for me yes.. but if you like it that much, it will be worth every cent for you to get it even when logic tell you no...
Cycling V5 aka 8888 CNY HUAT ah!, General talks on Racing/road bikes
Mar 12 2013, 10:52 PM
593 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: Highland, Texas |
for me yes.. but if you like it that much, it will be worth every cent for you to get it even when logic tell you no...
Mar 12 2013, 10:54 PM
2,948 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
Mar 13 2013, 12:04 AM
2,948 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
i think this is the one i saw in actual:
Skurvy it states for 12 year old boy but it's much bigger than the other model, can you look at the description and tell me if it's suitable for adults? QUOTE(butthead @ Mar 12 2013, 10:52 PM) |
Mar 13 2013, 12:44 AM
189 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: Far from sights, near to heart |
I saw the SLR but stil prefer TIME RXRS or ZXRS....Dunno which to go
Mar 13 2013, 12:55 AM
364 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(advocado @ Mar 13 2013, 12:04 AM) i think this is the one i saw in actual: seriously... 2k for such bike? seriously? Skurvy it states for 12 year old boy but it's much bigger than the other model, can you look at the description and tell me if it's suitable for adults? |
Mar 13 2013, 01:35 AM
Mar 13 2013, 01:37 AM
Mar 13 2013, 03:28 AM
59 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
Just wondering, how much is the new Dura Ace 9000 groupset price in Malaysia and which shop is selling it? I know pedalspot only carries Sram. The 11 spd looks inviting..
And how much is the Ultegra Di2 price? I know Red is the lightest groupset but just wondering the prices in Msia. |
Mar 13 2013, 03:34 AM
QUOTE(butthead @ Mar 12 2013, 12:37 PM) would not be the worst choice in the world... although it should be the third tier down the line of the madone lineup by now.. It's the new 2013 version. Yes it has the Kam tail and the hidden rear brakes under the chainstay (which I read from reviews it is the worst place to put a brake as it will accumulate dirts easily).is it the new revamped 5 or the old one... the new 5 is sweet... it has all the techno funko from the new 7 series like the rear brakes under the chainstay, kam tail aero shape and stuff like that... it just misses out the stepjoint carbon layup and uses some lesser grade carbon and not so high tech top secret epoxy and carbon layup the 6 and 7 series uses....but still retains bb90 and the ride tuned seatmast all if the price is acceptable and not considered too expensive by you first...i think they had also brought the 6 series price down to affordable levels or not as far as you would have thought... Not that expensive when you could get a complete bike with just a tad expensive than the price of an sworks frame (non complete bike). However the head tube seems a bit tall for my liking. It doesn't seems racy enough though. No price available on the 6 series but there's a new Trek boutique opening soon next month so I might give them a visit. |
Mar 13 2013, 09:32 AM
QUOTE(mrjgx @ Mar 13 2013, 03:34 AM) However the head tube seems a bit tall for my liking. It doesn't seems racy enough though. No price available on the 6 series but there's a new Trek boutique opening soon next month so I might give them a visit. the 5.2 looks tall on the HT because it is a H2 fit. If you want a low front end, H1 is the only choice and only the 6 & 7 series has H1 fitting option on their frames. 5 series is stuck with H2 if i am not wrong. H2 is more like endurance geometry designs while H1 is the other way round.QUOTE(mrjgx @ Mar 13 2013, 03:34 AM) It's the new 2013 version. Yes it has the Kam tail and the hidden rear brakes under the chainstay (which I read from reviews it is the worst place to put a brake as it will accumulate dirts easily). Yes, it gets dirty fast. But it should not be a problem if you clean your bike often. Furthermore, the dirt is not of the primary concern as the brake itself is actually not an easy part to acquire as it is not the usual dual pivot type that we use.Not that expensive when you could get a complete bike with just a tad expensive than the price of an sworks frame (non complete bike). It is the trend that is going forward with new bikes as this is one of the way to clean up airflow around the rear end, like it or not. It is going to stick around. And you should not compare the 5.2 to an s-works frame as you are not comparing apple to apple. If that is the case, you could have easily gotten a Merida Scultura Pro with SRAM Force + Zipp wheels for the same price, would that not be more interesting than the 5.2 or the s-works from a price point of view? |
Mar 13 2013, 09:43 AM
QUOTE(mrjgx @ Mar 13 2013, 03:28 AM) Just wondering, how much is the new Dura Ace 9000 groupset price in Malaysia and which shop is selling it? I know pedalspot only carries Sram. The 11 spd looks inviting.. ultegra di2 (full groupset) is fluctuating between RM400 - RM4500... some places even more i think...And how much is the Ultegra Di2 price? I know Red is the lightest groupset but just wondering the prices in Msia. Red 2013 is RM5.5k to RM5.9k ... saw also an ex-stock old red being sold for RM4.8k about 2-3 months back... DA9000 mechanical is not going to be cheap... no less than RM6k and most likely hitting RM7k on the market, or is that the Di2 group?? and don't forget... you need to change wheels or if you wheel manufacturer has an 11 speed free hub that you can swap.. .those would be extra costs to upgrade... |
Mar 13 2013, 12:01 PM
Eh..sure not di2 only rm4.5k?? But it's a bit heavy right? The shifter at the bar features is really interesting. Well that is well below my budget. Should i opt for the latest technology or should i go the weight weenies route (Red).
DA9000 is too pricey i'll skip that option. |
Mar 13 2013, 12:20 PM
587 posts Joined: Feb 2010 |
QUOTE(mrjgx @ Mar 13 2013, 12:01 PM) Eh..sure not di2 only rm4.5k?? But it's a bit heavy right? The shifter at the bar features is really interesting. Well that is well below my budget. Should i opt for the latest technology or should i go the weight weenies route (Red). u need to try di2 first. it's not for everybody. just fiddle around with the shifter and then u can decide. btw, after i've tried it, di2's not for me.DA9000 is too pricey i'll skip that option. |
Mar 13 2013, 01:14 PM
QUOTE(miaopurr @ Mar 13 2013, 12:20 PM) u need to try di2 first. it's not for everybody. just fiddle around with the shifter and then u can decide. btw, after i've tried it, di2's not for me. I've tried it, at the shop lah not in the real riding situation so i can't decide whether it's for me or not just by fiddling at the shop. But it sure feels like a computer mouse clicking and the gear change was super smooth (perhaps the humming sound it made makes it smooth). |
Mar 13 2013, 01:15 PM
i don't like the mouse-click feel; that's why
Mar 13 2013, 01:30 PM
QUOTE(mrjgx @ Mar 13 2013, 12:01 PM) Eh..sure not di2 only rm4.5k?? But it's a bit heavy right? The shifter at the bar features is really interesting. Well that is well below my budget. Should i opt for the latest technology or should i go the weight weenies route (Red). it's your preference... if you want the latest and greatest... then electronic shifting is the future...DA9000 is too pricey i'll skip that option. else, Red would be a not so bad option among mechanical groups... + point being it cheaper than mechanical DA and also lighter... QUOTE(miaopurr @ Mar 13 2013, 12:20 PM) u need to try di2 first. it's not for everybody. just fiddle around with the shifter and then u can decide. btw, after i've tried it, di2's not for me. same as double tap... you either love it or hate it... but i don't see why anyone would have problem with Di2... it's the same logic to shift + it is a terribly accurate shifting system... i don't think you can ever mess it up if it was setup properly in the first place...i on the other hand won't go for it because i don't like the shifter shape...DA Di2, only a maybe because of the price point... Ultegra DI2... definitely no... satelite shifters is a big ???... haven't seen it here yet... best bet is rodalink... QUOTE(mrjgx @ Mar 13 2013, 01:14 PM) I've tried it, at the shop lah not in the real riding situation so i can't decide whether it's for me or not just by fiddling at the shop. But it sure feels like a computer mouse clicking and the gear change was super smooth (perhaps the humming sound it made makes it smooth). is it smooth or not, i don't know..but generally, i associate smooth with the running of the drivetrain like drivetrain noise from the cassette and stuff like that... but it is very accurate and you won't have ghost, miss shifts with it... heck, you can even whack it into the big ring under full load sprinting at the top of the hill.. i saw a fella did it at sempah just as they were almost reaching the top last few turns...no cable wear is also a plus point...but, i for one is lazy to charge batteries... nothing on my bike should ever need constant charging (although Di2 is reported to last at least 2 months with modest riding)... but i don't want to constantly remind myself to check battery levels... i don't depend on the battery to ride off like i do my car to start it up... it's an annoyance for me that i don't need... QUOTE(miaopurr @ Mar 13 2013, 01:15 PM) ada mouse click feel meh??? only campy EPS got lar... the shimano one is like no feel at all.. .that is what all the complaints is about... i don't know about the 11-speed one lar.. haven't tried that out yet...but heard they made some changes on that area...but campy ones have a very distinct click as they designed it that way to give the rider the feeling that [s]he engaged a shift... This post has been edited by butthead: Mar 13 2013, 01:35 PM |
Mar 13 2013, 01:34 PM
QUOTE(butthead @ Mar 13 2013, 01:30 PM) ada mouse click feel meh??? only campy got lar... the shimano one is like no feel at all.. .that is what all the complaints is about... i don't know about the 11-speed one lar.. haven't tried that out yet... yeah, close to no feel. me no likeybut campy ones have a very distinct click as they designed it that way to give the rider the feeling that he engaged a shift... |
Mar 13 2013, 01:44 PM
just stick to your DA7900 and pray that it don't rosak... better masuk stock of spare parts cepat cepat before it dissapears from the market...
that or you are forced to go 11s...haha |
Mar 13 2013, 01:48 PM
Mar 13 2013, 01:51 PM
10,912 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
To Di2 user, remember to charge your battery and service regularly.
| Change to: | 0.0348sec
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 12:54 PM |