EPF DIVIDEND, EPF

dwRK
post Sep 22 2024, 11:12 AM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 22 2024, 09:38 AM)
25% Malaysia totally spend off all their EPF saving $$ within 5 years after retirement  ๐Ÿ˜ฒ shakehead.gif

https://weirdkaya.com/25-of-msians-found-to...within-5-years/
there is no way to know this...

sure, one can take for example, epf savings รท dream expenditure, but its just imaginary case for sensational article...

dwRK
post Sep 22 2024, 11:29 AM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Sep 21 2024, 02:19 PM)
what I know is that for someone to claim ringgit been doing very well by cherry picking from all time low (weakest) to current level indicates some ulterior motive, or plainly to satisfy some narrative.

the more interesting question we all should have is what will ringgit move from 4.8xx to 4.2xx or lower will mean for our EPF performance this year...
did EPF manage to remit back the funds when usd was stronger earlier? 
any funds EPF left overseas, did those funds garner a greater return than the 10% ringgit appreciation this year?

like my case, I knew very well when i took out my epf to invest overseas, ringgit was weak.... but gosh, those investments already made more than 12 years worth of epf return compounded in ringgit terms... if ringgit didn't appreciate, it would have been even better. Is this plain good luck?
Now my headache is whether to continue the said investments or remit back to Malaysia... that's why I am open to rationales of why Malaysia/ringgit will continue to do better....
(problem is did anything change? or this is just USD weakening or global trade disruptions)
i expect epf to do well this year... biggrin.gif

klci up... myr strong... hopefully they cut foreign investment earlier and brought the proceeds home beforehand...

inflation should also come down a bit... so bumper harvest this year n next... wink.gif

your oversea investment is your own headache... hahaha

dwRK
post Sep 22 2024, 11:44 AM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 22 2024, 11:30 AM)
Different people different lifestyle & objectives

But if one were look around... The article does have some basis...

I remember one news... 700k EPF money just gone like that... Spending on unnecessary stuff including children lavishly wedding...
nah... one or two cases that go viral don't mean anything... a lot are just white noise...

ive been to a few tax briefings... our shadow economy is very strong... these rich ppl have low epf savings...

dwRK
post Sep 22 2024, 01:02 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(jasontoh @ Sep 22 2024, 11:48 AM)
So aggressive  shocking.gif ? No need makan, buy house, buy car, buy iPhone 16 Pro Max  tongue.gif ?
retiring in 1 yr... big ticket items more or less settled...

slowly ramped up to 75% last yr... we are frugal and she is low maintenance... still got fd n casa to draw down... smile.gif

dwRK
post Sep 22 2024, 02:07 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Sep 22 2024, 01:39 PM)
technically the article didn't lie... in fact, it should have explained much better....

from EPF itself... Median savings of 60-64 is 8K rm... if every month spends 500rm, only can last 16 months... 5 years is too long...

it all depends on how one views the info...

the real question is why someone at age 64 only has 8K rm in EPF... could it be the said person has like 5 kids and each of the kids are giving him 1K to spend?  biggrin.gif
at age 55... withdraw 5 mil... left 5k... so now considered by epf to be too poor no money to retire... wink.gif

at age 25... after working 2 yrs... set up successful business never deposit epf anymore... 30 yrs later... epf got 5k... also considered as poor

des why cant fully trust stories from these snapshot data... biggrin.gif

dwRK
post Sep 23 2024, 08:27 AM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 22 2024, 11:08 PM)
Ahhh...

That's the correct term..

Many don't kena jackpot  or maybe none in their lifetime but will in their life get their EPF money windfall $$$... No matter what... Unless... GG before that. And next of kin get windfall instead ๐Ÿ˜”

And finally another group of people...
Use EPF money to invest those get rich scheme...
Greedy to increase the money double or triple what EPF given... But in the end.. lose everything to scammer
des why set up epf acc for kids liao... start moving funds to them...

they get isaaran... importantly when we gg... they dun get too big windfall... scammer cannot target locked up monies in epf... hahaha

dwRK
post Sep 24 2024, 10:17 AM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Sep 24 2024, 09:34 AM)
EPF has nomination for your money. If you gg, kid get, still the same. Important is to teach kid financial prudence, investment and scams. This is what i do now. Whenever see scam news, tell my kid, explain to him. Kasi brain wash kaw kaw. Also tell them never trust Unit trust. Investment must learn the hard way. No get rich quick scheme. I even try to help my nephew who is very bodoh financially, but he never take initiative. Fed up. I have tried.
yes... financial prudence and street smart are important... but scams can get very sophisticated... also many other ways money can be targeted...

putting some in their epf now also gives us parents some peace of mind that whatever happens, they will have some money secured for their retirement...

dwRK
post Sep 24 2024, 10:24 AM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Sep 24 2024, 09:38 AM)
While it IS important for all the above, there is a difference with i-saraan vs nomination, when you nominate, the kid will get the lump sum in cash (not in their EPF account) so it is not locked up till 55 years old. Which is a good thing for kids who have no other means of supporting themselves, and a good thing for kids who are financially prudent. But bad if they're vulnerable to scam and/or the type to spend durian runtuh fast. So have to make decision based on personality as well.
correct... they get the bulk when we gg... and there will be more when they retire...

kids can still blow it all away at 55... but at least we try... char siew kids would have been disowned earlier... biggrin.gif

dwRK
post Sep 24 2024, 10:41 AM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(Rinth @ Sep 23 2024, 10:15 AM)
majority ppl reach 55 will withdraw all their EPF out, because they scare the government/ country will take their money...this weird logic always puzzled me, scare EPF scam them, but not scare bank scam them, as you withdraw EPF $$ and put in bank FD, and not scare those money game/forex game that promise you 10% return per month......mind blowing...
sometimes is familiarity and habits...

ppl are familiar with banking... everyday easy money in money out... epf office maybe visit twice in their lifetime, more paperwork and longer to withdraw... lump sum 55 withdrawal into banks just give some people that comfort feeling...

dwRK
post Sep 24 2024, 11:05 AM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(jasontoh @ Sep 24 2024, 10:55 AM)
Yes, this is what I noticed also. Because even in Ponzi scheme, as long as still got new money coming in, the scheme can go on and most people from my parents generation have bad experience with EPF, so they rather withdraw and deposit in banks. Mainly on the service and convenience. But with the online facility getting better, I also teach them to just withdraw the money when they needed the money.
you can actually set up automatic monthly withdrawal from epf... this is what i plan to do if i ever deplete my external funds...

dwRK
post Sep 24 2024, 01:25 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

best confirm with epf lah... get it directly from horse mouth...

dwRK
post Sep 24 2024, 02:49 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Sep 24 2024, 01:41 PM)
Perhaps related or relevant to what were discussed in early Sept?
Try posting that lead up to post 21077 as in image by poweredbydiscuz
Page 1054 for more details
different fud...

1. manual withdrawal 12k in dec... 12k no get dividend
2. auto withdrawal 1k per month... 12k no get dividend

dwRK
post Sep 24 2024, 07:54 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(guanteik @ Sep 24 2024, 04:13 PM)
I think the same concept applied to housing loans as well ... be it one lump sum or monthly installment to the housing loan, that whole chuck won't get any dividend.
Which is why a lump sum withdrawal makes more sense compared to monthly basis.
lump sum is good only because we know got dividend...

ansuran we avoid because nobody knows better... all the replies is "according to somebody"... laugh.gif

anyways id be sure to ask when the time comes... smile.gif

dwRK
post Sep 26 2024, 02:09 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

i will switch when they start give consistently higher div... wink.gif

but right now... they faking the high div last year vs conventional...

dwRK
post Sep 26 2024, 02:59 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

pls folks be smart n ask yourself first...

240k... is it nominal or real... always simply tembak here... hahaha...

dwRK
post Sep 27 2024, 11:54 AM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 27 2024, 11:51 AM)
Seriously...
I cannot brain the reason why the needs of account 3...
When almost most times EPF complaining saying Malaysian cannot retired because lack of basic $$$ in EPF....
acc 3 is good idea... i support

dwRK
post Sep 27 2024, 12:31 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 27 2024, 12:01 PM)
Actually speaking
It's both bring positive & negative to contributor

Positive - those enough $$$ in EPF, like 500k above... It's chance to invest in more high yield investment portfolio

Negative - those already low on EPF $$$, their balance become even worse... And like EPF said... Cannot retired comfortable... Even the the useless 240k basic
Majority like that lorh...
Hard not to touch EPF $$$
yes... follow cpf 3 accounts

idea is good... got emergency funds... no money is rakyat problem

waifu n i never touch epf... we from poor ppl, but we frugal, no fancy car no iphone eat chap fan clothes from 2nd street... work hard work smart now can enjoy a bit smile.gif

dwRK
post Sep 27 2024, 02:51 PM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 27 2024, 02:17 PM)
Good for you ๐Ÿ˜
Sadly not many like that... And think EPF as CASA or ATM... Anytime can access the $$$ ๐Ÿ˜Š

And finally YOLO lifestyle... Need latest iPhone, Honda car, branded clothes, foreign holidays etc.
is ok... they yolo directly help the local economy...

you guy withdraw epf then quick quick send overseas isnt helping... wink.gif

dwRK
post Oct 10 2024, 09:13 AM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

should just ban account transfers... end of problem laugh.gif

imho... savings to acc 1 & 2... dividends to acc 3

dwRK
post Oct 19 2024, 12:57 AM

the consummate chartist
6,248 posts

QUOTE(adam1190 @ Oct 18 2024, 11:45 PM)
If I am a freelance worker now and registered and contributed for I-Saraan but subsequently I found a full time job with regular epf contribution for my employer, then do I still get the I-Saraan incentive given by the government (capped at RM 500 per annum)?
no

23 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0514sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 01:55 AM