 20 2016, 08:48 AM)
It is 6.40%...

Got the image already
If it is 6.4%, I don't mind being wrong with my 6.1-6.3 estimate. Ha.

P/S My son's classmates were at the same shop we had for breakfast. Paid for their breakfast due to the higher than expected 6.4%. I still have the receipt to claim back if it is not 6.4%! Ha. Just kidding.

This post has been edited by plumberly: Feb 20 2016, 09:51 AM
plumberly
post Feb 20 2016, 07:59 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Feb 20 2016, 07:45 PM)
EPF declared 6.40% Dividend for 2015
Can login to check status dy

Good and glad to see 6.4% in my statement though it is 0.35% less than 2014.

Enough to treat the school kids to another breakfast! Ha.
plumberly
post Feb 20 2016, 09:35 PM

4,761 posts

Got the EPF 2015 total revenue. Did a quick comparison. See below.

We expected a lower % than 2014 as we thought EPF would not be doing as good due to the economy. Well, EPF did better than 2014 by about 5 billion!

AND YET A LOWER DIVIDEND!

Keep some money for the bad time ahead? Does EPF practise this?

Or some hidden hands and dealings only they know?

Cheerio.
plumberly
post Feb 21 2016, 07:50 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Feb 20 2016, 11:28 PM)
so what MTUC said that EPF dividend announcement on 20 Feb is true after all.

as in Post #1386
Yes, rather cynical/ignorant of me to state what I said earlier on their 20 Feb thing.

Learning here is, wait for MTUC meeting with EPF for next year, then announcement will be the following day!

Guess that is part of EPF's shareholders duty, to pre-inform the big boys and girls. Ha.
plumberly
post Feb 21 2016, 10:36 AM

4,761 posts

Trying to get a better picture of the 6.4%. Just want to get a rough picture of where we are.

Below is the 2014 EPF summary.

AA
What do they mean by gross income? EPF does not pay tax.

BB
Can someone help me with the 5.43 billion thing at the bottom right?

plumberly
post Feb 21 2016, 12:17 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Feb 21 2016, 12:04 PM)
EPF dun pay tax
To pay 1% dividend, EPF need to allocate RM5.43 bil

AA
Then why the gross and net income for EPF?
In their annual report, they stated 2 categories, gross and net income.

BB
I see. How come when I read it earlier, it was not that straight forward. Ha. Thought it was additional amount they pay. Not needed infor in my view.

plumberly
post Feb 21 2016, 02:48 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Feb 21 2016, 12:24 PM)
Net income is after deduct investment expenditure n net impairment loss, if any

I thought expenses and losses are calculated in the gross profit. Net profit is after deduction for taxes. Hope that my secondary school's commerce teacher is not reading this, seeing an ex student of hers failing so badly in accounting! Ha.
plumberly
post Feb 23 2016, 09:57 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Feb 23 2016, 09:25 AM)
After reading the above, bad news, I said to myself.

but after looking at the article, the 4 billion shortfall is the 11-8=3% reduction in new fund for EPF.

Maybe this is really not bad news as EPF is already too BIG. Ha.

This post has been edited by plumberly: Feb 23 2016, 09:58 AM
plumberly
post Feb 23 2016, 10:16 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(kpfun @ Feb 23 2016, 10:13 AM)
Every single cent invested into Uint Trust is diluted by salesman commission, agent fee, management fee, company tax, marketing fee and etc.
101% agree with that.

Only UT I have now is the PRS for tax benefit.
plumberly
post Feb 23 2016, 01:25 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Feb 23 2016, 01:18 PM)
More than 2,200 Malaysians renounced their citizenship and withdrew their Employees Provident Fund (EPF) savings in 2015.

In 2015, 2,206 EPF members took out a total of RM154.6mil before leaving the country, the EPF chief executive officer Datuk Shahril Ridza Ridzuan said.

This was up from the previous year, with 1,787 withdrawals totalling RM99mil in principal.
Sorry, I like to play with numbers.

That work out to be on average RM70k and RM50k per EPF ac for 2015 & 2014 respectively.

I expected the "rich" ones to leave the country.

Please don't hammer me saying that the rich ones do not put their money in EPF! Ha.

plumberly
post Feb 23 2016, 05:31 PM

4,761 posts

Off topic here ..

I think what they have in EPF are not really reflective of their true net worth. Why? To migrate, they would need sufficient money, otherwise, the receiving countries would not be that interested in having them. More of a burden to their countries. Yes, depends on the migration category they applied. But still they would need certain minimum funds.

Enough of this topic in EPF thread lah.
plumberly
post Apr 13 2016, 08:56 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Apr 13 2016, 08:55 AM)
EPF says no minimum 2.5% dividend for syariah-compliant fund

KUALA LUMPUR: The Employees Provident Fund (EPF), which is expected to launch a fully syariah-compliant fund by January 2017, will not have a minimum of 2.5% dividend for it.

According to EPF chief executive officer Datuk Sharil Ridza Ridzuan, the 2.5% minimum return drops away when members opt for the syariah-compliant fund.

“Once the 2.5% return drops away, the concept of capital returns or protection also goes away otherwise it would not be syariah compliant,” he said.

URL: http://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...compliant-fund/
Thanks for this impt infor.
plumberly
post Apr 13 2016, 01:50 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Apr 13 2016, 01:18 PM)

much better or worse than conventional? hmm.gif

My brain washed mindset after spending many years here says the i-fund to do better or at least equal to the conventional one.

It will be a nightmare for them if i-fund gives a lower return than the normal one. Can expect to see politics-religion-race perfect storm here!

plumberly
post Apr 22 2016, 01:00 PM

4,761 posts

deleted

This post has been edited by plumberly: Apr 22 2016, 01:08 PM
plumberly
post Aug 8 2016, 11:14 AM

4,761 posts

The Employees Provident Fund (EPF) is looking at an additional allocation of between RM20 billion to RM30 billion annually for its Simpanan Shariah from 2018.

Read more: https://www.malaysiakini.com/news/351476#ixzz4GhsVHqBb

Don't understand what is meant by the above statement.

Additional allocation from existing and/or new subscribers or $$$ from govt?

plumberly
post Aug 8 2016, 03:23 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Aug 8 2016, 12:44 PM)
Walao 5000 members...
So fast...
How many EPF contributors are there?

So 5000 is not that many. No offence intended here.

plumberly
post Aug 11 2016, 09:52 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Aug 10 2016, 10:49 PM)
better make fast decision..

already 41k member sign up  biggrin.gif
Interesting.

But to me, 41k out of x million is still a small no. Less than 0.01%.

How much is that 41K accounts in terms of RM? They are aiming for RM100 billion, right? Using an average RM167K per account, 41,000*167,000 = RM7 billion. My apology to those with 10* 167K per account for stating the average as 167K!

That RM amount is a better indication of the demand rather than just the number of accounts.

My 2 cents.

P/S My current plan is to stick to the original fund though I think the govt will try their best to make this 2nd fund looks look due to the religion connection. Just imagine, this fund gives a lower % than the original fund %. The new fund members will be crying and accusing the govt of betraying them, religion, etc etc. No offence intended here in speaking my mind.

15 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.1085sec    0.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 07:56 AM