EPF DIVIDEND, EPF

SUSfuzzy
post Nov 13 2024, 11:03 AM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(jasontoh @ Nov 13 2024, 10:59 AM)
So the div payout is taking from the same source or Syariah and Convention will have different AUM and NI?
Same source for now as I think they just split it this year. So this will be the first year they can deviate from conventional.
SUSfuzzy
post Nov 13 2024, 11:23 AM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(jasontoh @ Nov 13 2024, 11:18 AM)
But how come suddenly the Syariah div outperformed?
Syariah had more tech vs conventional which was weighed down some more non-syariah blue chips.

All in all, it still under-perform conventional.

But will be interesting to see this year how both do.
SUSfuzzy
post Nov 13 2024, 11:45 AM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(jasontoh @ Nov 13 2024, 11:24 AM)
Yeah, but the AUM is same source, so how to know which is Syariah or not, correct?
Internally you know la if its syariah or not. But last time they just invest as one, then calculation time take out syariah vs non.

Moving forward both can do different things.

SUSfuzzy
post Nov 14 2024, 09:55 AM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(coolguy_0925 @ Nov 13 2024, 09:16 PM)
Now they picked up with tech stocks in US and comparable with conventional % liao

My doubt is then why the investment manager never adjust conventional portfolio to also hold more US tech stocks since it is giving so good return?
Because EPF risk tolerance is different than individual ones. Tech returns are only "good" if you look at share price appreciation, but not necessary cash return basis which EPF needs to pay out. So unless they have the timeframe to sit out the ebbs and flows for the riskier tech stock, they would be more conservative in the case they need to sell.

For private investors, you can afford to buy and sit on it for 3-5 years timeline where it can moonshot, ala NVDA.
SUSfuzzy
post Nov 14 2024, 04:15 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(coolguy_0925 @ Nov 14 2024, 04:02 PM)
The discussion was about syariah vs conventional where the former got a huge dividend jump last year due to holding US tech stocks as explained by EPF

Isnt syariah also same need to pay out same like conventional
They do sell some in order to do make the payment.

For example, let's imagine 5 years ago when both is pondering what to invest:

Conventional will invest in tech, in banks, in tobacco (for example), so because they have more options they can opt for lower risk items as part of overall portfolio.

Syariah might have to focus more on tech in a higher % as they more limited, so last year they can deliver higher returns even though both were looking at a longer term view.

But in a bad year, conventional will prevail given the diversity over Syariah. That's one of the reasons why they don't have to simply go gang busters into tech.

That's why many said will be interesting to see what happens now given Syariah is fully separated from Conventional.
SUSfuzzy
post Nov 14 2024, 10:15 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(coolguy_0925 @ Nov 14 2024, 09:22 PM)
Hmm

My impression has always been syariah compliant shares are more conservative

Okay maybe I need to change my impression liao :grin:
Got 6%+ also bersyukur liao

Need to be realistic
Won't say more conservative, just less options. Like even bank stocks which is a staple of most funds is not considered syariah I think, so what else can you invest in?

SUSfuzzy
post Nov 16 2024, 10:26 AM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(virtualgay @ Nov 11 2024, 03:56 PM)
can we project with minimum pay of RM1750, dividend 5%, increment 5%
work till how man years before reaching RM1.0M?
QUOTE(fuzzy @ Nov 11 2024, 04:02 PM)
36 years.
Many here have done the calculations, even if you start in min wage, you can hit RM1mil by retirement.

So if you can't save RM600k, I don't think you can blame epf or whatever.

Blame yourself. Like the saying goes, Born poor is not your fault, stay poor is.
SUSfuzzy
post Nov 17 2024, 12:25 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Nov 17 2024, 09:26 AM)
Weird

How some says can hit earlier with 1mil...

Like this, need to either jump more to get better salary & contribute more during early working days...

And with inflation rate in future...
That 1mil might look & feel like 100k 😔
You hit 1mil by 61, the calculations are sound. His calculations also ignores that min wage will be adjusted to 1.7k next year and generally which means you will hit RM1mil by 60. Also we say 5% conservatively, when EPF returns are generally close to 6% past 30 years.

The calculation also ignores bonuses and any salary jump, by 60 after 37years is around RM9k, which isn't really impossible to get.

If the person just add an additional rm100 a month extra into EPF, he will reach it by 35 years. If he gets a 1 month bonus every year, he will reach it by 34 years.

Lastly, it also assumes your RM1mil stop generating dividends once you hit 60yo.

I will say 99% of people who start in RM1.5k job does not stay in 1.5k job, because if got then the country wouldn't need to rely on any foreign workers.

The biggest culprit isn't the person can't earn a good salary and EPF, it's people who withdraw prematurely. The largest withdrawal came from those that withdrew at age 55, followed by those there chose to invest in other schemes and finally for purchase of first house or payment of house loan. These are all generally poor use of the epf capital.

SUSfuzzy
post Nov 18 2024, 03:42 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Nov 18 2024, 01:16 PM)
Why RM288?
SUSfuzzy
post Nov 18 2024, 04:45 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Nov 18 2024, 04:32 PM)
I cincai tekan one la...

RM288 = RM1200 gaji x 24% contribution
annual increment 3%
EPF 5.5%

salary at year 45 = RM4405.80 ( $12,688.68 / 12 months / 24% )

so, kerja at 20 until 65 without stop given above scenario, but still can hit 1mil
- realistically speaking, we want to talk about 600k savings lah, so sendiri rujuk-rujuk
can cut short once reach 600k?
RM288 = RM1200 gaji x 24% contribution
Min wage RM1,500 bos. Don't la short change Malaysians. RM600k by 60 is not impossible, as long as you are disclipined enough to not withdraw for most of the reasons below.

SUSfuzzy
post Nov 19 2024, 10:48 AM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(lyecheung @ Nov 19 2024, 09:34 AM)
since this is a epf thread, i want to ask

can epf div be considered as passive income?

we dump max rm100 k yearly and retire early eg at 50 yrs
probably some will have 3 mil by then

use the dividen generated as income to us?

but max i calcuated also can achieve rm1.2-1.3 mil
That is the point of EPF, to ensure you have continuous passive income upon retirement. EPF is YOUR money, so it forms part of your netwealth.

However, I don't really dump the 100k in it because I believe I can find investments outside that can generate better return for now.
SUSfuzzy
post Nov 19 2024, 11:49 AM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(virtualgay @ Nov 19 2024, 11:47 AM)
account 3 got money le... hand itchy now
how?
All in BTC.

All in PLTR.

Your choice cool2.gif
SUSfuzzy
post Dec 12 2024, 03:14 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

Enhanced Savings: RM1.3 million (double the Adequate Savings)

For members with savings above RM1 million, EPF will allow withdrawals based on the Enhanced Savings benchmark, with the threshold increasing by RM100,000 annually over the next three years. Starting in 2026, members can transfer 30 per cent of savings exceeding the Basic Savings amount to approved investment funds under the Members’ Investment Scheme (MIS).

So basically they will abolish withdrawals above RM1mil, but you can only withdraw at RM1.3mil tongue.gif
SUSfuzzy
post Dec 12 2024, 03:49 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(dudester @ Dec 12 2024, 03:39 PM)
Singapore - On 4 March 2024 at the Ministry of Manpower Committee of Supply 2024, it was announced that the retirement age in Singapore will be raised to 64 while the re-employment age in Singapore will be raised to 69 in 2026. Currently, the retirement age is 63 while the re-employment age is 68.

Malaysia sure will follow to raise.
Basically, if you work from 23yo with salary is RM1.7k, and you don't get a single increment at all:

You will end up with 560k by Age 60.

Raising it to 62, you will hit 641k, close to the adequate saving target of rm650k.

Makes sense to raise it to 62 haha.
SUSfuzzy
post Dec 12 2024, 05:05 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(dudester @ Dec 12 2024, 04:00 PM)
Thats 39 years later.
30 years ago 200k house is 1mil today.
Lunch was 3rm, today 10rm.
Technically by then you would need 550k x 3 to retire. and we are not even looking at exponentially inflation.
Inflation is "only" double from 30 years ago.

You don't look because most don't understand inflation. The historical CPI is there to be calculated.

Furthermore, EPF tracks inflation. The calculation is using 5.5% as a benchmark, assuming the person at 23yo earning RM1.7k having zero increment until retirement. It's the extreme end of things and he still comes out with 600k for retirement because minimum wage will rise, salary will rise.

If inflation rises, EPF returns generally rises in tandem. Take 2017 for example, inflation was at 3.8%, but it also gave us 6.9% EPF and it feel in tandem the years after.

Even your point on housing doesn't really track. If you look here, housing prices have largely trended down: https://www.globalpropertyguide.com/asia/ma...a/price-history

A Proton in 90's was around 40k, a Proton in 2024 is also around 40k. There's essentially zero inflation despite it being a better car. The inflation we see is we think Proton is no longer good enough, but we need a beemer instead. Same for houses.

You see Bangsar price is now millions, but in the 70's, it was not a popular place at all:

Zerin Properties chief executive officer Previndran Singhe said Bangsar started to develop in the 1970s as a housing suburb. By 1980s, it has become a sought-after location.

“The 1970s was the opening of Bangsar. It was not the preferred location due to floods but soon, people saw it as a strategic location.

“Bangsar Park terrace houses were selling for about RM18,000 each. The same terrace house now is going for at least RM1.7 million,” he told NST Property.

So the inflation is not because the housing price went up, its because the location we deem desirable went up.

Sorry for the rambling. I generally don't like the doom and gloom version without context in it. This country has a lot of improve, but it's only hopeless if we strip away all context of things.
SUSfuzzy
post Dec 12 2024, 05:09 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(jasontoh @ Dec 12 2024, 04:54 PM)
Which will be revised every 3 years. So finally this really happen
Moving towards CPF style lo. Eventually cannot withdraw totally, just wait monthly payment.
SUSfuzzy
post Dec 12 2024, 05:26 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(dudester @ Dec 12 2024, 05:13 PM)
Its okay. you do you .  doh.gif
cheh u not fun la. banter la sikit bruce.gif
SUSfuzzy
post Dec 12 2024, 06:25 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Dec 12 2024, 06:09 PM)
There's some who said EPF doing all this because they lack of $$$ to pay???

Seriously??

Monthly $$$ from contributors not enough to cover all the withdrawal??! 55yo, 60yo, account 3, housing etc.?????
. don't think so
No la, EPF is freaking rich. But I think they are responding to the issue of people keep using EPF as piggy bank and risk their retirement later on.

Don't forget EPF's mandate is to ensure one can retire with the monetary support required, so anything to prevent the leakages until then makes sense from their viewpoint.
SUSfuzzy
post Dec 13 2024, 03:52 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(coolguy_0925 @ Dec 13 2024, 02:51 PM)
EPF really shooting own foot by planning to touch the 1m threshold
Not really la bro. They don't need our self contribution that much.

Those that have RM1mil, probably will continue to have Employer / Employee monthly contribution anyway going in.

Plus, the total self contibution is likely around RM1.2bil or so, while their AUM is at RM1,222.34 billion. It's like loose change.
SUSfuzzy
post Dec 17 2024, 05:59 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(virtualgay @ Dec 17 2024, 05:20 PM)
If this happens rakyat will bising
Is okay, if you don't let EPF do their job, you end up paying the rakyats frivolous spending and last last you also need to fund their future retirement.

12 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0497sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 12:24 PM