Planted Aquarium V11
syafiq_lomotech
Feb 20 2013, 10:23 AM
QUOTE(jctasoga @ Feb 20 2013, 09:37 AM) syafiq, if urs is hob, the waterfall will introduce some bubbles. its normal. if its canister filter and quite noisy, then maybe got air inside the cannister. Or maybe its just simple pearling (plants giving out oxygen bubbles)  either way, nothing to be afraid of if ur fishes is going ok. ok, so i assume it come from the hob filter
varialmctwist
Feb 20 2013, 10:39 AM
QUOTE(Cold|Drawn @ Feb 20 2013, 01:56 AM) holy cow, that's cheap man! can take a snapshot of the tank? will do when i get back..just notice this comment..haha
arrow
Feb 20 2013, 12:06 PM

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Feb 20 2013, 05:30 AM) Btw, EmilyEmily arrow You guys put your bio rings behind the filter cartridge ya? I put mine here, just above the intake pump, because behind the filter cartridge there is tight, and if wanna clean it will have to always position it back. Would this be ok? I have 5 pieces of ceramic rings...  you can remove one of the white wool filter(the left one) and keep it to replace the other one when it get wore out, then you will have more space to put more bio-ring. Tetra need to be in school of 6 and above to stay happy.
LuQEE
Feb 20 2013, 01:23 PM

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Feb 19 2013, 11:08 PM) Was also thinking to upgrade to a bigger tank  I think my parents might kill me since I cannot even manage a small tank like this, what more a big tank? But LuQEE did mention it will be cheaper in the long run for a bigger tank  well, IMHO, small tank have pros and cons. The water temperature easily flactuates from too cold or too hot(happened to mine, using 4 pc fans to cool em off), water parameters easily swayed from safe levels till poisonous toxic waste if ure keep adding new fishes, overdose of feeding and good bacta had not properly established (happen to mine too, using 2-3 filter per tank). Also, you will realize sooner or later how much you are spending on to make the tank look nicer for you and also realize, you could just buy a bigger tank set instead(happened to me too,bought weird crap stuffs ranging from hardware till plants, cutting marimos into carpet, etc etc) .And most annoying of all, you cant fit all those kewl looking freshwater fishes/shrimps/driftwoods/rocks/plants into that existing tank...(happened to me too ) and this made me invest on buying a 3ft carnivour planted tank...and im happy, and all of them are in my room. Too bad all of them got neglected these few months due to work, too much diatoms in the 3ft tank, and GSA in 1.5ft tank due to havent change my fish water for more than a month. I just did water top-up. I guess im just a lazy guy with too much hobbies and have little time to spend on it all
varialmctwist
Feb 20 2013, 03:06 PM
QUOTE(arrow @ Feb 19 2013, 11:30 PM) If you are serious and for long term usage then i would like to recommend to you API freshwater master test kit(cost around rm100++) eh where to get this test kit? pets mart 88 got ar?
arrow
Feb 20 2013, 03:27 PM

QUOTE(varialmctwist @ Feb 20 2013, 03:06 PM) eh where to get this test kit? pets mart 88 got ar? yes, saw it there before, beside 88 petsmart , East Aqua in Ikano , Sg.Besi , Great Eastern mall & Mid-valley outlet may have it as well if not sold-out, make sure to check the expire date if any. Call them to check first. and make sure you buy the one for Freshwater not marine type. east aqua ikano 03-77287571 ask them for others outlet tel. 88 petsmart cheras 03-42959160, sunwaymas 03-78054478/4479
varialmctwist
Feb 20 2013, 03:56 PM
QUOTE(arrow @ Feb 20 2013, 03:27 PM) yes, saw it there before, beside 88 petsmart , East Aqua in Ikano , Sg.Besi , Great Eastern mall & Mid-valley outlet may have it as well if not sold-out, make sure to check the expire date if any. Call them to check first. and make sure you buy the one for Freshwater not marine type. east aqua ikano 03-77287571 ask them for others outlet tel. 88 petsmart cheras 03-42959160, sunwaymas 03-78054478/4479 woah..many thanks bro..gonna get a set..btw which one is better? the strip or liquid system for testing?
syafiq_lomotech
Feb 20 2013, 04:04 PM
strip is more easy + economical imho coz u just take one test, can have all the readings. + u cant have any experience with test tube broken (its me haha)
jctasoga
Feb 20 2013, 04:17 PM

both strip or the liquid are ok. its not necessary to have all the reading accurately. but it could be a real challenge if you are colour blind like me. i can't distinguish the shade of greens to yellow until it really a bright yellow in the co2 indicator... haha...
i think at least u need to have ph, ammonia and nitrate test kit.
syafiq_lomotech
Feb 20 2013, 04:38 PM
QUOTE(jctasoga @ Feb 20 2013, 04:17 PM) both strip or the liquid are ok. its not necessary to have all the reading accurately. but it could be a real challenge if you are colour blind like me. i can't distinguish the shade of greens to yellow until it really a bright yellow in the co2 indicator... haha... i think at least u need to have ph, ammonia and nitrate test kit. ya i think i will buy nitrate test kit today coz i cant take any readings. both ph and ammonia test tube broken.
syafiq_lomotech
Feb 20 2013, 04:43 PM
QUOTE(jctasoga @ Feb 20 2013, 04:40 PM) wah bro... wat u do leh? actually the test tube can be substituted with any container as long as can read 5ml  drop it i dont have any container that have that small readings.
-kytz-
Feb 20 2013, 04:53 PM
QUOTE(arrow @ Feb 20 2013, 12:06 PM) you can remove one of the white wool filter(the left one) and keep it to replace the other one when it get wore out, then you will have more space to put more bio-ring. Tetra need to be in school of 6 and above to stay happy. Awesome idea, never thought of that at all. Just a few questions here: 1) The Jeneca filter cartridges, where to get the replacements? 2) Should I fill the left part of the Jeneca filter with just all bio ceramic rings or 50% rings, 50% sponge (sponge is the course type like this:)
arrow
Feb 20 2013, 04:57 PM

QUOTE(varialmctwist @ Feb 20 2013, 03:56 PM) woah..many thanks bro..gonna get a set..btw which one is better? the strip or liquid system for testing? very subjective, alot said strip not accurate and some said liquid hard to read the result which are quite truth, i'm using liquid type and only having hard time with the PH and nitrate reading, cos to me any reading rather then zero in ammonia & nitrite test is bad and not acceptable so it doesn't matters whether it is low or high, cos both still kill my shrimps at tiniest lvl. This post has been edited by arrow: Feb 20 2013, 04:57 PM
arrow
Feb 20 2013, 05:05 PM

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Feb 20 2013, 04:53 PM) Awesome idea, never thought of that at all. Just a few questions here: 1) The Jeneca filter cartridges, where to get the replacements? 2) Should I fill the left part of the Jeneca filter with just all bio ceramic rings or 50% rings, 50% sponge (sponge is the course type like this:)
For Q1: ask LFS, some do carry compatible replacement part, bring the part to show them, but frankly i just throw them out and replace it with just filter wool. filter wool ->  For Q2: Yes , you can, put the bio-ring on the bottom and the black sponge on top or use filter wool instead of the black cheese sponge.
varialmctwist
Feb 20 2013, 05:13 PM
where can i get otto aaa? how much each? rm2-3?
TSqz4eva
Feb 20 2013, 05:19 PM
wat is otto aaa?
Sounds like batteries only...
Hehe...
arrow
Feb 20 2013, 05:27 PM

QUOTE(varialmctwist @ Feb 20 2013, 05:13 PM) where can i get otto aaa? how much each? rm2-3? Last saw at east aqua mid-valley and 88petsmart & NA SS19 , price rm4 -5.