Proton Waja Club, For LowYat.net

sledgehammer
post Mar 29 2006, 12:14 PM

664 posts

999 for ECU remapping currently is really unaffordable for me... tongue.gif

i am really wondering what performance it will bring to us if both ECU remap + extractor mod is done.... rolleyes.gif

masamura: pls share more about ur campro..... wink.gif
vyruzj
post Mar 29 2006, 12:30 PM

216 posts

u guys did the remapping at Damansara Intan? yeah RM999 might be costly for sum. The guys there at Damansara Intan have a waja for test drive. Y not test drive the car 1st then only settle if we wanna remap the ecu or not.

** I am not promoting this ecu remap thing. I got the info from autoworld in the Waja forum, just to share. U can maybe see my nick there oso **

This post has been edited by vyruzj: Mar 29 2006, 12:30 PM
masamura
post Mar 29 2006, 12:46 PM

384 posts

My review on Waja Campro 1.6 (Auto)

I love the smell of a new car. The interior of the car is leather sitting with nice reddish leatherish front board and a sleek designed aircond duct and speed 'o' meter. So far, interior wise, the car posses no problems yet. No squeaking, no hissling and all that kind of noise. The car comes with a MP3/CD player which I haven't tested out yet, but from the FM radio quality, I'll say it's not too bad for people who listens to things moderately in their car.

Then comes the best part, the engine. Revving the car is quite silent. So far, I've never heard of a Proton car that's so silent. Even during operation, it's also silent inside. Being only 200KM on road, I've yet to drive it over 80KM/h and bring it up to its potential speed afraid that it might shock the engine. However, I believe that the Campro engine on Waja has a lot of potential as I felt like I was already driving a Merz with its power and comfortability. One problem, the car takes a lot of oil paddle pressing when it's 0 to 60. The pickup of the car is quite slow, but once it reaches around 60-70KM/h, the car starts to shine. There's also problem with going up hill. On the 'D' gear, the car could barely go up a steep hill at only around 50KM/h. Only when I change to 2nd gear that it could go up to 70KM/h with a loud engine roar.

Waja Campro 1.6(auto) got no ABS, that's a point reduction, but the current braking system is not all that bad either. Handling of the car is a charm. It could take corners easily and I'm sure if it's a manual car, this car would've been perfect for drifting!

Fuel consumption is quite good. I could go about 100KM on about RM15 of petrol in city. To my surprise, the only car that could do this is a Merz that I drive, never thought Malaysian cars could to that till now!

Overall, I give Waja Campro a 8 out of 10. There's still room for improvement, but so far, I'm very satisfied with it.

This post has been edited by masamura: Mar 29 2006, 12:47 PM
nairud
post Mar 29 2006, 02:04 PM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

Do keep an eye out for the cockcroach smell from the air-cond vent. everytime i switch on my aircond, the smell will be there for around 5 secs.

even in the Autoworld waja suggested some solutions but i've yet to try it out.
zap188
post Mar 29 2006, 02:18 PM

54 posts

Got my Waja 1.6A in July 2005 and the power window at the driver's side failed on me this morning. How many hours will the SC needs to fix this up? I might need to take a day leave just for this..
nairud
post Mar 29 2006, 03:45 PM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

It is still under warranty. If you go early in the morning, you can get it done quickly.

If you don't have time, go on sat or sun
exkay
post Mar 29 2006, 11:35 PM

Hired Gunman
3,657 posts

QUOTE(masamura @ Mar 29 2006, 12:46 PM)
My review on Waja Campro 1.6 (Auto)

I love the smell of a new car. The interior of the car is leather sitting with nice reddish leatherish front board and a sleek designed aircond duct and speed 'o' meter. So far, interior wise, the car posses no problems yet. No squeaking, no hissling and all that kind of noise. The car comes with a MP3/CD player which I haven't tested out yet, but from the FM radio quality, I'll say it's not too bad for people who listens to things moderately in their car.

Then comes the best part, the engine. Revving the car is quite silent. So far, I've never heard of a Proton car that's so silent. Even during operation, it's also silent inside. Being only 200KM on road, I've yet to drive it over 80KM/h and bring it up to its potential speed afraid that it might shock the engine. However, I believe that the Campro engine on Waja has a lot of potential as I felt like I was already driving a Merz with its power and comfortability. One problem, the car takes a lot of oil paddle pressing when it's 0 to 60. The pickup of the car is quite slow, but once it reaches around 60-70KM/h, the car starts to shine. There's also problem with going up hill. On the 'D' gear, the car could barely go up a steep hill at only around 50KM/h. Only when I change to 2nd gear that it could go up to 70KM/h with a loud engine roar.

Waja Campro 1.6(auto) got no ABS, that's a point reduction, but the current braking system is not all that bad either. Handling of the car is a charm. It could take corners easily and I'm sure if it's a manual car, this car would've been perfect for drifting!

Fuel consumption is quite good. I could go about 100KM on about RM15 of petrol in city. To my surprise, the only car that could do this is a Merz that I drive, never thought Malaysian cars could to that till now!

Overall, I give Waja Campro a 8 out of 10. There's still room for improvement, but so far, I'm very satisfied with it.
i think the reason for the car to need a bit of hard pressing at the 0 to 60 kmph stage is due to the torque of the engine that only comes at 4000RPM?

and if i'm not mistaken old waja's engine's torque comes at 2700RPM..

am i right?

This post has been edited by exkay: Mar 30 2006, 03:55 AM
nairud
post Mar 30 2006, 12:04 AM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

You're replying to who's post?
exkay
post Mar 30 2006, 03:55 AM

Hired Gunman
3,657 posts

Masamura's
sledgehammer
post Mar 30 2006, 08:31 AM

664 posts

QUOTE(exkay @ Mar 29 2006, 11:35 PM)
i think the reason for the car to need a bit of hard pressing at the 0 to 60 kmph stage is due to the torque of the engine that only comes at 4000RPM?

and if i'm not mistaken old waja's engine's torque comes at 2700RPM..

am i right?
after the extractor change, the torque comes earlier.... tongue.gif

good to see the new waja comes with silent interior.....no rattling....

mine was juz.... shakehead.gif surround sound fr everywhere.
nairud
post Mar 30 2006, 08:42 AM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

I tell ya, once you started modding, there's no end to it...

let's say, you change extractor, wah, got omph!
not enough, decat, increase omph
still not enough, change muffler
not enough??!!?, air intake, turbo
still aint getting enough, transplant 2.0 engine....

the possibilities are endless laugh.gif
eddysam
post Mar 30 2006, 09:23 AM

227 posts

QUOTE(nairud @ Mar 30 2006, 08:42 AM)
I tell ya, once you started modding, there's no end to it...

let's say, you change extractor, wah, got omph!
not enough, decat, increase omph
still not enough, change muffler
not enough??!!?, air intake, turbo
still aint getting enough, transplant 2.0 engine....

the possibilities are endless laugh.gif
better change new car with all features.
cost lesser. look nicer. drive better. whistling.gif

jing_kohkoh
post Mar 30 2006, 09:35 AM

Let's kick some AutoBUTTs
650 posts

QUOTE(eddysam @ Mar 30 2006, 09:23 AM)
Yes, spend so much on modding can have a nice jap car already. rclxms.gif
sledgehammer
post Mar 30 2006, 10:24 AM

664 posts

hehe, it is true that ppls will not satisfied..... but my self-control is quite good..... tongue.gif

but the extractor is my final mod oredi.... next plan is to change car.... hehe laugh.gif
most of the time i drive in the city, no use to have high hp coz kl road cant go fast as well...

drooling on b18c integra..... (~~dreaming~~)

PrinceHamsap
post Mar 30 2006, 11:27 AM

Legendary
1,637 posts

my waja is drinking so heavyily
i wonder anyone has modify or retune to get it fuel economy ?
i am driving in mostly KL roads .. which is jam most of the time
nairud
post Mar 30 2006, 01:23 PM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

From what i observed from my previous petrol pump...rm70 for almost 500km. hrmmmm...

QUOTE(eddysam @ Mar 30 2006, 09:23 AM)
That's my point. Once you've started and without proper restraining on your wallet, might as well get a diff car.

This post has been edited by nairud: Mar 30 2006, 01:24 PM
ajkl
post Mar 30 2006, 05:34 PM

90 posts

RM 80 for 450 km.. i dunno what did i do T_T
my car has no mod at all
eddysam
post Mar 30 2006, 08:36 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(ajkl @ Mar 30 2006, 05:34 PM)
RM 80 for 450 km.. i dunno what did i do T_T
my car has no mod at all
try not to step too hard on fuel pedal.
maintain below 2600RPM maybe incraese distance.
use petronas. which i try so many petrol, i found that petronas go far distance compare to shell.
sledgehammer
post Apr 1 2006, 07:53 AM

664 posts

mine clock around 10km/l ler..... RM70 - 350km

90% of the time stuck at traffic jam...

anyone worst than mine ar? rolleyes.gif
eddysam
post Apr 1 2006, 08:44 AM

227 posts

mine about 14km/L include traffic jam. RM80 for 580km