124 Pages « < 103 104 105 106 107 > » Bottom

SPM 2013 Thread

Screen
post Oct 7 2013, 06:01 PM

1,254 posts

Guys, any tips on group studying? Just had one today and all of us watched movies since morning till now @@
Screen
post Oct 7 2013, 06:45 PM

1,254 posts

By the way, anyone has an idea on which states that still remain having peperiksaan selaras negeri?

This post has been edited by Screen: Oct 7 2013, 08:15 PM
Heartnsoul
post Oct 7 2013, 06:50 PM

Going through hell? Keep going!
889 posts

QUOTE(Screen @ Oct 7 2013, 06:01 PM)
Guys, any tips on group studying? Just had one today and all of us watched movies since morning till now @@
Do it with a small group, at a library, without electronics(no phone) and with people who actually want to study. I just spent the afternoon doing group study with 2 Form 4 Juniors on Form 4 SJ. It's pointless doing with my classmates, we end up being non-productive. mad.gif

mingisms
post Oct 7 2013, 07:08 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(Screen @ Oct 7 2013, 06:01 PM)
Avoid group studying with close friends because you will definitely end up wasting time. If possible try to study alone because you can concentrate better - put your electronics away.

But you did ask for group studying advice, so:

1. Make a NO ELECTRONICS rule. First one to touch electronics has to belanja lunch or memorise and explain one chapter of sejarah or something like that. SWITCH OFF WIFI.
2. Avoid studying with good friends. It's super tempting to chat and procrastinate with friends. Find people you don't really talk to, or super kiasu people because you will feel motivated (eventually) by their determination.
3. Study with someone younger than you, or someone who doesn't know the material as well as you do. Teaching is an excellent way to reinforce your own knowledge. Teach a junior or a friend who's weaker in academics.
4. FOCUS. You came here to study, not to chill or watch the clock move or check your phone. It may be tough at first, but after 10 minutes of silence I think most people will have focused on what they're doing.
5. Don't interrupt your friend while they're studying, especially if you're both studying different subjects. They will feel annoyed and lose focus, meanwhile you are likely not focusing yourself.
6. Study in a library, or a place that requires absolute silence. You'll be less tempted to talk.
7. If group studying is not working out for you, don't hesitate to stop. Ultimately, you need to do what's best for you, not what everyone else is doing.

Good luck!

Screen
post Oct 7 2013, 09:18 PM

1,254 posts

QUOTE(mingisms @ Oct 7 2013, 07:08 PM)
Avoid group studying with close friends because you will definitely end up wasting time. If possible try to study alone because you can concentrate better - put your electronics away.

But you did ask for group studying advice, so:

1. Make a NO ELECTRONICS rule. First one to touch electronics has to belanja lunch or memorise and explain one chapter of sejarah or something like that. SWITCH OFF WIFI.
2. Avoid studying with good friends. It's super tempting to chat and procrastinate with friends. Find people you don't really talk to, or super kiasu people because you will feel motivated (eventually) by their determination.
3. Study with someone younger than you, or someone who doesn't know the material as well as you do. Teaching is an excellent way to reinforce your own knowledge. Teach a junior or a friend who's weaker in academics.
4. FOCUS. You came here to study, not to chill or watch the clock move or check your phone. It may be tough at first, but after 10 minutes of silence I think most people will have focused on what they're doing.
5. Don't interrupt your friend while they're studying, especially if you're both studying different subjects. They will feel annoyed and lose focus, meanwhile you are likely not focusing yourself.
6. Study in a library, or a place that requires absolute silence. You'll be less tempted to talk.
7. If group studying is not working out for you, don't hesitate to stop. Ultimately, you need to do what's best for you, not what everyone else is doing.

Good luck!
Usually I wont group study, cause I have my own plans. But since there are people who need help with their studies, I joined them. But end up...... Haihs.
blacktubi
post Oct 7 2013, 10:47 PM

-
8,417 posts

I prefer studying with girls, it is very effective.

More efficient then anything else
TSmaximR
post Oct 7 2013, 10:48 PM

Remember who you are
3,864 posts

QUOTE(mingisms @ Oct 7 2013, 04:52 PM)
Hi everyone. I keep forgetting this thread exists. My trials were OK, got 9A+ out of 10, missed BM by 5 marks (really screwed up this time sigh).

30 days left on the clock, and I'm kind of freaking out a little (read: a lot). My school has not given us any tips or papers of note, but we did have SMKBU3's principal come and talk about sejarah. Nothing important though.

Anyway, just wanted to pop in and wish everyone here a good month of cramming.  smile.gif
Not sure if you were being sarcastic or what , but 9A+ doesn't say that you screwed up , to me . By the way your username is familiar , you've been here ?
ericling
post Oct 7 2013, 11:00 PM

323 posts

Wow all of you guys' results are amazing. Still struggling hard to get A+ but hope I can work hard on it.

Any scholarships available to apply now?
stpxdf88l
post Oct 8 2013, 01:42 AM

97 posts

QUOTE(chun96 @ Oct 6 2013, 03:35 PM)
Now, how many days do you guys 'ponteng' in a week?
My school gave study leave from 30th september wink.gif
5p3ak
post Oct 8 2013, 07:17 AM

CPE, FIG Certified Gymnastics Coach
5,648 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Oct 7 2013, 10:47 PM)

Girls more chatty... laugh.gif
mingisms
post Oct 8 2013, 08:40 AM

615 posts

QUOTE(maximR @ Oct 7 2013, 10:48 PM)
Not sure if you were being sarcastic or what , but 9A+ doesn't say that you screwed up , to me . By the way your username is familiar , you've been here ?
Haha I was being pretty serious. I meant that I screwed up my BM - could've done better!

Yeah I pop in from time to time!
mingisms
post Oct 8 2013, 08:54 AM

615 posts

QUOTE(ericling @ Oct 7 2013, 11:00 PM)
Wow all of you guys' results are amazing. Still struggling hard to get A+ but hope I can work hard on it.

Any scholarships available to apply now?
What course are you planning to take? Cambridge A-levels? Edexcel A-levels? AUSMAT? SAM? Foundation in Science? Foundation in Arts? ADP?

Petronas and TNB scholarships need your actual SPM results as far as I know. I don't know where you plan on studying in the future, but Taylor's has a bursary that requires you to register first. INTI has a scholarship open but is closing very soon. Most colleges offer merit awards within 2 weeks of receiving your SPM results.

This post has been edited by mingisms: Oct 8 2013, 08:59 AM
ericling
post Oct 8 2013, 10:59 AM

323 posts

QUOTE(mingisms @ Oct 8 2013, 08:54 AM)
What course are you planning to take? Cambridge A-levels? Edexcel A-levels? AUSMAT? SAM? Foundation in Science? Foundation in Arts? ADP?

Petronas and TNB scholarships need your actual SPM results as far as I know. I don't know where you plan on studying in the future, but Taylor's has a bursary that requires you to register first. INTI has a scholarship open but is closing very soon. Most colleges offer merit awards within 2 weeks of receiving your SPM results.
I am not planning to study overseas so I think I will take foundation in business.
I am living in Klang so KL area would be the best choice.

What course are you planning to take then? smile.gif
Screen
post Oct 8 2013, 11:23 AM

1,254 posts

I'm ugly, so sad.gif
mingisms
post Oct 8 2013, 11:37 AM

615 posts

QUOTE(ericling @ Oct 8 2013, 10:59 AM)
I am not planning to study overseas so I think I will take foundation in business.
I am living in Klang so KL area would be the best choice.

What course are you planning to take then? smile.gif
I'll be taking Cambridge A Levels in Sunway.

INTI has a scholarship for foundation in business smile.gif If you've missed scholarship season for Sunway and HELP, they do offer merit awards after SPM so no problems there, really!
Heartnsoul
post Oct 8 2013, 11:47 AM

Going through hell? Keep going!
889 posts

I see what you did there brows.gif

Urgh, I can't seem to cramp all these Bio stuff into my head... mad.gif
ericling
post Oct 8 2013, 11:51 AM

323 posts

QUOTE(mingisms @ Oct 8 2013, 11:37 AM)
I'll be taking Cambridge A LevelsĀ  in Sunway.
INTI has a scholarship for foundation in business smile.gif If you've missed scholarship season for Sunway and HELP, they do offer merit awards after SPM so no problems there, really!
Cool! Sunway is one of my top options.
I just checked INTI and their scholarships is closing on 13th. Will try for that! What do you mean by merit awards?

This post has been edited by ericling: Oct 8 2013, 11:53 AM
ppguy2006
post Oct 8 2013, 12:53 PM

244 posts

Lets share the tips and ramalan SPM 2013. I will have some soon esp for BM and Sejarah.
SUSChuckyHuntsYou
post Oct 8 2013, 12:56 PM

337 posts

Hi spm candidates, sry to bother
Just wanna ask do you get back ur omr papers and paper 2 for PMR? After the announcement of the results. ..
Screen
post Oct 8 2013, 12:56 PM

1,254 posts

QUOTE(ChuckyHuntsYou @ Oct 8 2013, 12:56 PM)
Hi spm candidates, sry to bother
Just wanna ask do you get back ur omr papers and paper 2 for PMR? After the announcement of the results. ..
No you dont. Just like UPSR

124 Pages « < 103 104 105 106 107 > » Top

0.0356sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:08 PM