Samsung Galaxy S III I9300 Official Thread V26, Happy Chinese New Year 2013 :D

noobandroid
post Jan 20 2013, 04:42 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

QUOTE(tigerporc @ Jan 20 2013, 04:40 PM)
Safer way is to use a 2.1A charger to charge. (will be faster compared to the stock 1A charger) - IMHO does not damage battery.
Unsafe way is to use a custom kernel that tweaks the charging to higher than 1A (e.g. Siyah kernel where you can tweak charging to 1.2A - USE AT OWN RISK - may reduce battery lifespan or increase risk to your device)
i now using upcharge, shorten the batt life.. yes, but then when this battery is damaged, time for higher capacity battery tongue.gif
ciwek90
post Jan 20 2013, 04:55 PM

K.O.Y.A
767 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Jan 20 2013, 04:36 PM)
i would always insist people not wait for official firmware, they are slow and totally outdated, it's not very dependable.. prefer rooted android and get updated versions, a good phone is useless without a good system
So, what is the latest firmware? Cannot tahan to wait for official dy. haha. laugh.gif
noobandroid
post Jan 20 2013, 05:03 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

QUOTE(ciwek90 @ Jan 20 2013, 04:55 PM)
So, what is the latest firmware? Cannot tahan to wait for official dy. haha.  laugh.gif
samsung 4.1.2
aokp 4.2.1

flashing the official one wont save you from SDS case, must use supported recovery, kernel and rom

This post has been edited by noobandroid: Jan 20 2013, 05:05 PM
soupdragon
post Jan 20 2013, 05:24 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Jan 20 2013, 04:03 PM)
flashing the official one wont save you from SDS case, must use supported recovery, kernel and rom

That is what I am trying to find out.

4.1.2 was rolled out in the UK before Samsung had completed the patch for SDS so they issued another update to take care of the issue. Now it is being reported that the patch has been incorporated into future 4.1.2 rollouts but it is unclear whether the Malaysia version is included.

That is why I asked someone to check using the eMMC app but Nokiaxxxx seems to think that won't reveal anything. Who knows ?

Andy214
post Jan 20 2013, 05:26 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(soupdragon @ Jan 20 2013, 05:24 PM)

4.1.2 was rolled out in the UK before Samsung had completed the patch for SDS so they issued another update to take care of the issue. Now it is being reported that the patch has been incorporated into future 4.1.2 rollouts but it is unclear whether the Malaysia version is included.

That is why I asked someone to check using the eMMC app but Nokiaxxxx seems to think that won't reveal anything. Who knows ?
I checked Kies, no new firmware yet.
Andy214
post Jan 20 2013, 05:32 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Jan 20 2013, 04:36 PM)
i would always insist people not wait for official firmware, they are slow and totally outdated, it's not very dependable.. prefer rooted android and get updated versions, a good phone is useless without a good system
That would mean getting Custom Firmware right? For those still prefer using Stock Firmware may just have to wait.

But the main issue with JB is the option to move apps to SD card, root is not the main issue, the issue is moving mods done for moving apps to SD via different method and later IF updating to the new firmware later breaking what's been done.
Anyone rooted and moved their data or use Link2SD method and updated their firmwares?

TSXeactorZ
post Jan 20 2013, 05:34 PM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,609 posts

QUOTE(Fantasia @ Jan 20 2013, 01:57 PM)
What version is our 4.1.2 update? Is it the latest 1?
ELLC

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Jan 20 2013, 05:03 PM)
samsung 4.1.2
aokp 4.2.1

that what I do whistling.gif
yet, how I wish my phone get SDS issue since still under warranty cry.gif

btw this 4.1.2 totally weird, some get OTA, some not
no idea for kies, nobody test it
and can't even download from sammobile website doh.gif

This post has been edited by XeactorZ: Jan 20 2013, 05:35 PM
tigerporc
post Jan 20 2013, 05:39 PM

391 posts

QUOTE(soupdragon @ Jan 20 2013, 05:24 PM)

From what I have read, the eMMC sudden death workaround is present in all kernels of known 4.1.2 releases so IMHO you should not have any worries about Malaysia version when it is released (released via OTA already actually as you can see from this thread)

That eMMC app is to actually to help S2 users check on their eMMC for their bricked S2 issue. The only reason why we would run it on our S3 is to easily find out the eMMC firmware version. This eMMC firmware version will never EVER be upgraded, no matter what ROM we flash as end users.
=> Check out the Ultimate GS3 Sudden Death on XDA, click on the sidebar and read all of most thanked post from "Entropy512".

This post has been edited by tigerporc: Jan 20 2013, 05:40 PM
nokia6280
post Jan 20 2013, 05:43 PM

5,705 posts

QUOTE(soupdragon @ Jan 20 2013, 03:21 PM)
OK I was thinking the 'FW Rev: 0xF1' would be updated to 'FW Rev: 0xF7'

Any chance you can post the source of your information ???

Cheers.
Let me updated mine then i will post for your... tongue.gif Me also waiting for kies or OTA updates....
mrvkool
post Jan 20 2013, 05:49 PM

737 posts

QUOTE(nokia6280 @ Jan 20 2013, 05:43 PM)
Let me updated mine then i will post for your... tongue.gif Me also waiting for kies or OTA updates....
U forgotten to ask Samsung Malaysia whether the latest update will solve the SDS issue. Maybe you should do us a favor and make them a call. We would appreciate it very much. smile.gif
dayfly
post Jan 20 2013, 05:58 PM

84 posts

Rooted phone cannot update thru OTA.
But is it can update thru kies?
soupdragon
post Jan 20 2013, 06:11 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(tigerporc @ Jan 20 2013, 04:39 PM)
This eMMC firmware version will never EVER be upgraded, no matter what ROM we flash as end users.
Thanks for that, I have read a lot of Entropys posts but missed the one where he explained that thumbup.gif

mscw88
post Jan 20 2013, 06:24 PM

Absolutely Fabulous
974 posts

anyone here encounter problem with battery charging ? i charged my S3 when it hit 4%........charged for 7 hours...only up to 14% !!! problem with battery or charger ?? tqvm
tigerporc
post Jan 20 2013, 06:27 PM

391 posts

QUOTE(dayfly @ Jan 20 2013, 05:58 PM)
Rooted phone cannot update thru OTA.
But is it can update thru kies?
Rooted phones can update through Kies. After update, you will lose root (all apps will not be affected, still remains)
Pre-req is CSC, PDA and Phone all must be synchronised (You will get a warning message on this if your phone has this issue)

But, so far the Malaysia 4.1.2 is not yet pushed out to Kies update yet.... Should be available over Kies as well if you see the 4.1.2 Malaysia ROM on SamMobile.
tigerporc
post Jan 20 2013, 06:28 PM

391 posts

QUOTE(mscw88 @ Jan 20 2013, 06:24 PM)
anyone here encounter problem with battery charging ? i charged my S3 when it hit 4%........charged for 7 hours...only up to 14% !!! problem with battery or charger ?? tqvm
Install current widget and check charging mA...
Battery Monitor Widget is also useful to check pct of charging over time.
Andy214
post Jan 20 2013, 06:31 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(tigerporc @ Jan 20 2013, 06:27 PM)
Rooted phones can update through Kies. After update, you will lose root (all apps will not be affected, still remains)
Pre-req is  CSC, PDA and Phone all must be synchronised (You will get a warning message on this if your phone has this issue)

But, so far the Malaysia 4.1.2 is not yet pushed out to Kies update yet.... Should be available over Kies as well if you see the 4.1.2 Malaysia ROM on SamMobile.
Thanks mate~

Moving data to SD via rooting or using Link2SD, what will happen after update? Break the app<>data connection?

Anyone have any experience?

This post has been edited by Andy214: Jan 20 2013, 06:31 PM
mscw88
post Jan 20 2013, 07:04 PM

Absolutely Fabulous
974 posts

QUOTE(tigerporc @ Jan 20 2013, 06:28 PM)
Install current widget and check charging mA...
Battery Monitor Widget is also useful to check pct of charging over time.
Installed Batt Indicator app liao.....not really helping
tigerporc
post Jan 20 2013, 07:09 PM

391 posts

QUOTE(mscw88 @ Jan 20 2013, 07:04 PM)
Installed Batt Indicator app liao.....not really helping
Why not helping?
It will confirm your charging problem whether due to charger or battery. E.g. if charging at 499mAH or less then probably usb charger/cable problem.
doggydogg
post Jan 20 2013, 07:56 PM

Got some tomatoes to spare?
838 posts

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1889550

Can try use this method to move some app data from internalSD to memory card
isildur88
post Jan 20 2013, 08:07 PM

Lord of Winterfell
774 posts

Hi, lately ive been experiencing really2 slow charging. I use my charger on my friends s3. And its working fine.

127 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0165sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 10:14 PM