126 Pages « < 99 100 101 102 103 > » Bottom

Ford Focus Owner/ Fan Club, Go Further

craving
post Nov 26 2013, 08:44 AM

am not a speed demon, gentle driver. Not much footworks.
SportyHandling
post Nov 26 2013, 08:53 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(craving @ Nov 26 2013, 08:40 AM)
was driving slyphy too, yes it is a good car. My focus vibrates at a stop on brake. Cant pinpoint the Tak Tak sound
Yes, Sylphy is a good car. As a matter of fact, my next car replacing the 4 months old Proton Preve Turbo will be either the new Sylphy or new Teana. Nissan cars(Sylphy and Teana) are excellent in comfort, quietness and smooth drive.

Do you mean the engine of the Focus vibrates when the car is stationary, and the vibration is felt in the cabin? Hmm, not too good. I have not experienced this yet, only time will tell. Your mileage at 13,000km is much higher than mine at around 3,000km.
craving
post Nov 26 2013, 08:58 AM

yupe, am now stuck at duta toll slow drive stop & move and yes can feel it from inside. sad.gif
SportyHandling
post Nov 26 2013, 09:00 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(craving @ Nov 26 2013, 08:58 AM)
yupe, am now stuck at duta toll slow drive stop & move and yes can feel it from inside. sad.gif
Can ask the guys at the SC to check and rectify it. Time to test the after-sales service and efficiency of Sime Darby.
SportyHandling
post Nov 26 2013, 09:09 AM

623 posts

Craving - one question. The jerks, grinding sound and engine vibration. When your car is at around 2,000km to 3,000km mileage, are the jerks and vibration as serious as they are now at 13,000km mileage? Or at that time there are no jerks and vibration?

Do let me know.

This post has been edited by SportyHandling: Nov 26 2013, 09:11 AM
craving
post Nov 26 2013, 09:35 AM

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Nov 26 2013, 09:09 AM)
Craving - one question. The jerks, grinding sound and engine vibration. When your car is at around 2,000km to 3,000km mileage, are the jerks and vibration as serious as they are now at 13,000km mileage? Or at that time there are no jerks and vibration?

Do let me know.
jerks, grinding stopped right after 2000km. Came back when i hit 8000km. Vibration and sound when close to 9000km. After first service, grinding n jerks reduced alot but came back after 1000km. Vibration n sound more obvious now then before.
SportyHandling
post Nov 26 2013, 09:48 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(craving @ Nov 26 2013, 09:35 AM)
jerks, grinding stopped right after 2000km. Came back when i hit 8000km. Vibration and sound when close to 9000km. After first service, grinding n jerks reduced alot but came back after 1000km. Vibration n sound more obvious now then before.
Thanks for the response. So now I know all the grinding and jerks are not an issue starting from 2,000km to 8,000km, and only from 8,000km the car starts to show them.

I hope the SC or Ford will have something to rectify all the grinding and jerks of your vehicle, not forgetting the vibration as well. Now I understand your disappointment. Do update this thread in the event you have sent your vehicle to the SC to get all issues rectified, whether they will be resolved or they stay the same.
SportyHandling
post Nov 26 2013, 09:49 AM

623 posts

Any Focus owners here with mileage 8,000km and above who experience serious jerks, grinding sound and vibration as Craving? Just to be sure that the issues are not only affecting one(1) unit but the rest as well.
cOMMANDER pRASNTH
post Nov 26 2013, 10:04 AM

Luxury & Lifestyle Enthusiast
308 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Nov 26 2013, 09:49 AM)
Any Focus owners here with mileage 8,000km and above who experience serious jerks, grinding sound and vibration as Craving? Just to be sure that the issues are not only affecting one(1) unit but the rest as well.
Count me in - current mileage @ 13k and became more apparent after 8k as said.

FYI, one of the owner's got their rattling sound as well as juddering and grinding sound fixed by sending it to the Ford PJ SC & they basically replaced the clutch assembly and a few other stuff. Good news is that it was fixed and sounds never returned since a week of driving (see the TSB I've posted before) but bad news is that it took 3 weeks (car was left at the SC) wink.gif

This post has been edited by cOMMANDER pRASNTH: Nov 26 2013, 10:07 AM
SportyHandling
post Nov 26 2013, 10:07 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(cOMMANDER pRASNTH @ Nov 26 2013, 10:04 AM)
Count me in - current mileage @ 13k and became more apparent after 8k as said.
Okay thanks for the input. Not looking good. Hopefully there is a remedy from Sime Darby or Ford, soon.
post Nov 26 2013, 10:16 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(Ken77 @ Nov 25 2013, 04:21 PM)
I know, some people like my wife can take it but i'm very particular about the sound while I'm driving it everyday.

If  the car is having a good  performance  and handling but  come with grinding sound and jerking , I still consider it as defect me. Obviously , the dual clutch system for Focus is not smooth at all when accelerating.

I'm not a professional driver but it's totally  annoying when your car is jerking and come with grinding sound. After driving Focus, I will not recommend any of my  friend to buy Focus unless Focus  improve or change the gear system.
You must be Ford supporter.... LOL  smile.gif
haha, I'm not a FORD supporter, I don't even know much about FORD until the fiesta came out, the outlook attracted me at first, and so happens some of my friends own it, so I get to know more from there.

You need to understand how the transmission work before you said it's a "defect", it's simply the characteristic of the DCT to have this minor grinding sounds (apply to dry DCT), but if you know about the benefits from DCT, you wouldn't mind it so much, it consume less petrol as if you're driving manual and so much less power lost in between the transmission from engine to your wheels, meaning if you're driving a 2.0 engine with 180HP with normal AT, compared to a 2.0 engine producing 170HP with DCT, driving with DCT would feel more power than the AT thou the AT output is higher.

For me, I will introduce this car to any of my friends any time without doubt, it's truly value for money, in fact, I just got my friend bought a Ford Focus Titanium plus one day after I got my car, he booked the car next day immediately, lol. thumbup.gif
craving
post Nov 26 2013, 10:16 AM

3 weeks! am dead! what am i gonna use to move ard?
post Nov 26 2013, 10:17 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(craving @ Nov 25 2013, 04:28 PM)
Same thought, my friend was in my car and was asking " how come the engine sounds like an old car? " i was so sad & dissappointed sad.gif
No need to be disappointed, get him behind the steering, and I'm pretty sure your friend will change his/her mind immediately after a short distance drive cool2.gif
cOMMANDER pRASNTH
post Nov 26 2013, 10:20 AM

308 posts

QUOTE(craving @ Nov 26 2013, 10:16 AM)
3 weeks! am dead! what am i gonna use to move ard?
I was told by some of the owners that it's probably a week job but took longer - however, they do offer a spare car to use if available.

It may just be a software calibration, so I don't get too worked up on debating if the Ford Focus isn't worth the purchase but head to the SC instead.

For me, issues such as this are expected to happen (not life threatening or unidentified by the manufacturer) as long as it can be rectified for good without incurring any overhead to me.

This post has been edited by cOMMANDER pRASNTH: Nov 26 2013, 10:41 AM
post Nov 26 2013, 10:23 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(Dwango @ Nov 25 2013, 05:36 PM)
Personally I think this grinding and jerking is blown out of proportion. It is definitely not a "defect" as you have implied. Otherwise the vehicle would have been recalled by Ford.

The acceleration of the Ford is certainly smooth enough for me. Even at low speeds the Focus rarely exhibits jerk. If it does, the jerk is minimal and not to the point of annoying. Hence i am surprised, and I wonder if the jerk in some models is more serious than some others, or it is due to the variance in driver's expectations. The grinding sound during acceleration is also very soft as the sound levels in the cabin is quiet. So you can hear any rattling or engine sound in the cabin.

To top it off, I think it is suffice to say one man's meat is another man's poison. Even if you don't recommend the FOcus to your friends, he/she might come to love it after a driving experience. I will definitely recommend the Focus to enthusiasts who love a more sporty or thrilling driving experience in comparison to the Japanese makes on offer.
Yes, totally agreed with you, I hardly hear the grinding sound unless I open my windows, and it's a joy to drive in high speed, sooooo smooth and fast icon_rolleyes.gif

About the low speed jerk, it's how you control your right foot, as most Malaysian are so used to the AT, thanks to Sushis car manufacturers who basically dominate Malaysia market for the past 20-30 years, but I would say I see changes in the car market now, at least in big city like KL, PG and JB, I can see a lot more non Japanese made car on the road nowadays, give it another 5-10 years, if Japanese car continue with their "high price, low spec" strategy, their sales will definitely going the down slope tongue.gif

This Focus is a driver car, I conclude nod.gif
post Nov 26 2013, 10:28 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(craving @ Nov 25 2013, 04:28 PM)
Same thought, my friend was in my car and was asking " how come the engine sounds like an old car? " i was so sad & dissappointed sad.gif
I assume your friends are not into car, right?

So far I drove a few friends of mine, who's into car, they simply love this vehicle and they're surprise with this price tag comes along a long list of features in it icon_idea.gif
post Nov 26 2013, 10:33 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(Dwango @ Nov 26 2013, 07:45 AM)
Well, I apologise beforehand but that's where the inaccuracy in your comment lies in your notion that "nobody would want to buy a car package with grinding sound and jerking even if minimal". I think you are speaking for yourself or a minority who have possibly regretted in getting the Focus for these jerks and grinding sound issues.

As mentioned earlier, these issues are very minimal and only occassionally happen at low speeds. Other more receptive or non-critical owners have considered them as non-issues.

I am not sure if your vehicle is showing more serious jerks than other vehicles that had caused much resentment on your part. If it is, then I hope Sime Darby would fix the problem for you soon. If not, then I suppose the jerks and grinding sound are something that is inherent in the Focus, something that cannot go away. Even worldwide reviews had mentioned about these.
I believe he's speaking for himself, cause the sales number had answered to this question, Ford Focus is the best selling cars in the WORLD for year 2012 and first half of the year 2013!

So far in Malaysia, it's sold about 2000+ units since it was launched last year sept, about 200 units per month! rclxm9.gif
craving
post Nov 26 2013, 10:36 AM

QUOTE(0304125 @ Nov 26 2013, 10:17 AM)
No need to be disappointed, get him behind the steering, and I'm pretty sure your friend will change his/her mind immediately after a short distance drive cool2.gif
she has 2 prius, 1 lexus and 1 mazda.
cOMMANDER pRASNTH
post Nov 26 2013, 10:36 AM

308 posts

QUOTE(0304125 @ Nov 26 2013, 10:28 AM)
I assume your friends are not into car, right?

So far I drove a few friends of mine, who's into car, they simply love this vehicle and they're surprise with this price tag comes along a long list of features in it icon_idea.gif
Where can you get such premium features with 3 years free service and 5 years warranty that even covers wiper blades, brake pads and even the battery - all this for a great price tag?

Do you know that our Ford Focus Mk3 cost RM96,400 (Titanium Non Plus) to RM 108400 (Sport Plus) from Thailand?

http://www.ford.co.th/en/cars/new-focus/sp...ions/price-list

http://www.xe.com/currencyconverter/conver...From=THB&To=MYR

Our car is very reasonably prices along with the fact that Ford Thailand only provides 3 years / 60000km warranty & service.

Ford Thailand Offers

This post has been edited by cOMMANDER pRASNTH: Nov 26 2013, 11:02 AM
post Nov 26 2013, 10:38 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Nov 26 2013, 08:04 AM)
If you want a vehicle with smooth acceleration, I would recommend the Nissan Sylphy, my previous car before I changed to the Ford Focus. The acceleration is silky smooth like butter, no jerks even for a tiny bit. The CVT gear is very smooth and refined unlike some inferior CVTs such as the one incorporated in the Proton Preve Turbo.

For me, I don't find the minor jerk an issue. It is very minor and does not occur everytime, even in low speed stop-go-stop-go situtations ie. traffic jam situations. The minor jerks will only happen during 1st to 2nd gear upshift, or 2nd to 1st gear downshift. If one is able to control the footwork, being light or gentle with the pedal, then the jerks will be greatly minimised. If the driver is constantly stepping or tapping on the accelerator with force then the car will surely jerk more seriously.

I am suggesting driving habits. Do you happen to be more active in your footwork?

As for the grinding sound, can't say I have experienced it a lot. In a span of 3 months I think I have only heard it once during uphill. Other than that, nil.

"Tak tak" sound - nothing. Is it from the suspension?
Yup, that's the right word, driving habits, I've learnt to drive a DCT with fiesta and carry it to my Focus, thus hardly any jerk except for exceptional scenario like jam going up hill.

If you're looking into smooth gear, CVT is the answer, my father's Altis is silky smooth too, to the point I feel it's boring to drive, lol

126 Pages « < 99 100 101 102 103 > » Top

0.0281sec    0.98    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 08:16 AM