129 Pages « < 112 113 114 115 116 > » Bottom

Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V18, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

eJiM
post Mar 27 2013, 04:33 PM

103 posts

I found Lenovo Y480 i7 + Gt650m RM2599..should i grab this? Is this a good bargain?Actually i plan to buy dell 14r i5 + gt730m. Should i still consider dell or just grab the y480? Reply ASAP
nexus2238
post Mar 27 2013, 05:10 PM

4,196 posts

QUOTE(eJiM @ Mar 27 2013, 04:33 PM)
I found Lenovo Y480 i7 + Gt650m RM2599..should i grab this? Is this a good bargain?Actually i plan to buy dell 14r i5 + gt730m. Should i still consider dell or just grab the y480? Reply ASAP
Is the Y480 a local set? If it is a grey import, not advisable to buy, may have problem claiming warranty from Lenovo Malaysia later.

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Mar 27 2013, 05:11 PM
eJiM
post Mar 27 2013, 05:13 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Mar 27 2013, 05:10 PM)
Is the Y480 a local set? If it is a grey import, not advisable to buy, may have problem claiming warranty from Lenovo Malaysia later.

So u suggest me to buy the local set? How should i notice the different? Just by asking the sales agent?
nexus2238
post Mar 27 2013, 05:21 PM

4,196 posts

QUOTE(krezlinc @ Mar 27 2013, 11:18 AM)
1. Preferred Brand
Lenovo/Acer/HP
2. Budget
2-3K
3. Usage
Movies, light work stuff e.g. powerpoint, words... Using almost as a desktop replacement. Need good battery
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - 14"-15"

Really appreciate any advices. Thx!
Errr ... if you are using it mostly as desktop replacement, meant that you will plug in AC power most of the time, then why are you concern with good battery performance? laugh.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

Your usage don't need powerful CPU or GPU, i3 & HD 4000 is more than enough.

Acer 14"
V5-471G-33214G50, i3-3217U + Nvidia GT620M@RM1799[2.1kg], 4GB, 500GB, W7HP
V5-471PG-53334G50, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT710M@RM1899, 4GB, 500GB, W8
M5-481PTG-53316G52, i5-3317U + Nvidia GT640M + 20GB mSATA + 500GB HDD@RM2999, 10-point touch, W8
15"
V5-571G-53314G50, i5-3317U + Nvidia GT620M@RM2199[2.3kg], 4GB, 500GB, W7HP
M3-581TG-53316G52, i5-3317U + Nvidia GT640M + 20GB mSATA + 500GB HDD@RM2699[2.25kg], 6GB

HP 14"
Envy4-1238TX, i5-3337U + AMD HD8750M@RM2099[Beats][1.75kg], 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8
Pavilion Sleekbook 14-b051TU, i3-2367M + Intel HD3000@RM1499, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8
Pavilion G4-2205/2206/2207TX, i5-3210M + AMD HD7670M@RM2099[2.19kg], 2GB ,500GB(5400rpm), W8, colors: white/red/black

Lenovo 14"
G480, i5-3230M + Intel HD4000@RM1499, 2GB, 500GB (5400rpm), FreeDOS
Z480, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT640M@RM1999, 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm) W8, colors: grey/red/blue
S400, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 24GB mSATA + 500GB(5400rpm)@RM1999[1.8kg], 4GB, W7HB; AMD HD7450M/W8@RM2199
15"
Ideapad G580, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M@RM1699, 2GB, 500GB, freeDOS, 1 yr warranty
Ideapad Z580, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M@RM2299, 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm), W7HB, white
Z500, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT645M @RM2299, 4GB, 1TB, W8; backlit, 2 years warranty (4-cell) (battery performance not good)

Prices are RSP, negotiable.
Use your remaining budget to extend warranty (HP, 3 years), swap HDD with SSD (SSD 256G ~ RM600+/-, 128G ~ RM300+/-)

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Mar 27 2013, 05:22 PM
raymondtong94
post Mar 27 2013, 05:22 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(eJiM @ Mar 27 2013, 05:13 PM)
So u suggest me to buy the local set? How should i notice the different? Just by asking the sales agent?
ask the sales agent how many years warranty does he provide. ask him is it under lenovo, approved distributor or private distributor. also ask him is the warranty of the accessories separated or else.
nexus2238
post Mar 27 2013, 05:26 PM

4,196 posts

QUOTE(eJiM @ Mar 27 2013, 05:13 PM)
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2392413
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2491914
Read the 1st post of these thread to know how to identify Lenovo local set, and links to thread whereby users complain about Lenovo Malaysia warranty support of grey imports.
eJiM
post Mar 27 2013, 05:47 PM

103 posts

Ok...AP set is another issue. Just want to know, which one is better in term of reliability n will be most least overheat between Y480 and Dell inspiron 14R (i7 + gt650m) vs (i5 + gt730m) ?
nexus2238
post Mar 27 2013, 05:58 PM

4,196 posts

QUOTE(eJiM @ Mar 27 2013, 05:47 PM)
Ok...AP set is another issue. Just want to know, which one is better in term of reliability n will be most least overheat between Y480 and Dell inspiron 14R (i7 + gt650m) vs (i5 + gt730m) ?
Who care about reliability? laugh.gif All models has lemon unit. That's why the warranty support is important, and the AP set is THE issue.
Of course more powerful component (i7 + GT650M) will generate more heat. For laptop at this price range, please don't expect great heat sink, fantastic cooling fan, high end thermal paste. You are dealing with a 14" case. The Y480 will run hotter than the 14R. (Btw, 14R SE has better build than 14R)

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Mar 27 2013, 06:00 PM
jh95
post Mar 27 2013, 06:17 PM

62 posts

some one hlp me z500,toshiba l850 and dell inspiron15R SE which 1 better?
raymondtong94
post Mar 27 2013, 08:52 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(jh95 @ Mar 27 2013, 06:17 PM)
some one hlp me z500,toshiba l850 and dell inspiron15R SE which 1 better?
Lenovo Z500 - best for bang of buck
Toshiba L850 - longest warranty support
Dell Inspiron 15R SE - best warranty support and good specifications (not as great as the Z500)

for me, i would say Z500 is the best choice.
Lycan91
post Mar 27 2013, 09:30 PM

26 posts

hye. biggrin.gif

my friend of mine is searching a new laptop for gaming, graphic usage. and he found 2 laptops
Ideapad Y500 or Asus N56VZ-S4284H.

which one is the preffered one?
raymondtong94
post Mar 27 2013, 10:06 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Lycan91 @ Mar 27 2013, 09:30 PM)
hye. biggrin.gif

my friend of mine is searching a new laptop for gaming, graphic usage. and he found 2 laptops
Ideapad Y500 or Asus N56VZ-S4284H.

which one is the preffered one?
talking about graphic usage, what kind of graphic usage? photoshop?

the best choice is the lenovo y500, it comes with swappable ODD for another GT650M for SLI or HDD to expand storage. biggrin.gif
noric
post Mar 27 2013, 11:21 PM

dear all sifu, is Lenovo
Ideapad Y580 available in lowyat? Sorry never been there for a long time. would like to purchase it this weekend
raymondtong94
post Mar 27 2013, 11:42 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(noric @ Mar 27 2013, 11:21 PM)
dear all sifu, is Lenovo
Ideapad Y580 available in lowyat? Sorry never been there for a long time. would like to purchase it this weekend
the model has been phased out and im worry that most shops dont have that model. if you want, you can purchase another variant, the Y500 with swappable ODD for SLI or expand storage.
meshell1129
post Mar 27 2013, 11:59 PM

97 posts

Preferred brand: any good reliable ones will do
Budget around 2.3k
Usage: just for college, maplestory, music movies just those things.
A 14" might be good and most importantly i need a light one.
any suitable choices?
i want those with and without touchscreen(will consider if i want it anot) that meets my requirement smile.gif
Lycan91
post Mar 28 2013, 12:14 AM

26 posts

he's more to cad, such as catia, solidwork etc. for engineering design software. smile.gif
noric
post Mar 28 2013, 12:19 AM

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Mar 27 2013, 11:42 PM)
the model has been phased out and im worry that most shops dont have that model. if you want, you can purchase another variant, the Y500 with swappable ODD for SLI or expand storage.
Thank you raymond for the prompt reply.. aww too bad my budget is around 2.6k-3k...
XeactorZ
post Mar 28 2013, 03:41 AM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,609 posts

QUOTE(meshell1129 @ Mar 27 2013, 11:59 PM)
Preferred brand: any good reliable ones will do
Budget around 2.3k
Usage: just for college, maplestory, music movies just those things.
A 14" might be good and most importantly i need a light one.
any suitable choices?
i want those with and without touchscreen(will consider if i want it anot) that meets my requirement smile.gif
touch screen
Acer V5-471PG, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT710M + (1366x768; touch)@RM2299, 4GB, 500GB, W8
Asus VivoBook S400CA-CA006H, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 24GB mSATA + 500GB + (1366x768; touch)@RM2299[2kg], 4GB, W8

not touch screen
Asus A45VS-VX026H, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT645M@RM2199[2.4kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8
Asus S46CM-WX023V, i5-3317U + Nvidia GT635M + 24GB mSATA + 500GB HDD@RM2399[2kg], 4GB, W7HP
jh95
post Mar 28 2013, 07:22 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Mar 27 2013, 08:52 PM)
Lenovo Z500 - best for bang of buck
Toshiba L850 - longest warranty support
Dell Inspiron 15R SE - best warranty support and good specifications (not as great as the Z500)

for me, i would say Z500 is the best choice.
it is true about the performance battery of z500 not good?and card reader only 2in1 ,1 usb3.0 only...but is lighter than 15R SE..so u suggestion is z500?but still new,u know any bad comments of z500?how long the 4 cells battery can support,?its will longer than 6cells?
raymondtong94
post Mar 28 2013, 09:10 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(jh95 @ Mar 28 2013, 07:22 AM)
it is true about the performance battery of z500 not good?and card reader only 2in1 ,1 usb3.0 only...but is lighter than 15R SE..so u suggestion is z500?but still new,u know any bad comments of z500?how long the 4 cells battery can support,?its will longer than 6cells?
it is true that the battery performance of Z500 is bad, and cant compete with those 6 cells variants. and yes, it is lighter than 15R SE, card reader 2in1, 3 USB (1 3.0, 2 2.0). bad comments about the Z500 is they dont come with core i7 like the Z400 do.

129 Pages « < 112 113 114 115 116 > » Top

0.0280sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 02:37 AM