EPF DIVIDEND, EPF

gamenoob
post Feb 4 2025, 09:08 AM

893 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Feb 3 2025, 10:02 PM)
that means >130,000 contributors
The news say 1,6M members are contributing... so that average out rm8k+... still low...
gamenoob
post Feb 5 2025, 01:13 PM

893 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Feb 5 2025, 09:14 AM)
Just need to look how many people have 1mil & above in EPF.....

This people is the one can just survive with dividends yearly....

But I sure, they also have others sources elsewhere... Not 100% on EPF alone 😁
1M EPF not enough la... some say you need at least 4-5M... then only can goyang telur for with monthly 20k expenses.
gamenoob
post Feb 6 2025, 07:46 AM

893 posts

QUOTE(trumpkampung @ Feb 5 2025, 01:22 PM)
bcse of expenses
I still got 8k monthly housing loan to pay
4k for 2 car loan
other expenses including food rm4k pm
so total I need is 16k pm

not easy to simply retire
hope by 50, got 5 mil to help secure some payments.
even then not so safe... but cars will be paid off by then.... just the house is a big burden

Depending on each person end game objective... I'm sure you would have paid off the house by the time you hit 55 or even better by 50.

Car loan for Malaysian is almost like tax and death ... can't run away... but one can always get a urban runabout like P2 ativa for nuts and it will run 10yrs easily.

Your other expenses seems reasonable at 4k albeit no idea of your household pax. Assuming just you and spouse when hit retirement, house should be fully paid, insurance accumulated good cash balance, kids education is done, then it's only 4k +2k car until kaput....plus inflation

Once you become empty nester, you can always downsize the house.... or swap house with kids. They started of with smaller dwelling which they bought... you guys swap over their smaller place while the financial ownership still remain the same until you kick the bucket or if your kid out pace you financially... you and spouse just downsize for real and enjoy to the max... as older you get... big house double storey can be a pain to upkeep... even go up and down.

Inflation are different for each individual plus as you aged, your living consumption dropped but your medical expenses will rise.

So you may not necessarily need that RM5M smile.gif the combination is endless once your capital is adequately achieved...

While it's good to accumulate the pot now, don't forget to reward one self reasonably or adequately (everyone have their reasonable definition) along the way...
gamenoob
post Feb 6 2025, 07:55 AM

893 posts

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Feb 6 2025, 12:55 AM)
8k monthly housing loan seems to be very high to me.... 700k home with 30 years loan at 4.2% interest rate, monthly is RM3.4k.... so that means your home is probably 1.5mil or so? i think that's not really necessary if you cannot afford it...but definitely okay if you can afford it...

if you want to simply retire....looks very easy to me....can easily cut from your house and also car.... like can easily change the car to RM0 commitment and housing loan to RM3.5k monthly...  biggrin.gif  but of course to each their own....
Thank goodness I settled mine before house price went stupid like 15 yrs ago. Most new landed properties in good location from 2010s gone double or triple in today price.

So assuming 700k mortgage, say 1M house with 300k DP. That is ordinary landed terrace house. One can choose condo but that eventually will depreciate after certain age... so used condo can be a cheaper retirement downsizing option ...

gamenoob
post Feb 6 2025, 09:16 PM

893 posts

QUOTE(trumpkampung @ Feb 6 2025, 08:53 AM)
2010 prices now are x2 and remained stagnant from 2015/16 onwards

You r lucky u settled it. I am also lucky i managed to sell at x2.

That is why i can go/buy for a better house n neighborhood now.
My plan was to settle the mortgage by the time I'm 45. That is 10yrs ago. House loan settled on 5th years right after the lock in period is up. Some will say that stupid of clearing mortgage so early plus the greatest sin of epf withdrawal too then... bye.gif

But I made up for it the last few years by maxing out self contribution ..

I'm sure you on right trajectory for your FIRE
gamenoob
post Feb 7 2025, 08:20 AM

893 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Feb 6 2025, 10:32 PM)
if you are ok with working (either enjoy or neutral), then should work as long as you can.... would seem like a waste to just leave cash on the table in exchange of 5 years....

but the other flip side of things is everyone of us pretty much only has 80 years (or as i like to say 80 diamonds)... 30 diamonds vs 25 diamonds left is a difference of 20%. plus the final 10 to 5 diamonds are not as valuable vs the diamonds representing the age of 50 to 70.

I think by 55, can just call it retire already lar... not really fire'd...  tongue.gif
Couldn't say it better...

Trumpkampung is doing well... it's just up to his own preferences
gamenoob
post Feb 11 2025, 09:11 AM

893 posts

QUOTE(boyboycute @ Feb 10 2025, 05:12 PM)
It's not real money until you're able to withdraw them and spend it.

Until then, it's just numbers in your account
Do tell of your rationale.....
gamenoob
post Feb 11 2025, 04:42 PM

893 posts

QUOTE(boyboycute @ Feb 11 2025, 11:38 AM)
The Sri Lankan will understand it
What Sri Langka thingy got to do with EPF dividend and the performance/payout etc?
gamenoob
post Feb 11 2025, 05:39 PM

893 posts

Folks

Did you all updated your KWSP app to version 3.7.3?
gamenoob
post Feb 11 2025, 06:24 PM

893 posts

QUOTE(justanovice @ Feb 11 2025, 05:56 PM)
Yes I did. Why this question?
Was wondering any new functionality or issues etc.

Thanks bro.
gamenoob
post Feb 11 2025, 10:17 PM

893 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Feb 11 2025, 09:41 PM)
listen to this:

Yes I'm aware of this talk. As much as I enjoy such good common sense reminder on living a balanced and holistic fulfilling life....

I 'm sure those individuals would have a different perspective if they are born into the opposite circumstances... like those on lower demographic categories.... they would be worrying their bread than love..

But then again, our earlier bro was referring to Sri Langkan situation...

This post has been edited by gamenoob: Feb 11 2025, 10:18 PM
gamenoob
post Feb 12 2025, 08:17 AM

893 posts

QUOTE(virtualgay @ Feb 12 2025, 12:00 AM)
Below 5.8% go Penang for holiday
Above 5.8% to 6.0% go Genting for holiday
Above 6.0% to 6.2% go Hatyai for holiday
Above 6.2% go Bangkok for holidays
The cost differences of these 4 locations indicate our bro have no less than RM5M
gamenoob
post Feb 12 2025, 02:35 PM

893 posts

QUOTE(virtualgay @ Feb 12 2025, 01:56 PM)
gila la.. i wish i have 5M
if i have 5M, i wont be spending time here
if my budget is Penang it tells u that i have less than 1M in my saving
let us just assume i have 500k
500k 5.8% = 29k
500k 6.0% = 30k
500k 6.2% = 31k

Penang i think 1000 enough la
Genting i think 2000 with room + tickets to ammusement park should be enough
Hatyai 3k can drive there then rent nice room, then makan besar besar
bangkok 4k can take flight there then rent nice hotel, then makan besar + beli belah

not everyone has 1M in EPF or 5M
i am the M40 group
Hahaha ha...

No la I was on the thinking that if it 5.8%... it just meh hence just local trip or none. But if 6.2%... ie 0.4% more... at 5M, that is extra Rm20k, or RM2K, extra funds to jolly with family to Bangkok.

Not meant to blow whole amount wei. Don't think the folks in this group will be that reckless.... biggrin.gif

Maybe just me kiamsiap...unless the dividends are that extra good, won't be touching it soon for any vacation.... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by gamenoob: Feb 12 2025, 02:44 PM
gamenoob
post Feb 13 2025, 07:51 AM

893 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Feb 12 2025, 05:32 PM)

You can use the i-akaun of yours to top up other people EPF account using your bank account...

We can top other EPF from own EPF via i-akaun app where the 100k quota on recipient is also observed ya?
gamenoob
post Feb 22 2025, 09:37 AM

893 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Feb 22 2025, 08:27 AM)
Huh??

What you talking???

See your details statement...

January - December.... For dividend calculation
Btw, as epf contribution are monthly, how do they prorate the tenure/ aging for dividends calculation?... for example Dec 2024 contribution vs Jan 2024..... or they just take entire year 2024 x % ?
gamenoob
post Feb 22 2025, 05:40 PM

893 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Feb 22 2025, 10:35 AM)
Dec 2024 contribution -  balance on 1 Jan till 31 Dec 2025 (provided no withdrawal). You get full 12m dividend

Jan 2024 contribution - It's 1 day for January + 11m (provided no withdrawal is done)
Basically one get full dividend even if the Dec contribution just 2-3 months away from dividends distribution as long as no withdrawal....

In savings like FD, you have to fork out entire sums upfront to have that annual interest.... and yet so many whine and b1tch at EPF cheat their money....

gamenoob
post Feb 22 2025, 07:11 PM

893 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Feb 22 2025, 06:00 PM)
I am surprised by the implication of your post ,
personally i dont believe EPF is that stupid
you dont expect to earn interest
for that period  when your money was not in their hand
be it EPF or bank FD
so i better clarify what did you mean.
are you saying  if a person starting from 0 balance in EPF on 31.12.2023

and starting from 1.1.24
he deposit RM10k every month,
by 31.12.2024 he would have put in total  RM120,000

and if EPF declare dividend 6% for that year
later on he will receive full dividend
ie RM120k x 6% = RM7200 for those deposits?

and you are right FD cheat your money
because if you want to earn FULL interest RM7200
starting from 1.1.2024 you must  put all RM120k upfront
so how is EPF different in not cheating you?
I have to re read your post few times to understand where the strong reaction come from... and yet your answer is exactly what i was seeking in my question to nexona88

You are correct in capturing my question.

My comment about some people whining about EPF cheating was in reference to those folks out there like wanting to withdraw their money before 55, complaining about low interest, all the limitations that epf has, epf ponzi etc..not able spend before they die, it's just a number on paper etc... etc ..

It wasnt referring to you... I have to reread back last few posting in case if anything on such that may triggered such reaction. My apology for such as it wasn't meant to your posting which about interest losses and EPF cheat etc. Timing of it is just aligned which trigger your reaction biggrin.gif

Also based on his reply i was assuming one get the full 7.2k using your example assuming starting from zero. That not fair to him as the question wasn't clear to him that one started with zero in 2023 using your example. Hence I thought why epf so generous in that sense which also odd given what been discussed...

Given your explanation, the dividend to be announced payouts will be prorated for Jan to Dec 2024 contribution.

As for your posting on the actual day of interest losses from epf, it is what it is which we can't do anything of.

Hope that clarify. biggrin.gif and thank you for answering my question with more clarity and details.

This post has been edited by gamenoob: Feb 22 2025, 07:54 PM
gamenoob
post Feb 22 2025, 08:43 PM

893 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Feb 22 2025, 08:04 PM)
i think you are abit sensitive about the hostility  part
that is just my way of posting straight to point.
apology if it pains you

but it pains me to see financial savvy people in here can easily believe
deposit money for 1 month can earn interest for 12 months

never mind how much your EPF balance at the starting point,
it can be Rm1k or 1 million it is still the same

you just cannot  expect to earn interest
for that period when your money was not in their hand

you got that idea from nexona88's replies?where

that is the problem of not posting clearly
propagating wrong info not knowing it
It's the Internet, in non verbal communication.. things bound to get misinterpreted... as for nexona88 bro, not his fault..just some unclarify facts which led to some assumptions on my part.

No pain on my part as long as it's understood my comment on cheating not on you.

We all good
gamenoob
post Feb 22 2025, 08:44 PM

893 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Feb 22 2025, 08:19 PM)
My previous reply not clear enough 🤔

January contribution: 1 day for January + 11m

February contribution: 1 day for February + 10m

March contribution: 1 day for March + 9m

And it's goes on like that....
Basically even you maximum 100k on January... It's just 1 day interest for January contribution, regardless of date / day in January. As long system capture as January contribution....
And it's without any withdraw done...

If got, then it's pro-rated

I cannot get any clearer than this 🙏
No worry bro. Just some mis- assumption on my part. Your explanation all good.
gamenoob
post Feb 24 2025, 09:59 AM

893 posts

Wonder why they hyping it up... driving up expectation is never a good thing... unless they truly have sure win numbers that exceed it.. not some measly one.....

11 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0510sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:38 PM