QUOTE(mumeichan @ Jun 10 2013, 09:28 AM)
You say phone and dslr quality about the sameI disagree.
There is still a difference, even if the one holding it is an amateur.
Photography Using Smart Phone as Camera?, Opinion
Jun 10 2013, 10:02 AM
2,727 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
Jun 10 2013, 10:09 AM
Forum Admin
44,415 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
people who say phone camera and SLR almost same, are people who don't understand sensor and processor technology.
Jun 10 2013, 10:13 AM
Forum Admin
QUOTE(mumeichan @ Jun 9 2013, 09:16 PM) I don't think it's nonsense. Let me give you this anology. A new Ferrari is obviously a much better car than a Kancil. However, if I'm just driving around town it wouldn't make any difference. The thing is now, a smartphone camera isn't a Kancil anymore. It's like a Corolla already. Obviously the Ferrari is still better in some limited situations and in the hands of an experienced driver. yes correct. don't think it's a corolla yet but yeah, i get your point. it's correct. my phone camera takes better photos that the point and shoot I owned some 7 - 10 years ago. this one confirm, and better by far. QUOTE(mumeichan @ Jun 9 2013, 09:16 PM) Hence the point I'm wondering here isn't that DSLRs are better than smartphone camera. But, whether smartphone can replace what SLRs and DSLRs have been doing so far in the hands of amatuers. depends on how far you want to replace........... iPhone on a trip to say Bali, I'm not even sure if the pictures I took would be much worse compared to having my DSLR with me. sure, you can use smartphone but you lack the flexibility, and image quality of the dedicated cameras. you lack the options for flash and various settings. so let's say for amateurs or newbies to gain experience and skills, a proper camera (even a compact with manual mode) will be better than any phone camera. in many cases though, it's not surprising if a photo taken with SLR looks like one with point and shoot. Not surprising because dynamic range advantage is not visible on every photo taken. The way some people use their expensive SLR (when I say expensive, I'm referring to the higher end line-up) but photo outcome look like one taken with phone camera. |
Jun 10 2013, 10:16 AM
Forum Admin
QUOTE(LegendLee @ Jun 10 2013, 09:58 AM) Pro or noob, one can definitely take better photos with a dslr than phones. no la. seriously. a lot of noobs use DSLR but photo turned out so bad.they have the best IQ and WB in the world with all frozen nicely but composition no feel. phone camera IQ is decent, WB also pretty good like say the iPhone, once you nail the composition - it's already as good as DSLR pic in many ways. in that sense ............ definitely both of you not wrong. technology wise, phone camera is no match for DSLR / compacts / mirrorless in many ways BUT for simplistic usage, phone camera is often always more than enough. |
Jun 10 2013, 10:26 AM
3,968 posts Joined: Sep 2012 |
Smartphones nowadays take photos of great quality.
But if you want superb quality, ntg can match DSLR due to it's lens, sensor etc. Smartphone offers you portability but images are less stellar than DSLR. DSLR offers you superb image quality but heavy. But points to watch out is that Nokia will be releasing their Nokia EOS (Windows OS) and Sony will be releasing their Sony Honami/i1 (Android OS) soon. Nokia EOS has a 41 megapixel camera and it uses optical zoom instead of the normal digital zoom that makes picture blurry. While the Sony Honami/i1 camera on the phone is expected to sport a 2/3” image sensor with xenon flash, Cyber-Shot branding (no surprises there), and even come with manual controls like the Sony RX100! These 2 smartphone MAY rival entry level of DSLR. And let's not forget it's a smartphone too. But by no means, any smartphone camera in the world can replace a top notched spec DSLR. This post has been edited by briantwj: Jun 10 2013, 10:27 AM |
Jun 10 2013, 10:28 AM
Forum Admin
QUOTE(briantwj @ Jun 10 2013, 10:26 AM) While the Sony Honami/i1 camera on the phone is expected to sport a 2/3” image sensor with xenon flash, Cyber-Shot branding (no surprises there), and even come with manual controls like the Sony RX100! ouhh this one should be interesting. the RX100 is such a nice compact camera! |
Jun 10 2013, 10:32 AM
3,968 posts Joined: Sep 2012 |
QUOTE(goldfries @ Jun 10 2013, 10:28 AM) Sony is really making a come back in smartphones if this Honami model is up to what it claims it is. http://mobilemegamall.com/gadget/Rumours-S...ugust-1391.html 8/13/16.2 Mp camera, with BIONZ mobile (1/1.5"/1.1.6 Exmor RS sensor + G Lens + Xenon Flash/Dual Led/Plasma flash) Like very gooding yo. |
Jun 10 2013, 12:42 PM
3,617 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
Samsung also announcing something next week, this one come with optical zoom
![]() ![]() Source: http://www.engadget.com/2013/06/07/purport...s-4-zoom-leaks/ |
Jun 10 2013, 12:49 PM
Forum Admin
that's something like Samsung Galaxy Camera already. Perhaps just a smaller one.
Jun 10 2013, 01:19 PM
587 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: Miri, Sarawak |
QUOTE(t1231 @ May 30 2013, 08:13 PM) Wow! that is something...... anyway, dear all sifus - let's get back to my original question: "The all important question is: with the recent progress in smart phones, can it replace a mid-range camera mentioned above?" I never have any question about the power of dSLRs, and i'd agree that anyone who wants to produce first class photos should get the best gear possible - this is beyond argument. so, back to my question: can a smartphone replace a mid-ranged camera? Especially in low light condition which is always the weakest point of phone cams. I've narrowed down to cameras like Canon S100, Lumix LX-5, and Lumix GF-2. so from now on, please no more debating on dSLRs. QUOTE(t1231 @ May 30 2013, 08:13 PM) Wow! that is something...... So far, how is your decision?anyway, dear all sifus - let's get back to my original question: "The all important question is: with the recent progress in smart phones, can it replace a mid-range camera mentioned above?" I never have any question about the power of dSLRs, and i'd agree that anyone who wants to produce first class photos should get the best gear possible - this is beyond argument. so, back to my question: can a smartphone replace a mid-ranged camera? Especially in low light condition which is always the weakest point of phone cams. I've narrowed down to cameras like Canon S100, Lumix LX-5, and Lumix GF-2. so from now on, please no more debating on dSLRs. Anyway, I also share your dilemma regarding phone-camera or camera, as I am planning to get one for my upcoming Honeymoon to Taiwan. I have no desire to learn to tweak the camera settings but I may play around for a very short while, just to see difference. After reading through the pages, I found that S100 is a strongly recommended as a compact point to shoot camera. Hence, S100 versus Lumia 920 of what I have in mind for a phone-camera I wouldn't mind a Windows Phone OS. Currently using a Lumia 620. Price: S100 (iPmart) MYR 1,3xx L920 (Superbuy.my) MYR 1,5xx I wouldn't say the below link going to help a lot, but some bit of into between these two, which I had used. http://www.digitalversus.com/digital-camer...rsus-table.html http://connect.dpreview.com/forums/thread/...m-post-50301865 For now 10/06/2013, I will go for Lumia 920. I feel L920 is sufficient for my photo's need for my upcoming traveling. t1231, please reply me your decision. Eager to learn your final decision. Thanks you, This post has been edited by weirdguy: Jun 10 2013, 01:28 PM |
Jun 11 2013, 11:32 PM
251 posts Joined: Jul 2012 |
QUOTE(weirdguy @ Jun 10 2013, 01:19 PM) So far, how is your decision? Hi, thanks for the links you shared. Anyway, I also share your dilemma regarding phone-camera or camera, as I am planning to get one for my upcoming Honeymoon to Taiwan. I have no desire to learn to tweak the camera settings but I may play around for a very short while, just to see difference. After reading through the pages, I found that S100 is a strongly recommended as a compact point to shoot camera. Hence, S100 versus Lumia 920 of what I have in mind for a phone-camera I wouldn't mind a Windows Phone OS. Currently using a Lumia 620. Price: S100 (iPmart) MYR 1,3xx L920 (Superbuy.my) MYR 1,5xx I wouldn't say the below link going to help a lot, but some bit of into between these two, which I had used. http://www.digitalversus.com/digital-camer...rsus-table.html http://connect.dpreview.com/forums/thread/...m-post-50301865 For now 10/06/2013, I will go for Lumia 920. I feel L920 is sufficient for my photo's need for my upcoming traveling. t1231, please reply me your decision. Eager to learn your final decision. Thanks you, after reading all the posts so far, I have the following thoughts: 1. DSLRs are superb, no question about it. I will not compare phone cameras with DSLRs, they are not in the same category. 2. a good smart phone can rival a p&s camera in ideal lighting conditions e.g. outdoor day time shots. 3. a top of the class smart phone can rival a p&s camera in low light condition. I think I will keep my current Nokia 5800, then buy a P&S like S100, LX3, LX5, or a micro 4/3 like GF2, and i'll buy 2nd hand to keep it below rm1,000. In future I'll upgrade my phone to a iPhone or Android (maybe HTS). Do let me your final decision. |
Jun 12 2013, 10:51 AM
QUOTE(t1231 @ Jun 11 2013, 11:32 PM) Hi, thanks for the links you shared. Argh, your conclusion convince me to add 1 more thought. after reading all the posts so far, I have the following thoughts: 1. DSLRs are superb, no question about it. I will not compare phone cameras with DSLRs, they are not in the same category. 2. a good smart phone can rival a p&s camera in ideal lighting conditions e.g. outdoor day time shots. 3. a top of the class smart phone can rival a p&s camera in low light condition. I think I will keep my current Nokia 5800, then buy a P&S like S100, LX3, LX5, or a micro 4/3 like GF2, and i'll buy 2nd hand to keep it below rm1,000. In future I'll upgrade my phone to a iPhone or Android (maybe HTS). Do let me your final decision. 4. In contracts to Thought 2 & 3, a good P&S Camera could still perform better than Good Phone-Camera due to its sensor, Hence, I think I am back to origin dilemma - Camera Phone (L920) or P&S Camera (S100, LX3, LX5). Haha Will update you once I finally make the purchase. |
Jun 12 2013, 11:41 AM
603 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
I have S95 (which is said to perform exactly like S100) and L920. Most situations can't tell the difference between the two. Low light pictures of food dishes at a candle light restaurant, the L920 handles it superbly. Both handle low light closeup shots very nicely!
Bright/cloudy outdoors I can't tell the difference. S95 is still better by having better flash to handle dark shade face and bright background better. The manual advance handling of the S95 is also better and being flat at the bottom makes it easier to place it on top of something for the long exposure night scene shot. The zoom of the L920 is not nice and not recommended. But for travel wide angle shots are usually preferred. You want that 50mm-85mm portrait style shot the S95 just does that better imo. For video I was disappointed with the indoor handling of the L920. Quite noisy vs S95's indoor noise level. Seeing how well L920 handles indoor pictures it really was quite a surprise. If you're not demanding the videos are very useable for facebook. Conclusion: My L920 can mostly do everything my S95 can do with close can't tell the difference jpeg quality! With the words that the best camera is the one that's with you. L920 does not fail as back up camera or being the camera that's always with you. |
Jun 12 2013, 01:10 PM
7 posts Joined: Jun 2013 |
HI,your given question is really very confusing but if you are searching camera only then you can buy camera ,according to my view of point now a day's so many high quality phone are in market with best quality of camera so you should think about a smart phone.
Jun 12 2013, 03:01 PM
QUOTE(Rice_Owl84 @ Jun 12 2013, 11:41 AM) I have S95 (which is said to perform exactly like S100) and L920. Most situations can't tell the difference between the two. Low light pictures of food dishes at a candle light restaurant, the L920 handles it superbly. Both handle low light closeup shots very nicely! Thanks for your effort and time to review your thought and experience here. Deeply appreciate.Bright/cloudy outdoors I can't tell the difference. S95 is still better by having better flash to handle dark shade face and bright background better. The manual advance handling of the S95 is also better and being flat at the bottom makes it easier to place it on top of something for the long exposure night scene shot. The zoom of the L920 is not nice and not recommended. But for travel wide angle shots are usually preferred. You want that 50mm-85mm portrait style shot the S95 just does that better imo. For video I was disappointed with the indoor handling of the L920. Quite noisy vs S95's indoor noise level. Seeing how well L920 handles indoor pictures it really was quite a surprise. If you're not demanding the videos are very useable for facebook. Conclusion: My L920 can mostly do everything my S95 can do with close can't tell the difference jpeg quality! With the words that the best camera is the one that's with you. L920 does not fail as back up camera or being the camera that's always with you. Hardly could find a review on Phone Camera versus P&S nowadays. Now I could understand the other side of L920. It may not be the best Camera, but I believe it is sufficient for most occasion especially for normal P&S user. +1 to L920 Thanks again, |
Jun 12 2013, 03:23 PM
QUOTE(spygadget @ Jun 12 2013, 01:10 PM) HI,your given question is really very confusing but if you are searching camera only then you can buy camera ,according to my view of point now a day's so many high quality phone are in market with best quality of camera so you should think about a smart phone. I believe he did understood that.He mentioned that in last few pages and he concluded to purchase a P&S first. Perhaps it is due to budget issue. I think a good camera phone has a minimum price tag of MYR 1,5xx. Nokia 808 could be cheaper. I am not really sure on this though, I'm just speculate and maybe wrong. |
Jun 12 2013, 05:01 PM
5,538 posts Joined: Apr 2011 |
QUOTE(weirdguy @ Jun 12 2013, 03:23 PM) I believe he did understood that. The last time I saw, 808 only RM10xx new ori set.He mentioned that in last few pages and he concluded to purchase a P&S first. Perhaps it is due to budget issue. I think a good camera phone has a minimum price tag of MYR 1,5xx. Nokia 808 could be cheaper. I am not really sure on this though, I'm just speculate and maybe wrong. |
Jun 12 2013, 07:22 PM
15,694 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
Jun 12 2013, 07:52 PM
34 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
Jun 12 2013, 08:06 PM
3,617 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
| Change to: | 0.0380sec
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 01:36 AM |