Travel Langkawi, *~tax free heaven~* Updated info 1st pg
vandetta
Jun 16 2009, 11:03 AM
I'm going to Langkawi this coming July, together with eight of friends and we're looking for a place to stay, a place that clean + cheap + happening. Thinking of renting a bungalow if there is? For resorts I'm thinking of malibest, what do you guys think? Suggestions are really welcome.
Putraskyline
Jun 16 2009, 04:15 PM
Non-Regular
QUOTE(vandetta @ Jun 16 2009, 11:03 AM) I'm going to Langkawi this coming July, together with eight of friends and we're looking for a place to stay, a place that clean + cheap + happening. Thinking of renting a bungalow if there is? For resorts I'm thinking of malibest, what do you guys think? Suggestions are really welcome. I have answer your question in sticky thread. If to have more accurate, the budget allocation would be preferred.
vandetta
Jun 16 2009, 04:30 PM
Thank you, I'm replying you reply now!
Putraskyline
Jun 16 2009, 04:35 PM
Non-Regular
QUOTE(vandetta @ Jun 16 2009, 04:30 PM) Thank you, I'm replying you reply now! Haha...Here the link for your eyes to see the different http://www.journeymalaysia.com/islandlangkawimalibest.htmhttp://www.journeymalaysia.com/islandlangkawibeachgarden.htm
vandetta
Jun 16 2009, 05:18 PM
Wow, looks like that BBR price is quite far higher than malibest
vandetta
Jun 16 2009, 05:27 PM
BTW,is there any website that would allow us to book first, or pay the deposit only before check in?
Canopies
Jun 16 2009, 10:30 PM
I'm going langkawi next monday will be landing via AA at Langkasuka resort around 2pm for 2 days till wednesday night. anyone is going there dun mind we can hang around 0122516433 my number.
vandetta
Jun 18 2009, 11:19 AM
What would be the best choice, whether I go to Langkawi without booking.. just walk in or book in the internet first?
This post has been edited by vandetta: Jun 18 2009, 11:23 AM
stimix
Jun 18 2009, 11:28 AM
Dunno
I dun think there is any website doing this..However china hotel booking website do have book 1st pay upon check-in. I did that last year & I din stay at that hotel..& they sent me a warning!..Have to appologise nicely to them.. However lotsa hotels/Inns do accept direct book-in without paying but you need to call the hotels directly & not websites. On this method, they will charge you rack rate or abit of discount but not as much as if u book online QUOTE(vandetta @ Jun 18 2009, 11:19 AM) What would be the best choice, whether I go to Langkawi without booking.. just walk in or book in the internet first?
Putraskyline
Jun 18 2009, 11:31 AM
Non-Regular
QUOTE(vandetta @ Jun 18 2009, 11:19 AM) What would be the best choice, whether I go to Langkawi without booking.. just walk in or book in the internet first? Book Internet : You get Internet rates sometimes cheaper up to 50% (Prepaid) Without Booking : Rack rates apply. Phone Booking : Peak/Rack rates depend on hotel. (Paid When check in)
vandetta
Jun 18 2009, 11:52 AM
I will go next two weeks, 4 july to 6 july, it is not peak time right? So the price should be same as advertise in the website?
stimix
Jun 18 2009, 12:00 PM
Dunno
As what putraskyline said & from my experiences, booking via internet booking websites such as cuti.com, agoda, & etc, sometime cheaper but needs upfront payment. However if the hotel having their own website & the advertised promotions rate you will be lucky..but do compare ho..bcos Most of the time foreign internet booking website can be much cheaper (up to 75% of rack/walk-in rate) than the hotel discounted price.... For eg...I booked a star rated hotel in Bali way back in 2007 for US$19/nite. Once I was there & asked about the current walk-in promotion, they told me it's US$35!...so compare properly ho.. QUOTE(vandetta @ Jun 18 2009, 11:52 AM) I will go next two weeks, 4 july to 6 july, it is not peak time right? So the price should be same as advertise in the website?
vandetta
Jun 18 2009, 12:20 PM
Conclusion is, the internet is way to go
Putraskyline
Jun 18 2009, 12:21 PM
Non-Regular
QUOTE(vandetta @ Jun 18 2009, 11:52 AM) I will go next two weeks, 4 july to 6 july, it is not peak time right? So the price should be same as advertise in the website? Yea its not peak. The price you see at the website either at their internet booking or their publish rates? If you see at their publish rates, yes it should be the same as you walk in. Publish rates = Rack Rates.
Canopies
Jun 18 2009, 07:24 PM
Hey...any idea where should I buy for cheapest liquore and beers?
Putraskyline
Jun 18 2009, 08:08 PM
Non-Regular
QUOTE(Canopies @ Jun 18 2009, 07:24 PM) Hey...any idea where should I buy for cheapest liquore and beers? There are a lot of shop selling it and different prices are not big.
blurprincess
Jun 20 2009, 09:18 AM

hi there... we two families are going by 30/6 ~ 3/7, langkasuka beach resort. by flight..
we have old people and babies. thus, not consider going to island hoping.. but we have few younster (30++ kira younger a?) might consider going some clubbing
here is my schedule, hope it's run smoothly 30/6 flight 1.00p.m reach langkawi, rent car, underworld, dinner at unkaizan, walk walk at awana porto malai
1/7 cenang beach, langkawi oriental village, dinner at orkid ria
2/7 galeria perdana, bird paradise, tanjung rhu, black sand beach, dinner at red tomato
3/7 check out, kuah town shopping, eagle square, langkawi yatch club, dinner at fat mum, flight 8.00p.m
my question: 1. schedule ok hor? 2. any nightlife recommend in pantai cenang? got two drunkers wan to go 3. car rental recommend.
syndromedown
Jun 20 2009, 11:40 AM
Just came back from Langkawi recently, a pleasant trip I would say. As for car rental commendations, once i touched down at the Langkawi airport, I saw a few booths regarding car rentals. I did get a fairly cheap bargain there, a Latio (which was only 4-5 months old) for the price of RM160 for 3 days 2 nights.
A few tips on getting a cheap bargain, when asked about your hotel accomodation, do not ever say you are staying at an expensive hotel although you are staying at one (just say that you are staying at AB Motel or something cheaper). If not, you won't get to land a good bargain. They will mark up the price just for you. And the rest depends on your bargaining skills.
Good luck mates.
danielwan
Jun 22 2009, 11:51 AM
I'm confused now! After doign survey can anyone recommend 'The Best value for money' since I'm going backpacking there on 26/6-30/6. Which budget hotel is the nearest to beach and good recommendation:
1. Langkapuri Inn (or is it Langkapuri Beach rsort?) 2. AB Motel 3. kedawang Beach Inn 4. Melati Tanjung Motel 5. CD Lodge 6. Charlie Motel 7. White Lodge
stimix
Jun 22 2009, 06:09 PM
Dunno
check out the maps & locations on 1st page.