32 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V18, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

nexus2238
post Jan 7 2013, 11:19 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(FLampard @ Jan 7 2013, 08:41 AM)
1. no preferred brand. as long as the goods has its quality and durable any brand would do.
2. max 2500 but prefer below 2000
3 use to play starcraft 2 , world of tanks, cs 1.6 and dota 2. starcraft 2 seems to be a graphic heavy game if i cant find a suitable choice within my budget i dun mind excluding sc2. also use for progamming n photoshop.
4 13-14inch
~RM2k, these:

Asus
A45VS-VX026H, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT645M@RM2199[2.4kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8
Dell
Inspiron 14R (Special Edition), i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M(28nm Kepler)@RM2049[2.38kg], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), W7HP/W8

~RM2.5k, this:
Y400, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT650M@RM2799, 4GB, 500GB, W8, 120wPSU, swappable ODD

Price is RSP, negotiable.
I would think among the titles you list, world of tanks is the most GPU demanding. Once you turn up the resolution / details, it can even make high end mobile GPU crawl sweat.gif SC2, on the other hands, will only slightly lag if you have big battle going smile.gif
If you go for the 2 models in ~RM2k, World of Tanks, I think if you play in 1366x768, you have to turn down the details.
nexus2238
post Jan 7 2013, 11:28 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(AC_ryan94 @ Jan 7 2013, 11:22 AM)
brows.gif did sifus tried max settings on Crysis 2 on these two model???
Do you mean N56VZ & Y400?
Playing at 1366x768, max setting, you should get 40-50 fps.
nexus2238
post Jan 7 2013, 11:30 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jan 6 2013, 10:46 AM)
Special thanks to nexus2238too for single handedly making most of the recommendations in this thread~
Not necessary the best one tongue.gif
Geeez, new year is quiet in the office sweat.gif

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Jan 7 2013, 11:30 AM
nexus2238
post Jan 7 2013, 12:14 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(profwacko @ Jan 7 2013, 12:05 PM)
Just want to mention that Dell Inspiron 14R special edition have increased in its priced. I think now its  around RM2200. huhu
http://www.dell.com/my/p/inspiron-14r-se-7...en&s=dhs&~ck=mn

Still has the RM150 rebate on Dell Online hmm.gif
nexus2238
post Jan 7 2013, 01:38 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(lynmz @ Jan 7 2013, 12:41 PM)
Sifus..need some help and clarifications pls.. rclxub.gif

1. Lenovo, asus or any other brands that is reputable with good reliability
2. Budget: rm2k ~ rm 2.5k
3. Usage: web browsing, microsoft word/powerpoint, gaming (PES 2012 onwards,PCSX,MMORPGs, and most importantly, DOTA 2)..
4. ~14" is good enough for me. I don't think I would want FHD on such small screen. Just HD is fine.

Some extra questions for clarifications:

a) with the budget stated above, to what extend is dota 2 playable?possible to get 50~ fps ish with max settings at 720p?or have to mess around with settings abit? medium settings perhaps?
I've googled around and read in forums that even with y580, they only managed to get 30fps(not sure if its at FHD or not). But I have also read that DOTA 2 is not a gpu demanding game. Kinda confused here.

b) Planning to get the laptop around CNY or feb. Any coming PC fairs in the next couple months or so?

c) Even if there's a pc fair, is it better(pricing wise) to get the laptop at the fair or at the brand shop itself/at lowyat?

d)
Saw these on previous post. Also putting these laptops in my consideration list....Any thoughts regarding these laptops with my question on DOTA 2 above?

e) For the inspiron 14r special edition,what does the 28nm kepler means on the nvidia GT640m?new architecture? does that mean there's also GT640m with other keplers or....?

Sorry for the questions. Hope you guys can enlighten me. Any advise or opinions are much appreciated.
a. Dota 2 is not GPU demanding. Period. Y580 can't handle Dota2? You must be joking laugh.gif icon_rolleyes.gif FYI, sifus here has shown that Intel HD 4000 can play dota 2 smile.gif
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2247352/+1400
See post 1410 by sifu Acid_RuleZz.

b. Read TJ fabolous blog on "don't buy in PC Fair" laugh.gif (You can find the link from his signature)

c. Refer to b.

d. Refer to a.

e. Thanks to Nvidia. GT640M come in Kepler (the newer 28nm GK107) flavour, and LE version which may come in Fermi (the older 40nm GF108) flavour whistling.gif

As for the suggestion, you already found them: A45VS, 14R SE, Y400 smile.gif

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Jan 7 2013, 01:41 PM
nexus2238
post Jan 7 2013, 02:04 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(AC_ryan94 @ Jan 7 2013, 12:31 PM)
ftw what nvidia forceware driver version lorh?
V306.02 or 310.01 ?
??? You lost me there smile.gif
Anyway 310.90 WHQL has been released on 5Jan13.
nexus2238
post Jan 8 2013, 09:36 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(aliex87 @ Jan 8 2013, 07:20 AM)
its the lowest spec k46. well he quoted not exactly rm1.5k, its rm1.55k....isit worth it? its the same with this one:

http://www.lelong.com.my/26-dec-2012-asus-...7-01-Sale-I.htm

is this good? and do u have other recommendation? its for a girl anyway, so i want it to be as light as possible....
K46CM-WX060V, B987 + Nvidia GT630M@RM1799[2kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8, OD
If the unit is legit, then you are getting > 10% discount on a budget laptop, it's a good deal.
It can handle the usage you specify earlier.

At your budget, as light as possible? Closest:

Dell
Inspiron 14z, i3-3217U + Intel HD4000@RM1799[1.87kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8, *no VGA port, OD

HP
Pavilion Sleekbook 14-b051TU, i3-2367M + Intel HD3000@RM1499, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8 (prev gen CPU)

Lenovo
S400, i3-2365M + AMD HD7450M@RM1699[1.8kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HB (prev gen CPU)

All the above has better CPU, but weaker GPU compared to the K46CM you mentioned.

nexus2238
post Jan 8 2013, 09:54 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Jan 8 2013, 08:44 AM)
laugh.gif I also ask

1. no prefer brand
2. budget max rm1500
3. surfing, 1080p movie, gaming

no lenovo G480 as it quality build is poor
hope can play starcraft2.
prefer ultrabook. Possible got SSD?
No stock full SSD in laptop for your budget.
Starcraft2 - At 1366x768 (HD), if you turn the details to the lowest possible, you can play it with Intel HD 4000.
At 1366x768, if you want to play with decent details, you need GT620M or better, but GT620M will still lag in big battle.
1080p movie - laptop can process, but you need the screen to show the FHD details. At your budget, there is no laptop with FHD screen. You have to connect to external display or TV which can display FHD.

Laptop that come closest to your requirement is this (no FHD):
Acer
M5-481TG-53316G12, i5-3317U + Nvidia GT640M LE (28nm Kepler) + 128GB SSD@RM2899[1.85kg], 6GB, W7HP

Then, these (no FHD, no SSD)
Asus
K46CM-WX090H, i5-3317U + Nvidia GT635M@RM2199[2kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8, OD
K46CM-WX060V, B987 + Nvidia GT630M@RM1799[2kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8, OD

Then, these (no FHD, no SSD, not ultrabook)
Acer
Aspire V3-471G-53212G75d, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M@RM1899[2.3kg], 2GB, 750GB W8

Dell
Inspiron 14R, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M@RM1899[2.38kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HP/W8

HP
Pavilion G4-2132/2133TX, i5-3210M + AMD HD7670M@RM1899[2.19kg], 2GB ,500GB(7200rpm), W7HB, colors: white/black
Pavilion G4-2107AX, A10-4600M + AMD HD7670M@RM1899, 2GB, 500GB

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Jan 8 2013, 09:56 AM
nexus2238
post Jan 8 2013, 10:46 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Jan 8 2013, 10:23 AM)
PC is weak on mobilization, I will bring back the laptop to my hometown for TV connection and file sharing too.

laugh.gif somemore not nice in look.

my PC and media player just spoilt together 2 weeks ago doh.gif

if I choose i3-3217U, then I stick no gaming laugh.gif
HP also available a G4 series laptop RM1240, i3-3110M HD4000, much powerful than ULV, but thick of laptop not nice in looking tongue.gif
QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Jan 8 2013, 10:26 AM)
Pretty much your decision which one to sacrifice..
If you want to stick with laptop, nothing new within your budget can give you everything you want.
Your only bet is those 2nd hand, like Asus N53 / K53 (GT540M), K42 / N53 (GT335M). But I don't think you want 2nd hand laugh.gif (this thread is buying new laptop laugh.gif icon_rolleyes.gif )

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Jan 8 2013, 10:49 AM
nexus2238
post Jan 8 2013, 10:55 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(pipboy46 @ Jan 8 2013, 10:37 AM)
1. Preferred Brand: Asus or other Top Brands
2. Budget: <RM1500
3. Usage: General, for student and girl
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: <16inch

Tq
Asus
X44H-VX280, i3-2350M + Intel HD3000@RM1399[2.44kg], 2GB, 500GB, FreeDOS; 1 year warranty (prev gen CPU)

Dell
Inspiron 14, i3-3110M + Intel HD4000@RM1399[2.1kg], 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8

HP
Pavilion G4-2110TU, i3-3110M + Intel HD4000@RM1599, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HP
Pavilion Sleekbook 14-b051TU, i3-2367M + Intel HD3000@RM1499, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8 (prev gen CPU)

Lenovo
G480, i3-3110M + Nvidia GT635M@RM1499, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), FreeDOS
G480, i5-3210M + Intel HD4000@RM1499, 2GB, 500GB (5400rpm), FreeDOS

Price is RSP, negotiable. FreeDOS mean you need to get OS yourself.

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Jan 8 2013, 10:57 AM
nexus2238
post Jan 8 2013, 03:45 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(jackmok5489 @ Jan 8 2013, 03:32 PM)

y480 got overheat issue???
Errr ... why a sudden interest in Y480? It's not 15" biggrin.gif
Yes, it run a bit warm, nothing that cannot be solved smile.gif
nexus2238
post Jan 8 2013, 04:17 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(jackmok5489 @ Jan 8 2013, 04:00 PM)
is it same issue with last batch of dell studio???once over temperature the screen will spoild???
Actually laptop (all electronics) components are suspectible to heat laugh.gif
For example, HDD if constantly operated under high temp, tend to have shorter life span sweat.gif
Laptop, being small and has a confined space, don't dissipate heat as well as a full size desktop tower. Therefore if you get a laptop, make sure you keep it cool (using cooling pad or any other ingenious methods ... ) and keep it clean (make sure no dust block the inlet / outlet vents ... ).

Y480 has some powerful components (i7, GT650M) in a small body, tend to get warm under load (the area around HDD is particularly warm ... Best long term solution is to swap the HDD to ODD place).
Y400, from what we see, has much better thermal profile.

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Jan 8 2013, 04:19 PM
nexus2238
post Jan 8 2013, 04:18 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(jackmok5489 @ Jan 8 2013, 04:11 PM)
did u sell labtops?
This is not sale thread smile.gif
Try here:
http://forum.lowyat.net/Notebooks&Tablets
Please take standard precaution when dealing with someone online icon_rolleyes.gif

And TJ is a biologist rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Jan 8 2013, 04:20 PM
nexus2238
post Jan 8 2013, 04:23 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(jackmok5489 @ Jan 8 2013, 04:20 PM)
thx 4 explanation...haiz budget tight hard to make decision...i wan 15.6inch fhd screen,ddr5,ssd,budget below 2.5k its impossible lol
Closest is this:
Ideapad Y580, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GTX660M + 1920x1080 @RM2999[JBL], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HB/W8, backlit keyboard, 2 yrs warranty

I think you can get it ~ RM27xx if you bargain hard enough. Do note there are grey imports as well (usual caveat apply).
SSD is getting cheaper, but still relatively expensive (128G ~ RM250++). Wait for 1-2 more years, it should become much more affordable laugh.gif

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Jan 8 2013, 04:26 PM
nexus2238
post Jan 8 2013, 05:13 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Jan 8 2013, 04:58 PM)
if there is disaster in the country of where the SSD is manufactured, perhaps the price will increase? hmm.gif  hmm.gif one of the shops around my area has increased the price of SSD.
Be patient tongue.gif 1+ year ago, 64G SSD is going for ~ RM250. Now we can get 128G for the same price laugh.gif
Just wait 1 more year, when 256G go for the same price, I will say SSD will finally go mainstream thumbup.gif

Top 5 NAND flash manufacturers are Samsung, Toshiba, Micron, Hynix, Intel. Yup, if something happen in Northeast Asia, SSD price could go haywire sweat.gif
nexus2238
post Jan 8 2013, 05:49 PM

4,194 posts

Also a lot of NAND is produced in Singapore ...

^
Yup, I show my age, but I remember those day when HDD start at 20MB laugh.gif

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Jan 8 2013, 05:57 PM
nexus2238
post Jan 8 2013, 10:09 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jan 8 2013, 07:49 PM)
Really a long long time ago...
The oldest computer that I've used before is an x386 with 474MB HDD  laugh.gif
Yaa ... a few of my old classmates stayed in the same small Taman. Since primary school, we shared PC. One guy would buy a model, and all of us went to the house to use it laugh.gif
Our primary school bought Apple II in 1984, which didn't even have HDD, but all of us decided to get 80286 in 1986 running MSDOS 3 when we started secondary school .... (CPU and OS life cycle was soooooooo long then). My turn to make the purchase was 80486DX2 in 1992, we already started college.
All of us still keep our old machines around laugh.gif I think the most valuable now is the 80286 ....
nexus2238
post Jan 9 2013, 09:13 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jan 8 2013, 11:32 PM)
laugh.gif You sound really old man  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
Time to put your old rig of sentimental value up for display  rclxm9.gif
That's what we plan to do. Once we retire, all of us could dig those out, and setup a neighbourhood museum or something laugh.gif
nexus2238
post Jan 9 2013, 10:30 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(Nels @ Jan 9 2013, 09:22 AM)
1. Preferred Brand - Dell / Others are fine if the difference is big.
2. Budget - RM 2k
3. Usage - Medium Gaming/ Multi Tasking - i5 above
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - 14
Dell
Inspiron 14R (Special Edition), i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M(28nm Kepler)@RM2049[2.38kg], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), W7HP/W8

Asus
A45VS-VX026H, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT645M@RM2199[2.4kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8

Lenovo
Z480, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M@RM2299, 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm) W7HB, colors: grey/red/blue

Price is RSP, negotiable. If you multi-task a lot, upgrade RAM. 4G ~ RM80.
nexus2238
post Jan 9 2013, 11:24 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(Nels @ Jan 9 2013, 11:03 AM)

Is there a noticeably different in GT640M vs GT645M?

Does Inspiron 14R have any issue? Sorry I'm not sure how to google on this model cause they don't have exact name.
GT645M basically is just a faster clocked GT640M. Both using the same GK107. GT645M is slightly faster than GT640M (~ 2-10%, depends on game titles)

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2352666
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1135207/ (the posts after June 2012 are more related)
You can read these for some users comments smile.gif

Btw, there are differences between 14R and 14R SE tongue.gif I suggest you go out and look at the real things to see the differences.

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Jan 9 2013, 11:31 AM

32 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0230sec    1.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 01:22 PM