Maxis Maxis 3G/HS 4G Thread V8 (Not WBB), It's time for LTE now :p

TSblacktubi
post Dec 14 2012, 09:47 AM, updated 13y ago

-
8,409 posts

Hi, welcome to this thread! wave.gif Before you start posting on this thread, please spare a minute to read the below message. Thanks. biggrin.gif

You can:
  • Discuss about phone/modem/settings for Maxis 3G/HS 3G.
  • Comment about Maxis 3G/HS 3G.
  • Ask for opinions on Maxis 3G/HS 3G.
You can't:
  • Discuss about piracy or illegal contents.
  • Request forummers to rent out their SIM cards here, this is not a trading platform.
  • Offer to rent out your SIM cards to forummers here, this is not a trading platform.
REMINDER:
  • This package is already a discontinued plan, hence you will not be able to sign up as new subscribers.
  • Still, it's the best for you to check with Maxis if this plan is still allowable for now. We are not liable for any misinformation as we are not working for Maxis.
  • This is NOT Maxis Wireless Broadband thread! There is a separate Maxis WBB thread on this section. Check it out.
  • Until today nobody knows if the so-called corporate plan is really unlimited. So, in the mean time the Biz 68 subscribers can post here.
  • Whatever SKMM or anything besides this plan, please bring your discussion to the dedicated threads.

This post has been edited by blacktubi: Dec 31 2012, 11:07 PM
TSblacktubi
post Dec 14 2012, 09:49 AM

-
8,409 posts

Before you rant about your slow speed to Maxis Customer Care, please be reminded that speed is affected by few factors:

1) Your device:
-You can't expect it to have 20Mbps when your modem's capability is just running max up to 7.2Mbps.
-You might be having a faulty modem, try switching your SIM card with other modems

2) Your signal coverage:
-If you are not within DC-HSPA+ coverage, then don't expect to have 20Mbps of speed. Be contented with just probably 5Mbps speed, that's probably what your tower is capable of. I know someone who was already running in joy though he only gets 2Mbps on his Maxis. Yes, he is in Mukah, Sarawak.

3) Congested with other users:
-If you are unlucky and you live in an area where there are a lot of similar users like you, be prepared with network congestion. Everyone is fighting with you. Though you might be living in a non-urbanized area, that doesn't mean your area will have good speed. All telco providers will do survey first before doing bandwidth allocation, if you area has low density of users, they will not allocate more speed to that tower. So can't do much thing about this.

4) Timing:
-Avoid performing download activities during golden hours (7-11 p.m.), this is the period where those working folks are back to home and start jamming the line. Be considerate with others. You could queue your downloads to start only after midnight when they go to bed. smile.gif

5) QoS:
-Check your QoS first, it could be your area is only capped to 2480/2480. sweat.gif

OK, after checking through the above steps and you are still very sure that something is wrong with your connection and tower. Login to your Twitter account and start tweeting the Maxis CS. Follow them @MaxisListens and they could respond to you quite swiftly. Lastly, be patient and they will fix your issue soon!

Before I forget, I think it is worth mentioning here that Maxis blocks P2P port in order to provide better speed to other users. Let's not forget there are other needy users out there depending on this connection to do their work and etc. So, don't hog the connection with your P2P activities. The port will only be opened at 1.00 a.m. - 7.00 a.m. or 3.00 a.m. - 7.00 a.m., depending on your area. So, plan your download activities wisely.

Of course this can be solved with VPN or SeedBox but I'll not further drill into this part. Check out yourself and don't ask me or us how to bypass it.

-Credits to fruitie for the info posted above.
TSblacktubi
post Dec 14 2012, 09:49 AM

-
8,409 posts

For more tips and guide, please head towards the 3G all in one guide and tips thread.

This post has been edited by blacktubi: Jan 5 2013, 03:58 PM
TSblacktubi
post Dec 14 2012, 10:04 AM

-
8,409 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Dec 14 2012, 09:57 AM)
Lipoting in in.
You use E398 on the NSE?

If no jam, no one will built highway anymore. The more Jams the more Highways will be built. Same if Maxis network is fine and well, no one will buy Antennas and Better Modems anymore, so its a blessings in disguise for you if Maxis sucks. laugh.gif  laugh.gif

Btw, you have taken over the Best Modem and Antenna seller Category in LYN with your strategy  icon_idea.gif  notworthy.gif
Another speedtest for you tongue.gif

I should say my big boss is the ever so congested Maxis and fellow Maxis agents icon_idea.gif If Maxis is fine like those telco in SG, even a E367 able to 20Mbps drool.gif

Thanks for those who purchased their modem from me and support me as always. Will bring in more nice stuff at a nice affordable price. notworthy.gif
TSblacktubi
post Dec 14 2012, 10:22 AM

-
8,409 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Dec 14 2012, 10:12 AM)
Bro, I PM-ed you, pls reply ~ thanks

FYI, YES changed its entire IP string, LTE is on trial run now and even my YES is much better in this sucky YES area

before this "upgrade" i can only manage best 4Mbps
No network just now, time to vroom vroom no jam anymore

I am still very satisfied with my amazing UM drool.gif

I guess the technical team forget to load balance so I am able to get amazing speed

I guess later I should scan LTE to see if I found any hmm.gif
TSblacktubi
post Dec 15 2012, 09:45 PM

-
8,409 posts

QUOTE(memoOonsta @ Dec 15 2012, 02:06 PM)
lipoting in  tongue.gif

i have few question here :

1. is it safe to tweak tx power more than 26?
2. what is the best apn for maxis unlimited ?..unet bbnet?
E398 TX 20 only yet pawn every modem here smile.gif

I never try TX 33 tongue.gif
TSblacktubi
post Dec 15 2012, 10:40 PM

-
8,409 posts

QUOTE(yang00 @ Dec 15 2012, 10:30 PM)
hi guys , did anyone able to play flying spaghetti monster with their maxis bb ? any guide to play with it since i cant detect any game. thanks biggrin.gif
FYI, Maxis Broadband block P2P smile.gif
TSblacktubi
post Dec 15 2012, 11:13 PM

-
8,409 posts

QUOTE(yang00 @ Dec 15 2012, 10:50 PM)
so there is no any chance to access G A RE NA ? as i know last time Fiber cust to make a fuss that they cant play biggrin.gif
You tunnel your friend then no problem tongue.gif

Dota fan here tongue.gif
TSblacktubi
post Dec 15 2012, 11:21 PM

-
8,409 posts

QUOTE(memoOonsta @ Dec 15 2012, 11:17 PM)
i tried to  play dota2 using my bb..ping 400..cant play..laggish..using it to download and surf mainly..

imo, land line is still the best if you are into online gaming
Dota 2 is US server every ISP should can't play

Go Service Noticeboard and search for Gaming VPN then you will biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
TSblacktubi
post Dec 15 2012, 11:58 PM

-
8,409 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Dec 15 2012, 11:56 PM)
No crack here or you want to go for some holidays?
Man, dual panel doesn't work with me.
Now only single panel works. Tried switching between these two panels, no antenna is spoilt but only 1 panel works well. sleep.gif

Wanna sell it off soon if continues like this. laugh.gif
What is the issue? hmm.gif
TSblacktubi
post Dec 16 2012, 12:16 AM

-
8,409 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Dec 16 2012, 12:15 AM)
No difference. Sometimes dual panel slows down the speed.
Anyway, will further monitor. smile.gif
hmm.gif

Let me monitor about this issue too hmm.gif
TSblacktubi
post Dec 16 2012, 04:49 PM

-
8,409 posts

QUOTE(memoOonsta @ Dec 16 2012, 04:22 PM)
just got my dc hspa+ modem today..
overall perforamance is good except i keep having upload ( and dc problem)..
page takes time to request.. sad.gif ..test using sppedtest also..upload after to wait about 2 sec before it only start the test..  sad.gif

later will test at midnight see if there is any diff
What modem you use? hmm.gif

Such nice ping shouldn't get such bad UL

This post has been edited by blacktubi: Dec 16 2012, 04:49 PM
TSblacktubi
post Dec 16 2012, 05:32 PM

-
8,409 posts

QUOTE(memoOonsta @ Dec 16 2012, 05:08 PM)
siera 320u telstra
hmm.gif

Update to the latest firmware and customize it brows.gif

Might need Sierra sifu lwk to guide you here notworthy.gif
TSblacktubi
post Dec 16 2012, 06:30 PM

-
8,409 posts

QUOTE(zamanjaafar @ Dec 16 2012, 06:24 PM)
Users,

My area in Bentong, using prepaid Hotlink Broadband and E1762 yields a speed of 250kbps-1mbps most of the time, with highest maybe 1.5mbps but rare

If I use Maxis 3G postpaid package would there possibly be higher speed or is it probably my area tower is congested?  I live away from town in a Taman/kampung.

I dont have any 3G postpaid SIM to compare the speed.
Prepaid broadband is having a speed cap of 8640kbps.

Kampung is known for faster speed thanks to less congestion, refer Terengganu and Kelantan case.

What is your signal, diagnose through mdma

Links in WIKI thread
TSblacktubi
post Dec 16 2012, 11:17 PM

-
8,409 posts

QUOTE(vinn @ Dec 16 2012, 11:11 PM)
do not use sierra watcher as it is easy let u get dc from maxis. mobile broadband adapter may resolve ur issue. btw, wat's ur firmware version?
Upgrade latest from Sierra Website then use Aircard Watcher smile.gif

Telstra one is the worst dashboard.

Aircard watcher is okay in my case but I am wub.gif with my E398 tongue.gif
TSblacktubi
post Dec 17 2012, 02:48 PM

-
8,409 posts

QUOTE(ddr3 @ Dec 17 2012, 02:41 PM)
seeems like everyone ditch the E372 and move to E398 ald :'(
Bro, your siggy too long liao sad.gif
TSblacktubi
post Dec 17 2012, 10:13 PM

-
8,409 posts

QUOTE(mel5582 @ Dec 17 2012, 10:09 PM)
I'm thinking of using a radio loop antenna and connect it straight to the E398.. wondering if that will boost the signal better..
It might damage the modem if connect wrongly sad.gif

It wont work at all smile.gif

They operating on different frequency and spectrum
TSblacktubi
post Dec 18 2012, 07:54 AM

-
8,409 posts

QUOTE(r1nk @ Dec 18 2012, 05:31 AM)
its actually 8888 1st..xD

anyway, i did already but still cant open warez.bb site.. At home using streamyx i can bypass using this method, but now using broadband cant..=,=
it make no difference.
you can even use opendns for the primary and Google DNS for the secondary backup DNS
TSblacktubi
post Dec 18 2012, 08:27 AM

-
8,409 posts

QUOTE(greenlp_87 @ Dec 18 2012, 08:23 AM)
exactly...once u have change it reconnect n it can bypass the webpage that been block before..
I got a better solution biggrin.gif

Just launch CMD and issue the command below biggrin.gif

CODE
ipconfig /flushdns

TSblacktubi
post Dec 18 2012, 01:41 PM

-
8,409 posts

QUOTE(Hwoarang45 @ Dec 18 2012, 01:38 PM)
download using browser.. and ps3 using.. well ps3 haha..

is this normal in my area?
Unstable connection usually contributed by a bad signal.

Problem could be solved either by using an antenna or try to put your modem near the Window smile.gif

10 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0217sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 07:52 AM