BTW Tioman/ East coast islands no-no from Nov-Feb
Langkawi/Phuket - No-no from Aug-Sep - choppy sea! (But not so bad compare to East coast side)
Travel Langkawi, *~tax free heaven~* Updated info 1st pg
Aug 21 2009, 09:05 AM
3,542 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Puchong, Selangor |
Wrong forum asking for Tioman..go & search for Tioman...
BTW Tioman/ East coast islands no-no from Nov-Feb Langkawi/Phuket - No-no from Aug-Sep - choppy sea! (But not so bad compare to East coast side) |
Aug 21 2009, 12:35 PM
1,300 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Pee Jay |
yeahh.. but then alot of ppl nowadays take plane over.. so choppy sea really doesnt matter, THANKS AA!! lol
Aug 22 2009, 09:39 AM
205 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
Hi all,
I need you guys opinions/suggestions please. I am planning for a vacation with my gf on the 19th to 21st of december 2009. Since I have scratch ideas about Langkawi, I hope you guys can give me some opinions/ suggestions. I would like to know where is the best place to stay and if there is any package for this 3 days 2 nights so that everything is planned by a tour agency or smth. Furthermore, please do suggest me what are the things that must be done at there as well. Thanks for your help. |
Aug 22 2009, 09:59 AM
17,022 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
Aug 22 2009, 10:30 AM
QUOTE(ozak @ Aug 22 2009, 09:59 AM) depends what u gonna do... well as for langkawi.. truthfully la.. all go there drink and smoke till ur lungs turn black..Regardless the bad weather there are alot of stuff u can do there.. like the Skybridge, rent a car drive around.. i love driving in langkawi, no traffic jam i can park the car where i want, and dun even have to lock the car!! if u really keen on going for watersports and diving etc etc, u should know the weather 1st.. its very obvious that weather is very important But then because of AA nowadays we plan holiday according to cheap flights which determines the season. well atleast thats the way for me Added on August 22, 2009, 10:43 am QUOTE(Devil_J @ Aug 22 2009, 09:39 AM) Hi all, Depends on budget and preference, in my opinion,I need you guys opinions/suggestions please. I am planning for a vacation with my gf on the 19th to 21st of december 2009. Since I have scratch ideas about Langkawi, I hope you guys can give me some opinions/ suggestions. I would like to know where is the best place to stay and if there is any package for this 3 days 2 nights so that everything is planned by a tour agency or smth. Furthermore, please do suggest me what are the things that must be done at there as well. Thanks for your help. 1. Accomodation: i suggest "Sunset Beach Resort", nice staff, value for money and "so so" environment. i suggest accomodation get cheap ones coz most of the time u wont be in the resort. Trust me. but then girls really mind of cleanliness so i think this resort will be suitable 2. Rent a car, because the tourist places are quite far away. mind u that petrol is equavalent to KL price.. i still remember in 2000, the petrol is very cheap in langkawi 3. Places to visit - Langkawi Skybridge --> for me its an unforgetable experience coz i sked of height lol!! Pulau Payar Marine Park tour ---> i didnt go for this as its kind of costly.. but my gf went b4 and she said its very nice The other historical places ---> i skipped this coz we do not have enough time, but its ok if u like all this history stuff The Loaf ----> Bakery owned by Tun Dr Mahathir. Kuah Town ---> for bigger shopping malls. 4. REally depends on what u plan to do.. watersports or just sightseeing. I didnt go for watersports as the water there really bad. Unless u go pulau payar tour. This post has been edited by mugenz: Aug 22 2009, 10:43 AM |
Aug 22 2009, 11:36 AM
3 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
I am going to langkawi with my family next year.
actually i went to langkawi many times already. but it is because all the times im following relatives and friends. and this time the different is i have to be a tour guide to lead them. the air ticket i had booked. now i am finding the information about the accommodation , car rental and attraction places.... we all are 15persons. i wanna to find the budget hotel which is near the airport. for myself i am prefering pantai cenang hotel and langkasuka resort. but i not very sure for the rates. the car rental i wish to rent a van which can sit 15ppl or 2 vans for 15ppl. can anybody give me any other recommendation for that. i am going on march 2010. 4days 3nights. |
Aug 22 2009, 12:47 PM
205 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
I would like to enjoy a relaxing vacation there. Play watersports as well... fine meals.., visit the shopping complex. and of coz lay on the pretty beach and enjoying seeking corals. Budget would be around 1k excluding flight tickets Added on August 23, 2009, 5:46 pmanymore suggestion guys? This post has been edited by Devil_J: Aug 23 2009, 05:46 PM |
Aug 24 2009, 03:22 AM
30 posts Joined: Jul 2008 From: Subang Jaya, selangor. MALAYSIA |
Anyone been to Langkawi's Pulau payar marine park? i'm planning to go there for snorkelling but i want to survery how much it would be if offer by the tour guide there??
Share your experience about it to me k =) |
Aug 24 2009, 10:28 AM
I had been to Pulau Payar 4years ago.... There is a nice island. It have many baby sharks. The price for that period when I went to Pulau Payar from Langkawi was RM100 per person. But the bad thing is Pulau Payar do not provide water for us to take shower. But now i dun know same or not. Because i went there long time already. Maybe now was changed. When we want to take shower on that time , we use mineral water. I will nvr forget this experienced.
Aug 24 2009, 10:30 AM
pulau payar depends, the last time i surveyed was rm150~rm180 which include lunch and all ur snorkelling equipments. its quite pricey
Added on August 24, 2009, 10:31 am QUOTE(Devil_J @ Aug 22 2009, 12:47 PM) Thanks. lol did i see u said corals? langkawi? hahahahaa i really doubt.. unless u really went way way way way out to the ocean..I would like to enjoy a relaxing vacation there. Play watersports as well... fine meals.., visit the shopping complex. and of coz lay on the pretty beach and enjoying seeking corals. Budget would be around 1k excluding flight tickets Added on August 23, 2009, 5:46 pmanymore suggestion guys? pretty beach? perhaps beaches in andaman or Datai only has "pretty" beaches This post has been edited by mugenz: Aug 24 2009, 10:31 AM |
Aug 24 2009, 10:33 AM
price was increasing now. last time i heard is depends on off peak or peak season. if it is peak seson it will cost u highly
Aug 24 2009, 01:13 PM
5,158 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
I am back from Langkawi and got sick along the way.
First day: - Reached around 12.00 - Rented a Serena for 4D3N for RM500. I could had barganied more but my friends say just take it. Some companies refused to release their car due to checks on JPJ on their cars. - Pump petrol, went and eat at a lousy food court and lazy around until 2. - Check in at Langkasuka and went out again at 4. - Went to Kuah Town get boozes for the stay. Prices are very simlilar for the chocs in those few shops but for booze, I find that Wawasan and Zeno is the cheapest. You could check around too cause the shops are beside/opposite each other. - ATM is a plenty with RHB, Public Bank, Maybank, CIMB and few I could not recall. - Went Dataran Lang, took photos and watched the sunset there. - Proceed to Billion, which is ~500m around from Dataran Lang to get soft drinks, maggi, etc for the stay. No ice there at Billion but there is a 7-11 at the jetty. We got ours from the hotel. - Dinner at KFC Kuah cause it will be one of the cheaper food there. - Back to the hotel and the fun begins. - Went out at 1.30 to Pt Cenang and got ourselves Ramli and Oblong burger for supper:P Second day: - Went Wildlife Park. It was called Bird Paradise last time. Spent ~2 hours or so there. Nice place and was worth the RM 12. - Then, went to Gallery Perdana, RM 5. Additional RM 2 for camera. I kinda like the place but most of my friends hated it. - Proceed to the Hot Spring Village. Apparently they are having some renovation there so did not went it. - Went to Black Sand beach, enjoyed the scenery, took photos and played around. - It was already 4 plus so we went to the cable car. It is a must go place for people that like scenary and photographing. RM 15 enterence fees. There is 2 stops for the cable car. Noting much on the first stop. Just some oppotunity to take photos from different angle. The 2nd stop is the peak of the mountain. To access the suspension bridge , you need to walk down around 100 steps or so to reach there. It was quite foggy that day so the view was not perfect. It was quite cold and windy at there too. - Went dinner at Pt Cenang next. Everywhere was so crowded there at 8. - Went to eat at Rasa restaurant and it was so so. Nothing special. - Then, tapaued back Artisan Pizza at Pt Cenang and the pizza is awesome but just that it is a bit pricey. RM 28 for a medium sized pizza you get in Pizza Hut. - Back to the hotel. THird day: - Went telaga tujuh in the morning and play around in the waterfall area. Probably got sick there cause it was raining and it is freaking cold in the water. - Went mangrove tour next and it was great. It was RM 280 initially for the tour but was reduced to RM 230 a boat cause some of the activities could not be done due to the rain. The RM 230 for 8 pax includes mangrove tour/river cruise, crocodile cave, bat cave, fish farm/fish show and eagle feeding. (No eagle came due to the rain - Went back to hotel, bath dried ourself and went to Kuah for dinner. Wanted to go to pasar malam for food but forgot it was puasa period so the Pasar malam turned into a pasar bazaar was closing at 7.30. - Went to a Rootian seafood restaurant for dinner then. It was abit exp but it was quite nice. - Went back to the hotel. Forth day: - It was still raining so we could not do anything at all. All our beach plan is gone. Went to Kuah town again for chocs and booze shopping to bring home. - Lunch at Marybrown in Plaza Langkawi and walk around that place since we could not do anything. - Went to airport at 3.30, return the car and get back the RM 200 deposit. Proceed home. It was a great trip but was kinda spoiled by the weather. Anything, just PM me or add my on MSN if you want to know more. |
Aug 25 2009, 03:17 PM
0 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
@tivoli
Great info sharing. Thanks! Sounds like a great trip, despite the rain. Could you please tell me the driving direction from Kuah to P. Cenang? From the map, looks like through the coastal road - Jalan Bukit Malut? How much petrol did you pump in for your trip? Hope you'll get well soon! |
Aug 25 2009, 03:56 PM
49 posts Joined: Jun 2009 From: JB |
Thanks for the info, i am going over with my gf on mid Sep.... no choice as my job only allows me to take off at the period....
Can pm me any some contacts of the local travel agency for the snorkeling, mangrove tours ?? (Reliable and economical) |
Aug 25 2009, 05:39 PM
For pulau payar tour, u can ask ur hotel for the package and organise for you. as well as the mangroove tour.
Aug 25 2009, 11:09 PM
Heard you can negotiate for cheaper mangrove tour with the local boat man at Telaga Harbour. No need to go thru travel agent.
Aug 26 2009, 01:43 PM
actually im thinking wanna to join mangroove tour , because i nvr go there before. but it was too expensive. i feel it is valueable just because of im going with 15ppls so i think not all of them want to go. they ask me try to make it budget. if i bring them to mangroove tour they must make noise. we go so many days so need to be budget at all.
Aug 26 2009, 04:13 PM
5,158 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(Ami Tsun @ Aug 25 2009, 03:17 PM) @tivoli It is not that far. 25-30 min? It it a pretty straight road. All the way straight from kuah. Pass 2 roundabouts 12 oclock, pass the airport, and at the end, you will reach a T junction. Turn left, all the way straight and you will reach Pantai Cenang. Try the Artisan Pizza there, it is opposite Rasa Restaurant if i remembered correctly. 65 for 4D3N in a Serena with 8 person on board.Great info sharing. Thanks! Sounds like a great trip, despite the rain. Could you please tell me the driving direction from Kuah to P. Cenang? From the map, looks like through the coastal road - Jalan Bukit Malut? How much petrol did you pump in for your trip? Hope you'll get well soon! QUOTE(Celebrex @ Aug 25 2009, 03:56 PM) Thanks for the info, i am going over with my gf on mid Sep.... no choice as my job only allows me to take off at the period.... Try and call Romli at 012-4730878 or Asyraf at 019-4433878. We got RM 230 per boat for 8 pax for mangrove tour.Can pm me any some contacts of the local travel agency for the snorkeling, mangrove tours ?? (Reliable and economical) QUOTE(Little Gal @ Aug 26 2009, 01:43 PM) actually im thinking wanna to join mangroove tour , because i nvr go there before. but it was too expensive. i feel it is valueable just because of im going with 15ppls so i think not all of them want to go. they ask me try to make it budget. if i bring them to mangroove tour they must make noise. we go so many days so need to be budget at all. 1 boat normally they will charge you around RM 230. That is the cheapest price I got so far. I boat I think maximum can fit around 10 people although I think 8 would be the best. Actually, it is not that exp afterall. 230/8 comes out to be around 29 bucks per person only. If you go alone, sharing the boat with others, it would easily cost you 100 and above. |
Aug 26 2009, 06:00 PM
17,022 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
QUOTE(Little Gal @ Aug 26 2009, 01:43 PM) actually im thinking wanna to join mangroove tour , because i nvr go there before. but it was too expensive. i feel it is valueable just because of im going with 15ppls so i think not all of them want to go. they ask me try to make it budget. if i bring them to mangroove tour they must make noise. we go so many days so need to be budget at all. How much is the mangroove tour you get? Mangroove tour is one of the best experience/sighting in langkawi. It is cheaper than island hoping. I myself going two time liao. |
Aug 27 2009, 12:07 AM
QUOTE(tifosi @ Aug 26 2009, 04:13 PM) It is not that far. 25-30 min? It it a pretty straight road. All the way straight from kuah. Pass 2 roundabouts 12 oclock, pass the airport, and at the end, you will reach a T junction. Turn left, all the way straight and you will reach Pantai Cenang. Try the Artisan Pizza there, it is opposite Rasa Restaurant if i remembered correctly. 65 for 4D3N in a Serena with 8 person on board. I can see the road direction you mentioned from Google Maps. It appears to be backtracking a bit, coz drive all the way north, then at the end when turn left, it's heading south back. I think I'll try the coastal route. Anway, it's an island, can't get lost, at most go round nia... lolTry and call Romli at 012-4730878 or Asyraf at 019-4433878. We got RM 230 per boat for 8 pax for mangrove tour. 1 boat normally they will charge you around RM 230. That is the cheapest price I got so far. I boat I think maximum can fit around 10 people although I think 8 would be the best. Actually, it is not that exp afterall. 230/8 comes out to be around 29 bucks per person only. If you go alone, sharing the boat with others, it would easily cost you 100 and above. |
| Change to: | 0.0236sec
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 11:34 AM |