103 Pages « < 66 67 68 69 70 > » Bottom

The newbie guide to power supply units, Questions and comments are welcomed

yvliew
post Sep 13 2019, 03:24 AM

Listening to IU - Strawberry Moon
3,918 posts

COOLER MASTER MASTERWATT 650W TUF good for the system?

Ryzen 5 2600
16GB
RX 580 8GB
adamtayy
post Sep 13 2019, 05:21 AM

1,385 posts

QUOTE(yvliew @ Sep 13 2019, 03:24 AM)

Ryzen 5 2600
16GB
RX 580 8GB
Yes, should be ok
go for it..
TSchocobo7779
post Sep 13 2019, 11:07 AM

Power is nothing without control
14,673 posts

QUOTE(yvliew @ Sep 13 2019, 03:24 AM)

Ryzen 5 2600
16GB
RX 580 8GB
Those are made by HEC - not exactly the best OEM IMHO. Here's a review:

https://www.kitguru.net/components/power-su...upply-review/6/

Decent PSU when it comes to ripple/voltage regulation, but the use of low quality capacitors makes it a difficult recommendation sweat.gif

Not worth it IMHO - might as just pay a bit more for this instead:
https://www.lazada.com.my/products/evga-650...554bizbwEu&mp=1

There's a 550W variant - but the price gap is about RM30 icon_idea.gif

This unit uses Japanese main capacitors (not 100% though), and component quality is much better on the EVGA unit icon_idea.gif

It's made by FSP, which is a better OEM than HEC BTW icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by chocobo7779: Sep 13 2019, 11:07 AM
adamtayy
post Sep 14 2019, 10:19 AM

1,385 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Sep 13 2019, 11:07 AM)
Those are made by HEC - not exactly the best OEM IMHO.  Here's a review:

https://www.kitguru.net/components/power-su...upply-review/6/

Decent PSU when it comes to ripple/voltage regulation, but the use of low quality capacitors makes it a difficult recommendation sweat.gif

Not worth it IMHO - might as just pay a bit more for this instead:
https://www.lazada.com.my/products/evga-650...554bizbwEu&mp=1

There's a 550W variant - but the price gap is about RM30 icon_idea.gif

This unit uses Japanese main capacitors (not 100% though), and component quality is much better on the EVGA unit icon_idea.gif

It's made by FSP, which is a better OEM than HEC BTW icon_idea.gif
I heard from sifoo, jap caps are all gimmick...
TristanX
post Sep 14 2019, 11:27 AM

Where is my stars?
24,337 posts

QUOTE(adamtayy @ Sep 14 2019, 10:19 AM)
I heard from sifoo, jap caps are all gimmick...
Awful bad sifoo. Japanese caps have high quality. I think got a few more non Japanese brand also good.
adamtayy
post Sep 14 2019, 11:36 AM

1,385 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Sep 14 2019, 11:27 AM)
Awful bad sifoo. Japanese caps have high quality. I think got a few more non Japanese brand also good.
the life span of the psu is not just caps lah..
is what your h/w can handle
for example, OVER clOCK case
as, a forummer sold a p45 neo 3 fr to me, many yrs back
the smell of the board, like fried chicken that is overcook
A new bie with no exp at o.cing a system will damage a lot of parts, ler..
& Tq, for the reply , bro tristanxx

This post has been edited by adamtayy: Sep 14 2019, 11:37 AM
TristanX
post Sep 14 2019, 11:41 AM

Where is my stars?
24,337 posts

QUOTE(adamtayy @ Sep 14 2019, 11:36 AM)
the life span of the psu is not just caps lah..
is what your h/w can handle
for example, OVER clOCK case
as, a forummer sold a p45 neo 3 fr to me, many yrs back
the smell of the board, like fried chicken that is overcook
A new bie with no exp at o.cing a system will damage a lot of parts, ler..
& Tq, for the reply , bro tristanxx
You were talking about Japanese caps. LOL

Yes, build quality of the hardware also matters. There is a reason why top brands tries to get perfect 10 on build quality.
TSchocobo7779
post Sep 14 2019, 11:59 AM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Sep 14 2019, 11:27 AM)
Yup some Taiwanese caps like newer Teapos are quite good icon_idea.gif

There's a very good reason why higher end units tend to come with full Japanese caps icon_idea.gif
yvliew
post Sep 14 2019, 02:45 PM

Listening to IU - Strawberry Moon
3,918 posts

Decided on CM MWE Gold 550w. hope is a good choice.. Plan to use for a long time.

Previous PSU already 7 years old.
hustlerism
post Sep 16 2019, 03:26 AM

Devil In Disguise
1,641 posts

how much wattage needed to use 2-3 casing fans and 1 aio cooler with 3 fan radiator?

Just curious.
adamtayy
post Sep 16 2019, 07:24 AM

1,385 posts

QUOTE(hustlerism @ Sep 16 2019, 03:26 AM)
how much wattage needed to use 2-3 casing fans and 1 aio cooler with 3 fan radiator?

Just curious.
at least, 600
till, 650

TSchocobo7779
post Sep 16 2019, 11:02 AM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(hustlerism @ Sep 16 2019, 03:26 AM)

Just curious.
Not much, maybe 20-30W at most in addition to your CPU+GPU power usage icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by chocobo7779: Sep 16 2019, 11:03 AM
hustlerism
post Sep 16 2019, 02:55 PM

Devil In Disguise
1,641 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Sep 16 2019, 11:02 AM)
Not much, maybe 20-30W at most in addition to your CPU+GPU power usage  icon_idea.gif
does 500-550w is enough?
TSchocobo7779
post Sep 17 2019, 06:43 AM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(hustlerism @ Sep 16 2019, 02:55 PM)
does 500-550w is enough?
Full specs of your machine? hmm.gif
TSchocobo7779
post Sep 17 2019, 06:45 AM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(Refeus @ Sep 16 2019, 09:34 PM)
What is the minimal psu watt to overclock rtx 2070 and ryzen 3800x
How much are you willing to overclock however? The Ryzen 3000 series however does not have too much overclocking potential (the boost clocks are more than enough for that, and even with manual overclocking the performance gains are too little)

For that, consider a high quality (preferably 80+ Gold rated) 650W unit or even a 750W unit. Look at the Corsair TX650M or the Super Flower Leadex II Gold 650W for starters icon_idea.gif
hustlerism
post Sep 17 2019, 08:18 AM

Devil In Disguise
1,641 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Sep 17 2019, 06:43 AM)
Full specs of your machine?  hmm.gif
I7-8700K (No OC)
GTX1660Ti
SSD x1
HDD x1
16GB RAM
Casing Fan x1
TSchocobo7779
post Sep 17 2019, 09:13 AM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(hustlerism @ Sep 17 2019, 08:18 AM)
I7-8700K (No OC)
GTX1660Ti
SSD x1
HDD x1
16GB RAM
Casing Fan x1
Looks like a quality 550W-600W should be sufficient icon_idea.gif

Perhaps the EVGA 550W G+? hmm.gif
hustlerism
post Sep 17 2019, 08:41 PM

Devil In Disguise
1,641 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Sep 17 2019, 09:13 AM)
Looks like a quality 550W-600W should be sufficient icon_idea.gif

Perhaps the EVGA 550W G+? hmm.gif
Will look into it.

JayLii-
post Sep 18 2019, 09:07 AM

56 posts

wats a good psu around RM150-200?
TSchocobo7779
post Sep 18 2019, 10:11 AM