127 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Bottom

Maxis Maxis 3G/HS 4G Thread V8 (Not WBB), It's time for LTE now :p

digilife
post Dec 20 2012, 10:39 AM

The MNP guy, its me yeah.
8,025 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Dec 20 2012, 10:06 AM)
That booster is really g*y  shocking.gif
the user shown me his signal detector too , i will try to retrieve it and show you guys, duno where his PM gone, have to search my few hunderds PM that i never delete, you knoe la, our stars studded old kok members have such a big PM box rclxub.gif
steventan85
post Dec 20 2012, 11:08 AM

6,447 posts

anyone use Sierra 320U with maxis bb ? i cant connect to maxis , with the power light keep blinking amber.... anyone encounter that before?
TSblacktubi
post Dec 20 2012, 11:38 AM

-
8,416 posts

QUOTE(steventan85 @ Dec 20 2012, 11:08 AM)
anyone use Sierra 320U with maxis bb ? i cant connect to maxis , with the power light keep blinking amber.... anyone encounter that before?
Sim card slot serial connector to PCB loosen, need to open case and do some modification

Added on December 20, 2012, 11:39 am
QUOTE(0168257061 @ Dec 20 2012, 09:00 AM)
Hehe, edi configed to 2100 only.
Updated firmware.

Now i use the "CD method" as you provided in the link, RSSI improved from -93 go to -83
speed also faster.
Oh ya one thing I notice is my connection sometimes keep changing when Idle.
for example from DC-HSPA drop to WCDMA, and the LED color also changing from cyan to blue.
Is that the problem that I always connected to diff cell ?
Every modem is like this icon_rolleyes.gif

It is known as power saving aka reduce the modem's load and temperature

It only switch to DC-HSPA+ when under high load

Added on December 20, 2012, 11:40 am
QUOTE(alucard89 @ Dec 20 2012, 08:45 AM)
Oh wow, is it really that bad?
Any other MiFi you can recommend?
Got

A portable 3G router smile.gif

This post has been edited by blacktubi: Dec 20 2012, 11:40 AM
steventan85
post Dec 20 2012, 11:43 AM

6,447 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Dec 20 2012, 11:38 AM)
Sim card slot serial connector to PCB loosen, need to open case and do some modification

Added on December 20, 2012, 11:39 am
Every modem is like this icon_rolleyes.gif

It is known as power saving aka reduce the modem's load and temperature

It only switch to DC-HSPA+ when under high load

Added on December 20, 2012, 11:40 am
Got

A portable 3G router smile.gif
wow.... sifu is here... bro , i post to u and u get it done for me can ? how much u charge ?
TSblacktubi
post Dec 20 2012, 11:46 AM

-
8,416 posts

QUOTE(steventan85 @ Dec 20 2012, 11:43 AM)
wow.... sifu is here... bro , i post to u and u get it done for me can ? how much u charge ?
You pay the postage tongue.gif

You can do it too, later if tonight I am free I post a guide

But if the issue is caused by damaged sim slot then sorry to you no solution, as SIM module never sell separately sad.gif
steventan85
post Dec 20 2012, 11:57 AM

6,447 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Dec 20 2012, 11:46 AM)

But if the issue is caused by damaged sim slot then sorry to you no solution, as SIM module never sell separately sad.gif
i banked in to u for a new Sierra 320U juz now . can u hold the postage 1st ? let me try tonight , if cannot , then u post a new 1 to me can ? sad.gif

i tot the modem totally kong liao...
TSblacktubi
post Dec 20 2012, 12:01 PM

-
8,416 posts

QUOTE(steventan85 @ Dec 20 2012, 11:57 AM)
i banked in to u for a new Sierra 320U juz now . can u hold the postage 1st ? let me try tonight , if cannot , then u post a new 1 to me can ? sad.gif

i tot the modem totally kong liao...
No problem biggrin.gif

The 2 screws are hidden under the sticker

WAIT : If still under warranty, just claim it nod.gif
steventan85
post Dec 20 2012, 12:07 PM

6,447 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Dec 20 2012, 12:01 PM)
No problem biggrin.gif

The 2 screws are hidden under the sticker

WAIT : If still under warranty, just claim it nod.gif
extremely appreciate for that . notworthy.gif

i bought it during my china visitation...no warranty 1... cry.gif cry.gif
greenlp_87
post Dec 20 2012, 12:13 PM

3,150 posts

QUOTE(steventan85 @ Dec 20 2012, 11:08 AM)
mcm kenal je..hehe...still blinking r the modem?
M1X
post Dec 20 2012, 12:59 PM

2,334 posts

I read about Maxis upgraded East Malaysia's 3G to DC HSPA+ 42mbps something, anyone can confirm the speed you get (if you have high end enough modem)? In city with my currently limited 7.2mbps modem hit the limit already. If able to get greater speed with significant advantage, I might consider buy a new modem...

This post has been edited by M1X: Dec 20 2012, 01:00 PM
greenlp_87
post Dec 20 2012, 01:02 PM

3,150 posts

QUOTE(M1X @ Dec 20 2012, 12:59 PM)
I read about Maxis upgraded East Malaysia's 3G to DC HSPA+ 42mbps something, anyone can confirm the speed you get (if you have high end enough modem)? In city with my currently limited 7.2mbps modem hit the limit already. If able to get greater speed with significant advantage, I might consider buy a new modem...

the siggy below tells everything..using e372 maxis modem live in shah alam can boost more speed...if get better signal and less congested tower sure u can get nice speed with high end modem.. biggrin.gif
wavezard
post Dec 20 2012, 01:05 PM

394 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Dec 20 2012, 10:39 AM)
the user shown me his signal detector too , i will try to retrieve it and show you guys, duno where his PM gone, have to search my few hunderds PM that i never delete, you knoe la, our stars studded old kok members have such a big PM box  rclxub.gif
hey digilife, i found someone selling used draytek vigor 2130n for only xxx..pm me brows.gif brows.gif
dont create new pm...as my pm almost full

ps: why does my post count not increasing? does this thread not count?

This post has been edited by wavezard: Dec 20 2012, 01:06 PM
steventan85
post Dec 20 2012, 04:51 PM

6,447 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Dec 20 2012, 11:46 AM)

bro , juz need to open the casing , unscrew the 2 screw , and tighten up the loose part ?

did the casing attached with wiring or anything ? notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
pandera999
post Dec 20 2012, 05:54 PM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Dec 20 2012, 09:48 AM)
Good thing abt E372 is that you can use MDMA ( V11~latest) to chk your area's signal (RSSI) and also your Cell ID.

With this info on hand, you can knoe exactly where to place the modem to get better signal , by using an extension usb (USB3.0 better) cable. A TP Link MR3420 would be much better as the Router will sufficiently power the Cable  and Modem with 1A of electrical power ( if via usb port of the pc/lappie ~ 0.5A only)

Your current MiFi is power by battery, the lower the battery the signal will degrade , hence the speed sucks.

In areas where signal is not that good, esp East Malaysia, MiFi is not suitable because the signal is not as strong like some Metro areas of West Malaysia , namely Muntri st Area ( Penang ) PJ area ( Selangor) Dengkil/Nilai ( Near Putrajaya) and ofcourse Putrajaya itself. What more a MiFi's battery will slowly degrade as usage gets longer hence the signal also degrade and speed plunge.

E372 have antenna port to accept External Antenna to boost up the signal, you can use a Panel Antenna to get better signal/speed. Its easier to use compared to a Yagi where you have to point directly to the Tower location. I know a case where the user use an Antenna Signal booster to s"suck" signal 20KM from the tower, He spent a few thousands to acquired the relevant equipment because if not he would have to drive 25KM from his home to have internet access  and you knoe those roads in East Malaysia kampong is not that good too........
o.. like dat... thanks ya.. i learn a lot.. since mxs give me dat modem.. i gt bad feeling.. modem use battery... doh.gif but cant take dat 42mbps.. i oso 4gt to ask., wther can have that modem or x, instead using E5331

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Dec 20 2012, 10:06 AM)
That booster is really g*y  shocking.gif
hahaha sweat.gif
garytey
post Dec 20 2012, 06:26 PM

948 posts

maxis did improve, from 8 to 10

mel5582
post Dec 20 2012, 08:52 PM

None
777 posts

Yeah, it did improve a lot biggrin.gif

raizo7
post Dec 20 2012, 09:18 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(mel5582 @ Dec 20 2012, 08:52 PM)
Yeah, it did improve a lot biggrin.gif
ok this is too much sweat.gif
I want it too!!!!
mel5582
post Dec 20 2012, 09:22 PM

None
777 posts

OK I did cheat a bit.. 20Mbps is Unifi.. but managed to get 40Mbps from Maxis.. so I'm really happy! biggrin.gif
post Dec 20 2012, 09:43 PM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

QUOTE(mel5582 @ Dec 20 2012, 09:22 PM)
OK I did cheat a bit.. 20Mbps is Unifi.. but managed to get 40Mbps from Maxis.. so I'm really happy! biggrin.gif
40MB from Maxis ? shocking.gif

noobandroid
post Dec 20 2012, 10:15 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

my maxis recently is quite slow and i wonder why..

127 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0274sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 08:08 AM