6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V18, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

raymondtong94
post Jan 6 2013, 10:57 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

nice work TJ on the v18 thread. the future staff of the mobile computing section eh? biggrin.gif
raymondtong94
post Jan 6 2013, 11:32 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(eugenelimys @ Jan 6 2013, 10:52 AM)
FIRST!!!! tongue.gif

Edit:Just feel like doing it~ >< wink.gif
Edit 2: Thank you TJ and nexus for providing me some much info about laptop.. notworthy.gif  Keep up the good work!!!  rclxm9.gif ^^ Jia you Jia you!! ~ icon_rolleyes.gif
hi. how is your mommy? did she bought you your blink blink alienware m17x? laugh.gif

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jan 6 2013, 11:10 AM)
@raymond, nah, I don't intend to stay too long laugh.gif Very hard to keep up with technology >__<
have to agree with this. every technology items will be release like in a few days or few weeks by manufacturers.
raymondtong94
post Jan 6 2013, 07:55 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(medabee @ Jan 6 2013, 07:12 PM)
will the ultrabook, (im eying on Dell xps 12 duo / Lenovo Yoga btw) will be able to handle atleast, a little session of CAD/CAM software, lets just say i just want to view a CAD drawing. thats all. will they handle it?

because i like the tablet/ultrabook combo thingie, save money dont have to buy 2 separate things.

Looking forward for the answer. tq.
i think yes. just to mention not to go up to intermediate session.
raymondtong94
post Jan 7 2013, 08:51 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(FLampard @ Jan 7 2013, 08:41 AM)
1. no preferred brand. as long as the goods has its quality and durable any brand would do.
2. max 2500 but prefer below 2000
3 use to play starcraft 2 , world of tanks, cs 1.6 and dota 2. starcraft 2 seems to be a graphic heavy game if i cant find a suitable choice within my budget i dun mind excluding sc2. also use for progamming n photoshop.
4 13-14inch
i had posted suggestions in your topic. you could take a look.
raymondtong94
post Jan 7 2013, 07:03 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(aliex87 @ Jan 7 2013, 06:32 PM)
hi all sifus, pls help me recommend a laptop.

1. prefer asus or lenovo brand.
2. budget max rm1500
3.surfing, normal office stuff (word,pp,publisher,etc)
4. watching movies.

im currently considering the asus K46CM-WX060V, one seller already offer at rm1500...any good?
that is an ultrabook. its enough for your usage stated above but what are the specs? there is a model of asus k46 which i dont know what the processor is (perhaps AMD?).
raymondtong94
post Jan 7 2013, 11:17 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Neomax3 @ Jan 7 2013, 09:45 PM)
Thanks bro!  thumbup.gif
or, you can consider Lenovo Y580. save the rest of the money and get SSD and extend warranty. icon_rolleyes.gif
raymondtong94
post Jan 8 2013, 03:42 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(jackmok5489 @ Jan 8 2013, 03:32 PM)
y480 got overheat issue???
pls help
currently no overheat issue. just have to monitor the temperature and dont let it go up to 90C when gaming.
raymondtong94
post Jan 8 2013, 04:58 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Jan 8 2013, 04:23 PM)
Closest is this:
Ideapad Y580, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GTX660M + 1920x1080 @RM2999[JBL], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HB/W8, backlit keyboard, 2 yrs warranty

I think you can get it ~ RM27xx if you bargain hard enough. Do note there are grey imports as well (usual caveat apply).
SSD is getting cheaper, but still relatively expensive (128G ~ RM250++). Wait for 1-2 more years, it should become much more affordable laugh.gif
if there is disaster in the country of where the SSD is manufactured, perhaps the price will increase? hmm.gif hmm.gif one of the shops around my area has increased the price of SSD.
raymondtong94
post Jan 9 2013, 08:33 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

TJ is considered as the staff of mobile computing. laugh.gif
raymondtong94
post Jan 9 2013, 09:13 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(raxan @ Jan 9 2013, 09:09 PM)
Good evening  notworthy.gif

Looking to buy a new laptop

1. Any
2. Budget: Around RM2500 (lesser is better)
3. Usage: gaming(msotly for GW2 tongue.gif)/work
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: Any, doesn't matter
Lenovo Y480(5934-1372), i7-3610QM + Nvidia GT650(GDDR5)@RM2699[JBL], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), backlit keyboard, W7HB; EOL-ed

you can nego the price with the seller to make it cheaper. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by raymondtong94: Jan 9 2013, 09:13 PM
raymondtong94
post Jan 9 2013, 10:46 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(raxan @ Jan 9 2013, 10:14 PM)
thank for the suggestion and this might a dumb question, what's "EOL"

also are there any other recommendations ? biggrin.gif
Dell Inspiron 14R (Special Edition), i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M(28nm Kepler)@RM2049[2.38kg], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), W7HP/W8
Dell Inspiron 15R (Special Edition), i5-3210M + AMD HD7730M@RM2199, 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm); backlit keyboard optional, W7HP/W8
ASUS A45VS-VX026H, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT645M@RM2199[2.4kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8
ASUS A55VJ-SX093H, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT635M@RM2499[2.52kg], 4GB, 750GB, W8; color: black
HP Pavilion G4-2111TX, i7-3612QM + AMD HD7670M@RM2499[2.19kg], 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm), W7HP
HP Envy Dv4-5202TX/5203TX, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M@RM2399[Beats], 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm), W8, black/red

are they ok for you?
raymondtong94
post Jan 10 2013, 07:50 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Jan 10 2013, 07:01 AM)
Pretty late in the game changing game plan  laugh.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
Unless you are seriously strong, 17" will break your back sooner or later, carrying it to and fro school daily biggrin.gif
M17 and RS17 weight more than 4kg sweat.gif
Also, unless you can plug into electrical supply at school, all these gaming laptops won't give you long battery performance. But at least 14/15" last slightly longer than 17" laugh.gif
being a man in the army before, 17" models never break my back. biggrin.gif but i read that the battery of AW M17x can last 4 hours, with surfing web only. hmm.gif perhaps its the job of the 9-cell battery? hmm.gif hmm.gif
raymondtong94
post Jan 27 2013, 11:11 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Jan 27 2013, 12:50 AM)
How long can you wait? smile.gif
When Intel push out the Haswell this year, they will mandate all ultrabook must have touchscreen (at least that's what is being announced).
If you follow CES 2013, apparently there is a prototype of XPS 14 that has a flippable screen (just like the one in XPS 12) sweat.gif
But Haswell is most probably late (Q3) 2013.

Since you like to clean your laptop, the good thing about XPS 14 is that once you open the back panel, you have full access to all the components, very easy to maintain.
If you want to go SSD aftermarket, the SSD must be thin (< 7mm) to fit in. So a lot of popular SSD brands / models are out. Have seen some videos where users strip the SSD of external case to fit in ultrabook sweat.gif
+1 for this. Cant wait for haswell, but is haswell only aiming for ultrabooks only? Im wondering.

Anyway, how are u? Nexus, lee_what2004 and tj sifu? I been to NS and lastly able to get online for today. Wish the training can end faster.
raymondtong94
post Feb 8 2013, 11:03 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Jan 28 2013, 01:31 PM)
I am kicking tongue.gif Nice long weekend holidays biggrin.gif
NS as national service tranining? (aren't you a bit too old for this? for 18 years old right, you are 19? ) or Negeri Sembilan?
yes, national service training. 19 years old is still ok, if over 19, its a shame.
raymondtong94
post Feb 8 2013, 01:40 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Feb 8 2013, 01:39 PM)
Sorry to hear of your problem man, hope your kid will get well soon  icon_rolleyes.gif
We should visit you for angpaos next time miahahaha  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
i should get ang paos from u too. tongue.gif laugh.gif
raymondtong94
post Feb 9 2013, 10:27 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Feb 8 2013, 11:36 PM)
TJ is drafting his magna opus: "The Dating Guide Part 3: How to close the deal"  brows.gif
nice one. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
raymondtong94
post Feb 10 2013, 05:46 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Feb 10 2013, 05:18 PM)
Matte black colour laptop shell? All consumer class ultrabook are out laugh.gif (except gaming laptop like Asus G series, Clevo, I can't remember if any consumer laptop is still matte black in colour. But these are heavy beast).

As for Thinkpad, the cheapest Edge series somehow don't have matte shell smile.gif I could only think of the T430u as ultrabook with matte black shell  sweat.gif

Sorry, other sifus please help  notworthy.gif
the alternative solution is ask the buyer to top up the budget and get business laptop OR remove the ultrabook cover and paint it matte black and get a matte screen protector for the specified laptop. the buyer requests are puzzling me. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif shakehead.gif shakehead.gif
raymondtong94
post Feb 10 2013, 07:59 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(shadowmorning @ Feb 10 2013, 06:56 PM)
Hey guys im coming back home from overseas and I need to buy a laptop in KL coz i prefer the prices and diversity here..
So..

1. Preferred Brand  = ASUS / DELL / SONY

2. Budget RM2500-RM3000

3. Usage - High-end games/so all games can at least run on highest resolution and HIGH settings
            - video encoding, example; converting huge bluray files into small brrip mkv files with x264 10bit 

4. Preferred laptop/screen size
    either 14 inch or better 15inch will do.

PS = > additionally it would be cool if the vents for heat release are on ideal sides
        > hd at least 1 tb
        >bluray/dvd disk drive must be able to eject(not the type of laptop which have a slot to insert the  cd"
          > can the bluray drive play dvd discs as well? im not too sure on this
with that budget, you have to top up at least RM700 to get your desired laptop. blu-ray drives aint cheap nowadays cuz it takes a longer time for price drop. if you dont mind about budget top up, i can suggest you some models with blu-ray ODD and 1TB HDD.

ASUS N56VZ-S4284H, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT650M + (1920x1080) + Bluray@RM3699[2.7kg][B&O], 4GB, 1TB, W8; color: black
Lenovo Ideapad Y580, i7-3610QM + Nvidia GTX660M (2GB) + (1920x1080) + Bluray@RM3499[JBL], 8GB, 1TB HDD(7200rpm), W7HP, backlit keyboard, 2 years international warranty

as for dell and sony, i dont know if there are any models that comes with blu-ray drives. even if they do come with, they will be overpriced. also, try negotiate with the seller for RM300 drop (if possible).

FYI, blu-ray drives can play DVDs as well.
raymondtong94
post Feb 10 2013, 08:40 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(shadowmorning @ Feb 10 2013, 08:26 PM)
Bro thank you for replying! em, actually i havent purchased even 1 bluray in my life. do you think i need one? i mean mostly i download brrips and all, and games too some from digital download. so.... whaddaya think?

- how about those models with a combo drive( non bluray)
- and do you think that if i constantly play dvd's in a bluray drive, will it get damaged/spoilt over time?
sounds like i misunderstood. blush.gif if you omit blu-ray options, then i would suggest:

Dell Inspiron 14R (Special Edition), i7-3612QM + Nvidia GT640M(28nm Kepler)@RM2799[2.38kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm); backlit keyboard optional
Dell Inspiron 15R (Special Edition), i7-3612QM + AMD HD7730M@RM2799, 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm); backlit keyboard optional, W8
Lenovo Ideapad Y580, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GTX660M + 1920x1080 @RM2999[JBL], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HB/W8, backlit keyboard, 2 yrs warranty
Lenovo Ideapad Y400, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT650M@RM2799, 4GB, 500GB, W8, 120wPSU, swappable ODD
ASUS N56VZ-S3151H, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT650M@RM2799[2.7kg][B&O], 4GB, 750GB, W8; color: black

FYI, all these above are 1366x768 resolution except the Y580. as for blu-ray drives, they wont spoil easily if you play but if you do constant burning non-stop, it will.
raymondtong94
post Feb 10 2013, 09:12 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(shadowmorning @ Feb 10 2013, 08:50 PM)
ok the dell options seem awesome, because of...
the i7 processor, 8 gb and 1 tb hd

BUT I HAVE ONE PROBLEM WITH the inspirion series... the metal/steel layout. whenever i use the bulit in moust i always get static electricity flowing up my hand. i dunno why! my friend bought this one thats why i know.

2nd in place is asus. damn that thing looks simple and BEAUTIFUL. BUT...
the i5 is a turnoff. and the ram is only 4 gb AND the HD only 750gb sad.gif(

lenovo Y580 looks sturdy and strong.. but the ram and hd is bad sad.gif(

so close.... is there any asus model with the inspirionlike specs? sad.gif
for the lenovo, you can customize from seller before you buy. so, i assume you might need 8GB and 1TB upgrade which will overbudget a bit. for me, i will choose dell over all as the static is a small problem. just make sure never hold a metal part of the laptop or you might get shock.

as for asus, im sorry as there is no same spec like the dell does except if you want cheaper ones:

Acer V3-571G-73614G1T, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT640M@RM2699[2.6kg], 4GB, 1TB, W7HP
ASUS A55VJ-SX147H, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT635M@RM3099[2.52kg], 6GB, 1TB, W8; color: black

This post has been edited by raymondtong94: Feb 10 2013, 09:13 PM

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0508sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 10:05 PM