Cycling V5 aka 8888 CNY HUAT ah!, General talks on Racing/road bikes

mrjgx
post Mar 10 2013, 02:11 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Mar 9 2013, 10:55 PM)
persistence has always been the key to everything...

hell no... the climb is not gonna be like frasers... frasers is freakin long for the elevation it climbs..

yours is 14KM to climb more than 1200meters...that is in excess of 10% gradient on average... it is more like gohtong jaya to genting highlands by comparison...and in the heat out in the open... i really wonder what the view looks like from the top of a bald mountain...

snap some nice shots if you do...
Honestly, kudos to him. I was really surprised by his improvements! It's time for me to hop on my trainer daily flex.gif

We planned for the 14km stretch climbing, skipping the route all the way to the feet of the mountain (Some riders rode the longer route prior to the climb which take roughly 4 hrs). Is it really like Goh Tong to Genting Highland? In that case I can't underestimate the climb lah...

Another thing is, the uncle I think is the best salesman I ever encountered. He told me, life is short, so just get the best bike you could afford. It sparks something in me...hurmmmm sweat.gif

Anyone fancy a Broga loop this coming school holiday end of March? thumbup.gif
butthead
post Mar 10 2013, 04:05 PM

593 posts

no climb should be under-estimated, ever.... whether it is a bad day on the bike or unexpected or unforeseeable gradients... it can catch you at the wrong timing and murder your ass..

your unker is better than our unker miao???

well, at the end of the day... it is all about how you justify your spending... if you start thinking that life is short on everything to justify them.. you will be down in deep debts and your life will really be damn short by then...

so, jus think twice on everything as you still have at least 30-40 years to go?? you don't want to spend it repaying debts due to that thing that you think you should own or do before you die...

unless you have loads of spare money sitting somewhere where you do not know what to do with it...i don't see why something expensive can be justifiable just by "life is short"...it is short, but not to the point of having to go through un-necessary things...

This post has been edited by butthead: Mar 10 2013, 04:09 PM
hianboy
post Mar 10 2013, 04:10 PM

364 posts

it made the Bkt Melawati look like kids play....
butthead
post Mar 10 2013, 04:15 PM

593 posts

because it is for kids...grown ups don't ride mole hills

This post has been edited by butthead: Mar 10 2013, 04:16 PM
sunghajung11
post Mar 10 2013, 06:37 PM

37 posts

Reynolds attack anyone? price similar to fulcrum racing 1 lerr...
which one to get? heard carbon wheels hard to brake in rain n might make tyre explode. scary...
butthead
post Mar 10 2013, 06:46 PM

593 posts

if those things happen... the product won't be out in the market...

those are stories of yesteryear... if you take proper care of carbon products... they usually don't fail badly on you except when it is crashed into something..

both are equally good wheels... just meant for different market...

This post has been edited by butthead: Mar 10 2013, 06:47 PM
miaopurr
post Mar 11 2013, 09:15 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(sunghajung11 @ Mar 10 2013, 06:37 PM)
Reynolds attack anyone? price similar to fulcrum racing 1 lerr...
which one to get? heard carbon wheels hard to brake in rain n might make tyre explode. scary...
i'd go with FR1
butthead
post Mar 11 2013, 09:24 AM

593 posts

yeah, why buy something you have doubts in and is just better on paper rite?
TSvin_ann
post Mar 11 2013, 11:58 AM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Mar 10 2013, 02:11 AM)
Anyone fancy a Broga loop this coming school holiday end of March?  thumbup.gif
wave.gif me!

but i thinks the landslides area have not fixed. Not sure how others doing their Broga loop...

hianboy
post Mar 11 2013, 12:11 PM

364 posts

wut??? u guys still having benefits over school holidays???
butthead
post Mar 11 2013, 12:21 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Mar 11 2013, 11:58 AM)
wave.gif me!

but i thinks the landslides area have not fixed. Not sure how others doing their Broga loop...

QUOTE(hianboy @ Mar 11 2013, 12:11 PM)
wut??? u guys still having benefits over school holidays???
obviously... this buggers are all under-aged kids pretending to be adults...tat explains why...

old farts where got energy to tokok in and out like this everyday, make more $$$ better la...somemore day-day also wan pus-sy... old fart already see enough miao-holes in their life that they will scream in horror in they ever shown one again...
miaopurr
post Mar 11 2013, 12:25 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Mar 11 2013, 12:21 PM)
or...

butthead
post Mar 11 2013, 12:38 PM

593 posts

tat one got alien power lar... makes no sense... at least we all know doraemon exists for a fact...

that or we are just gullible idiots..

This post has been edited by butthead: Mar 11 2013, 12:38 PM
butthead
post Mar 11 2013, 01:19 PM

593 posts

some nice and life complicating BB article

http://www.bikeradar.com/gear/article/comp...brackets-36660/

This post has been edited by butthead: Mar 11 2013, 01:20 PM
miaopurr
post Mar 11 2013, 01:44 PM

587 posts

pening.... sticking with threaded. but spez has moved on to OSBB. damn lousy... *for future frame upgrade smile.gif
TSvin_ann
post Mar 11 2013, 01:45 PM

10,912 posts

It is with some regret therefore that we have to inform you that Century Ride Malaysia will be taking a sabbatical this year as KRI's involvement in other sports events in 2013 has made it impossible for us to organise a Century Ride worthy of both participants and sponsors, one that would do ourselves proud

Sos

no Ipoh Century Ride this year...

left Kuantan Century Ride. i bet will be fullhouse very fast!
mrjgx
post Mar 11 2013, 01:49 PM

59 posts

Vin ann..whats the total distance of the broga loop? 130km? Come butthead and everyone else in this thread let's do the loop..im not a strong rider so will ride so-so only plus my bike is cheap one
miaopurr
post Mar 11 2013, 01:53 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Mar 11 2013, 01:49 PM)
Vin ann..whats the total distance of the broga loop? 130km? Come butthead and everyone else in this thread let's do the loop..im not a strong rider so will ride so-so only plus my bike is cheap one
but ur stem is slammed. that adds another 10W!
mrjgx
post Mar 11 2013, 01:59 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Mar 10 2013, 04:05 PM)
no climb should be under-estimated, ever.... whether it is a bad day on the bike or unexpected or unforeseeable gradients... it can catch you at the wrong timing and murder your ass..

your unker is better than our unker miao???

well, at the end of the day... it is all about how you justify your spending... if you start thinking that life is short on everything to justify them.. you will be down in deep debts and your life will really be damn short by then...

so, jus think twice on everything as you still have at least 30-40 years to go?? you don't want to spend it repaying debts due to that thing that you think you should own or do before you die...

unless you have loads of spare money sitting somewhere where you do not know what to do with it...i don't see why something expensive can be justifiable just by "life is short"...it is short, but not to the point of having to go through un-necessary things...
Well the abundance of money will come in time. So let say the amount collected already enough so that's when the justification is needed to buy the dream bike or not tongue.gif

Hence the term YOLO.

But then i admit there are many things to weigh before landing on the decision..marriage is one thing! It costs a bomb nowadays. Haihs

butthead
post Mar 11 2013, 01:59 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Mar 11 2013, 01:44 PM)
pening.... sticking with threaded. but spez has moved on to OSBB. damn lousy... *for future frame upgrade smile.gif
OSBB... ohh shit bad boy...

i want a BBPF9030386rightBS BB...combine every damn thing...

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Mar 11 2013, 01:45 PM)
It is with some regret therefore that we have to inform you that Century Ride Malaysia will be taking a sabbatical this year as KRI's involvement in other sports events in 2013 has made it impossible for us to organise a Century Ride worthy of both participants and sponsors, one that would do ourselves proud

Sos

no Ipoh Century Ride this year...

left Kuantan Century Ride. i bet will be fullhouse very fast!
haiyar...you go spinning class not enough meh... still want to go stare at asses for a 160KMs...

anyways, still got Interstate, KOM and got knows wat mar...relax lar...chillax...

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Mar 11 2013, 01:49 PM)
Come butthead and everyone else in this thread let's do the loop..im not a strong rider so will ride so-so only plus my bike is cheap one
wait till i get my scultura SL brows.gif

me not strong rider too... i only managed 75w on strava shocking.gif

even a 8yo would smoke my ass on a downhill...

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Mar 11 2013, 01:53 PM)
but ur stem is slammed. that adds another 10W!
adds another 10W sustainable for 45 minutes...he will be ripping the climb like alberto contador... or most likely in recent trend... froome...

This post has been edited by butthead: Mar 11 2013, 02:01 PM

128 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Top

0.0211sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 01:02 PM