134 Pages « < 97 98 99 100 101 > » Bottom

[WTS] HIMEDIA Q5 Pro Quad Core 4K Smart Android TV, preload with Android 7 Nougat

AVFAN
post Nov 25 2014, 11:13 AM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(h9s9h @ Nov 24 2014, 07:30 PM)
This is the second time since September. Out of quota of China  traffic. Really terrible service.
this, i believe is the root problem.

unifi's explanation "we r seeing increase in china traffic" = the bandwidth they paid for is too small but seems reluctant to get more, pay more. if that is true, then users paying for 20mbps or higher for china sites will just be wasting money...
menghua84
post Nov 25 2014, 11:12 PM

462 posts

ahh.. i was thinking why all my china apps cannot stream movies already.. damn unifi.. will it help if i use VPN?
h9s9h
post Nov 26 2014, 01:00 PM

43 posts

i think q5ii doesnt support vpn. tried but no success.
AVFAN
post Nov 26 2014, 02:30 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(menghua84 @ Nov 25 2014, 11:12 PM)
ahh.. i was thinking why all my china apps cannot stream movies already.. damn unifi.. will it help if i use VPN?
there r many types of vpn...
some free ones work a bit better but can't get stream smoothing from china also.
paid ones probably work better.
i m also searching for a viable one since this unifi problem is not going away.
as it has happened twice already, they dun seem to be bothered.
it looks like like those wanting china sites can forget unifi or pay extra for vpn.

since streamyx is fine, any maxis fiber or time fiber user here who can comment?
may be forced to change isp if one simply wont work and the others can.

QUOTE(h9s9h @ Nov 26 2014, 01:00 PM)
q5ii does support vpn if native vpn is used.
i tried one, it connects but not good for china sites.

but think u r right that some vpns using apks may not work on this model.
i tried one, can't get thru, something not right abut the kernel... or rooting required...?
h9s9h
post Nov 26 2014, 02:39 PM

43 posts

mayb add another router that support vpn??
bobby85
post Nov 26 2014, 04:37 PM

258 posts

dear bros...due to the china traffic quota...is your pudding working? mine's not =.=
se3333
post Nov 26 2014, 05:10 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 26 2014, 02:30 PM)
there r many types of vpn...
some free ones work a bit better but can't get stream smoothing from china also.
paid ones probably work better.
i m also searching for a viable one since this unifi problem is not going away.
as it has happened twice already, they dun seem to be bothered.
it looks like like those wanting china sites can forget unifi or pay extra for vpn.

since streamyx is fine, any maxis fiber or time fiber user here who can comment?
may be forced to change isp if one simply wont work and the others can.
q5ii does support vpn if native vpn is used.
i tried one, it connects but not good for china sites.

but think u r right that some vpns using apks may not work on this model.
i tried one, can't get thru, something not right abut the kernel... or rooting required...?
Hi bro, for your info, beside Unifi, I'm using Maxis Fibre as well on another location and others telco 3G broadband as well... all no problem with China website except Unifi.
Unifi running out of bandwidth quota to China website, as you can proof that when you use China VPN + Unifi connection are working v well on China website without problem... just like what happened on Unifi @ September... but there are P2P limitation for Maxis fibre and the voice call (telephone) function are not as good as TM, and you need to call Maxis to request for Public IP instead of using Private IP by default.Ping time are slightly higher than Unifi but barely feel any different for normal usage.

AVFAN
post Nov 26 2014, 06:03 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(bobby85 @ Nov 26 2014, 04:37 PM)
dear bros...due to the china traffic quota...is your pudding working? mine's not  =.=
u r not alone.... unifi cannot, all popular china vod sites dead.
unifi dun bother, says u go other country sites la... tongue.gif
only good vpn can, cheapo ones cannot.

QUOTE(se3333 @ Nov 26 2014, 05:10 PM)
Hi bro, for your info, beside Unifi, I'm using Maxis Fibre as well on another location and others telco 3G broadband as well... all no problem with China website except Unifi.
Unifi running out of bandwidth quota to China website, as you can proof that when you use China VPN + Unifi connection are working v well on China website without problem... just like what happened on Unifi @ September... but there are P2P limitation for Maxis fibre and the voice call (telephone) function are not as good as TM, and you need to call Maxis to request for Public IP instead of using Private IP by default.Ping time are slightly higher than Unifi but barely feel any different for normal usage.
thanks, bro.

if this crapify situation persist, i will have to talk to maxis.
TSnicety
post Nov 27 2014, 01:02 AM

108 posts

QUOTE(h9s9h @ Nov 26 2014, 01:00 PM)
General rule of thumb using VPN in Android(not just Himedia, included Android phone) :

1). Using Native VPN from Setting -> Network -> More -> VPN, support PPTP or L2TP VPN protocol. No rooting require. e.g. http://www.securitykiss.com/resources/tuto...s/pptp_android/

2). Install VPN App with APK file. This method require rooting else you get "Tunnelling (TUN)" error.

P/S : Typically the VPN provider will tell you the location of the VPN server. VPN encrypts and tunnels all Internet traffic between yourself and VPN server, the data you sent or receive between your device to the VPN server is not transparent to your local Internet provider(ISP). Therefore you could achieve the below :

A). Local ISP intentionally blocked or sensor internet traffic.
Using the VPN, the traffic is encrypted, your local ISP unable to determine the data content and unable to block it.

B). Some apps like Netflix has regional restriction, Malaysia IP address will be filtered by Netflix server.
In this case you subscribe to VPN server in US. Netflix unable to detect your Malaysia IP address because your device IP is hidden from Netflix. Instead Netflix only see the IP address of the VPN server in US which Netflix will not filter.

C). Route your internet traffic to 3rd party country before reaching the targeted country.
For the case of local ISP has limited bandwidth to particular country, you can route the traffic to VPN server in 3rd party country which has bigger bandwidth. From the VPN server it route the traffic to the targeted country.

However, the encryption and decryption process will incur additional overhead. Some time VPN does not help to speed up but slow down especially when you subscribe to free VPN server or wrong VPN server. First to understand how the VPN works and apply to your needs. It is advisable to test it before you paid for the service.

This post has been edited by nicety: Nov 27 2014, 02:20 AM
alyem
post Nov 27 2014, 11:00 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(h9s9h @ Nov 24 2014, 11:40 AM)
mangotv, hitv n vst stop working since yesterday. any idea wat happen? anyone using vpn for streaming?
I am having the same problem. Using Unifi 5 mb.
Mangotv shown no internet connection.
Hk drama - lag every second.

Did a reset... still the same..

TSnicety
post Nov 27 2014, 04:42 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(alyem @ Nov 27 2014, 11:00 AM)
I am having the same problem. Using Unifi 5 mb.
Mangotv shown no internet connection.
Hk drama - lag every second.

Did a reset... still the same..
Bro, pls check the earlier thread, there is technical issue with Unify. No problem for streamyx or Maxis. Either report the issue to TM or use VPN which might help.
sicheh
post Nov 27 2014, 08:02 PM

Today, connection to China websites is back to normal, streaming is smooth.
Does that mean the unifi issue is over?
chilskater
post Nov 27 2014, 10:11 PM

1,124 posts

wat is the latest firmware for q5 ii?mine is 1.0.6 with mangotv..install gotham and bbts..testing free trial unotelly...
AVFAN
post Nov 28 2014, 12:06 AM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(sicheh @ Nov 27 2014, 08:02 PM)
Today, connection to China websites is back to normal, streaming is smooth.
Does that mean the unifi issue is over?
yes, yes... it's back now.

given the recent record of twice in a span of 2 months, i.e. sep and nov, can expect it be at least a bi-monthly affair.

will have to find a backup...

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Nov 28 2014, 12:08 AM
sicheh
post Nov 29 2014, 10:33 AM

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 28 2014, 12:06 AM)
yes, yes... it's back now.

given the recent record of twice in a span of 2 months, i.e. sep and nov, can expect it be at least a bi-monthly affair.

will have to find a backup...
So, be prepared for the next round in Jan 2015. shakehead.gif
AVFAN
post Nov 29 2014, 11:19 AM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(sicheh @ Nov 29 2014, 10:33 AM)
So, be prepared for the next round in Jan 2015. shakehead.gif
ya, if they dun fix this and let it repeat every month or so despite charging more than others, many unifi users may be forced to change to an isp w/o such a recurring problem.

personally, accessing china sites a priority for me, so i am clear about it.
AVFAN
post Dec 6 2014, 11:01 AM

24,453 posts

i just discovered a great new app, share with all - showbox:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yAOXmOO7JbQ&feature=youtu.be

some discussion already here, post #216 onwards:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3126605/+200

TSnicety
post Dec 6 2014, 12:26 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 6 2014, 11:01 AM)
i just discovered a great new app, share with all - showbox:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yAOXmOO7JbQ&feature=youtu.be
some discussion already here, post #216 onwards:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3126605/+200
Thank you AVFAN.

Dear Customers,

The APK file already uploaded in the skydrive. If you purchased your box after 1st Dec, Showbox already pre-installed in your box.
AVFAN
post Dec 6 2014, 06:01 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(nicety @ Dec 6 2014, 12:26 PM)
Thank you AVFAN.

Dear Customers,

The APK file already uploaded in the skydrive. If you purchased your box after 1st Dec, Showbox already pre-installed in your box.
showbox is good!

users, just take note:
.. to get subs, u must register with opensubtitles:
http://www.opensubtitles.org/en/newuser
.. if u get "server error", it means your dns can't get thru to showbox. solution is to use another open dns or switch to wifi

showbox is excellent for tv shows and 720p mp4 movies.

popcorn time is excellent for 1080p (q16 only, not q5ii, q5iii?) mp4/mkv movies, not so good for tv shows.

these two combined - u have it all for english vod's! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Dec 6 2014, 06:02 PM
jutamind
post Dec 6 2014, 08:50 PM

2,429 posts

does it use torrent as well? will it work for Q5II?

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 6 2014, 06:01 PM)
showbox is good!

users, just take note:
.. to get subs, u must register with opensubtitles:
http://www.opensubtitles.org/en/newuser
.. if u get "server error", it means your dns can't get thru to showbox. solution is to use another open dns or switch to wifi

showbox is excellent for tv shows and 720p mp4 movies.

popcorn time is excellent for 1080p (q16 only, not q5ii, q5iii?) mp4/mkv movies, not so good for tv shows.

these two combined - u have it all for english vod's! thumbup.gif

134 Pages « < 97 98 99 100 101 > » Top

0.0251sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:49 AM