160 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Bottom

Huawei Technologies, Anyone working there?

LanEvo7
post Jul 14 2006, 05:52 PM

Hmmm... what to put for title?
1,838 posts

yalah, like my fren who go and show me some software he do that can play music in the phone conversation one .. I think is Maxis Background Music or something (can't remember co's I dun use it) .. damn showoff but good to see he's proud with the stuff he works on lah .. at least he's enthusiastic about it

This post has been edited by LanEvo7: Jul 14 2006, 05:52 PM
bbjslee
post Oct 6 2006, 10:16 PM

Benkyo benkyo benkyo
2,247 posts

Anyone frm Hua Wei working in Pakistan now?

I got offered to work in Hua Wei, but have to be posted to Pakistan immediately.

Is allowance of USD 40 daily enough to survive there?
extol
post Oct 7 2006, 01:29 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(bbjslee @ Oct 6 2006, 10:16 PM)
Anyone frm Hua Wei working in Pakistan now?

I got offered to work in Hua Wei, but have to be posted to Pakistan immediately.

Is allowance of USD 40 daily enough to survive there?
I have been to China, India, Pakistan, Bangkok, Taiwan, Phili, Indonesia when I was in Huawei.

My allowanve is USD100. I think they cut the allowance after budget adjustment. Some people get lower. Depends on your employee Grade.

This post has been edited by extol: Oct 7 2006, 01:30 AM
bbjslee
post Oct 7 2006, 01:55 AM

Benkyo benkyo benkyo
2,247 posts

QUOTE(extol @ Oct 7 2006, 01:29 AM)
I have been to China, India, Pakistan, Bangkok, Taiwan, Phili, Indonesia when I was in Huawei.

My allowanve is USD100. I think they cut the allowance after budget adjustment. Some people get lower. Depends on your employee Grade.
How was your job experience with Huawei?

Did you regret joining them?

I'm gonna join their logistic department.... any idea how shitty it could be? tongue.gif
Mauritius
post Nov 2 2006, 05:27 PM

Hi there !

Ive just heard about Huawei thru a mail i got (from them, telling me about their company and that they are recruiting fresh graduates..Ive Just graduated in E&E eng).. Didnt know that they are opening up a branch here in Mauritius (lil island in the indian ocean).. Like the others, i want to know about the working conditions in the company..i have read thru the threads and there are diverging opinions..Do they make you work that hard..? I dont want to get a HIGH salary v/s working like hell.. i mean there are other important things in life..depends on individuals too..i have a question for those already working there..how is the work generally? do you have to sit in front of a PC the whole day?? Is it a static/dynamic kinda work?? Ive read that Huawei are vendors..does that mean they sell/install products theyve designed themselves or products of other designing companies..? thx very much for reading this..hoping to get a reply soon..
nnu
post Nov 2 2006, 05:43 PM

374 posts

Huawei is a very outstanding company. I was offered a position, Mobile Product Engineer but is more on marketing. 80% of my time needs to travel overseas, so I rejected the offer. But my friend working inside told me that the workload there is quite heavy but is good for fresh grad to learn. Don't worry, Huawei offers good benefits.
whoknows
post Nov 2 2006, 10:16 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(nnu @ Nov 2 2006, 05:43 PM)
Huawei is a very outstanding company. I was offered a position, Mobile Product Engineer but is more on marketing. 80% of my time needs to travel overseas, so I rejected the offer. But my friend working inside told me that the workload there is quite heavy but is good for fresh grad to learn. Don't worry, Huawei offers good benefits.
Not sure in malaysia. But in China, there is one staff work for Huawei "died" in office. Yes, died.... workload too heavy as stated in the news.
That guy "stay overnight" in office to rush for works. And you know what.....Huawei prepared sleeping bag to each of the staff and put in under their desk at that time..Crazy ,right..?
After that incident, their management said feel sorry, and will try to stop staff not to stay overnight anymore...
I don't keep the news link, if u interested , go google for that.

aai.....feel sorry for that guy
nnu
post Nov 3 2006, 12:50 AM

374 posts

QUOTE(whoknows @ Nov 2 2006, 10:16 PM)
Not sure in malaysia. But in China, there is one staff work for Huawei "died" in office. Yes, died.... workload too heavy as stated in the news.
That guy  "stay overnight" in office to rush for works. And you know what.....Huawei prepared sleeping bag to each of the staff and put in under their desk at that time..Crazy ,right..?
After that incident, their management said feel sorry, and will try to stop staff not to stay overnight anymore...

Sleeping bag! Haha good luck huawei employees..
darun
post Nov 3 2006, 09:20 AM

978 posts

QUOTE(whoknows @ Nov 2 2006, 10:16 PM)
That guy  "stay overnight" in office to rush for works. And you know what.....Huawei prepared sleeping bag to each of the staff and put in under their desk at that time..Crazy ,right..?

Sleeping bag? Well at least the company provided sleeping bag and expects the staff to get some sleep... some companies here dont even bother. Dont think this is isolated only to Huawei, a lot of IT companies are the same if not worse
Mauritius
post Nov 3 2006, 08:48 PM

Say for a technical engineer, do you have to be in front a pc all day ?
Mavik
post Nov 4 2006, 12:20 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Hua Wei, they just undercut the bigger players worldwide in their telco line against Siemens-Nokia, Ericsson and Alcatel. So far their only main source is from Government contracts in China.
whoknows
post Nov 4 2006, 01:54 AM

51 posts

QUOTE(darun @ Nov 3 2006, 09:20 AM)
Sleeping bag? Well at least the company provided sleeping bag and expects the staff to get some sleep... some companies here dont even bother.  Dont think this is isolated only to Huawei, a lot of IT companies are the same if not worse
hmm..true also....last time i also got no sleeping bag to stay overnight. mad.gif
tZZ
post Nov 4 2006, 02:15 AM

466 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Nov 4 2006, 12:20 AM)
Hua Wei, they just undercut the bigger players worldwide in their telco line against Siemens-Nokia, Ericsson and Alcatel. So far their only main source is from Government contracts in China.
Oversea sales should be around 50% now. So it's around half, not entirely on government contracts.
Veron83
post Jan 24 2007, 11:47 PM

434 posts

Been thru 1st interview and at the same day they 1 me to go for second interview....
The manager of the call center estimate that I can get RM2.2K basic plus RM550 allowance but need to talk to HR first...
Anyone here know hows the enviroment of the call center in hua wei??
Hows the ppl in the call center???
Is there any chance to chg department to learn new thing after a long stay in call center in hua wei????

Added on January 29, 2007, 8:48 pmno one work in call center for hua wei???

This post has been edited by Veron83: Jan 29 2007, 08:48 PM
schizophreak
post Jan 29 2007, 10:22 PM

274 posts

From the salary the offer you, i assume that you're a fresh grad.

and if you're there hoping to learn things through the call center...just forget it. any diploma students w/o engineering/IT degree can easily do the work there.

i suggest u go for their technical support engineer, that position will help you learn things super fast, and better still if you're in radio planning or mobile products.

benefit wise...nothing except one ING card...but $$$ wise...is good. bonus+increment higher than what you can get outside.

QUOTE(Veron83 @ Jan 24 2007, 11:47 PM)
Been thru 1st interview and at the same day they 1 me to go for second interview....
The manager of the call center estimate that I can get RM2.2K basic plus RM550 allowance but need to talk to HR first...
Anyone here know hows the enviroment of the call center in hua wei??
Hows the ppl in the call center???
Is there any chance to chg department to learn new thing after a long stay in call center in hua wei????

Added on January 29, 2007, 8:48 pmno one work in call center for hua wei???

Added on January 29, 2007, 10:31 pmJust saw this post...so here are my few cents..

I used to work as huawei's technical support engineer for 2 yrs.

QUOTE(Balitong @ Jul 14 2006, 03:49 PM)
I agreed with perror. Telecommunication is a good field provided you are prepare to learn and pick up things fast.  However, judging from the response here, some people have too rosy expecatation. Just because this is the hot field doesn't means it is suitable for everybody.

Working for vendors, sometimes you have to work at 1-2 am until morning for patching.  If you work as support engineer, then be ready to have someone calling you anytime when the system goes down. And the angry customer at the other end.

patching,upgrading,etc are all done at night..usually from 10pm-5am...and after you patch/upgrade, u have to test, this and that..a lot more stuffs which usually ends at 5am. and if something goes wrong halfway through, then you're under big pressure to get everything back normal before 6am..as traffic gonna increase by that time.

If you are travelling for work, don't expect you would get many chance to do site-seeing, sometimes all you would see is airport, hotel, site and some restaurants that you eat everyday for a month.  When you are at site, sometimes you have to work on weekend if the deadline is near and be prepare to work for about 12-15 hours a day. 

when you travel it depends. a lot of people like to tell me the travelling job is so fun, can go lotsa places, but this is not true. like balitong said, all you see is airport, office, hotel, eating place and customers site. and working 12-15 hours in overseas is a norm in a project.

so if you think working overseas is like going for holiday..think again..

but of course, if the place you go is having public holidays or long weekends..then of course can go lepak lah..

This is just speaking from experience in my current company, which is a vendor.  Your mileage may differ.
This post has been edited by schizophreak: Jan 29 2007, 10:31 PM
Veron83
post Jan 30 2007, 01:59 PM

434 posts

I'm not a fresh grad...i hv more than 2 year experience in call center no matter in IT technical or just pure customer service field...
So u think the salary which provided is not worth it ???
plkvoon
post Jan 31 2007, 01:54 PM

358 posts

hey guys,
i will be reporting to huawei on the 26th feb 07... just got their offer letter yesterday.... going in as a pre sales for cdma... any seniors in this department?
spie
post Jan 31 2007, 03:22 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(plkvoon @ Jan 31 2007, 01:54 PM)
hey guys,
i will be reporting to huawei on the 26th feb 07... just got their offer letter yesterday.... going in as a pre sales for cdma... any seniors in this department?
CDMA presales very less people only wo.. wah.. again new staff ar.. 26th have to go earlier already if not no place to seat... haha
plkvoon
post Jan 31 2007, 04:37 PM

358 posts

wah the turn over rate so high ar???
y no place to sit lar???

spie
post Jan 31 2007, 04:55 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(plkvoon @ Jan 31 2007, 04:37 PM)
wah the turn over rate so high ar???
y no place to sit lar???
No comment for the turn over rate, but normally presales don't have their permenant place in office, coz very frequent travelling overseas. alot of chinese in AP CDMA presales. Goodluck dude..

160 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0204sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:46 AM