EPF DIVIDEND, EPF

Cubalagi
post Jun 24 2021, 10:18 PM

4,499 posts

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/cove...-core-says-amir

This useless Edge keep pushing for tiered dividends..

Cubalagi
post Jun 25 2021, 08:54 AM

4,499 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jun 25 2021, 08:06 AM)
This 42% statement does not seem to jive with this 2019 chart?

Active vs Total

&

2019 vs Now after all the withdrawals

Sure got difference which can only see in 2021 annual report.

This post has been edited by Cubalagi: Jun 25 2021, 08:58 AM
Cubalagi
post Jun 25 2021, 08:55 AM

4,499 posts

Delete

This post has been edited by Cubalagi: Jun 25 2021, 08:55 AM
Cubalagi
post Oct 9 2021, 11:31 AM

4,499 posts

QUOTE(xander83 @ Oct 8 2021, 11:50 PM)
So we know only 15% goes abroad with another 30% still stuck in Bursa  doh.gif
Why u say 15% overseas? Article says 15% with external fund managers. EPF also invest overseas markets directly. Their overseas allocation is more than 30% of their assets.

This post has been edited by Cubalagi: Oct 9 2021, 11:32 AM
Cubalagi
post Oct 10 2021, 08:14 AM

4,499 posts

QUOTE(xander83 @ Oct 9 2021, 10:52 PM)

EPF is never invest directly abroad but only through Khazanah or other GLC like PNBs

Most of the equities are through nominee as it easy for lend for short selling or disposal

Is EPF 30% overseas only equities as they have owned properties like a Polish Shopping Mall so it more like 15% of their abroad exposure are still in properties.  doh.gif

Battersea is another through JV with EcoWorld
1. Never invest directly? Wrong. they use international broking firms when they do so. Fyi EPF is far ahead than PNB r Khazanah when it comes to trading foreign markets.

2. They use custodian bank namely Citibank. U are correct tho that they do actively lend to boost income.

3. Most of their offshore investments are in stocks and ETFs..Yes they do have foreign real estate eg battersea, but that's a small part of their portfolio.

How I know? I'm in the industry.

Cubalagi
post Oct 30 2021, 08:23 AM

4,499 posts

QUOTE(shamino_00 @ Oct 28 2021, 09:35 AM)
EPF investment strategy via SAA
Equities,stocks/shares 42%
Fixed Income, bonds 46%
Money Market 7%
Infrastructure, properties 5%

About 30% of EPF investment overseas

So if EPF have fund around 1 trillion and 42% in equities in local stocks Bursa, with 30% overseas, this mean 70%x 42, around 30% of the fund play locally. About maybe 200~300 billion local bursa have EPF monies in it looking for yield and gain.
It's not 30% of 42% (or 12.6% of total), it's much more than that.

Out of that 30% overseas investments, most are in equities. I have not seen EPF publish the breakdown of its asset allocation for their overseas investments, so this is just based on my observation. My guesstimate is at least 25% in foreign equities This is 25% of total, not 25% of 42%.

Assuming 25%, then you are looking at balance of 17% in Malaysia equities. (Probably a bit less than that). Let's say lah, 17%, then say EPF AUM is RM1 trillion, then it's RM170 billion on bursa.

Bursa market cap is about RM1.8 trillion, so 170 billion over 1.8T is 9.5% in EPF hands.

The next biggest is PNB with AUM of more than RM300 billion. This one probably has 10% overseas now, so it has a bigger exposure AUM % wise to bursa. Size wise, exposure to Bursa is probably close to EPF.

After that u have the smaller Khazanah, Kwap, LTH, LTAT n SOCSO.

I guess about a third of Bursa are in the hands of GLICs.

This post has been edited by Cubalagi: Oct 30 2021, 08:35 AM
Cubalagi
post Nov 2 2021, 08:56 AM

4,499 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Nov 2 2021, 08:44 AM)
Idiotic EPF statements from 2 sides of the mouth
If u recall the previous CEO who was not accommodative enough for withdrawals resigned.

Cubalagi
post Nov 30 2021, 02:11 PM

4,499 posts

QUOTE(TheEquatorian @ Nov 30 2021, 01:16 PM)
https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/...4-0-gaNycGzNCyU

” And yet another politician suggested those with large EPF savings subsidise those with smaller savings. Given that some accounts are so small even doubling or tripling their entire amounts won’t make any difference seems lost in the debate.”
Yeah..let's punish those who are thrifty and who has financial discipline.

Cubalagi
post Dec 10 2021, 11:49 AM

4,499 posts

QUOTE(CoronaV @ Dec 10 2021, 08:43 AM)
Why they still deposit in epf as they only give dividend to max rm1m. What happens to the other rm9m? Weird
No such thing..currently you get same dividends if above RM1m
Cubalagi
post Dec 26 2021, 10:12 AM

4,499 posts

QUOTE(TheEquatorian @ Dec 26 2021, 06:23 AM)
Is EPF considered a GLIC - hope they are not treating it as their money.

” “The GLICs and GLCs which contributed included Petronas; Yayasan Petronas, Khazanah Nasional and Yayasan Hasanah; Yayasan Sime Darby, CIMB, Celcom, Telekom Malaysia, Yayasan UEM and Employee Provident Fund (EPF). With the Government’s grant of RM25 million, the total fund to deal with flood impact and post-flood recovery has risen to RM75.8 million, ”he said.”

https://m.malaysiakini.com/announcement/603955
EPF is a GLIC.

On this donation, fyi EPF does take "management expenses" from the fund to cover their expenses like salaries, rental, IT systems etc. My guess is that donation will come from there.

Cubalagi
post Dec 26 2021, 10:15 AM

4,499 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Dec 25 2021, 01:31 PM)
If our government truly wish to help the elderly, a better method would be to create a universal basic income scheme of some kind. Say all who is above 60 years old will receive RM 1,000 per month until their death. We know Malaysia government can afford to do so.
They can't afford .

Let's say 3 million ppl..will be RM36 billion a year.

N Malaysia is already starting to be aging nation, with more n more people becoming old.
Cubalagi
post Jan 6 2022, 03:29 PM

4,499 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jan 5 2022, 02:31 PM)
That's great research!  thumbup.gif

Yeah. WE should expect Amir Hamzah to have a significant raise to jump rom TNB to EPF.
Amir Hamzah was appointed in 2021. This report is 2020.

Looking at the 2020 figure, I also don't think it's just the CEO salary but the CEO and all the "Chiefs", who are acting deputy CEO.

Cubalagi
post Jan 17 2022, 12:19 PM

4,499 posts

QUOTE(TheEquatorian @ Jan 17 2022, 05:22 AM)
Does anyone have access to Cindy’s latest article? ”Would multimillionaire EPF savers help poorer members?”
Commie writer..

Cubalagi
post Feb 5 2022, 04:28 PM

4,499 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Feb 5 2022, 03:01 PM)
Does this sound like a Ponzi? A Ponzi stands strong provided trust in the scheme is not eroded and wide spread. Once that happens and the run on the company takes place with the customers running through the doors all at once, the whole pack of cards falls flat.
They didn't say EPF will collapse...they say the capital market can collapse.
Cubalagi
post Feb 6 2022, 08:21 AM

4,499 posts

QUOTE(brando_w @ Feb 5 2022, 10:28 PM)
Amending the EPF act; quite plausible.

Any funds with a similar Strategic Asset Allocation as EPF in Msia currently?

PRS seems too focused on a particular instrument / asset.
In terms of Asset Allocation, EPF is basically a balanced/moderate Fund.

50-50 equity fixed income split
30% foreign exposure

EPF past 10 years annualized return is 6.11%.

One big advantage for EPF is no sales charge and very low management fee n that helps performance a lot.

This post has been edited by Cubalagi: Feb 6 2022, 08:28 AM
Cubalagi
post Feb 6 2022, 11:07 AM

4,499 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Feb 6 2022, 09:15 AM)
A. My guess is we will know the EPF % by mid Feb. Gut feel is they have already done all the calculations, just waiting for the boss' release date.

B. Will it be cf last year:
1. same
2. 0.3% higher
3. 0.6 % higher
4. 0.9 % higher
5. 0.3% lower
6. 0.6 % lower

Hoping for #4 but #3 may be more realistic even if 2021 has done better.

Your view?
Mr Bear! Haven't seen your postings for a while.

My tikam is 5.7% for conventional.

This post has been edited by Cubalagi: Feb 6 2022, 11:08 AM
Cubalagi
post Feb 17 2022, 10:57 AM

4,499 posts

While EPF guaranteed minimum dividend is 2.5%, EPF KPI target for dividends is 2% above inflation. For the inflation, they use a rolling average of 3 years CPI number.

So far they have been doing pretty well exceeding this target..but if CPI gets higher and higher, then it will become more challenging.
Cubalagi
post Feb 22 2022, 06:06 PM

4,499 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Feb 22 2022, 03:11 PM)
With SSPN declaring ultra low dividend, wonder whether EPF wil be influenced to do the same. Like this stock markets will pick up again with investors fund nowhere to go now except back to Bursa.
SSPN n EPF use different investing strategies.

For one, SSPN doesn't invest in equities.
Cubalagi
post Mar 6 2022, 09:23 AM

4,499 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Mar 5 2022, 02:35 PM)
One thing I would like to do but have not really spent time on it is to look at past EPF dividend %, revenues, capital etc and see if there are some relationship, trend, weird / outlier %, etc.

As far back as the 1960s. Think the dividend % then was "clean" without the itchy political fingers stirring the pot now.

I can go and dig up the data but if anyone here knows of tables etc available on the web, please let me know. That will reduce my data gathering work by 90%.

I will share my study here.

What EPF did right was that they started to aggressively invest overseas, in particular developed markets starting from, circa 2012. They were then able to profit from the US bull market n MYR devaluation.

Tbh I think it will be very hard in the future for EPF to repeat past 10 years return

Cubalagi
post Mar 6 2022, 09:31 AM

4,499 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Mar 6 2022, 09:29 AM)

Yeah. That was a master stroke as far as EPF is concerned. Compre now with ASB, which is essentially local Bursa. Diminishing returns on a dying market and currency.
We should thank the CEO at the time. Who was it?
Shahril Ridza

29 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0638sec    0.85    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 03:47 PM