EPF DIVIDEND, EPF

CommodoreAmiga
post Dec 25 2022, 01:10 PM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 25 2022, 12:36 PM)
I think no minimum age.

Just open Moomoo sg. All other sg broker sucks.

That's what I am doing. Instead of putting in RM60k, I am diverting the RM60k into overseas stock. I realised I cannot have both world so I choose the one with higher chances of higher return with my limited capital.
I have account with IB and SG Bank ac too, but don't have a Singapore Stockbroker account. Easy to open moo moo? Can do online?
CommodoreAmiga
post Dec 25 2022, 03:05 PM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(gooroojee @ Dec 25 2022, 01:32 PM)
IBKR should be good enough. Moomoo and TigerBrokers can open account online. Good referral bonuses to new sign ups.
So far my IG only buy US stocks. Do I need to have separate SGD account inside?
CommodoreAmiga
post Dec 25 2022, 10:27 PM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Dec 25 2022, 10:05 PM)
Looks at tabung haji. It's all good until it suddenly happens. 6% is good relative to the last year's inflation rate but not this year's.

If MYR hyperinflates, your retirement is toast.
Because Tabung Haji runs based on tunggang agama. Nothing ever good comes from penunggang agama.

This post has been edited by CommodoreAmiga: Dec 25 2022, 10:28 PM
CommodoreAmiga
post Dec 25 2022, 10:35 PM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Dec 25 2022, 09:36 PM)
I would like to welcome you to the club, I'm just ahead of you slightly as new club member also  rclxms.gif I do splurge a bit on and off, here and there also, after all that's one of the purpose to save all these while.

Same, I've been hearing same stories since many decades ago. Somehow back then I did my own research and calculation, but no one to discuss with, to me it doesn't make sense EPF will die. Somehow I have faith in my own decision and joined the club recently as well.
0.45% club ... not bad ... boleh syiok sendiri  rolleyes.gif  

Nowadays I'm quite quiet in EPF thread, no point argue with some random fellows who jump in suddenly and ignite fire.  If you are there, you are there, and not easily triggered. I'll just wait quietly for next year dividend announcement >5% definitely (my faith).
icon_rolleyes.gif
Yep...can see some.people.jumped in already. Frankly 1m is nothing to shout about to me. Just B40 lifestyle only...but likely.those.who reached 1m in EPF has equivalent or more investment/networth outside.

I still continue to eat chap fan and wantan Mee. Enjoy moderate lifestyle without worries. People who far away can make noise all they want.

Adakah aku kesah.

This post has been edited by CommodoreAmiga: Dec 25 2022, 10:39 PM
CommodoreAmiga
post Dec 27 2022, 02:35 PM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(gooroojee @ Dec 27 2022, 02:17 PM)
To try to explain this better.. for contributions, because usually it's the employer contributing, employees don't get a say on timing, so EPF considers all contributions as being deposited last day of the month, inclusive of that last day, so if you deposit now, you get one day of dividend for your contribution for 31st Dec. However, this contribution will get the full 365 days of dividends for 2023.

If you deposit on 1st December, you gain nothing extra, it is still considered as deposited on 31st Dec.

If you deposit on 1st Jan, it's considered as deposited on 31st Jan.

Hence depositing now is considered the ideal timing, in terms of the time of month perspective.

Hope that helps!
Thanks for reminding. Ayam gonna start self contributing end of Jan.

CommodoreAmiga
post Dec 27 2022, 04:51 PM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Dec 27 2022, 02:40 PM)
lets hope BNM hike rates properly next year... then we will have a very happy but confusing problem. Imagine 1 year FDs hovering at 6% pa to 7% pa for 2023.

headache or not? haha
Then all in FD!!!! Huat ah!!!!
CommodoreAmiga
post Dec 28 2022, 03:00 PM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Dec 28 2022, 12:45 PM)
property in this country has changed.

shoe box sizes property up 10% 5 years? past 10 years have been stagnant. only developers and banks are winners.

you can 200% guarantee house price goes up 10% every 5 years?

people write here without thinking about time cost, distance cost, lawyer cost, bill costs to attend to the house.
Unker old already. Dun care. All properties debt settled very early. Can sleep at night. Now only manage cash. Cash is king.

Frankly, i aint gonna touch property anymore. Will only buy REITS. No headache maintenance, sinking fund, chasing tibai tenant who won't pay bill, water and electric.

And yeah, the days of glorious up up up in properties are over. Today buy new properties, probably cannot cover installment and and other fees.

I repeat: CASH IS KING.

I belip in Bossku.
CommodoreAmiga
post Dec 30 2022, 07:59 AM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(Unkerpanjang @ Dec 30 2022, 07:24 AM)
Can someone help explain meaning in hokkien or cantonese? Thanks in advance for your leniency. Help me vote the appropriate reason..

A.

B.
Please don't entertain the troll and just report them.
CommodoreAmiga
post Dec 30 2022, 04:10 PM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Dec 30 2022, 04:06 PM)
So you still want to argue your silly idea that properties is a better investment vs EPF... all because you came out ahead in properties by leeching off your brother's effort.

ok, I was wrong in thinking that you don't have an agenda. and I was also wrong about EPF being effortless, while properties do need active management of sorts. Oh wait... I am sure everyone of us have a nice brother like yours who will do all the work.

What I do know is that EPF is available to all of us Malaysians, while your brother is available to you. doh.gif
I can't help but laughed out loud!!! 😂😂😂

Anyway, everyone, please keep this to EPF Dividend topic. Can discuss properties elsewhere.

This post has been edited by CommodoreAmiga: Dec 30 2022, 04:14 PM
CommodoreAmiga
post Dec 31 2022, 01:27 PM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Dec 31 2022, 12:18 PM)
thank you

so regardless how much I pump in, only the acc 2 I can withdraw, unless I have 1m in it

since 1m is still a long way to go for me, would it be safe to say I just park it in normal FD with lower interest as compare to EPF just in case I needed the money
You have to set up an emergency fund of 3-6mths first. Then you can start apportioning you money to EPF, FDs and Stock Market for high risk/high growth. Just don't buy Unit trust or Insurance investment plan.
CommodoreAmiga
post Jan 2 2023, 11:03 AM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 2 2023, 09:57 AM)
Wedchar2912
Thanks for the advice
normal FD I can get 4% minimum for per annum, but from my understanding, EPF will always have a higher yield than banks, no?
I think I should be able to reach the 1m mark in 5 years time, so its better for me to speed up the process?

gashout
Thanks, will try not to touch any, so far so good
was just wondering the extra we pump in, just in case need to use, still able to take out should be ok

CommodoreAmiga
Thanks, will take note
The investment insurance, young time kena dy, I think I have at least 3 , so won't be touching that
Share market end of the day, red more than grey, all in all lose money, make less than 5 figure, lose more than 6 figure, tipu orang punya
I not too young dy, stick to epf n fd for now
There is no guarantee FD minimum 4%. Only for this year and next, after that, it's anybody's guess.

Stock Market, don't buy BURSA. BURSA only good for blue chips dividend stocks. Rest all goreng. Want to trade, best go to US stock market. Big crash expected soon. Time to standby cash and buy ETF or blue chips.

And remember to have sufficient Medical and Life protection(if you have dependants).

This post has been edited by CommodoreAmiga: Jan 2 2023, 11:04 AM
CommodoreAmiga
post Jan 3 2023, 01:26 PM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(koaydarren @ Jan 3 2023, 01:04 PM)
How come in lowyat, everyone is so rich can easily transfer 60k or 120k just like this, or just that I'm poor? Feel bad for myself.
This is loose change for the taikos here...they move millions also normal. Inb4 lowyat full of criminals cuci duit... brows.gif
CommodoreAmiga
post Jan 3 2023, 02:35 PM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(Capt. Marble @ Jan 3 2023, 02:23 PM)
The dividend is calculated based on the “Modified Aggregate Daily Balance”.. whatever that means. Does this mean daily?

https://www.kwsp.gov.my/en/dividend#FrequentlyAskedQuestion
I think based on the info discussed previously, it's based on the end of the month, hence dumping in early is rugi. I am dumping in later near end of the month. Got few FDs matured this month, all can dump in.
CommodoreAmiga
post Jan 4 2023, 07:16 AM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(Ankle @ Jan 3 2023, 08:02 PM)
Expecting 5.5pct for 2022 dividend.

Its human nature to expect more, hehehe

Though wont be disappointed with a 5 considering mediocre results for first 9 months.
QUOTE(gashout @ Jan 3 2023, 08:15 PM)
I'm also targeting the same
Ayam tilik 5% to 5.3% max.
CommodoreAmiga
post Jan 4 2023, 08:01 AM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(Ankle @ Jan 4 2023, 07:55 AM)
At this rate the 6m dollar man will get 360k.

Can buy the three pointed star car dy.

Maybe 6 is wishful thinking.
World wide market all down. US market kantoi. Expecting bigger crash coming, it's confirmed.

If got 5 % already cukur. It's impossible for 6%. Next year will probably goes down to 4%.

Comes to think on it, maybe I shouldn't self contribute EPF for this year. FD might better
CommodoreAmiga
post Jan 4 2023, 09:43 AM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Jan 4 2023, 08:03 AM)
Everytime I think it will crash... market will hold and recover longer... 😀 crash is not good for everyone... our epf money also kena impacted...
Not this time, it's been building up. And yes, it will.recover in a few years....next crash will be good opportunity....
CommodoreAmiga
post Jan 4 2023, 10:13 AM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(Ankle @ Jan 4 2023, 09:49 AM)
Bro

Dont la so pessimistic. New PM , China opening up , Putin having second thoughts about war , covid
becoming smaller issue. Maybe bursa ends 2023 at 1600 pts.
We make bet. See who wins. Loser runs.around naked in your own bathroom. 😁
CommodoreAmiga
post Jan 4 2023, 10:51 AM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(Ankle @ Jan 4 2023, 10:45 AM)
The last time I bet France to lift the world cup and at 2 - 0 after first half,
I thought all was lost so I went to bed. Mana tau Argentina conceded two goals
in second half and thereafter extra time the score was 3 - 3. Who would have
thought. In the end Messi led his country to victory via penalty kicks and I had
to open my wallet the next day. I will tell you why I picked France however that would
be a story for another day.

Admittedly I have done naked pushups in my bathroom, never tried running
and if I take up the bet with you, you will be the one figuring out how to pull the feat.

Suffice to say with good governance  , minimal corruption , greater productivity
the country should improve a lot going forward.
Ok, bro, it's on! Lol.
CommodoreAmiga
post Jan 6 2023, 04:50 PM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(HolyCooler @ Jan 6 2023, 02:32 PM)
That is why sometimes i feel very angry when seeing they took lots of our tax money but can't even make a quality road.
@prophetjul

I think got some misunderstanding here. When prophetjul said > 5m, i didn't relate it to EPF but rather overall saving.

And about retirement, yup, YOLO.
Latest EPF news. They never stop asking government to allow them to withdraw again : https://malaysiagazette.com/2023/01/05/peng...anyak-membantu/
Crazy idiots. Firstly, I doubt they have 50k to withdraw in the first place. 10k already susah after so many rounds of withdrawal. These people just lazy and wants free money to buy iFong and mod motors without realizing they will be beggars in old age.

This post has been edited by CommodoreAmiga: Jan 6 2023, 04:50 PM
CommodoreAmiga
post Jan 8 2023, 09:22 AM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jan 8 2023, 08:57 AM)
yeah as long as that person is happy with what he/she is doing
who are we to say otherwise?

if one has alot of money but feel uncomfortable doing all that you have said there,
i would be the last to  say he/she is stupid dont know how to enjoy life.
Absolutely agree. Each person has their own definition of enjoyment. Holidays and spending some money sometimes is nice. But if that's all to it, it's pretty shallow. As age catches up, I realized it's what we do that's important. I am learning lots of stuff now. My belief, knowledge is the only thing that one can take with you. All other material stuff are just that. Material objects. Even if you add a few more zeroes behind my bank account now, it won't change me. I am indifferent to material possessions.

My enjoyment comes from learning and this needs lots of time, patience, focus and pratice. Doesn't need a lot of money.

48 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0533sec    0.95    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 04:58 PM