129 Pages « < 116 117 118 119 120 > » Bottom

Travel Langkawi, *~tax free heaven~* Updated info 1st pg

michanz
post Aug 19 2009, 12:35 AM

How Liddat?
1,224 posts

guys a bottle of liquor in langkawi how much roughly?
Ami Tsun
post Aug 19 2009, 01:06 AM

@alfredfx

Plan to go on Sat, back on Monday. Family of 3 adults, KIV with one kid (my nephew).

I checked flyers collected from MATTA fair, accomodation + car package, 3D/2N quite cheap, 300-400 plus package for 2-4 pax, must be for off peak season only la..

Have searched Yahoo! Malaysia for budget hotel, chalet, would prefer to deal directly with the hotel/chalet manager. Probably need a triple or quad room, saw room rate for chalet at Pantai Cenang around 110-140 ringgit. Surcharge for peak season some 30-50 ringgit/room/night.

Then for car rental, usual Kancil/Iswara can be as low as 50-60 ringgit/day. I think will be 80-100 ringgit for peak season. So, will be happy to go if I can get total room and car for <500 ringgit for 3D/2N.

What do you think? And what have you got?

This post has been edited by Ami Tsun: Aug 19 2009, 01:10 AM
michanz
post Aug 19 2009, 01:21 AM

How Liddat?
1,224 posts

how much for a basic bottle of chivas or black label roughly in langkawi duty free shop guys ? smile.gif
y4ng
post Aug 19 2009, 08:38 AM

Kambing Lembu
639 posts

QUOTE(De_Legend @ Aug 10 2009, 11:24 PM)
i m going to langkawi in sep... and choose Rasa Eksotika as it is budgeted (cheapest), and i had only paid rm270 for 2 pax (flight + accomodation)....
but... really dunno where is it located ler... anyone could advise? sweat.gif  can reach there from airport by walking? blush.gif
Eh didn't read this, maaf ye... notworthy.gif
booked liao for rasa eksotika, we just wanna place to sleep for the day i guess, view nt so important till i get richer biggrin.gif
just one question, is the place near enuf to walk to the beach? 4 fella going ^^
Just pray it wont rain >.<
stimix
post Aug 19 2009, 09:20 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Sure cheap one-lah...Sumore cheaper than Airport duty free...Although I dunno the avg price, but just take a can of beer for an eg....In langkawi a can of calsberg is ~RM1.20-RM1.50 (In KL ~RM4/can?) avg soft drink in Langkawi is more than the price of the beer.

BTW, the size of liquor is diff from mainland..In Mainland it's ~750ml. In langkawi it's 1 ltr bottle...so dun be fool if u see the diff is not so great...Expecting 100-250-% cheaper than mainland pricing depending of type of liquor.

For perfume, not really recommended. bcos the price diff is npot really that great..only ~15-20% cheaper nia.

QUOTE(michanz @ Aug 19 2009, 01:21 AM)
how much for a basic bottle of chivas or black label roughly in langkawi duty free shop guys ? smile.gif
dev123
post Aug 19 2009, 10:03 AM

17 posts

mmm....during raya,
i have the hotel booked,
worry about transport only, well since still can rent car, can drive around.. i think should be ok..
well, peak season no choice gotta pay more understandable... :-p

do you think Langkawi sell cheaper PSP?

stimix
post Aug 19 2009, 10:06 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Except Liquorette, ciggaretteres...& abit of discounted perfurmette chocolatte & kitchenette....Nothing ius cheap in langkawi...so no-no on electronics & food..
driftmeister
post Aug 19 2009, 10:41 AM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Aug 19 2009, 10:06 AM)
Except Liquorette, ciggaretteres...& abit of discounted perfurmette chocolatte & kitchenette....Nothing ius cheap in langkawi...so no-no on electronics & food..
not really tongue.gif
my car HU i got 50% off mainland's price
stimix
post Aug 19 2009, 10:59 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Ada HU in Langkawi kah din see any.. blush.gif ..Probabaly yes-lah for those heavily taxed products in mainland..probably car accessories too cheaper...but try checking the notebook, cameras & computer pricing..same only biggrin.gif ...bcos it's already dutry free in KL.. biggrin.gif
QUOTE(driftmeister @ Aug 19 2009, 10:41 AM)
not really  tongue.gif
my car HU i got 50% off mainland's price
TAGreptiles
post Aug 19 2009, 04:03 PM

taggyMY
1,874 posts

Guys, anyone of you stayed at Bella Vista Hotel before? how was the place? People on trip adviser give the place pretty shitty review. but the last review was on december 2007. how's the place now?
stimix
post Aug 19 2009, 04:22 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

U can read earlier review here...lotsa of ppl query the same too & the review is the same shitty thingy here...haha...From outside it's really shitty...BTW, it's one a failed rundown reclaimed township in Kuah hor...
tifosi
post Aug 19 2009, 08:55 PM

Friend is someone to share last Cookie with!
5,159 posts

Going off 2moro smile.gif Will report back after I come back. Probably my liver will work extra 200% harder during those 4 days there sad.gif
QUOTE(shadowcaster @ Aug 13 2009, 04:40 PM)
Pasar malam locations:
Monday: Ulu Melaka.
Tuesday: Kedawang
Wednesday/Saturday: Kuah.
Thursday: Temoyong.
Friday: Air Hangat.
Sunday: Padang Matsirat.
Thanks smile.gif I had downloaded the GPS Nightmarket POI so I hope I can find the place. smile.gif

QUOTE(Ami Tsun @ Aug 19 2009, 12:13 AM)
Hiya, thought of going during Hari Raya too, 19-21 Sept....Will drive and park the car at Kuala Kedah.

Now searching for budget accomodation, either at Kuah town or Pantai Cenang.  Sent out a few emails, no replies yet.. 

I'm not so worry about food.  Can survive on bread and sardine/tuna, also, I remember got KFC there...
I booked mine using www.latestay.com. It is quite affordable and save me quite a bit of hassle of phoning or emailing here and there. Only thing is they dont have really cheap and budgeted hotels in their list. You still able to find prices ~ RM100 per night tho.
danielwan
post Aug 19 2009, 11:16 PM

365 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Aug 19 2009, 04:22 PM)
U can read earlier review here...lotsa of ppl query the same too & the review is the same shitty thingy here...haha...From outside it's really shitty...BTW, it's one a failed rundown reclaimed township in Kuah hor...
Hehehe.. ppl are lazy.. spoon feed only! Kuah is so boring.. Panta Chenang more happening.. hehehe. tongue.gif
y4ng
post Aug 20 2009, 10:53 AM

Kambing Lembu
639 posts

QUOTE(tifosi @ Aug 19 2009, 08:55 PM)
Going off 2moro smile.gif Will report back after I come back. Probably my liver will work extra 200% harder during those 4 days there sad.gif

Thanks smile.gif I had downloaded the GPS Nightmarket POI so I hope I can find the place. smile.gif
I booked mine using www.latestay.com. It is quite affordable and save me quite a bit of hassle of phoning or emailing here and there. Only thing is they dont have really cheap and budgeted hotels in their list. You still able to find prices ~ RM100 per night tho.
haha, please do report back k..im goin next week ^^
dont have any plans to do nuts as yet...anyone knows anywhere we can BBQ? my fren wants wor... =.=|||
being the planner a bit sucky, cos i love doing things there and then =)
skysherly
post Aug 20 2009, 11:17 AM

1,764 posts

Hola people!!! Just want to know when is the best time to go Langkawi ya? Is that fine to go end of the year?
y4ng
post Aug 20 2009, 01:29 PM

Kambing Lembu
639 posts

QUOTE(skysherly @ Aug 20 2009, 11:17 AM)
Hola people!!! Just want to know when is the best time to go Langkawi ya? Is that fine to go end of the year?
when the rain goes to spain =P
u can find it here i guess

http://www.tutiempo.net/en/Climate/Langkawi/486000.htm
mugenz
post Aug 20 2009, 05:40 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

I tot langkawi can go all year round? lol.. i always go around middle of the year.. nice weather.. so far it didnt rain..

i should say.. ppl normally go for the duty free items.. but i would say its not anymore "cheap" most of the items are not really that worth even there's duty free.

Food is freaking expensive there. Every shop looks like a "slaughter shop" they gonna cut ur throat. So u save on liquor but pay more for food, in the end is still the same, imo
y4ng
post Aug 20 2009, 05:46 PM

Kambing Lembu
639 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Aug 20 2009, 05:40 PM)
I tot langkawi can go all year round? lol.. i always go around middle of the year.. nice weather.. so far it didnt rain..

i should say.. ppl normally go for the duty free items.. but i would say its not anymore "cheap" most of the items are not really that worth even there's duty free.

Food is freaking expensive there. Every shop looks like a "slaughter shop" they gonna cut ur throat. So u save on liquor but pay more for food, in the end is still the same, imo
unless u get super drunk thereeeeeeee!!!!!
mugenz
post Aug 20 2009, 05:50 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

unless ur planning on bring a 4Liter back.. then its freaking worth.. if u just wanna drink your freaking trip off i suggest just go tioman island.. food is cheap. accomo is cheap.. and liquor is also duty free..
y4ng
post Aug 21 2009, 09:01 AM

Kambing Lembu
639 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Aug 20 2009, 05:50 PM)
unless ur planning on bring a 4Liter back.. then its freaking worth.. if u just wanna drink your freaking trip off i suggest just go tioman island.. food is cheap. accomo is cheap.. and liquor is also duty free..
just one question ar, tioman got season to go wan rite? i plan to go next year for that =)

129 Pages « < 116 117 118 119 120 > » Top

0.0314sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 05:05 PM