Travel Langkawi, *~tax free heaven~* Updated info 1st pg

TSChester
post Mar 28 2006, 09:05 AM, updated 15y ago

2,380 posts

Ediiting In Progress with permission from Chester (Stimix):

1) Where & Partial Maps With hotels' Locations in Langkawi (Courtesy of www.malfreemaps.com ):

a) Main maps - All important jetty points & beaches

b) Kuah Town prominent hotels:

c) Pantai Cenang Hotels & underwater world:

d) Pantai Tengah (Very quiet beach thumbup.gif )

e) Langkasuka Beach, Pantai Kok & Burau Bay area

2) How to go

a) Via Flight from KLIA (MAS) or LCCT (Air Asia) - Refer to respective Airlines' websites

b) Drive up via North South Expressway & exit at Alor Setar toll. Thereafter to Kuala Kedah jetty. Park at numerous parking operated by locals & probably local residents house as well. Alternative you can drive up to Kuala Perlis which is not recommended because of extra mileage.

c) By Bus:

-To Kuala Kedah - So far no result on express buses to Kuala Kedah, but I have seen lotsa such buses. Do check Puduraya counters (Or any one wth info, do PM me (stimix) for update) Anyway the best so far (By Putraskline) is to Alor Star & thereafter a taxi or local bus from AS to KKedah http://journeymalaysia.com/ptaalorstar.htm

- To kuala Perlis - Transnational having xpress bus to Kuala Perlis at RM42.80/pax http://www.transnasional.com.my/destinatio...&cid=5&x=45&y=2 & also Plusliner (By putraskline): http://www.transnasional.com.my/destinatio...&cid=5&x=45&y=2

d) Ferry Schedule & fare: http://www.langkawi-ferry.com/schedule.html (Currently RM23/pax/1way)

3) Normal Car Rental Rate (Available both at Airport & ferry terminal. No need advance booking. Just goto the counters providing car rental services and during low season, those rental companies will be hawking around!):

a) Off season & non-public Holiday (Car/day)

- Kancil -RM40
- Wira - RM50
- Waja -RM60
- Nissan Sentra /Honda Civic -RM70
- Toyota Altis - RM80
- Van/SUV ~RM100-RM120

for those really kiasu and wanted to book via phone can try this: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...dpost&p=9552871 but from those posting, seems like walk-in rate is cheaper than pre-book. smile.gif

b) Public Holidays & School Holidays - Probably Doubled the above & depending on your bargaining power

c) Bringing your own car - Probably takes up to 2 days, about RM90/way

4) Tourist Attractions:

a) Kuah Duty Free Shopping - Go for Cigarette, Liquor, Cooking utensils, Chocolates & perfumes. Forget about Electronics, computers, cameras & etc that are already comes with duty free status even in KL...Those items are more expensive than KL. Similarly the food pricing to is almost similar to KL except the beers in those hawker ctr..

b) Island Hoping - 4 locations (Pulau Payar/Dayang Bunting - Kuah Jetty), South western islands - Jetty near Awana resort; Magrove tour either at the road near Perdana Gallery or Tg Rhu Beach

c) Mat Chincang Cable car & Oriental Village http://www.langkawi-info.com/attractions/cable-car.htm

d) More sight seeing (Some not really recommended: http://www.langkawi-info.com/attractions/sightseeing.htm

5) Accomodations - Refer to the pinned topic in the main Travel & Living Section
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/258550

Good independent review on hi-end hotels in langkawi: http://www.malaysiahotelreview.com/langkawi.shtml You can use this to check other than langkawi hotels too rclxms.gif

http://www.langkawi-resorts.com/ <<<Recommended by Chester. Pay 10% upfront and the rest pay at hotel upon arrival. Cheaper than cuti.com.my afaik but can compare before making any reservation

6) Other Websites Link:

http://www.mylangkawi.com/

http://www.langkawi-online.com/

http://www.langkawi-info.com/

http://wikitravel.org/en/Langkawi

7)Holiday suggestions - just a suggestion if you are wondering what to do in Langkawi rclxm9.gif

4 days 3 nights (credit to devils) Chester

3 days 2 nights (credit to Navilink) - Chester

8) More itineraries suggestions from forumers here:

Grengo: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=27321867

Food suggestion (Also by grengo: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=27354949

By siokjinlim: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=27204555

This post has been edited by stimix: Jul 20 2009, 09:12 PM
TSChester
post May 14 2006, 11:31 AM

2,380 posts

my fren stay at langkasuka beach resort.. think somoewhere near the airport.. she says its 105nett i think thought i check at the website the price is far more than wad she says.. maybe u can give them a call to confirm with them the price
TSChester
post Oct 31 2006, 12:06 PM

2,380 posts

Say if i want to take back 3 bottles of liquor thru the jetty, will get caught?

What happened if got caught? Pay tax?

Have not been there for 10years ady.. last time i smuggle chocolates only laugh.gif
TSChester
post Dec 20 2006, 02:47 AM

2,380 posts

I took my dinner at Bayview Hotel a decade ago when its still not completely open. thumbup.gif

Anyway buy some liquors for us tongue.gif
TSChester
post May 14 2007, 04:27 PM

2,380 posts

Havent been Langkawi for a decade, and still no chance to go sweat.gif
Not for the meantime..

Anyway wanna ask, if i have my bro to help me buy some duty free liquors, can he get thru the kastam? Like maybe 2 bottle of whisky? Gonna stay there for like 3 nights..
TSChester
post Jan 10 2009, 09:42 AM

2,380 posts

good day all..i plan to go langkawi from April 1 to april 4..is that peak period?
TSChester
post Jan 10 2009, 10:02 AM

2,380 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jan 10 2009, 09:44 AM)
Welcum bck TS...Nope..April is not peak..so enjoice more on cheap rental & cheap hotel..
haha thank you bro rclxms.gif
the ts is finally fulfilling his duty to visit langkawi laugh.gif

i checked langkasuka, it is about RM259 for 3 nights for 2person from Apr1-4. Is the price ok? RM400 if include a car for 2 days i think.

flight now also ok, about RM208 for 2person return..

pls advise me on the pricing notworthy.gif been more than a decade since i last go langkawi laugh.gif
TSChester
post Jan 10 2009, 11:28 AM

2,380 posts

after add up insurance luggage skybus bla bla bla become Rm284 for 2 sweat.gif
TSChester
post Jan 10 2009, 11:01 PM

2,380 posts

normally when u guys take AA, got buy that RM30 insurance and RM5/bag thingy?
TSChester
post Jan 11 2009, 12:50 AM

2,380 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jan 11 2009, 12:06 AM)
Bag -yes...or else u hv to buy RM10 at LCCT!..but insurance no...+ food yes..-RM1 cheaper than buying inflight... biggrin.gif
if i only take a backpack and hand carry a bag, do i need that check baggage? sorry 1st timer blush.gif
TSChester
post Jan 11 2009, 10:20 PM

2,380 posts

thanks b00n.

Guys if i arrive langkawi at at 8pm, how do i get to langkasuka?
TSChester
post Jan 11 2009, 10:24 PM

2,380 posts

im planning for 4d3n. 1st day arrive at 8pm, how to go to langkasuka?

2nd day morning i will go airport maybe, to rent a car. 4th day morning i return the car and take flight. so only rent 2 days of car..
TSChester
post Jan 11 2009, 11:05 PM

2,380 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jan 11 2009, 10:51 PM)
Langkasuka is pretty near the airport..~1.5km from the airport..on the way to Cenang. If u reach at nite, the car rental consider the nxt day. so just get the car upn arrival. they will give u free on that nite...understood oledi..
oo..meaning..if i arrive langkawi at 8pm.. i can take the car already and consider i rent on the nx day..

so day 1 = take car 8pm
day 2 and day 3 use car..
day 4 morning return car.. is counted 2 days?

i plan day 2 morning take car.. day 4 morning return..so its 2 days..
TSChester
post Jan 14 2009, 01:39 AM

2,380 posts

Cordon Bleu in klang valley selling for how much?

Added on January 14, 2009, 2:37 am
QUOTE(GKilla @ Jan 7 2009, 12:11 PM)
hi guys. i'll be travelling to langkawi with my family this March so need some advice. That time will be low season.

I plan to stay in Langkasuka Resort. Been checking the net and found this site:
http://www.langkawi-resorts.com/langkasuka/rates.htm
This website offers Deluxe Queen Room (4pax) at rm176/night. Breakfast for 4 pax.

I've also called up Langkasuka  and they offer me rm165 for Queen Deluxe Room at rm165 but breakfast only for 2 pax.

Seems like www.langkawi-resorts.com gives better offer. Any other places/sites where I can find a better offer than this? Or is this the best?

Thanks in advance!
Is this link to langkasuka hotel genuine? i wanna make my booking thru this link..

This post has been edited by Chester: Jan 14 2009, 02:37 AM
TSChester
post Jan 16 2009, 11:30 PM

2,380 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jan 14 2009, 07:18 AM)
U can get cheaper here:
http://www.cuti.com.my/hotel/info.php?id=2...ka+Beach+Resort

Or even cheaper booking outside M'sia via Agoda (No breakfast-lah):
http://www.agoda.com/asia/malaysia/langkaw...ach_resort.html
u sure this site is cheaper than http://www.langkawi-resorts.com/langkasuka/rates.htm? same room and day..this link is rm259 while cuti.com.my is almost 400 le -__-

anyone book http://www.langkawi-resorts.com/langkasuka/rates.htm before? how we know if this site is genuine?

TSChester
post Jan 18 2009, 11:52 PM

2,380 posts

yup..other sites are cheaper but how to know if its genuine?

TSChester
post Jan 19 2009, 09:56 PM

2,380 posts

Just booked a room via AWD, 3 nights for RM269 nod.gif
TSChester
post Jan 31 2009, 02:48 PM

2,380 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jan 31 2009, 11:40 AM)
Pls read 1st page & 1st post. There is info on the expected car rental rates & also where to get..well..as what mentioned on 1st page. U no need to pre-book car rental.. the car rental company will look for u once u reach the jetty or Shouted at u once u near the outside of the arrival hall at Langkawi airport!  biggrin.gif
I updated 1st page with sample things u can do in langkawi for 4d3n or 3d2n credit to devils and navilink. Feel free to add/amend nod.gif
TSChester
post Feb 28 2009, 02:47 PM

2,380 posts

nobody go langkawi recently ah? unsure.gif
TSChester
post Mar 7 2009, 10:52 PM

2,380 posts

u can try a link in page 103, asia web direct

so far i found that to be the cheapest