77 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Bottom

Travel Mountain Climbers Club, register yourself here!

kalaso_85
post Jul 6 2008, 01:01 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(popcorn513 @ Jul 5 2008, 09:37 PM)
Hehe good, i sure go one. Anyone recommend where to buy good hiking shoe (What brand or model)? Whats the recommendation for good sock and raincoat? These are my priority.
hiking shoe i thing no need la....just buy cheap cheap rubber shoe then ok d....it cost below RM10 a pair....
if u wanna buy hiking shoe....i will recoment u buy Admiral,Axel,Power.....good and also not too expensive....
if u want better u can try Hitec, Timberland.
But please say no to branded NIke Adidas Reebok

For raincoat u can buy cheap cheap disposal raincoat at RM1-3.

This post has been edited by kalaso_85: Jul 6 2008, 01:05 AM
popcorn513
post Jul 6 2008, 01:25 AM

僕は戦闘機君は航空母艦
1,332 posts

QUOTE(kalaso_85 @ Jul 6 2008, 01:01 AM)
hiking shoe i thing no need la....just buy cheap cheap rubber shoe then ok d....it cost below RM10 a pair....
if u wanna buy hiking shoe....i will recoment u buy Admiral,Axel,Power.....good and also not too expensive....
if u want better u can try Hitec, Timberland.
But please say no to branded NIke Adidas Reebok

For raincoat u can buy cheap cheap disposal raincoat at RM1-3.
Thanks, will go check out those brand.
Anyway where to buy the rubber shoe/the bowling shoe? RM5 ringgit a pair they got sell in shopping mall?
sharil_routh
post Jul 6 2008, 08:21 AM

(~Penentangan adalah sia-sia~)
1,356 posts

wave.gif

Name:Sharil_routh
Summits conquered:Pine, bintang
Next target:Kinabalu
frequent workout place:Tasik Shah alam (kayak), Tasik Titiwangsa.
Disciple
post Jul 6 2008, 10:35 AM

Master of Disaster
2,272 posts

Name: Disciple
Summits conquered: Brinchang
Next target: Nuang
frequent workout place: California Fitness

enjoylife
post Jul 6 2008, 05:46 PM

21 posts

my hiking shoes are admiral brand. that day in Nuang seems useless on after-rained muddy terrain tongue.gif
grip is no good
i've been checking a brand called Salomon (www.salomonsports.com)
it has got water-proof hiking shoes but i couldnt find it here
Keong
post Jul 6 2008, 07:06 PM

QUOTE(enjoylife @ Jul 6 2008, 05:46 PM)
my hiking shoes are admiral brand. that day in Nuang seems useless on after-rained muddy terrain tongue.gif
grip is no good
Hi all...

In regards to hiking shoes, can I suggest jungle boots? Yes...boots.

I know adidas kampung is the best. I own pairS of them rclxms.gif
They are great but we all have to admit that it does not offer the greatest grip and ankle protection around. Especially when descending a (steep) slope.

Now...with hiking boots that are branded (lets not mention brands), I would have to say NO to most of them. The reason is simple, hiking boots that are weatherproof, waterproof etc are just plain useless in our tropical jungle environment. Go through a river and you'll probably have a fully soaked boots. Especially those with Goretex linings.

The British SAS spent time in Malaysia and othr very unforging parts of the world. What they came up with is the simple jungle boots, lower manmade soles with upper canvas. More importantly, draining holes near the bottom soles for water to leave the boots. The holes also allows the feet to 'breath' fresh air, lowering the chance of you getting trench foot after long hours wearing them. The high lacing provides not only ankle support but also protection from snake bites.

The only problem with jungle boots is that with a new pair, you really really need to get used to them by working them in. They need to be seasoned. Where to get them? I honestly don't know where in K.L but perhaps some of the uniforms stores where they sell army good. i got mine from bundle of course tongue.gif

There's a short write up on the below link that you can read about jungle boots if you like.

http://www.learning-adventures-malaysia.co...l-clothing.html

Cheers,
KEONG
www.learning-adventures-malaysia.com
http://bandel-used-clothing.blogspot.com/

halia_merah
post Jul 7 2008, 12:38 AM

166 posts

for the best hiking shoes i ever had is a hi-tec.but u have to be smart to choose cause it's have a lot of model.before tat i have a lot of trekking shoes but nothing can compare this hi-tec in my time..besides it can hold n support ur ankle and comfortable to wear in our jungle even in dry and wet condition,it give greatest grip.but this hi-tec shoes can be worse when u trekking on the slippery rock.other than tat is very good trekking/hiking shoes.

Hi-tec

Technology

my 2 cent biggrin.gif
kalaso_85
post Jul 7 2008, 12:47 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(enjoylife @ Jul 6 2008, 05:46 PM)
grip is no good
For me myself....skills in always more important then the shoe.
if u got skills then u can control the situatatiom....do not let the shoe control human but human control the step.
enjoylife
post Jul 7 2008, 06:34 PM

21 posts

what is adidas kampung?
where can i get 1?

Added on July 7, 2008, 6:36 pmyup skill can help alot
but if u do have a pair of quality shoe it will help even more
i need better grip shoes since i dun have good skill
still learning here

This post has been edited by enjoylife: Jul 7 2008, 06:36 PM
popcorn513
post Jul 7 2008, 07:40 PM

僕は戦闘機君は航空母艦
1,332 posts

Bukit Tabur Hiking schedule

Organizer : popcorn513
Venue : Bukit Tabur (West Trail)
Date : 13/07/08
Time : 7.30am at foothill

Attendees
1. popcorn513 + 4 frens

Organizer : SoulPower
Venue : Bukit Tabur (East Trail)
Date : 13/07/08
Time : 7am at foothill

Attendees
1. SoulPower + 3 frens
2. tschin1981

New schedule, not joining you soulpower since bring new people to go west take picture

This post has been edited by popcorn513: Jul 8 2008, 01:28 PM
enjoylife
post Jul 8 2008, 06:29 PM

21 posts

wa this sunday west and east trails all cover by u guys liao tongue.gif
gn01117135
post Jul 8 2008, 10:07 PM

442 posts

i couldnt make it on this sunday, but planning to go on saturday alone...

anyone going on coming saturday??i never been there... izzit there is a path to hike... izzit pack so that i can follow the ppl there... h ehehe

Added on July 8, 2008, 10:10 pm
QUOTE(popcorn513 @ Jul 6 2008, 01:25 AM)
Thanks, will go check out those brand.
Anyway where to buy the rubber shoe/the bowling shoe? RM5 ringgit a pair they got sell in shopping mall?
can u make it on saturday??i mean gunung nuang...
can it b 19 july...

This post has been edited by gn01117135: Jul 8 2008, 10:11 PM
popcorn513
post Jul 8 2008, 11:54 PM

僕は戦闘機君は航空母艦
1,332 posts

QUOTE(gn01117135 @ Jul 8 2008, 10:07 PM)
i couldnt make it on this sunday, but planning to go on saturday alone...

anyone going on coming saturday??i never been there... izzit there is a path to hike... izzit pack so that i can follow the ppl there... h ehehe

Added on July 8, 2008, 10:10 pm
can u make it on saturday??i mean gunung nuang...
can it b 19 july...
Nuang organizer is Tschin, most of us prefer sunday since saturday we are busy....
SoulPower
post Jul 9 2008, 02:28 PM

235 posts

wow popcorn513 now ur a frequent climber in Bukit tabur d rclxms.gif

Nuang organizer is Tschin, most of us prefer sunday since saturday we are busy....

Actually i oso prefer Sat... scare Mon need to take MC ... ahahahha
popcorn513
post Jul 9 2008, 03:02 PM

僕は戦闘機君は航空母艦
1,332 posts

QUOTE(SoulPower @ Jul 9 2008, 02:28 PM)
wow popcorn513 now ur a frequent climber in Bukit tabur d  rclxms.gif
Actually i oso prefer Sat... scare Mon need to take MC ... ahahahha
Ya now i'm helping Tschin to promote Bkt Tabur icon_idea.gif
Mon take MC good what, can can fully utilize your MC don waste it

tschin1981
post Jul 10 2008, 09:20 AM

13 posts

My preference for the Nuang trip is also on Saturday, but 2 bad need to answer work related calls despite not working on Saturday. So I put it on Sunday.

After nuang trip it will be tiring, but I dunno whether doctor will issue MC for tiredness or not. Any1 happen to know doctor who can issue this type of MC pls recommend, hehe

popcorn513
post Jul 10 2008, 10:38 AM

僕は戦闘機君は航空母艦
1,332 posts

QUOTE(tschin1981 @ Jul 10 2008, 09:20 AM)
My preference for the Nuang trip is also on Saturday, but 2 bad need to answer work related calls despite not working on Saturday. So I put it on Sunday.

After nuang trip it will be tiring, but I dunno whether doctor will issue MC for tiredness or not. Any1 happen to know doctor who can issue this type of MC pls recommend, hehe
Aiyo TsChin you so fit run up and down the hill when raining in Nuang last time also no problem, still need MC? Tire is for sure but next day should recover gua. This time we well prepare then we should be able to make it one. Just pray don rain since recently keep raining
SoulPower
post Jul 10 2008, 01:58 PM

235 posts

So the naung trip izzit confirm 20th july?
felixcfk
post Jul 10 2008, 02:02 PM

94 posts

good luck to you alll thn...
enjoylife
post Jul 10 2008, 09:13 PM

21 posts

now nuang abit phobia liao
the first part really boring

77 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Top