QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Mar 3 2024, 03:59 PM)
In that case EPF would be very humble... which means more "future" dividends are locked up to be paid out later. EPF DIVIDEND, EPF
EPF DIVIDEND, EPF
Mar 3 2024, 04:02 PM
8,667 posts Joined: Aug 2019 From: Penang <-> Singapore |
Mar 15 2024, 10:45 PM
Jun 25 2024, 10:24 AM
Jun 27 2024, 06:40 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
Sinchew reports: https://www.sinchew.com.my/news/20240627/nation/5718826
Jun 27 2024, 06:49 PM
Jun 28 2024, 08:58 AM
QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Jun 28 2024, 08:07 AM) 😂 Ok, so next month outflow will be lesser then. My bad... That is only 1 time outflow from Acc2. Half of the amount is still in Acc3 for those who put it to standby for emergency or put elsewhere later. Next month manada Duit to withdraw except the monthly salary contribution if > RM50. Maybe if those withdrawal kaki every month withdraw, Say 2 million people? Probably still can reach RM200 million per month. Basically it's like reduced EPF contribution of 10%. |
Jul 2 2024, 08:38 AM
Cross-posted with ASNB FP funds thread: https://www.sinchew.com.my/news/20240702/yl/5728539
Aug 12 2024, 08:21 AM
Sinchew's article on EPF Account 3. First series: Is EPF adequate for retirement savings with the flexible fund arrangement?
https://www.sinchew.com.my/news/20240812/finance/5829346 |
Sep 21 2024, 02:10 PM
QUOTE(boyboycute @ Sep 21 2024, 01:37 PM) Unker have seen banks collapsed before. People like to login to their accounts and see all the numbers are nicely rounded up, and remain constant over days and months. Then once a year, on dividend date, the number goes up by some 5-6%, and then stays constant throughout the year again before going up by another 5-6% the next year. Rinse and repeat, so easy right?The risk premium is very high in stock investment and certainly not compatible to "sleep well at night" EPF. Unker intended to keep remaining hair on the scalp and sleep well at night too. That's not how the financial markets work unfortunately. Back in EPF office the managers and accountants are dealing with changing market values day and night. EPF hold bonds and stocks which are not constant in value and suddenly jump up by precisely 5,6,7 or 8 % on a single day in one year and then stay put throughout the day just to rise by precisely 5,6,7 or 8% 365/366 days later. When EPF (and ASNB, for that matter) forces your account value at a constant value through the entire year, save for dividend date, they are bearing the market risk on behalf of you. That does not mean that the underlying risk of your money in EPF is 0. It just means that someone else is bearing the risk for you, not unlike an insurance... you are buying a market risk insurance from EPF/ASNB, and you need to pay a premium... That premium is the difference between what you would have gotten if you put your money directly in the stock/bond markets vs EPF/ASNB. EPF won't collapse in theory because: (i) Government can never default on its own debt; BNM just need to stand ready to buy all outstanding T-bills, T-notes and T-bonds issued in MYR by printing MYR out of nowhere and deposit them into your EPF account. (ii) Not everyone dies at the same time or reach 55-60 years old at the same time. There is no imminent pressure to withdraw huge funds out from EPF, in one go. EPF can gives you any return you want in reality. Parliament pass a bill for issuance of Special MGS (SMGS) guaranteed by the Malaysian government, and EPF buys all of them. SMGS yield will then be the return you want EPF to give you, determined via a private agreement between EPF and the government... Singapore did that with SSGS, CPF buys all of them and the proceeds go to GIC together with government budget surplus. The yield of SSGS is always below GIC's returns though, so that's still financially sustainable for them. This post has been edited by TOS: Sep 21 2024, 02:14 PM Gwynbleidd, wongmunkeong, and 2 others liked this post
Oct 3 2024, 05:36 PM
Next year's budget deficit expected to be around 77.5 billion MYR.
https://www.sinchew.com.my/news/20241003/finance/5967866 |
Oct 22 2024, 03:22 PM
QUOTE(nexona88 @ Oct 22 2024, 02:13 PM) https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/...oreign-workers/ The cynical part of me thinks this is one attempt to plug/replenish the losses in assets from the Account 3 withdrawals, and help maintain a steady supply of money to fund the ongoing fiscal deficits... 15% EPF contribution for foreign workers?? All cheapskate employers cry like no tomorrow lorh 😝 nexona88 and Wedchar2912 liked this post
Nov 12 2024, 11:22 AM
QUOTE(virtualgay @ Nov 12 2024, 10:47 AM) Why don't EPF report something that is easy for rakyat to understand - the more you all explain the more I feel EPF not giving us rakyat straight forward answer Because that's not how investment works.All I need to know is base on the q3 report how much did EPF made and since have q3 number can we assume that from q1 until q3 not taking q4 into consideration we can at least give dividend of 7%... Like this ma... Q1 we make some money our dividend projection is 5.5% Q2 we make less money our dividend projection drop to 5.2% Q3 we make a lot more money our dividend projection is up to 6.2% All rakyat care is how much dividend going to declare Then finally on q4 we declare 7% and with a statement that q4 is a tremendous quarter and EPF manage to make the most money Everyone happy lo... Simple saja Even on q4 they say dividend is 4.9% due to some losses also ppl is fine at least transparent and easy to understand Now EPF tell us 20% I am like wah then my dividend will be at least 10% Companies can issue guidance or projections, which are earnings management. If it's done passively it's all good, especially if you know your future income stream pretty well (e.g., customer's pre-order, subscription-based business etc.) But for investment fund that's a poor choice. No one can tell you how stocks will move up or down by XYZ percent the next quarter. The same reason Berkshire Hathaway never issue any guidance for next quarter's earnings. Operating profit is easy to guesstimate, but the investment portfolio gains/losses are almost impossible to project. We do know in the long run how things will perform, and you have the minimum 2.5% p.a. guaranteed return. But in the short-run, say, the next quarter, projecting return is a no brainer. This post has been edited by TOS: Nov 12 2024, 11:22 AM HolyCooler liked this post
| Change to: | 0.0624sec
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 01:54 AM |