126 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Bottom

Monk Discussion V4, guides, opinions and builds for Monk!

yuhhaur
post Dec 26 2012, 04:38 PM

I came. I saw. I help
3,757 posts

QUOTE(2890 @ Dec 26 2012, 04:36 PM)
^ I think is not about dropping the skill but to dependent less on it. That skill imo is ideally for oh shit moments.

I think serenity is kinda identical to smokescreen. It makes you a lazy player.
yup, but the difference is that SS is for running n kite, while serenity is for immunity and stay on tanking (with little kiting, of course), just refer to cow's video, most of the time he serenity and stay there to hit instead of running away.
qicquser
post Dec 26 2012, 04:39 PM

^ I think is not about dropping the skill but to dependent less on it. That skill imo is ideally for oh shit moments.

Not even close. Smokescreen can be spammed for good 10-15 secs with huge discipline pool and regens from nightstalker (i'm not sure if i got the correct skill name). serenity can only save u for 4 secs.
fallenking
post Dec 26 2012, 04:40 PM

39 posts

yaa..serenity is more less like DH smokescreen..but it juz sumthing that delay ur death..rofl..biggrin.gif..but serenity is undeniably good..but it make us feel safe and satisfy enuff with current setup..for example.."Oh i will not die..i got serenity"..then u use ur serenity and was on CD and like oh shit, im dead im dead..hahahah..i juz want to be less dependable on it
yuhhaur
post Dec 26 2012, 04:42 PM

I came. I saw. I help
3,757 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Dec 26 2012, 04:38 PM)
speaking of TGP, i was using it with you since i can benefit from your MOE.

but i realized after going back to solo doing belial, f***er is 2 shotting me if i am not dodging without resolve (which requires 3-4 hit to kill me, and before 3 hit ever lands assume i wont dodge, my LS or life glove is enough to recover me back up)

funny how i never viewed resolve being that critical and just used it all the time because i was comfortable with it back since my tanking days.

and despite nerf, to me it is a day/night difference in mp5 belial fight (1 being effortless faceroll, while the other being a few retries)
haha, I never expect that I die more often than you that time. Long time didn't tank Belial.
gladfly

579 posts

+1

SPOT ON.

Serenity while is a "get out of jail free card"..but makes you wanna commit the crime more often than not.

Anyways, MP10 Ghom is not a good benchmark if you wanna drop serenity, the gas is nothing compared with what some E can deal...molten/electricfied/fast/decre comes to mind. If you can face tank that..then ok..cukup makan liao.

p.s I still dont get why descre is classed as Physical damage..I mean its fire burning under the feet right...???
SUS2890

146 posts

^ What i meant was doesn't it make you lazy when you know you have a skill there that can bail you out?

Last time when i see frozen affixes i just ignore. Freeze me and i'll pop SS to bail me out and continue whacking (so yeah, SS is used to whack also). Now, i gotta vault out before the timer expires.

Serenity 4sec? lol kena nerf ka? last time 7sec. Sorry no idea on monks.

TSQuazacolt
post Dec 26 2012, 04:43 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(yuhhaur @ Dec 26 2012, 04:38 PM)
yup, but the difference is that SS is for running n kite, while serenity is for immunity and stay on tanking (with little kiting, of course), just refer to cow's video, most of the time he serenity and stay there to hit instead of running away.
actually SS is more of an immunity than serenity. SS drops aggro completely at the same time while you nullify damage. Serenity still holds aggro and you merely absorbs dmg + ignore status ailments.

examples of differences:
if you're surrounded by baddies and you cant move out: after pop serenity and you still failed to clear your way out, you're going to die.
for SS, aggro is dropped (good if you have a follower/ally around to draw aggro) and you can *PROBABLY* move out

Added on December 26, 2012, 4:44 pm
QUOTE(yuhhaur @ Dec 26 2012, 04:42 PM)
haha, I never expect that I die more often than you that time. Long time didn't tank Belial.
you were lagging no? 1st death i also lagged as on my screen i die from taking nothing (moved away from green explosion laugh.gif)

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Dec 26 2012, 04:44 PM
yuhhaur
post Dec 26 2012, 04:51 PM

I came. I saw. I help
3,757 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Dec 26 2012, 04:43 PM)

you were lagging no? 1st death i also lagged as on my screen i die from taking nothing (moved away from green explosion laugh.gif)
sadly but no doh.gif my connection are good throughout.

Please let me admit is was my bad tongue.gif
gladfly
post Dec 26 2012, 04:52 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Dec 26 2012, 04:43 PM)
actually SS is more of an immunity than serenity. SS drops aggro completely at the same time while you nullify damage. Serenity still holds aggro and you merely absorbs dmg + ignore status ailments.

examples of differences:
if you're surrounded by baddies and you cant move out: after pop serenity and you still failed to clear your way out, you're going to die.
for SS, aggro is dropped (good if you have a follower/ally around to draw aggro) and you can *PROBABLY* move out

Added on December 26, 2012, 4:44 pm

True. But SS doesnt absorb damage hence non dodgeable damage is going to kill you even with SS on. (I dont know if RD can be nullified with SS since its not dodgeable now). Hence the extra difference there.

Quaza, how is resolve doing with you? I dropped it in place for Beacon after I read it works only on the mob that you hit and not AOE. Thinking of putting it back on at Higher MP during key farming. (MP8-9)
TSQuazacolt
post Dec 26 2012, 04:54 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(yuhhaur @ Dec 26 2012, 04:51 PM)
Please let me admit is was my bad tongue.gif
lol if you say so la XD
MOBAJOBG
post Dec 26 2012, 04:59 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(2890 @ Dec 26 2012, 04:08 PM)
i never play with barbs. Sorry but i'm just that bias.

I normally play with a Cm wiz.
Sorry, I should have said it as ..Well, try to roll an OP char (hint: a barb) to play in mp10 and you might be surprised.

I don't know but it seems very clear to me that my barb (just reached P58 yesterday) has always been lucky to pick up awesome loot drops and also, plenty of mid to great ones too. My other chars are not so lucky, though.

This post has been edited by MOBAJOBG: Dec 26 2012, 05:01 PM
TSQuazacolt
post Dec 26 2012, 05:00 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(gladfly @ Dec 26 2012, 04:52 PM)
True. But SS doesnt absorb damage hence non dodgeable damage is going to kill you even with SS on. (I dont know if RD can be nullified with SS since its not dodgeable now). Hence the extra difference there.

Quaza, how is resolve doing with you? I dropped it in place for Beacon after I read it works only on the mob that you hit and not AOE. Thinking of putting it back on at Higher MP during key farming. (MP8-9)
AFAIK SS nullifies all dmg la
because i know all the lazy DHs that havent switched to gloom (or run both SS and gloom) just SS on RD damage lol.

so ALL IN ALL SS > serenity by a long shot. (more so if you still run legacy nat for that stupid disc regen sweat.gif )

anyways for resolve, its pretty nice. belial in mp5/6 deals about 30k+ per slam with me having ~550 AR and about 5.8k armor
resolve basically -20% that (or his actual dmg -20% before taking account of my DR, can't be bothered on the actual math so help me dig that one out la XD) and he deals ~15-20k instead.
i got 28/29k hp.

TBH, if your gear is great id reckon you're better off with something that you can scale better with. resolve will never scale as it is scaling based off monster's raw damage. (unless you mean mp2 deals more dmg than mp1, and -20% = more dmg reduced = scaling, lol)

AFAIK it helps on AOE too though i havent got the time to go find some imps to verify lol. too busy getting angry at KWs never dropping keys lol. (when i get to play anyways)
as for belial, it's pretty clear cut he's alone and it definitely works XD
SUS2890
post Dec 26 2012, 05:04 PM

146 posts

QUOTE(MOBAJOBG @ Dec 26 2012, 04:59 PM)
Sorry, I should have said it as ..Well, try to roll an OP char (hint: a barb) to play in mp10 and you might be surprised.

I don't know but it seems very clear to me that my barb (just reached P58 yesterday) has always been lucky to pick up awesome loot drops and also, plenty of mid to great ones too. My other chars are not so lucky, though.
Man after how i bash barbs, u advising me to roll a barb? over my dead DH body man. LOL. XD
yuhhaur
post Dec 26 2012, 05:07 PM

I came. I saw. I help
3,757 posts

QUOTE(gladfly @ Dec 26 2012, 04:52 PM)
my view: if you can't dodge, you kite (diss pool, molton, plague, arcane), if you can dodge, you don't need to resolve. I was once tried to pump dodge up to 70% and with MoE Backlash, I survive well (basing on the death count & the sparkles from the backlash).

Added on December 26, 2012, 5:09 pm25% damage reduction is nothing if your ehp is in the manner that the mobs can 1-2shotted you.

Added on December 26, 2012, 5:10 pmtry to play with TGP+six sense passive + MoE and experience it yourself

This post has been edited by yuhhaur: Dec 26 2012, 05:10 PM
MOBAJOBG
post Dec 26 2012, 05:13 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(2890 @ Dec 26 2012, 05:04 PM)
Man after how i bash barbs, u advising me to roll a barb? over my dead DH body man. LOL. XD
I believe that every char is best in its own right and I do my best to capitalise on their strength.

As for me, barb is for farming loot drops that gives me serious amount of gold ...monk for joining coop games ...hopefully dh for pvp duties.

This post has been edited by MOBAJOBG: Dec 26 2012, 05:15 PM
waklu
post Dec 26 2012, 05:14 PM

70 posts

just when i complaint about RNG.. this drops..

but...sure shi**y roll..aiyaa

This post has been edited by waklu: Dec 26 2012, 05:15 PM
SUS2890
post Dec 26 2012, 05:15 PM

146 posts

Can anyone here tank MP10 azmodan fireball?

This post has been edited by 2890: Dec 26 2012, 05:17 PM
yuhhaur
post Dec 26 2012, 05:16 PM

I came. I saw. I help
3,757 posts

QUOTE(2890 @ Dec 26 2012, 05:15 PM)
Can anyone here tank MP10 azmodan fireball here?
blood pool is more deadly if we are talking about facetank. fireball can be dodge.

Hey, I have not visit azz mp10 for a long time since when I was 65k dps. tonite i go check it out.
SUS2890
post Dec 26 2012, 05:18 PM

146 posts

QUOTE(yuhhaur @ Dec 26 2012, 05:16 PM)
blood pool is more deadly if we are talking about facetank. fireball can be dodge.

Hey, I have not visit azz mp10 for a long time since when I was 65k dps. tonite i go check it out.
Really? I think the fireball hits harder.
MOBAJOBG
post Dec 26 2012, 05:18 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(yuhhaur @ Dec 26 2012, 05:16 PM)

My monk has never met Azmo before in mp10, hehehe.

126 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top

0.0266sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 02:35 AM