EPF DIVIDEND, EPF

SUSfuzzy
post Jun 16 2025, 09:19 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jun 9 2025, 09:48 PM)
You see last year payout ratio already know... Dividend won't be good...

Dividend should be around 6% but push to max of 6.3%... thanks to higher payout ratio...

This year one, payout ratio sure lower... So naturally overall dividend also lower 😀
https://theedgemalaysia.com/node/758299

I think the edge reads this thread and answers the questions we have haha
SUSfuzzy
post Jun 18 2025, 04:12 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(virtualgay @ Jun 18 2025, 12:14 PM)
After reading is just all talk talk talk with no real action yet
How we going to protect aging population?
Is epf going to invest in nursing home and provide affordable nursing home?
Is epf going to partner with an insurance company and work out medical plan that is affordable and can cover until we are age 100?
Is epf going to influence policy making by increasing our retirement age?
Is gov and epf work together to start taxing and forcing gig workers to contribute, imagine now you drive grab earn 7k per month yet you don't want contribute to epf later old time start blame epf saving so low

*i-lindung is not medical plan so pls don't confuse yourself. it is like a PA and Critical illness that is cheaper compare to you try to buy it directly from insurance company.
That is not EPF's job?

Their job is to make sure one has enough money to live out their retirement, thats all.

SUSfuzzy
post Jun 18 2025, 05:00 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(virtualgay @ Jun 18 2025, 04:48 PM)
Gov job true but epf is taking direction from our gov
Gov and EPF can work hand in hand to introduce some plan or solution to tackle the issue
I like the idea of Universal Elderly Care System and I don't mind Euthanasia as well
I don't want them to mess more with it weh.

I support UBI, but confirm I will get called a commie tongue.gif
SUSfuzzy
post Jun 19 2025, 11:46 AM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(boyboycute @ Jun 19 2025, 11:31 AM)
We should respect and treat every adult with dignity.

If they want to YOLO, let them be.

If they want to withdraw monthly, let them be.

Keep it open. Don't treat everyone like little children. Don't be a commie
Deswai should allow euthanasia as well. They are adults, they should have a right to determine their end. Not everyone wants to rot away in a hospital, or have poor quality of life due to illnesses or loneliness.
SUSfuzzy
post Jun 19 2025, 06:54 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jun 19 2025, 02:46 PM)
there are rules to be followed
if you have taken  the limit for the period
then wait next period
wah euthanasia sounds cruel

you are asking for who to do it?
doctors?
it is unfair as there are rules also

tell family members do quietly
swallow few sleeping pills may be can

what if family also dont want dirty job?
Generally it's only a authorised physician that is allowed, after a stringent test is met.

Netherlands allow it: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Euthanasia_in_the_Netherlands
SUSfuzzy
post Jul 2 2025, 11:15 AM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(hdroxy @ Jul 1 2025, 08:39 PM)
Fine tune my calculation... yes u r somewhat correct

But at the end... seems majority of Malaysians cant afford to retire
What kind of misinformation is this?

Majority of retirees are retired. Majority of them are not homeless or rotting in the streets, majority of them do not have to work until they are 80-90 like US.

Why everyone think retirement means you baller spend 100k a day?

It's more like some don't understand when you get access to EPF with RM1mil, it does not mean you get to spend RM1mil. It means its enough for you to continue most of your standard of living until you die.

But people see RM1mil, straight buy new car la, renovate house la, invest in scams la. Then cry no money.
SUSfuzzy
post Jul 2 2025, 12:26 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(tifosi @ Jul 2 2025, 11:40 AM)
This! Actually EPF already providing a very good platform for us to retire comfortably. Even if you earn a very basic salary, you can still afford to retire (assuming you live a similar kind of life post retirement). You might not be rich but you're far from living on the streets.
QUOTE(dwRK @ Jul 2 2025, 12:10 PM)
guys... stop bashing him lah... hahaha...

5.4% is worked backwards from the basic sum required for retirement mentioned by epf throughout the years... this would indeed be "inflation" if one doesn't have any other data point...

ps... just saying... i didn't check his calc...
I'm just tired of this push to blame EPF for someone not being able to retire, and how they are 'withholding' our money.

EPF is not responsible for our retirement, we are. EPF should not be your only source of retirement income, which is why financial literacy is important.

People have no issue when EPF force employers to contribute 12% of our salary each month, but somehow has issue when the condition of that is you can only withdraw it upon retirement.

Also, the maths checks out. If you earn like 3k at 24 and only have 2% increment until you retire at 60 with a salary of RM6k (which is not high), your EPF will be around RM1.36mil. Assuming 20 years left, that gives you an annual spend of around 5.6k a month. If you only earn RM6k when you are actively working, RM5.6k in retirement is not enough?

SUSfuzzy
post Jul 2 2025, 02:50 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(boyboycute @ Jul 2 2025, 02:06 PM)
If it's such a good platform, how come we're facing retirement crisis now?

Unker let U research on this matter without giving U the answer
It is a good platform. You can't blame EPF on the lack of discipline and income stagnation of employees.

I said above, the maths and facts does not lie. If you earn 3k at 24 and only have 2% increment until you retire at 60 with a salary of RM6k (which is not high), your EPF will be around RM1.36mil. Assuming 20 years left, that gives you an annual spend of around 5.6k a month. If you only earn RM6k when you are actively working, RM5.6k in retirement is not enough?

But, that is provided you have the discipline to not touch EPF money and to work at upskilling yourself and your pay.

It's like saying US stock market is a bad platform for wealth generation because people lost money buying 23&Me shares. It's a good platform if one just buys the index and keep at it for years to come. Most people don't or can't.

It does not make the platform bad.
SUSfuzzy
post Jul 3 2025, 06:28 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jul 3 2025, 06:19 PM)
Since anything i put in now will be above 1M, which means it will not put any additional risk for me, if those proposal/rumour comes, I'm in the position to withdraw everything the very next day...
Ya, but I also ponder, withdraw to do what?

FD? Too low. Bonds? Uncertain. Stocks? It's a risk which I don't really need.

And all this has to beat the average return of 5.5-6%, so we are looking at return of 7-8% for it to make sense and worth the effort.
SUSfuzzy
post Jul 9 2025, 01:03 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jul 9 2025, 09:32 AM)
the problem happens for him
becos retire too early at 40?
no more active income

got money outside but tied down
not easily accessible

got passive income
but put all in EPF pulak
earn high interest

so when EPF money cannot go above  1.3 Million
cannot  dip hand into EPF money

cannot use EPF as Saving  account anymore

but need money for  daily expenses how?
cannot use EPF as  high interest CASA

that is the problem,
not dont have enough money to retire

the problem is CANNOT use EPF as CASA

unless got alot more money in  EPF
above minimum 1.3 milllion etc
This scenario doesn't exist.

1. If he is thinking about retiring, the his money would not have been tied down and be hard to access. This is how people plan to FIRE, but looking to move money to someone more accessible and you plan your spending accordingly.

2. If he has passive income, then he can just stop contributing to EPF the moment he stop working and the income will go back into his liquidity usage.

3. I have never considered EPF as CASA even though I have more than enough of it, rather my liquidity comes in FD etc, so I doubt any 40 year old thinks about EPF as a CASA, especially when they barely meet the withdrawal criteria.

4. Let's assume he wants to retire at 40, with RM1mil in EPF (since he don't have enough to go past RM1.3mil), he would have done his calculation that he must survive retirement until 75yo with RM1mil (I will ignore the interest etc), that means he can only spend RM28k per year, or RM2.3k a month.

5. His Acc3 should have roughly 20k, which allows him to sustain for a good one year or so.

6. This would give him enough time to modify his passive income back to his income flow rather than EPF, make some changes to his illiquid assets etc.

7. If he can't find a way to muster up RM30k a year for his retirement (based on his EPF), then he is not ready to retire at 40.
SUSfuzzy
post Jul 9 2025, 01:19 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jul 9 2025, 11:05 AM)
imho...

only when reach 50 or 1.5m... can one consider epf as CASA...

max can self pump is 0.1m per yr... 55 can withdraw all liao...

one is really moving backup/emergency funds from banks to epf...

if one dun have enough backup... dont even consider pumping into epf...
I genuinely don't think many people view EPF as a HYSA. And for those who do, liquidity and ability to retire should not be an issue, given if they have access money to pump into EPF as when they like, they could just stop doing that and put in KDI or some FD instead?

I can only find data that out of all the contributors in EPF, only 130k people have RM1mil or more while no indication of the person being active or inactive. Given they have like 16mil total members, this like 1-2%.

SUSfuzzy
post Jul 9 2025, 05:39 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jul 9 2025, 01:26 PM)
bro i  applaud your effort to read my post
and do some thinking on the post
well done

so you said it was my imagination

You are wrong bro it is not  imagination

I think you are not observant enough

to not know that it was a real case
and he is very much with us here

and he didnt say all those that you have said above
why??

becos his case is different from what you can imagine above

try think harder why
your (1), (2), (4) (6) (7) is not applicable
to him

i can give you the answers
but see if  you get it direct from the horse's mouth
is better

this is a good start at intelligent debate
think think think
I rather debate and ponder this than what income a finance blog brings in tongue.gif
SUSfuzzy
post Jul 10 2025, 12:06 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

Sorry, very hard to quote given how you reponded.

This scenario doesn't exist.

i dont know how you guys missed all his writings in here... hmm.gif

how about calculating all you need for the expenses
instead of saving it like we all do
he pump most of that into EPF
higher return
can draw out monthly to spend

never thought of that?

So, he has enough to retire given he has calculated his expenses? Has EPF officially banned withdrawal post RM1mil? No right? It's gonna be effective in 3 years time. IF the person sohai still go put it in, after being given 3 years to plan, like I say, this is some fantasy you created.

Else just ask him to PM me, I'll coach him how to do his financial planning for free.

Sure he can
ask yourself  why he continued to  pump into EPF
see (1)

I don't understand this. He pumps into EPF, if he don't have RM1mil now, he can't withdraw regardless of the rule. If he has more than RM1mil, he shouldn't have any issue meeting the RM1.3mil threshold. And if he is worried that 3 years down the line, he needs the money, then he can you know, stop adding more money in.

here is your fallacy, think again
how can a person below 55 gets to withdraw his EPF money??

barely meet withdrawal criteria ? you are so wrong!

he must have way above RM1 million
if not how can he transferred his EPF money overseas to  earn even higher returns?

and still can use EPF as his high yield saving account
after removing a big chunk out ?

I don't get it. If he has way above RM1mil, what is exactly the problem? He can still withdraw any excess that he has. And I repeat, he has 3 years to plan this all.

again wrong assumption
he has way more than that amount
see (3)

the  issue here is
he calculate just leave ngam ngam enough in EPF
to be able to use it as HYSA
but  the increasing limits has made it difficult
You said he put in access cash into EPF, now you cay its ngam ngam enough. Enough for what exactly? The variance year on year from now to the max cap is 3 years, with RM100k additional cap a year. So, now is RM1mil, then 1.1m and so so on forth. So the issue is the additional 100k that is locked up. Assuming a 5.5% return, its RM5.5k a year. You can get around 4% in FD, so you get RM4k a year. The difference is RM1.5k.

Someone that can pump in 100k a year to EPF, somehow can't manage a difference of RM1.5k?

Rm20k to spend in a year for someone with few millions??
mana cukup bro
If he has few million, then there is no issue? The capping is RM1.3mil. If he has RM2mil, he can have at the minimum 700k to withdraw. If he needs 700k a year, then how is he retiring at 40 with that amount in EPF?

Note this is not a case of having not enough money to spend
is just a case of having too much money
want to earn high returns
locked somewhere overseas
leave just enough in EPF above that  1m limit

then pump spare cash for expenses
all into EPF
earn daily interest 6% mah!
Like I say, this is a fake scenario. I won't say I'm rich, but I have more than the mil required. I've never

the problem happens for him
becos retire too early at 40?
no more active income

got money outside but tied down
not easily accessible

got passive income
but put all in EPF pulak
earn high interest

so when EPF money cannot go above  1.3 Million
cannot  dip hand into EPF money

You started your scenario by saying the person wants to retire by 40, and its hard when they can't use the money since the cap is raised to RM1.3mil, which then I assume the variance of RM300k is the issue. Now the scenario becomes he has too much money?

I'm re-reading it, I'm not sure if you got it correct. the RM1.3mil does not mean EPF money can't go above RM1.3mil, it means the person cannot withdraw if its less than RM1.3mil, if they have RM1.4mil, they can use withdraw 100k.

6)and 7) irrelevant if you have understood his case

this is not a case of dont know how to plan
it is too clever in planning lah

i am quite surprised why he has remained silent
even acted like he didnt do all that....

if me i would have said yes
i wanna squeeze the max out of EPF mah
takda salah kan?

No wrong, but EPF rules are quite clear and has been quite transparent, so if one does not understand the rule, they can't blame the game. EPF now is moving the withdrawal threshold from RM1mil to 1.3mil. If the person really needs the RM300k, then they should not pump the extra into EPF lo. If they already have more than RM1.3mil, then they can.\

Simple.

SUSfuzzy
post Jul 11 2025, 03:12 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jul 10 2025, 02:19 PM)
bro
this is a simple case of someone retire young
far below 55 yrs
complaining EPF moving Goalposts
increasing  limits RM1million to 1.3 million
fear he cant access his EPF money

why is this such a difficult case for you to understand
that you think impossible got such case

why my fantasy?
it is happening in here
if  you care to read  postings in here
I am surprised if no one knows it

this 45~ young retiree
have quite alot in EPF
moved out a large chunk overseas
just keep enough in EPF
to enable him use  EPF as ATM machines
for his daily eypenses

sound so alien to you guys?
lack of surrounding awareness  doh.gif
Ya, which is why I keep saying, this is a fake scenario. You say he uses EPF money now. Okay, which means he has more than RM1mil in his account. He is worried about the increase to 1.3mil. Okay, but this will only happen in 2028. So if he's worried, then he can just stop doing that?

Bro, you said he has too much money, too many millions, but somehow he is worried about EPF changing from RM1mil to RM1.3mil?

Like I said, ask your friend don't worry. Ask him to PM me, I'll teach him financial planning given he sucks at it despite having big money.

Again, given this thread has roughly over 20k replied, I will assume there are at least 5k people viewing and posting here. If that is the case, there should be no issue for me to issue a challenge here. I just want 10 people here that has more than RM1mil in EPF, that is 45yo and has millions more overseas but scare they can't retire because EPF now increasing the withdrawal to RM1.3mil, in 2028.

Which I want to repeat, is 3 more years away.

Easy right?
SUSfuzzy
post Jul 11 2025, 03:17 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jul 10 2025, 05:59 PM)
difference only RM1.5 k can ignore??
see  Rm50 above can eat  how many meals?
For someone will millions? Yes.

Rm20k to spend in a year for someone with few millions??
mana cukup bro

This is your comment.

So someone with few million is scared crazy over RM300k adjustment period that will only happen in 2028?

Just ask him to message me, I'll help him through this so he won't go crazy.
SUSfuzzy
post Jul 31 2025, 04:30 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Jul 31 2025, 03:32 PM)
There already exist a monthly withdrawal option, so what is the difference I wonder? Maybe a form of lifelong annuity like CPF?
First step to fully annuity like how SG does it.

You intro as an option, then you slowly remove the alternative.
SUSfuzzy
post Jul 31 2025, 05:33 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Jul 31 2025, 05:27 PM)
Cpf can still withdraw above the basic sum.
They just need to raise the sum. Since now RM1mil to 1.3mil, then just up it to 1.5, 2mil, etc...
SUSfuzzy
post Aug 7 2025, 03:51 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

Is okay la, I don't feel our kids owe us anything, given we are the ones that bought them to this world.

In fact, I think we owe it to them to maximise their experience they best we can, which is what I am trying to do.

I would like them to have enough that they can pursue something they love, rather that something they can make money from.
SUSfuzzy
post Nov 19 2025, 11:05 AM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Nov 19 2025, 11:03 AM)
quoted from the article:  "It is an impressive result by the EPF. However, the priority should be ensuring sustainable and steady dividends," he told Business Times.

means what?  hmm.gif  blink.gif
Means shouldn't declare high dividend else people won't stop asking for more every year.

12 Pages « < 10 11 12Top

0.0512sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 02:01 PM