Travel Langkawi, *~tax free heaven~* Updated info 1st pg
danielwan
Jun 22 2009, 09:36 PM
QUOTE(stimix @ Jun 22 2009, 06:09 PM) check out the maps & locations on 1st page. Saw already yet I want some honest opinion.. the 1st map shows shows AB Motel, Sandy Beach, Best Star and MZ Motel & Melati Tg Motel. How about the other which I've mention before? Anyone know which one is a good recommendation and really a good value for money??
william1980
Jun 22 2009, 09:39 PM

i will go langkawi next week,may i know where can i find places to drink beer and got food to eat and also entertainment?tq
askm3
Jun 24 2009, 05:47 PM
going langkawi this end of oct...
10pax
3D2N hotel - langkasuka (deluxe - rm93) = take 2 room for 2night (rm372) flight - Airasia - total rm198 (9adults 1infant baby) vehicle - SUV/Van - rm100-120 for 3days (rm360)<<can fit 9adults??
never plan any vacation before... but i'm not sure on the Airasia... is that kinda of promotion rm10-20/person??
need advice.. or perhaps i missed something...
TSChester
Jun 24 2009, 08:43 PM
flight - Airasia - total rm198 (9adults 1infant baby)
each less than 20bux for the return flight?
askm3
Jun 24 2009, 09:41 PM
QUOTE(Chester @ Jun 24 2009, 08:43 PM) flight - Airasia - total rm198 (9adults 1infant baby) each less than 20bux for the return flight? ya.. try go airasia website... its flight promo... not sure just to double check with u guys
zoossy
Jun 25 2009, 09:45 AM
yeah theyve got a promo, all in fare no admin fee haha..
travel period 1 oct til april 2010 ...
askm3
Jun 25 2009, 10:02 AM
if i reach 11pm or around mid night.. do they still have car rental???
i might fear that we sleep at airport...
also i've check Van for 8pax... its around rm250/day?? so expensive ah.. any recommendation?
danielwan
Jun 25 2009, 11:01 AM
Is it true that if I stay more than 3 days I'm tax-free? Just wanna know since I'll be going there 6 days/5 night?
blurprincess
Jun 25 2009, 11:30 AM

wah... really cheap fare................ 198 for 9 adult and 1 infant
i got 330 for 3 adult, 1 toodler and 1 infant, return ...
Added on June 25, 2009, 11:32 amwah... really cheap fare................ 198 for 9 adult and 1 infant
i got 330 for 3 adult, 1 toodler and 1 infant, return ...
This post has been edited by blurprincess: Jun 25 2009, 11:32 AM
ozak
Jun 25 2009, 11:41 AM
QUOTE(danielwan @ Jun 25 2009, 11:01 AM) Is it true that if I stay more than 3 days I'm tax-free? Just wanna know since I'll be going there 6 days/5 night?  One night also can lah. Nowaday custom hardly check. Unless you carry whole box.
SUSbuntutman
Jun 25 2009, 01:33 PM
i plan to go langkawi next year for 2 nights juz to buy some stuff. where is a good place to stay ah ?
vandetta
Jun 25 2009, 01:49 PM
Wow next year, still six months to go
tomato123
Jun 26 2009, 01:44 PM

QUOTE(william1980 @ Jun 22 2009, 09:39 PM) i will go langkawi next week,may i know where can i find places to drink beer and got food to eat and also entertainment?tq pantai cenang...you get malay food, chinese food, western....western is slightly pricey but it's worth the money...there are two beach cafes at pantai cenang as I noticed. food not bad. But, one thing i hate about dining at beach at night, the mosquitoes are swarming around you. If you order beer at restaurants, it will cost you like the price you get in KL. Tax free beer is available at the convenient stores. what kind of entertainment you want?
danielwan
Jun 26 2009, 02:21 PM
Off to Langkawi today! Will stay at Pantai Cenang.. will send the report soon! Bye guys! Thanks for all the info..
Canopies
Jun 26 2009, 07:51 PM
i get sentra auto 180 for 3days . monday went wed back , erm seems quiet and very peaceful at langkasuka resort . at night can drink and listen music there , got plug can bring laptop under the canopy . windy at night so its fun
Motormouth
Jun 26 2009, 08:47 PM
 Anyone been to Sunba, Retro Bar at Pantai Cenang (i think)? supposed THE hippest place to be for a drink, and live band and such, but kinda pathetic the night we went. maybe cz it was a rainy weekday? A Tale of 3 Musketeers in Langkawi
KhunNimzo
Jun 29 2009, 12:25 PM
hi, will going to langkawi on 17 jul until 20 jul.that period low peak or high? currently still considering fews place to stay.did email to few hotels to ask for special rates. only 1 that manage to give 50% off from pulish rates-tht is Sheraton other likes bayview not much different from asiarooms. among the hotels that in my list,berjaya,awana,pelangi beach resort and most people here recommned langkasuka beach resort. opinion? thanks
Added on June 29, 2009, 12:26 pmanother thing, when rent the car,if i rent on 17 jul,and return on 20 jul on the morning at the airport,how they count?4 days? thanks ya
This post has been edited by KhunNimzo: Jun 29 2009, 12:26 PM
hihihehe
Jun 29 2009, 01:11 PM
QUOTE(KhunNimzo @ Jun 29 2009, 02:25 PM) hi, will going to langkawi on 17 jul until 20 jul.that period low peak or high? currently still considering fews place to stay.did email to few hotels to ask for special rates. only 1 that manage to give 50% off from pulish rates-tht is Sheraton other likes bayview not much different from asiarooms. among the hotels that in my list,berjaya,awana,pelangi beach resort and most people here recommned langkasuka beach resort. opinion? thanks Added on June 29, 2009, 12:26 pmanother thing, when rent the car,if i rent on 17 jul,and return on 20 jul on the morning at the airport,how they count?4 days? thanks ya i stayed at langkasuka b4..n the place not bad..located at sea side..cheap somemore..i manage to fit in 5 person per room without suffer.lol about the rent car,last time i rent car for 2 days from lets say 17th 1pm start to rent..then b4 19th 1pm must return back
emiwy
Jun 29 2009, 02:02 PM

I was in Langkawi on the 1st week of May. (missing Langkawi already T.T)
Stayed in Berjaya. Although they have their own beach and whatnots, i would not want to stay there anymore, because it's 30 - 40 minutes drive to Kuah Town! So tiring. Unless, of course, if you plan to just chill @ hotel and the beach.
Oh oh! The cable car is a MUST go. So so pretty.
When i was there, it was raining. So a bit potong-stim. Didn't managed to do much. ):