QUOTE(maiself @ Sep 4 2015, 09:27 AM)
Received this email aswell. I guess every Enrich member got this. only 5% extra from normal online redemption
Didn't get this e-mail although I'm a Silver member. Malaysia Airline Enrich Miles, Get the best bang from your CC points :)
Sep 8 2015, 12:55 PM
2,094 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
Sep 8 2015, 02:24 PM
371 posts Joined: Sep 2012 |
QUOTE(DrPitchard @ Sep 8 2015, 12:53 PM) Well, more importantly, Enrich Silver doesn't give you the privilege access to Golden Lounge leh, only Gold and Platinum can access. Just got my Silver card, only benefit is the 'premium' check-in for luggage and also on-boarding. Nothing else significant. Thanks for the update. |
Sep 8 2015, 04:07 PM
1,346 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Putrajaya & Siberjaya |
QUOTE(DrPitchard @ Sep 8 2015, 12:53 PM) Well, more importantly, Enrich Silver doesn't give you the privilege access to Golden Lounge leh, only Gold and Platinum can access. Just got my Silver card, only benefit is the 'premium' check-in for luggage and also on-boarding. Nothing else significant. yes correct.. Only Gold & Platinum entitled for FREE + 1 access to Golden Lounge QUOTE(DrPitchard @ Sep 8 2015, 12:55 PM) Or Maybe they only sent to Gold members hehe I just used that 20% promo to redeemed 2 return tickets to Paris next week. Only Eco class though.. Business class seats all taken..!! small plane I guess!! |
Sep 8 2015, 05:58 PM
QUOTE(maiself @ Sep 8 2015, 04:07 PM) yes correct.. Only Gold & Platinum entitled for FREE + 1 access to Golden Lounge Bro, quick question I have for you. I just got my Silver this year and now targeting to make it into Gold by year end. From 1st Jan-31st Dec next year, I will still maintain my membership status (Silver or Gold), right? It is during 2016 that I will need to achieve the min number of flights/mileage so that it will continue to roll on onto 2017. Correct?Or Maybe they only sent to Gold members hehe I just used that 20% promo to redeemed 2 return tickets to Paris next week. Only Eco class though.. Business class seats all taken..!! small plane I guess!! |
Sep 8 2015, 06:19 PM
QUOTE(DrPitchard @ Sep 8 2015, 05:58 PM) Bro, quick question I have for you. I just got my Silver this year and now targeting to make it into Gold by year end. From 1st Jan-31st Dec next year, I will still maintain my membership status (Silver or Gold), right? It is during 2016 that I will need to achieve the min number of flights/mileage so that it will continue to roll on onto 2017. Correct? Yes, correct. If you being upgraded to Gold, letsay by Dec 2015, You will continue with that tier till Dec 2016 or early 2017. |
Sep 8 2015, 06:26 PM
Sep 9 2015, 08:32 AM
1,702 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Farmer River |
QUOTE(DrPitchard @ Sep 8 2015, 12:53 PM) Well, more importantly, Enrich Silver doesn't give you the privilege access to Golden Lounge leh, only Gold and Platinum can access. Just got my Silver card, only benefit is the 'premium' check-in for luggage and also on-boarding. Nothing else significant. also 40kg check-in baggage allowance |
Sep 9 2015, 01:44 PM
Sep 9 2015, 02:06 PM
Sep 10 2015, 12:02 PM
3,615 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
QUOTE(maiself @ Sep 8 2015, 04:07 PM) I just used that 20% promo to redeemed 2 return tickets to Paris next week. Only Eco class though.. Business class seats all taken..!! small plane I guess!! I'm seriously thinking of doing the same, but I can't justify paying RM1k for fuel surcharge and airport tax when a normal economy return ticket on the mid eastern airlines are roughly RM2.1k...Enjoy your trip to Paris! |
Sep 10 2015, 12:09 PM
219 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
Hi guys, I just redeemed tickets to BKK with miles. However, i have no idea how the 20% online redemption rebate works.
1. is the point shown in the flight selection after 20% rebate? |
Sep 10 2015, 02:03 PM
QUOTE(0hmyg0d @ Sep 10 2015, 12:09 PM) Hi guys, I just redeemed tickets to BKK with miles. However, i have no idea how the 20% online redemption rebate works. Yes if you book online the points showed is after whatever automatic discounts.1. is the point shown in the flight selection after 20% rebate? |
Sep 10 2015, 02:37 PM
1,702 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Farmer River |
Sep 10 2015, 03:47 PM
QUOTE(tishaban @ Sep 10 2015, 12:02 PM) I'm seriously thinking of doing the same, but I can't justify paying RM1k for fuel surcharge and airport tax when a normal economy return ticket on the mid eastern airlines are roughly RM2.1k... Yeap.... I thought the same way too.. 120k miles for 2 return tickets. and yesterday my partner updated me she cannot follow me to Paris as she need to be in Japan.. Enjoy your trip to Paris! burned my 60k points for nothing.. hahahaha QUOTE(herc @ Sep 10 2015, 02:37 PM) |
Sep 11 2015, 02:59 AM
8,601 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
QUOTE(maiself @ Sep 8 2015, 04:07 PM) I just used that 20% promo to redeemed 2 return tickets to Paris next week. Only Eco class though.. Business class seats all taken..!! small plane I guess!! One must be damn lucky if he/she can get a Business Class ticket to Paris for 63750 EM one way (standard 15% discount) to Paris a week before departing.And seriously, if want to fly to Paris on Economy, better just pay for the damn ticket and save the Enrich Miles for another day to redeem for Business Class ticket. Last week I checked, return ticket to London or Paris on Economy less than RM3K. Multi-City ticket KL>London and Paris to KL also less than RM2K and cheaper than KL/London return. I have given examples in my blog several times that it is not worthwhile to redeem for Economy Class tickets. The only time it may be worthwhile to redeem Economy Class is when all the Promo and MH Basic tickets are sold out and you need to be someone urgently and left with the MH Flex option. I posted below at my Facebook page on 24 Aug 2015:- Actually I just booked my ticket to London with Malaysia Airlines, and of course on Business Class - and it's FREE, complimentary from Maybank once again. You see, I am following my cousin who is starting Uni over there. Two weeks ago I checked, from mid September, we could still get a one way Business Class ticket KL to London for 63,750 Enrich Miles. But since last week, A Level results were out and most of the students now know if they got accepted into the University of their choice and would have started booking their tickets to UK. But today I checked, after mid-September, one would need minimum twice the Enrich Miles - i.e. 127,500 for a one way ticket, certain dates you need 212,000 Enrich Miles (EM)! Luckily my cousin wants to go over 1 week before his orientation, so his dad and him managed to get Business Class tickets to London at 63,750 one way just before mid-September 2015. Immediately after they booked, I log in to my Enrich Account and wanted to book the same flight, BUT I needed double the Enrich Miles (127,500) for the same one way ticket! So I tried a day early and luckily there is still a Business Class ticket to London for 63,750 EM. As for the return trip, I managed to get a ticket back for just 63,750 EM (before 25 September, after this date, need more EM). So, in total, I used up 127,500 EM for the return trip KL/London. In other words, if you want to redeem Business Class ticket, it is best you book early, at least 1 month before your desired departure date else you may end up needing to burn up more Enrich Miles for the same flight to wherever your destination may be. This post has been edited by Gen-X: Sep 11 2015, 03:20 AM |
Sep 11 2015, 07:05 PM
57 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
There might be hope yet for Enrich Miles but in 2 years' time:
Malaysia Airlines has signed an agreement to lease four A350-900s. The aircraft will be delivered between the fourth quarter of 2017 and the second quarter of 2018. The deal with Air Lease Corporation also includes an option to lease two additional A350-900s and two A330-900 neo aircraft. http://www.businesstraveller.com/news/1020...-four-a350-900s |
Sep 11 2015, 09:13 PM
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 11 2015, 02:59 AM) One must be damn lucky if he/she can get a Business Class ticket to Paris for 63750 EM one way (standard 15% discount) to Paris a week before departing. Its true. Its better to redeem Business Class ticket rather than Economy. But Im not worry much about Enrich points as I'm flying to Europe almost every months and collecting average of 80k - 150k Miles per month.And seriously, if want to fly to Paris on Economy, better just pay for the damn ticket and save the Enrich Miles for another day to redeem for Business Class ticket. Last week I checked, return ticket to London or Paris on Economy less than RM3K. Multi-City ticket KL>London and Paris to KL also less than RM2K and cheaper than KL/London return. I have given examples in my blog several times that it is not worthwhile to redeem for Economy Class tickets. The only time it may be worthwhile to redeem Economy Class is when all the Promo and MH Basic tickets are sold out and you need to be someone urgently and left with the MH Flex option. I posted below at my Facebook page on 24 Aug 2015:- Actually I just booked my ticket to London with Malaysia Airlines, and of course on Business Class - and it's FREE, complimentary from Maybank once again. You see, I am following my cousin who is starting Uni over there. Two weeks ago I checked, from mid September, we could still get a one way Business Class ticket KL to London for 63,750 Enrich Miles. But since last week, A Level results were out and most of the students now know if they got accepted into the University of their choice and would have started booking their tickets to UK. But today I checked, after mid-September, one would need minimum twice the Enrich Miles - i.e. 127,500 for a one way ticket, certain dates you need 212,000 Enrich Miles (EM)! Luckily my cousin wants to go over 1 week before his orientation, so his dad and him managed to get Business Class tickets to London at 63,750 one way just before mid-September 2015. Immediately after they booked, I log in to my Enrich Account and wanted to book the same flight, BUT I needed double the Enrich Miles (127,500) for the same one way ticket! So I tried a day early and luckily there is still a Business Class ticket to London for 63,750 EM. As for the return trip, I managed to get a ticket back for just 63,750 EM (before 25 September, after this date, need more EM). So, in total, I used up 127,500 EM for the return trip KL/London. In other words, if you want to redeem Business Class ticket, it is best you book early, at least 1 month before your desired departure date else you may end up needing to burn up more Enrich Miles for the same flight to wherever your destination may be. Due to my part time business nature, I only able to decide 1-2 weeks before departure.. and its better to Pay RM1k + 60k points for return tickets rather than 3k-4k To maintain my Enrich Gold tier, I will make sure to fly at least 5 times a year (Europe) with MHSmart fare & upgraded it to Business with 40k(previously 35k) for 1 way. Its good for you to get Business Class for 67k to London, I was in London 4 weeks ago and my return flight fare around RM5k + 80k enrich points to upgrade to Business.. (less than 2 weeks decision |
Sep 11 2015, 11:21 PM
8,601 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
QUOTE(maiself @ Sep 11 2015, 09:13 PM) Its true. Its better to redeem Business Class ticket rather than Economy. But Im not worry much about Enrich points as I'm flying to Europe almost every months and collecting average of 80k - 150k Miles per month. Bro, I can never qualify for even Enrich Silver since I only fly with MAB on Business Class using the Enrich Miles converted from my credit cards reward points, hahaha.Due to my part time business nature, I only able to decide 1-2 weeks before departure.. and its better to Pay RM1k + 60k points for return tickets rather than 3k-4kĀ To maintain my Enrich Gold tier, I will make sure to fly at least 5 times a year (Europe) with MHSmart fare & upgraded it to Business with 40k(previously 35k) for 1 way. Its good for you to get Business Class for 67k to London, I was in London 4 weeks ago and my return flight fare around RM5k + 80k enrich points to upgrade to Business.. (less than 2 weeks decisionĀ Talking about buying economy class and then upgrading, my uncle once upgraded her daughter's ticket to business class with his Enrich Miles and then had to call MAS to have her daughter's Enrich Mile credited into her account after her flight for the economy ticket which was paid in full. It seem MAS did not credit the Enrich Miles for the economy ticket. Have you faced similar matter? One more thing, you paid RM5K for return economy class ticket to London. I checked British Airways Premium Economy class return ticket to London few times and it cost around RM5K (not last minute booking but maybe like 3 months ahead). Have you ever flew to London with BA Premium Economy Class? If yes, would appreciate your comments. Anyone here knows if we can use our Enrich Miles for BA Premium Economy? If yes how many Enrich Miles required to London. I know we only need slightly a bit more Enrich Miles for the BA Business class versus MAB Business Class to London. This post has been edited by Gen-X: Sep 11 2015, 11:23 PM |
Sep 12 2015, 11:35 PM
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 11 2015, 11:21 PM) Anyone here knows if we can use our Enrich Miles for BA Premium Economy? If yes how many Enrich Miles required to London. I know we only need slightly a bit more Enrich Miles for the BA Business class versus MAB Business Class to London. It's not stated in the Enrich redemption chart meaning it's not possible for now to redeem for premium economy.If you have Citibank points you can transfer them to Avios which allows redemption for BA Premium Economy seats although as you know Citibank is nowhere near Maybank in terms of earning miles. 45k miles for one way premium economy KUL-LHR btw. |
Sep 12 2015, 11:37 PM
QUOTE(maiself @ Sep 11 2015, 09:13 PM) Its true. Its better to redeem Business Class ticket rather than Economy. But Im not worry much about Enrich points as I'm flying to Europe almost every months and collecting average of 80k - 150k Miles per month. If you're actually earning miles by flying, why not park those miles you earn from flying MH on a better oneworld partner eg. AAdvantage miles? I personally love AAdvantage, have earned a lot over the years as well. Better in this case is better options for last minute redemptions on partners eg. JL or CX and lower redemption rates. |
| Change to: | 0.0227sec
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 02:30 AM |