Cycling V5 aka 8888 CNY HUAT ah!, General talks on Racing/road bikes

firewire
post Feb 5 2013, 01:17 PM

785 posts

hey butthead, i'm not sure about KL but in SG they do import the bikes and it cost like SGD2k and above shocking.gif

i guess i have to stick to the greasy chain bike for now and it still cost like MYR700 for a mountain bike, anywhere to get bike below 500? is this possible? thanks
mrjgx
post Feb 5 2013, 01:31 PM

59 posts

Will be going back to Msia in March. Hopefully GHSpeedbikes has some Sworks SL4 frameset for my size.

Or should I get the complete bike SL4 non Sworks if the price is not much of a different than the sworks frame?

i know they dont carry the Tarmac Pro, the highest level is Expert model i think. What do you guys think?
miaopurr
post Feb 5 2013, 01:37 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Feb 5 2013, 01:31 PM)
Will be going back to Msia in March. Hopefully GHSpeedbikes has some Sworks SL4 frameset for my size.

Or should I get the complete bike SL4 non Sworks if the price is not much of a different than the sworks frame?

i know they dont carry the Tarmac Pro, the highest level is Expert model i think. What do you guys think?
my friend would go with the non sworks complete bike if the spec is right. if not, he might look at the non sworks frameset.

vinann will wait for u at GH entrance. just u wait.... prepare to be challenged
butthead
post Feb 5 2013, 01:38 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Feb 5 2013, 01:03 PM)
if u bring that cat along on ur ride, he'll let out his claws and scratch ur back if u can't keep up ur pace... bring him along broga jantan ride. hahaha
better than EPO...

QUOTE(firewire @ Feb 5 2013, 01:17 PM)

hey butthead, i'm not sure about KL but in SG they do import the bikes and it cost like SGD2k and above shocking.gif

i guess i have to stick to the greasy chain bike for now and it still cost like MYR700 for a mountain bike, anywhere to get bike below 500? is this possible? thanks
belt driven is so not mainstream... that is why they charge you more...as i say, you have a big worry even if someone gives you one for free... if the belt snaps... where can you find a replacement?

not trolling, but 500... maybe hypermarkets or mudah.my... look for those TRS or some funky names...

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Feb 5 2013, 01:31 PM)

up to you dude...your money your decision... if you can afford an s-works, then go s-works...if you can't and is cash strapped for a complete spez bike, then that it is... else, save up more and buy wat you want...

it is all down to your impulse on that day itself...

SL4 to be frank is for the people who doubt if they ever need that extra 5-10% edge that the s-works have...there is a 50/50 chance you might or might not feel the difference other than aesthetics...so, you buy the best to eliminate your doubts...

This post has been edited by butthead: Feb 5 2013, 01:43 PM
butthead
post Feb 5 2013, 01:47 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Feb 5 2013, 01:37 PM)
my friend would go with the non sworks complete bike if the spec is right. if not, he might look at the non sworks frameset.

vinann will wait for u at GH entrance. just u wait.... prepare to be challenged
your friend or "your friend" ???

vinann won't do that... he will stalk you all the way home and camp there day and night to wait for you to go out for a ride... he will then pounce on you that time... vinann likes to fight fair and square and he doesn't take cincai rides seriously...

he will only challenge the new spez owner to a fight in his full form and gear...
miaopurr
post Feb 5 2013, 01:50 PM

587 posts

or maybe he will greet u at the GS door and say... "prepare to be challenged... see u soon.... i won't tell u when... but i will see u soon... "

and then he'll just leave.... leaving the new spez owner wondering when he'll be challenged... like a thriller/mystery/suspense movie

he'll leave while doing this;

This post has been edited by miaopurr: Feb 5 2013, 01:53 PM
butthead
post Feb 5 2013, 01:56 PM

593 posts

chilling!
apainine
post Feb 5 2013, 02:55 PM

17 posts

hye there. any of u guys know where to find shops that do repainting/ custom painting job for my bike? trying to restore an old vitessee.
TSvin_ann
post Feb 5 2013, 03:27 PM

10,912 posts

aiseh.... March im still focusing my ultra running...

perhap 1 of the weekend can joins us to Genting Sempah ride further down to Janda Baik somewhere enjoys nice coffee break... if mrjgx dont mind slowpoke us...

cycling are just for recovery purpose... only after 23 April fly back from Clark... shall rejoins P2K...

btw, Powerman date is set... anyone planning to join?

mrjgx
post Feb 5 2013, 03:40 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Feb 5 2013, 01:38 PM)
up to you dude...your money your decision... if you can afford an s-works, then go s-works...if you can't and is cash strapped for a complete spez bike, then that it is... else, save up more and buy wat you want...

it is all down to your impulse on that day itself...

SL4 to be frank is for the people who doubt if they ever need that extra 5-10% edge that the s-works have...there is a 50/50 chance you might or might not feel the difference other than aesthetics...so, you buy the best to eliminate your doubts...
Yes, I'm pretty sure at my level I won't feel the stiffness difference but I can definitely feel the aesthetics differences between the two tongue.gif last time I checked they don't sell many complete Sworks model, only framesets. But the non Sworks usually comes in a complete bike.

QUOTE(butthead @ Feb 5 2013, 01:47 PM)
your friend or "your friend" ???

vinann won't do that... he will stalk you all the way home and camp there day and night to wait for you to go out for a ride... he will then pounce on you that time... vinann likes to fight fair and square and he doesn't take cincai rides seriously...

he will only challenge the new spez owner to a fight in his full form and gear...
Haha. I already told him I will let him pass me easily even if I'm riding the spanking brand new Sworks sl4 tongue.gif

Ok can anyone give me the ballpark figure of a complete sl4 bike in GHS? Is it rm14k or 12k?

Groupset is the least of my concern, neither do wheelsets.
miaopurr
post Feb 5 2013, 05:52 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Feb 5 2013, 03:40 PM)
Ok can anyone give me the ballpark figure of a complete sl4 bike in GHS? Is it rm14k or 12k?

Groupset is the least of my concern, neither do wheelsets.
no idea man...
butthead
post Feb 5 2013, 06:29 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Feb 5 2013, 03:27 PM)
aiseh.... March im still focusing my ultra running...

perhap 1 of the weekend can joins us to Genting Sempah ride further down to Janda Baik somewhere enjoys nice coffee break... if mrjgx dont mind slowpoke us...

cycling are just for recovery purpose... only after 23 April fly back from Clark... shall rejoins P2K...

btw, Powerman date is set... anyone planning to join?
march, i am focusing on mila kunis

april on giselle

and then may will be olivia wilde which i will go wild on...

need immense amounts of power to do this marathon of chicks

thirteen is great

This post has been edited by butthead: Feb 5 2013, 06:52 PM
butthead
post Feb 5 2013, 06:39 PM

593 posts

Yes, I'm pretty sure at my level I won't feel the stiffness difference but I can definitely feel the aesthetics differences between the two tongue.gif last time I checked they don't sell many complete Sworks model, only framesets. But the non Sworks usually comes in a complete bike.
well, you've answered yourself haven't you... if aesthetically you like the s-works models... you've got nowhere to run since some of the s-works paint scheme is not available on the normal spez models...

if you find yourself not liking most of the parts on the normal spez and end up swapping it out... might as well you get the s-works and built it from ground up with everything you want... save your money and effort in doing so...

GH has all the stuff you want... zipp wheels and most things imaginable...

he won't accept anyone not racing him at full power.... he will not stop challenging you until the day you race him so hard your nuts hurt...till then, he will stalk and hunt you down like a wild animal...

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Feb 5 2013, 05:52 PM)
no idea man...
me too...but take RM14k on the safer side... if it turns out RM12k, take it as discount je lar...if you estimate RM12k and it turns out RM14k... kena screwed when you have not enough moolah...

This post has been edited by butthead: Feb 5 2013, 06:43 PM
butthead
post Feb 6 2013, 11:43 AM

593 posts

vinann, wat do you think?

Increase your power with proper hydration
miaopurr
post Feb 6 2013, 11:52 AM

587 posts

so plain water is better?
TSvin_ann
post Feb 6 2013, 12:10 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Feb 6 2013, 11:43 AM)
where can get Osmo Nutrition...

oh wait... its dropper's ex-nutritionist

A former nutritionist to Lance Armstrong today launched her own drink-mix company, OsmoNutrition. Stacy Sims, who's also worked with the likes of Garmin-Slipstream and pro triathlete Dan Hugo, says her products will stand out in a crowded marketplace because of their research-based formulation and high-quality, natural ingredients.

http://www.bikeradar.com/road/news/article...launched-33995/
butthead
post Feb 6 2013, 12:18 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Feb 6 2013, 11:52 AM)
so plain water is better?
plain water with low osmolality...

i bet people will think you are crazy if you ask for water with low osmolality...
miaopurr
post Feb 6 2013, 12:29 PM

587 posts

dropper? sure... he dropped ullrich after he gave that fella the look

http://www.cyclingtips.com.au/2013/02/let-the-season-begin/

"Everyone in the pro peloton bashes one particular groupset though. It’s all in good fun, but it’s an unwritten rule that you have to take the piss out of the guys who are on that groupset."

sram?

This post has been edited by miaopurr: Feb 6 2013, 12:30 PM
miaopurr
post Feb 6 2013, 12:31 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Feb 6 2013, 12:18 PM)
plain water with low osmolality...

i bet people will think you are crazy if you ask for water with low osmolality...
i meant, a drink with low solubles. plain water laaa... right?
butthead
post Feb 6 2013, 03:07 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Feb 6 2013, 12:29 PM)
dropper? sure... he dropped ullrich after he gave that fella the look

http://www.cyclingtips.com.au/2013/02/let-the-season-begin/

"Everyone in the pro peloton bashes one particular groupset though. It’s all in good fun, but it’s an unwritten rule that you have to take the piss out of the guys who are on that groupset."

sram?
i think he meant electronic groupos...

The electronic groupsets is where it’s at nowdays. Di2 has been brilliant

the quote i like best...

Most pro cyclists are gear junkies. They love to talk about equipment. You always make sure to ask a guy who’s gone from one team to another how the new bike is and if he really likes it. But the truth is that everything is quite amazing these days. And we’re riding the same stuff that most of your are. Only the top riders get special treatment, and most of the gear is still available in most bikeshops.

why SRAM... because Armstrong has a stake in it? but SRAM has bought it back since 2011 i believe...

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Feb 6 2013, 12:31 PM)
i meant, a drink with low solubles. plain water laaa... right?
on paper, it is not stated with "low osmolality"...so, not counted...

This post has been edited by butthead: Feb 6 2013, 03:10 PM

128 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0303sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 04:40 AM