EPF DIVIDEND, EPF

SUSTOS
post Dec 20 2021, 03:44 PM

8,667 posts

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/fore...fsie-withdrawal

Don't worry, EPF foreign-sourced income still exempted from tax after FSIE implementation.
SUSTOS
post Dec 23 2021, 06:23 PM

8,667 posts

Not sure about others, but I personally favours the CPF model.

https://www.cpf.gov.sg/member/growing-your-...active-interest

Fixed rates with additional 1-2% for the first 30k-60k SGD of savings, quite "fair" for both rich/poor.
SUSTOS
post Dec 23 2021, 07:10 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(sgh @ Dec 23 2021, 06:52 PM)
The CPF model come with a killer. You cannot withdraw all from CPF at age 55. You are supposed to keep working until age 62 (to increase soon again). Even if you hit that age, you still need to maintain a minimum sum in the CPF which is a few hundred K and keep increasing. The remainder then can take out. Then every month draw some small allowance depending your amount inside CPF.

Compare this to withdraw all out at age 55 in EPF I prefer EPF. Reason being once I old no employer want to employ me so I want those monies to sustain my lifestyle. Why locked up so much of my own hard-earned monies inside? Only way to touch all your CPF is you renounce citizenship and migrate. The other is you die. You die all your monies give spouse and next-of-kin. What twisted logic? So those young ppl pray you faster die can take your monies.

Think again CPF  is it really that good from the other angle. Comments from one approaching age 50 and still got 12+ years to continue working compared to Msian retire at age 55 sit at home shake leg enjoy life!!!!!!!
Yup you mentioned that before. I don't think one will rely solely on CPF for retirement. So keeping hundreds of ks in CPF and earning 4-6% p.a. is no big harm. Even if you withdraw all, you are unlikely to spend them all at once. So might as well withdraw bit by bit while letting the rest to continue to compound. After all the purpose of not allowing for full withdrawal all at once is to avoid people withdrawing everything and draining their retirement savings rapidly. (This has been the case in Malaysia.)

60ish retirement sounds about right. The Malaysian system is actually unsustainable with people aging yet retiring earlier. There have been calls from economists and public policy experts to raise Malaysia's retirement age. Politics has been the barrier. (I am sure you know the difference in productivity between the 2 countries.)

By the way, Malaysian age 55 sit home shake leg enjoy life is not really the case for many urban dwellers in M'sia. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by TOS: Dec 23 2021, 07:13 PM
SUSTOS
post Dec 26 2021, 01:11 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(koja6049 @ Dec 26 2021, 12:02 PM)
CPF works very differently from EPF. CPF does not do any active investment. Instead, it just buys a government bond at a coupon rate of lets say 4%. The monies the govt acquired will be transferred to temasek holdings. In a sense, all investment decisions by sg govt is centralized in the hands of TH, and TH will be the ones responsible for doing CSR as it sees fit  smile.gif
Wrong. CPF monies are pooled together (in the form of SSGS) with SG government budget surplus and invested worldwide via GIC.

https://www.temasek.com.sg/en/about-us/faqs...asek-manage-cpf

https://www.gic.com.sg/who-we-are/faqs/
SUSTOS
post Dec 26 2021, 01:21 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(koja6049 @ Dec 26 2021, 01:17 PM)
CPF cannot do CSR because it is not allowed to use the money other than buying bonds  smile.gif
I am correcting this part of your previous post: "The monies the govt acquired will be transferred to temasek holdings." smile.gif

That said, I know Temasek has its own charity/CSR foundation. https://www.temasekfoundation.org.sg/home

They distribute masks etc. during the pandemic last year, if I recalled correctly.
SUSTOS
post Jan 27 2022, 06:52 PM

8,667 posts

https://www.sinchew.com.my/20220127/%e7%9b%...9c%ba%e6%9e%84/

For all the debate here, many still have faith in EPF, according to an Ipsos poll.

This post has been edited by TOS: Jan 27 2022, 06:53 PM
SUSTOS
post Jan 27 2022, 09:47 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jan 27 2022, 09:36 PM)
epf actually has too much money and getting very hard for them to invest... des why they allow withdrawals to other mutual funds to reduce their burden

this gov mandated ponzi won't bankrupt for now maybe never... population still growing so got new blood to support old farts' withdrawal

all these sampah articles on tiered dividend payouts robbing rich to pay poor won't happen lah imho... probably just some attention seeking sampah writing to get your knickers all twisted... lol... web traffic surely up up and away...
As long as government keep having budget deficits... sufficient MGS and GII to buy laugh.gif
SUSTOS
post Feb 5 2022, 01:59 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(brando_w @ Feb 5 2022, 01:01 PM)
EPF is the last bastion that has not been ‘raided’ . Am not too sure if it would be the same after the next GE.
It has been "raided" all the while. One of its job is to fund government budget deficit by buying MGS and GII using your retirement money. tongue.gif

It has been raided too during the Asian Financial Crisis back in the late 90s (hint: ever wonder why EPF has large stakes in MRCB, RHB, and MBSB Bank?)

This post has been edited by TOS: Feb 5 2022, 02:24 PM
SUSTOS
post Feb 9 2022, 11:08 PM

8,667 posts

https://www.thestar.com.my/opinion/columnis...e-put-our-trust
SUSTOS
post Feb 23 2022, 03:24 PM

8,667 posts

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/epf-...mme-gig-workers
SUSTOS
post Feb 25 2022, 01:15 PM

8,667 posts

https://www.sinchew.com.my/20220225/%e7%8b%...%8b5%e8%87%b36/

Sources told SinChew EPF's dividend rate will be announced around lunch hour next Monday.
SUSTOS
post Feb 25 2022, 01:22 PM

8,667 posts

In another news: https://www.sinchew.com.my/20220225/%e9%9f%...ad%98%e9%92%b1/

To encourage "youth saving", the Korean government offers 10% p.a. Youth Hope Savings Product. The Korean government will spend about 159 million ringgit to support the scheme.

The product is targeted for youth aged 19 to 34 with annual income less than 125,600 ringgit. Upon account opening, one needs to deposit 1744 ringgit every month to the account for 2 years.

2 years 10% p.a. brows.gif (You count the risk premium yourself...)
SUSTOS
post Feb 27 2022, 04:50 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Unkerpanjang @ Feb 27 2022, 04:18 PM)
Bro Looi,
i know you have consistently been sincere n transparent in your posts.
However, this is an open forum, theres wide spectrum of forumers with age risk tolerance, FAMA financial support, bitcoin generational wealth, while some working $$ in small island south of Johor, etc.
The old school thinking of dividing asset class, kwsp, asnb, stocks, might seem alien to different generations.

What is cheap valuation? Got chance to buy cheap meh...got mountains of cash to double down? When stocks crash, everything oso kecutlah.
Why drop excess $60k to kwsp, n not stocks MY, STI, US, etc. Surely there must be at least 1 stock counter cheap valuation.

By virtue, still eyeing kwsp dividend change of +/-1%, most are likely still middle income (ada sikit klas kuli) or as Bro puts upper B40 range.
Once hilang kerja, cold sweat. I Pray hard >6%, need to settle 21yo daughter Rolex present.
Seriously? Rolex for a 21 year old? I hope your are kidding.
SUSTOS
post Feb 27 2022, 05:08 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Feb 27 2022, 04:57 PM)
Still no dividend announced? How come?
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=103701778

QUOTE(Hoshiyuu @ Feb 27 2022, 05:04 PM)
The man swings a 1.5m portfolio in his name on ASNB alone, I won't be surprised.
I just hope he doesn't spoil his daughter... But well I have no rights to comment on other's parenting matters anyway.

SUSTOS
post Feb 27 2022, 07:14 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(TheEquatorian @ Feb 27 2022, 07:05 PM)
Is the source credible? Hoping for tomorrow - March is to far away 🙃
I don't work at Sin Chew. tongue.gif So, I don't know.

Maybe can check tonight after 12 am or tomorrow morning and see if the dividends are credited. I remember last year or the year before you can see the numbers and the dividend rate before the official numbers are announced publicly.

Cannot be sure however.
SUSTOS
post Feb 27 2022, 09:51 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Unkerpanjang @ Feb 27 2022, 09:11 PM)
Aiseh TOS, you cannot mean im so artless, right? Most of parents lagi teruk, buy new car for kids. Shud get them take bus or cycle.
See, every bias or judgement can go many different ways depending on each person's lens.

My kids are all brought up totally respectful to elders, as example  my kids will serve their grandparents, uncles, aunts  dishes b4 taking for their own.

A Rolex is not for showing off. It is an investment, teach the child to understand if cared properly, it will hold its value if not appreciate.
This daughter has no interest in stock investments, so as alternative she's taught to appreciate high quality watches (1st Rolex at 18 yo), gold and rest of her seed money split in kwsp and sspn.

My 18 yo old son is taught to religiously follow A Rastani, Coinskid, Dai, stefan huber in terms of all TA and crypto. As its his challenge to beat the father in investment.
He has used up all his seed money, almost $200k to invest in crypto. Discusses me daily on what he learned and latest updates.

School doesnt teach financial literacy...its up to the parents to do so. If as parents we feel a Rolex as a sinful extravaganza, the kids will just follow so.

To me, these are all types of assets and investments.

Anyway, im out of topic. Put in freezer.
Oh Rolex for investment ok ok. Pretty unconventional, but makes perfect sense. biggrin.gif

As long as your kids understand the Rolex is for investment and not something else that's fine.

I personally might prefer giving my kids some shares of blue-chip companies as a gift, at least productive assets are easier to understand than stuff valued solely based on demand and supply. But well since your kid's case is different, your method certainly is one alternative.

QUOTE(Avenger_2012 @ Feb 27 2022, 09:17 PM)
I-Akaun app is under maintenance now…. Seems like dividend is coming in..
The web portal works fine though. No sign of maintenance for the web version.

This post has been edited by TOS: Feb 27 2022, 10:00 PM
SUSTOS
post Feb 27 2022, 10:29 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Feb 27 2022, 10:18 PM)
Heard from somewhere, people r queueing up at Rolex shop in KL to buy watches to hedge against inflation n depreciating RM, true or not?
Don't know about KL's case, but in HK yes. There are economic (and business) reasons behind.

This post has been edited by TOS: Feb 27 2022, 10:30 PM
SUSTOS
post Feb 28 2022, 09:28 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(ineser @ Feb 28 2022, 09:25 AM)
Argg, can't even check my Jan and Feb 2022 EPF due to they haven declare dividen for 2021. There is no other way to check for my Jan and Feb 2022? I just want to make sure my employer bank in my EPF accordingly.
Can try "withdrawal eligilibility", if the number goes up monthly, you can be assured of your contribution.
SUSTOS
post Feb 28 2022, 08:05 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(netcrawler @ Feb 28 2022, 07:52 PM)
Sin chew paper gave another date saying will be announced this  Wednesday.
Yup, https://www.sinchew.com.my/20220228/%e5%85%...81%af%e7%8e%87/

Don't know if later change again laugh.gif
SUSTOS
post Mar 2 2022, 01:02 PM

8,667 posts

https://www.sinchew.com.my/20220302/epf-%e4...0%911%e4%b8%87/

8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0500sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 01:06 PM