The newbie guide to power supply units, Questions and comments are welcomed

babylon52281
post Apr 8 2023, 10:00 PM

2,673 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Apr 7 2023, 09:33 AM)
Who is the official distributor of Seasonic power supply in Malaysia? I saw Seasonic Vertex GX-1200 has stocks in Newegg..is it safe to buy there? Just wonder if there's any international warranty..
Anything bought outside of Msia will have to go back to seller for warranty. I doubt there is warranty coverage for bought in another country. If ur Murican bought it in Murica but spoiled in Msia, you might probably get some service locally.
Duckies
post Apr 10 2023, 09:31 AM

Rubber Ducky
9,789 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Apr 8 2023, 10:00 PM)
Anything bought outside of Msia will have to go back to seller for warranty. I doubt there is warranty coverage for bought in another country. If ur Murican bought it in Murica but spoiled in Msia, you might probably get some service locally.
Oh..like that better buy here. I'll wait for it.
targon
post Apr 10 2023, 02:34 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Apr 10 2023, 09:31 AM)
Oh..like that better buy here. I'll wait for it.
Wait for this

https://www.techpowerup.com/307029/fsp-laun...-power-supplies
Duckies
post Apr 10 2023, 02:35 PM

Rubber Ducky
9,789 posts

QUOTE(targon @ Apr 10 2023, 02:34 PM)
Ya this 1 also good. Any idea when coming?
babylon52281
post Apr 10 2023, 05:11 PM

2,673 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Apr 10 2023, 02:35 PM)
Ya this 1 also good. Any idea when coming?
Sun Cycle is FSP local distro. But few PC shops are official reseller, Viewnet, Dotatech, PCImage.. they might know or else can prebook for you.

This post has been edited by babylon52281: Apr 10 2023, 05:11 PM
AthrunIJ
post May 6 2023, 02:15 PM

2,992 posts

Hmm, need some feedback and info from sifu here.

Between MSI MPG ATX3.0 PCIE5 and Corsair Shift PSU.

Which would be preferred?

munchoong
post May 14 2023, 12:16 PM

414 posts

I am seriously considering the Corsair RM850X

It's more than enough to run my rig right?

Asus Prime X470 Pro
Ryzen 5 1600
Radeon RX6600XT
3pc 120mm fans
2pc 80mm fans
1pc 200mm fan
1 5.25" BD-ROM drive
1 5.25" card reader
1 3.5" mechanical drive
2 2.5" SATA SSD
yellowflashdude
post May 14 2023, 12:24 PM

105 posts

I currently have a 550w 80+ bronze psu. Planning to upgrade to a 4070 which doesn't draw more than 200w at load for gaming (based on benchmarking videos).
https://www.techpowerup.com/gpu-specs/geforce-rtx-4070.c3924

Please advise whether Im being stupid or not over this?
targon
post May 14 2023, 01:35 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(munchoong @ May 14 2023, 12:16 PM)
I am seriously considering the Corsair RM850X

It's more than enough to run my rig right?

Asus Prime X470 Pro
Ryzen 5 1600
Radeon RX6600XT
3pc 120mm fans
2pc 80mm fans
1pc 200mm fan
1 5.25" BD-ROM drive
1 5.25" card reader
1 3.5" mechanical drive
2 2.5" SATA SSD
Any 850 watt is hardly a sweat for your current hardware.
BTW, is about time u upgrade ur other components.
targon
post May 14 2023, 01:55 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(yellowflashdude @ May 14 2023, 12:24 PM)
I currently have a 550w 80+ bronze psu. Planning to upgrade to a 4070 which doesn't draw more than 200w at load for gaming (based on benchmarking videos).

depends on what psu u re using and its age and your other components.
That being said, u re treading on tight rope on that 550w.
If I m to buy a new Psu now, I will consider my hardware usage at least 5 years down the road.
Mid range GPU power consumption is about 200 - 300 W. and that's not including any transient power spikes.

PSU is the most misunderstood of all components. There are some ppl who thinks they can get by now by buying just enough wattage. Sooner or later it's the hardware requirements that will outrun them.
No harm for you to get a new 850 watts at least. It will service u for years to come.
babylon52281
post May 14 2023, 08:19 PM

2,673 posts

QUOTE(yellowflashdude @ May 14 2023, 12:24 PM)

Whats ur other specs? If you been running a 12900K and using the iGPU of course that 550W PSU faced no problems to date but add on that 4070 and you got BIG problem. Instead why not use a online PSU calculator to find out whats the safe wattage for ur needs?
yellowflashdude
post May 14 2023, 08:27 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(targon @ May 14 2023, 08:55 AM)
depends on what psu u re using and its age and your other components.
That being said, u re treading on tight rope on that 550w.
If I m to buy a new Psu now, I will consider my hardware usage at least 5 years down the road.
Mid range GPU power consumption is about 200 - 300 W. and that's not including any transient power spikes.

PSU is the most misunderstood of all components. There are some ppl who thinks they can get by now by buying just enough wattage. Sooner or later it's the hardware requirements that will outrun them.
No harm for you to get a new 850 watts at least. It will service u for years to come.
Yeah the 4070 seems like it draws similar amount of power as my 6650xt so I was thinking its just plug and play with my current PSU. I do plan to upgrade my PSU together with CPU in the future though. Im kinda prioritizing the GPU upgrade first.

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ May 14 2023, 03:19 PM)
Whats ur other specs? If you been running a 12900K and using the iGPU of course that 550W PSU faced no problems to date but add on that 4070 and you got BIG problem. Instead why not use a online PSU calculator to find out whats the safe wattage for ur needs?
Im currently using a 6650xt paired with ryzen 5 5500 cpu.

https://www.guru3d.com/articles_pages/gefor...0_review,5.html

If the above review is to be believed, the 4070 and 6650xt draws fairly similar amount of wattage

This post has been edited by yellowflashdude: May 14 2023, 08:34 PM
munchoong
post May 15 2023, 11:38 AM

414 posts

QUOTE(targon @ May 14 2023, 01:35 PM)
Any 850 watt is hardly a sweat for your current hardware.
BTW, is about time u upgrade ur other components.
Thanks for the confirmation. I have been eyeing the Corsair RM850X for awhile.

Actually this PC is new (to me)... only had it for less than 2 months. Barter trade with a Sega Megadrive.

I can get Brutal DOOM and eduke32 running at 4K60, and emulators like TeknoParrot and Supermodel can easily achieve 60fps on 1440p.

And PC games also limited to things like Streets of Rage 4 or TMNT: Shredder's Revenge, so this is more than enough horsepower for me smile.gif

This post has been edited by munchoong: May 15 2023, 11:49 AM
peter32
post Jun 2 2023, 10:33 PM

心旷神怡
1,162 posts

I am trying to build a workstation based on some chinese made dual CPU server motherboard. Two Xeon E5 2690 V2 will be used, will be running on one SSD and another M.2 SSD only. 128GB Ram will be used, but basic Graphic card only. No graphic intensive work will be done, but just for data crunching. MOBO will be the HUANANZHI X79-8D.
I am looking at PSU that provide two CPU power cable, and of course with budget in mind. This is my test project so I am learning.

Any suggestion on which PSU I should look at ? Again, budget sensitive here.

Thank you very much for all sifu.
jurkflash
post Jun 7 2023, 10:13 PM

97 posts

QUOTE(munchoong @ May 15 2023, 11:38 AM)
Thanks for the confirmation. I have been eyeing the Corsair RM850X for awhile.

Actually this PC is new (to me)... only had it for less than 2 months. Barter trade with a Sega Megadrive.

I can get Brutal DOOM and eduke32 running at 4K60, and emulators like TeknoParrot and Supermodel can easily achieve 60fps on 1440p.

And PC games also limited to things like Streets of Rage 4 or TMNT: Shredder's Revenge, so this is more than enough horsepower for me smile.gif
i had RM850X then return to shop and they changed 2 set also have a problem. (same batch probably)
that problem was the coil whine which i don't like it.
end up change to another brand FSP
munchoong
post Jun 8 2023, 09:39 AM

414 posts

QUOTE(jurkflash @ Jun 7 2023, 10:13 PM)
i had RM850X then return to shop and they changed 2 set also have a problem. (same batch probably)
When was this?

Chances are if it was several years ago current stock out there would be a different batch, right?

What is the model of the FSP PSU you got?
WaNaWe900
post Jun 8 2023, 06:21 PM

చąហ ąచҽ™
1,397 posts

QUOTE(jurkflash @ Jun 7 2023, 10:13 PM)
QUOTE(munchoong @ Jun 8 2023, 09:39 AM)
When was this?

Chances are if it was several years ago current stock out there would be a different batch, right?

I'm using RM850X for almost 2 years now... so far no issues icon_rolleyes.gif
jurkflash
post Jun 9 2023, 02:34 AM

97 posts

QUOTE(munchoong @ Jun 8 2023, 09:39 AM)
When was this?

erm, few weeks ago.. i'm not sure.. maybe yours won't have the problem that i faced or i just quite sensitive to the high pitch frequency sound

FSP Hydro G Pro 850w
PJng
post Jun 28 2023, 09:18 PM

12,039 posts

Have been asked other thread, but not getting respond, maybe due that i buy branded pc? as pic show, it mean GPU MAX DRAW 320W?

Is 80 GOLD PLUS label, so GPU can up to RTX3050, 3060?
Only possible can fit 2 fan GPU, casing is small
As i read only zotac brand list 450W PSU, other brand need 550W
Andrewtst
post Jun 29 2023, 11:22 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Jun 28 2023, 09:18 PM)
Have been asked other thread, but not getting respond, maybe due that i buy branded pc? as pic show, it mean GPU MAX DRAW 320W?

Is 80 GOLD PLUS label, so GPU can up to RTX3050, 3060?
Only possible can fit 2 fan GPU, casing is small
As i read only zotac brand list 450W PSU, other brand need 550W
Yup MAX output for GPU is 320W only. This same as CPU as well.

103 Pages « < 92 93 94 95 96 > » Top

0.0351sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 02:42 AM