CSL Switch Mercury Mi501 official thread, First Dual sim Snapdrago S4 in Malaysia!
TSCranky guy
Dec 4 2012, 05:26 PM
QUOTE(JJKTP @ Dec 4 2012, 04:56 PM) You have official link to back that up? I can't seem to find info about it. If it is indeed significantly more powerful, I bet they will have news all over the net. No offence bro, just want to read the info. Last time the A doesn't mean that much, I would like to see otherwise. Well, while not exactly significantly stronger, MSM8225A is better. It is hard to find info about the 8225A because it and the MSM8225 are seen as the same. MSM8225A is optimized for ICS, and had a few upgrades over it's previous model, including what I have stated.
syncomp
Dec 4 2012, 10:59 PM
QUOTE(dust @ Dec 4 2012, 03:00 PM) someone from xda was able to root the mercury. do refer to the below link http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.p...&postcount=1266At last! Cool! Will try it later
dust
Dec 5 2012, 06:11 AM
QUOTE(syncomp @ Dec 4 2012, 10:59 PM) At last! Cool! Will try it later let us know if you able to root the mercury.
wkchia
Dec 5 2012, 02:38 PM
the MSM8225A using 45nM architecture? Is the extra A same like the difference between MSM7225 and 7225A?
JJKTP
Dec 5 2012, 03:04 PM
QUOTE(wkchia @ Dec 5 2012, 02:38 PM) the MSM8225A using 45nM architecture? Is the extra A same like the difference between MSM7225 and 7225A?
JJKTP
Dec 5 2012, 03:06 PM
QUOTE(wkchia @ Dec 5 2012, 02:38 PM) the MSM8225A using 45nM architecture? Is the extra A same like the difference between MSM7225 and 7225A? Nope. Transition from MSM7225 to MSM7225A is from ARMv6 @ 65nm of ARM11 core to ARMv7-A @ 45nm of Cortex A5 core. This kind of transition is what we call significant. Whereas with MSM8225 to MSM8225A (if it actually exist), both of them are virtually the same where it is an ARMv7-A @ 45nm of Cortex A5 core. I am still waiting for our bro Cranky Guy to point out what is the difference/improvement since he said the "A" version is significantly more powerful.
TSCranky guy
Dec 5 2012, 04:07 PM
QUOTE(JJKTP @ Dec 5 2012, 03:06 PM) Nope. Transition from MSM7225 to MSM7225A is from ARMv6 @ 65nm of ARM11 core to ARMv7-A @ 45nm of Cortex A5 core. This kind of transition is what we call significant. Whereas with MSM8225 to MSM8225A (if it actually exist), both of them are virtually the same where it is an ARMv7-A @ 45nm of Cortex A5 core. I am still waiting for our bro Cranky Guy to point out what is the difference/improvement since he said the "A" version is significantly more powerful.Explained above. Top of the page. This post has been edited by Cranky guy: Dec 5 2012, 04:07 PM
JJKTP
Dec 5 2012, 04:31 PM
QUOTE(Cranky guy @ Dec 4 2012, 05:26 PM) Well, while not exactly significantly stronger, MSM8225A is better. It is hard to find info about the 8225A because it and the MSM8225 are seen as the same. MSM8225A is optimized for ICS, and had a few upgrades over it's previous model, including what I have stated. Thanks for the reply bro. May I know what exactly are the improvements? We know it is still ARMv7-A @ 45nm Cortex A5 core, just like the one without the "A". So what are the differences?
ralph_d
Dec 5 2012, 04:32 PM
try this: MSM8225 used by single SIM phone, whereas MSM8225A used by dual SIM phone. other than that they're entirely same thing, no such thing as performance improvement.
problem?
This post has been edited by ralph_d: Dec 5 2012, 04:36 PM
TSCranky guy
Dec 5 2012, 04:42 PM
QUOTE(JJKTP @ Dec 5 2012, 04:31 PM) Thanks for the reply bro. May I know what exactly are the improvements? We know it is still ARMv7-A @ 45nm Cortex A5 core, just like the one without the "A". So what are the differences? Qualcomm never officially stated the improvements. All they ever did say was MSM8225A will provide a smoother experience than it's predecessor. I dunno what that means though. Added on December 5, 2012, 4:44 pmQUOTE(ralph_d @ Dec 5 2012, 04:32 PM) try this: MSM8225 used by single SIM phone, whereas MSM8225A used by dual SIM phone. other than that they're entirely same thing, no such thing as performance improvement. problem? Like I said, I'm not sure about the improvements. This post has been edited by Cranky guy: Dec 5 2012, 04:44 PM
wkchia
Dec 5 2012, 04:49 PM
it doesn't matter la, as long as u try the phone, feel the smoothness yourself, thats more important. The manufacturer will always say their new toys are better, dun take their word 100%. Tested it before, indeed smooth...
JJKTP
Dec 5 2012, 04:53 PM
QUOTE(ralph_d @ Dec 5 2012, 04:32 PM) try this: MSM8225 used by single SIM phone, whereas MSM8225A used by dual SIM phone. other than that they're entirely same thing, no such thing as performance improvement. problem? Thanks for the info bro. That confirmed my thought.
TSCranky guy
Dec 5 2012, 09:38 PM
QUOTE(wkchia @ Dec 5 2012, 04:49 PM) it doesn't matter la, as long as u try the phone, feel the smoothness yourself, thats more important. The manufacturer will always say their new toys are better, dun take their word 100%. Tested it before, indeed smooth... Agree 100%.
JJKTP
Dec 5 2012, 09:54 PM
QUOTE(wkchia @ Dec 5 2012, 04:49 PM) The manufacturer will always say their new toys are better, dun take their word 100%. Tested it before, indeed smooth... Our case is 100% different since the company (Qualcomm) never mention anything about the SoC being better, it is just words from our bro here.
JJKTP
Dec 5 2012, 09:56 PM
QUOTE(wkchia @ Dec 5 2012, 04:49 PM) it doesn't matter la, as long as u try the phone, feel the smoothness yourself, thats more important. Agree on that bro.
JJKTP
Dec 5 2012, 09:58 PM
QUOTE(wkchia @ Dec 5 2012, 04:49 PM) it doesn't matter la, as long as u try the phone, feel the smoothness yourself, thats more important. Agree on that bro.
TSCranky guy
Dec 5 2012, 10:36 PM
QUOTE(JJKTP @ Dec 5 2012, 09:54 PM) Our case is 100% different since the company (Qualcomm) never mention anything about the SoC being better, it is just words from our bro here. Lol.
osamadi11
Dec 6 2012, 12:47 AM
hi everyone....i wonder if u guys,who had purchased the phone,able to share the price and location where they got their phone from.it would be a good info for those who r trying to get their hands on this phone...including myself....tqvm....
speedoom
Dec 6 2012, 01:22 AM
i was supposed to get this fone today, but last minute the seller ran out of stock. so anyone, pls suggest me somewhere to purchase it around KL,PJ,subang, shah alam area or online. priced must <700. keen to purchase from the lelong guy but he too got no stock. and not many store selling csl fone too..
TSCranky guy
Dec 6 2012, 01:48 AM
QUOTE(speedoom @ Dec 6 2012, 01:22 AM) i was supposed to get this fone today, but last minute the seller ran out of stock. so anyone, pls suggest me somewhere to purchase it around KL,PJ,subang, shah alam area or online. priced must <700. keen to purchase from the lelong guy but he too got no stock. and not many store selling csl fone too..  Checked Low Yat Plaza yet? Seems like Mercury is running out of stock everywhere. Do you know Spectrum Bandar Baru Ampang? They have stock there, after nego can get RM680. Added on December 6, 2012, 1:50 amQUOTE(osamadi11 @ Dec 6 2012, 12:47 AM) hi everyone....i wonder if u guys,who had purchased the phone,able to share the price and location where they got their phone from.it would be a good info for those who r trying to get their hands on this phone...including myself....tqvm.... Same as above. This post has been edited by Cranky guy: Dec 6 2012, 01:50 AM