Ford Focus Owner/ Fan Club, Go Further

ykl
post Nov 26 2013, 12:02 PM

211 posts

QUOTE(0304125 @ Nov 26 2013, 10:52 AM)
Correction, the battery only cover for 1 year, not 3 years. confirmed with the SA when I collect my car last Sat.
Battery is warranty for 3 yrs or 100k km, you may check on ford official site.
thanish
post Nov 26 2013, 12:05 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Nov 26 2013, 09:49 AM)
Any Focus owners here with mileage 8,000km and above who experience serious jerks, grinding sound and vibration as Craving? Just to be sure that the issues are not only affecting one(1) unit but the rest as well.
im at 9000km now. i only have the grinding sound on low gears. as stated previously jerks stopped after around 1k to 2k kms.
SportyHandling
post Nov 26 2013, 12:11 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(thanish @ Nov 26 2013, 12:05 PM)
im at 9000km now. i only have the grinding sound on low gears. as stated previously jerks stopped after around 1k to 2k kms.
Another 1,000km before your car is scheduled for the 10,000km service? Anyway hope the grinding sound can be eliminated once it's in for service.

So your car does not have jerks since 2,000km. That is good to hear. It's only the grinding sound.

Okay so I guess the jerks at low gears/speeds do not affect all Focus models and only certain vehicles. As for the grinding sound, looks like this is consistent for most if not all Focus models starting from 9,000km.
thanish
post Nov 26 2013, 12:30 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Nov 26 2013, 12:11 PM)
Another 1,000km before your car is scheduled for the 10,000km service? Anyway hope the grinding sound can be eliminated once it's in for service.

So your car does not have jerks since 2,000km. That is good to hear. It's only the grinding sound.

Okay so I guess the jerks at low gears/speeds do not affect all Focus models and only certain vehicles. As for the grinding sound, looks like this is consistent for most if not all Focus models starting from 9,000km.
no. the grinding sound been there since 500km. I think that its the DCT. It occurs in most focus globally. check out focusfanatics forums. likr prasnth mentioned, in FB MK3 owners group, one owner got it eliminated and driving without that noise for i think 2 weeks now.
SportyHandling
post Nov 26 2013, 12:41 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(thanish @ Nov 26 2013, 12:30 PM)
no. the grinding sound been there since 500km. I think that its the DCT. It occurs in most focus globally. check out focusfanatics forums. likr prasnth mentioned, in FB MK3 owners group, one owner got it eliminated and driving without that noise for i think 2 weeks now.
Okay. So the grinding sound patterns is not the same with different Focus models.

Let's be more specific. The grinding sound only happens at low gear or low speed acceleration.

In my vehicle, there is no grinding sound from new to now, about 3,000km on the mileage. Only once I hear it when going uphill. On levelled roads, the grinding sound at low speeds is *very soft*, so I assume there is no grinding sound.

From Craving's post, the grinding sound in his vehicle only comes up at 9,000km.

Is the grinding sound in your vehicle loud enough to the point of annoying? If it is, then I suppose the SC is obligated to rectify it.

post Nov 26 2013, 12:49 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Nov 26 2013, 11:40 AM)
I believe your dad's Toyota Altis and the Nissan Sylphy share an almost similar smooth jerkless drive, though I suspect the latter will be even smoother due to the CVT gear(Altis is on 4-speed transmission if I'm not mistaken).

Typical Japanese = smooth, quiet, comfortable and fuss-free. Only problem is it is characterless and doesn't invoke the spirit or love of driving. Good for passengers but a bit boring or mundane for the driver. The feeling of excitement isn't there once you step into the driver's seat of a Nissan or Toyota. But stepping into the cockpit of the Focus, oh yeah. You just can't wait to start the engine and drive the vehicle.

Right now I can adapt to the very minor jerks of the Focus, but not so sure once it reaches 8,000km as some folks here seem to be experiencing some serious jerks, grinding and "tak tak" sound. I will only be able to verify myself by mid or end of next year.
Nope, the new altis comes with 7 speed CVT along with dual VVTI engine, I've never drove a Sylphy before, but I believe it's not far behind in term of comfortableness.
post Nov 26 2013, 12:53 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(ykl @ Nov 26 2013, 12:02 PM)
Battery is warranty for 3 yrs or 100k km, you may check on ford official site.
You're right, but it's weird, my SA told me the other way round...but hardly see any car manufacturer provide warranty for batter more than a year, I know Honda giving 2 years warranty, but knowing the usual life span of a battery is around 12-18 months, I'm surprised.

Do you get the battery warranty card? My SA told me there's no battery warranty card, thou it's listed in the check list, it will auto cover by one year from the date stated in the "thank you letter with 3 years service vouchers"...

Quote from www.ford.net.my

Battery failure within the first 3 years or 100,000 km, whichever comes first, will be covered under warranty.
post Nov 26 2013, 12:54 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Nov 26 2013, 12:41 PM)
Okay. So the grinding sound patterns is not the same with different Focus models.

Let's be more specific. The grinding sound only happens at low gear or low speed acceleration.

In my vehicle, there is no grinding sound from new to now, about 3,000km on the mileage. Only once I hear it when going uphill. On levelled roads, the grinding sound at low speeds is *very soft*, so I assume there is no grinding sound.

From Craving's post, the grinding sound in his vehicle only comes up at 9,000km.

Is the grinding sound in your vehicle loud enough to the point of annoying? If it is, then I suppose the SC is obligated to rectify it.
How loud is this grinding sounds? do you hear it if you're in the cabin with windows up?
post Nov 26 2013, 12:57 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Nov 26 2013, 11:55 AM)
Yes, I too think Ford vehicles especially the Focus is in a class of its own, excluding some jerk and grinding issues plaguing some owners. Personally I don't have much interest in Peugeot vehicles, mainly because of the brand. And moreover the 408 to me look too ugly to be given consideration. The 508 is okay but at that segment I would be looking at the Nissan Teana instead.
For me, all Japanese car is out of consideration, exception to the new Mazda 3, lolx, that's why I'm comparing with Peugeot 408 which is similar in the price range.
post Nov 26 2013, 12:58 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Nov 26 2013, 11:48 AM)
Yes, the Focus shares the same pricing with Sylphy Altis and Civic, and also the class is the same I believe, hence they are frequently being compared. The Lexus CT200H is more costly than the Focus I think, about RM30k-40k more expensive?

I agere the interior quality of the Focus, the fit and finish are quite impressive. All other Japanese equivalents feel pale, cheap and plasticky in comparison.
Lexus CT200H is 169K, 40k more expensive, with that price range, you can look into D segment like Teana or Jetta already.

The interior finishing of Focus is instead impressing, feel premium.
post Nov 26 2013, 01:00 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(blinky @ Nov 26 2013, 11:05 AM)
In Malaysia, people tend to compare prices to determine competition, which is why people lump the Focus together with the Altis, Civic etc.

On the global stage, the Focus and Golf have been great rivals in the hatch market for many years now, since the days of the first generation Focus.

Focus Duratec vs Golf TSi
Focus ST vs Golf GTi
Focus RS vs Golf R

I would consider the 408T/308T as competitors, but not the main ones. The Focus and the Golf are both in a class of their own when it comes to handling, engine refinement and the technology. Plus, the Peugeot brand has never been and still isn't taken seriously in most of the developed countries around the world.

The Focus was the best selling car in the world of 2012, and up until now, it still is the best selling model. If that doesn't speak for the car's brilliance, I don't know what will.
well said!
SportyHandling
post Nov 26 2013, 01:06 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(0304125 @ Nov 26 2013, 12:54 PM)
How loud is this grinding sounds? do you hear it if you're in the cabin with windows up?
The grinding sound is very subdued, very soft. Hence I don't know if I can classify it as a "legitimate" grinding sound or not. Since it is very soft, to me there is no grinding sound in my vehicle.

Yes, I am in the cabin with the windows up, and the vehicle is already moving at low speeds.

FWIW my ears are very sensitive and can pick up even the tiniest sounds that other people may not even bother. If I feel the grinding sound is very soft, it will be non-existent to others.
SportyHandling
post Nov 26 2013, 01:09 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(0304125 @ Nov 26 2013, 12:57 PM)
For me, all Japanese car is out of consideration, exception to the new Mazda 3, lolx, that's why I'm comparing with Peugeot 408 which is similar in the price range.
I have had a peek at the new Mazda 3, pictures from the internet. The hatchback looks good, the sedan just average and not as good looking as the hatch. Though the pricing of the Mazda 3 may be the biggest factor in influencing buying decision. From papers it looks like the price will not be less than RM130k, likely to be closer to RM140k if not higher.
SportyHandling
post Nov 26 2013, 01:14 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(0304125 @ Nov 26 2013, 12:53 PM)
You're right, but it's weird, my SA told me the other way round...but hardly see any car manufacturer provide warranty for batter more than a year, I know Honda giving 2 years warranty, but knowing the usual life span of a battery is around 12-18 months, I'm surprised.

Do you get the battery warranty card? My SA told me there's no battery warranty card, thou it's listed in the check list, it will auto cover by one year from the date stated in the "thank you letter with 3 years service vouchers"...

Quote from www.ford.net.my

Battery failure within the first 3 years or 100,000 km, whichever comes first, will be covered under warranty.
Yes, that statement is misleading and similarly I wonder it it's typo on that quote regarding the battery failure within the first 3 years or 100,000km ... Anyway, when the time is up for the battery, I guess we will eventually find out if we will have to fork out our own money or the SC will replace it free of charge.
thanish
post Nov 26 2013, 01:50 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Nov 26 2013, 12:41 PM)

nop. not really bothered already. at first yeah kind of annoying. use S mode during initial accelaration mostly minimize the grinding noise or none at all. so i'm fine with it.
post Nov 26 2013, 03:23 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Nov 26 2013, 01:09 PM)
I have had a peek at the new Mazda 3, pictures from the internet. The hatchback looks good, the sedan just average and not as good looking as the hatch. Though the pricing of the Mazda 3 may be the biggest factor in influencing buying decision. From papers it looks like the price will not be less than RM130k, likely to be closer to RM140k if not higher.
news from paultan.org, it will be likely around 135k, first or second quarter next year, with skyactive engine, not sure how powerful it will be.
post Nov 26 2013, 03:24 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Nov 26 2013, 01:14 PM)
Yes, that statement is misleading and similarly I wonder it it's typo on that quote regarding the battery failure within the first 3 years or 100,000km ... Anyway, when the time is up for the battery, I guess we will eventually find out if we will have to fork out our own money or the SC will replace it free of charge.
anyone who's due for batter change, please also update the forum here for the good of all owners here.
kl98
post Nov 26 2013, 03:39 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(0304125 @ Nov 26 2013, 03:23 PM)
news from paultan.org, it will be likely around 135k, first or second quarter next year, with skyactive engine, not sure how powerful it will be.
Here is a somewhat candid head to head between the Focus and the Skyactiv. The SkyActiv come out tops in terms of performance.
post Nov 26 2013, 04:33 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(kl98 @ Nov 26 2013, 03:39 PM)
Here is a somewhat candid head to head between the Focus and the Skyactiv. The SkyActiv come out tops in terms of performance.
I think I've seen this video before, ford are not losing too far behind thou, it's a close fight.
Dwango
post Nov 26 2013, 04:40 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(kl98 @ Nov 26 2013, 03:39 PM)
The interior of the Mazda 3 SKyactiv looks very bland, plasticky and grey. Not as upmarket as the Focus. Some people in the US have test-driven both and results were mixed, but the comments on the bland interior of the Mazda were consistent.

126 Pages « < 101 102 103 104 105 > » Top

0.0231sec    0.88    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 07:22 AM