90 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

CSL Switch Mercury Mi501 official thread, First Dual sim Snapdrago S4 in Malaysia!

TSCranky guy
post Nov 19 2012, 02:05 AM

Writer@Gizchina
1,818 posts

QUOTE(captainwifi @ Nov 19 2012, 01:57 AM)
I'm dissapointed the wifi is type b/g not n. any problems with the wifi?
Actually, no. I was a bit dissapointed too, at first. But it is quite fast, signal is strong, and if you didn't know it was b/g, you would think it was b/g/n

Added on November 19, 2012, 2:07 am
QUOTE(syncomp @ Nov 19 2012, 01:25 AM)
nicely done bro cranky guy.. could add another youtube video review i guess as for the others preference. here's the link

Unboxing: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bITHpVinbnk

Benchmark: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LmxZf-lWXGQ
Thanks! I have added them to main post.

This post has been edited by Cranky guy: Nov 19 2012, 02:07 AM
SiIverStar
post Nov 19 2012, 02:21 AM

Alone~Decent
988 posts

low badget phone with good spec... thumbup.gif
syncomp
post Nov 19 2012, 10:46 AM

498 posts

QUOTE(captainwifi @ Nov 18 2012, 11:54 AM)
does this phone have any annoying manufacturer's bloatware/software that slows the phone and drags the battery?
Nope. There's no bloatware in this phone. All the preinstalled apps are the common apps.
U can check here: http://www.s-csl.my/index.php/csl-phones/s...h-mercury-mi501

QUOTE(captainwifi @ Nov 19 2012, 01:57 AM)
I'm dissapointed the wifi is type b/g not n. any problems with the wifi?
No problem at all.. Smooth sailing bro..

QUOTE(SiIverStar @ Nov 19 2012, 02:21 AM)
low badget phone with good spec...  thumbup.gif
Agree! plus with this phone u can combine the cheapest talk/sms telco with the cheapest data telco. Its highly recommended for ppl who really on budget. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by syncomp: Nov 19 2012, 01:10 PM
TSCranky guy
post Nov 19 2012, 11:56 AM

Writer@Gizchina
1,818 posts

You can now get the leather case for this phone in CSL's online store or the dealer you bought your phone from.
sglalang
post Nov 19 2012, 02:00 PM

hi there, is there any way to sync the phone with computer like Samsung Kies, Nokia PC suite??
Is the firmware of this phone upgradeable to higher ver in future?
Thanks!
TSCranky guy
post Nov 19 2012, 04:35 PM

Writer@Gizchina
1,818 posts

QUOTE(sglalang @ Nov 19 2012, 02:00 PM)
hi there, is there any way to sync the phone with computer like Samsung Kies, Nokia PC suite??
Is the firmware of this phone upgradeable to higher ver in future?
Thanks!
Yes you can sync it with your computer through NQ Mobile, which comes with the phone. There is no update yet, but there are rumors that CSL are planning a JB update.
captainwifi
post Nov 19 2012, 11:18 PM

72 posts

add me to the userlist. the wifi seems ok. I just got this phone today.

everything is fantastic for now.
JJKTP
post Nov 19 2012, 11:46 PM

4,155 posts

QUOTE(syncomp @ Nov 19 2012, 10:46 AM)
Nope. There's no bloatware in this phone.
Glad to hear that.
syncomp
post Nov 20 2012, 12:21 AM

498 posts

QUOTE(Cranky guy @ Nov 19 2012, 11:56 AM)
You can now get the leather case for this phone in CSL's online store or the dealer you bought your phone from.
Will go to Shah Alam HQ tomorrow. Been scouting around their retailers last weekend but seems not widely sell yet. Good info bro! drool.gif

QUOTE(captainwifi @ Nov 19 2012, 11:18 PM)

Welcome to the club! rclxm9.gif
JJKTP
post Nov 20 2012, 01:02 AM

4,155 posts

Guys, do share your experience here.
TSCranky guy
post Nov 20 2012, 01:23 AM

Writer@Gizchina
1,818 posts

QUOTE(captainwifi @ Nov 19 2012, 11:18 PM)

Done. Welcome to the club.

Added on November 20, 2012, 1:55 am
QUOTE(JJKTP @ Nov 20 2012, 01:02 AM)
Guys, do share your experience here.
I bought the phone because I needed a dual sim android phone for myself. So when I saw the add in Berita Harian, I went down to LowYat Plaza for a look. My first impressions, WOW, this is a big phone. Before this, I used a Samsung Galaxy S2, size comparison not needed. Holding it in my hand, I realized the bright, red,velvety matte back cover felt really comfortable in my hand. First swipe of my finger, super smoothness. It felt as if I was using Samsung Galaxy S2. It ran everything I threw at it without lag. I was super impressed, and bought the phone.

After I brought the phone home, I tried the wifi connection. Everything was nice and smooth. Tried camera, acceptable. Than I found my first and only problem. Video recording was only up to 480p, but I don't use the phone camera a lot, so it was fine.

Tested a few games like dead trigger, real football and contract killer. Everything ran as smooth as butter. Media playback was good, and screen was nice and clear. The NQ Mobile security app that came with the phone is really nice too.

Three months later, everything still runs smooth like it was new.

Added on November 20, 2012, 7:59 pmCSL Mi501 going for 615 ringgit here.

http://www.lelong.com.my/csl-mi501-mi-501-...3-10-Sale-P.htm

Get it while it lasts!

This post has been edited by Cranky guy: Nov 20 2012, 08:05 PM
JJKTP
post Nov 20 2012, 08:51 PM

4,155 posts

@Cranky

Good to hear that. However I don't think the GPU in anywhere near S2. Any comment on that, bro?

This post has been edited by JJKTP: Nov 20 2012, 08:55 PM
syncomp
post Nov 20 2012, 11:31 PM

498 posts

QUOTE(JJKTP @ Nov 20 2012, 08:51 PM)
@Cranky

Good to hear that. However I don't think the GPU in anywhere near S2. Any comment on that, bro?
Yerp. I have run both AnTuTu 3DRating Benchmark and Nenamark GPU test. It seems:

Its score 1238 for off-screen test. And compared to S2, its run 31.7 fps (32.8 fps by CSL Sabah - Youtube Benchmark) while S2 runs on 54.1 fps.

These are the overall benchmark by Quadrant and AnTuTu

Not bad aih?!! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by syncomp: Nov 20 2012, 11:33 PM
TSCranky guy
post Nov 20 2012, 11:47 PM

Writer@Gizchina
1,818 posts

QUOTE(JJKTP @ Nov 20 2012, 08:51 PM)
@Cranky

Sadly, yes. CSL Mi501 uses Adreno 203, which isn't the best GPU. However, it does it's job just fine when playing most games, and it does come close to beating Galaxy Nexus in Quadrant scores. It also makes up in price and screen size, so I'm still happy.

This post has been edited by Cranky guy: Nov 20 2012, 11:50 PM
captainwifi
post Nov 21 2012, 01:43 AM

72 posts

i jus tbought humblebundle for android 7 usd for a whole lot of games.

btw I notice something. the official ice cream linux kernel is suppose to be 3.0.1 and when jelly bean came out officially. the kernel used was 3.0.31

which is our mi501's version. what an odd coincident? no?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Android_versi..._Cream_Sandwich

The SDK for Android 4.0.1 (Ice Cream Sandwich), based on Linux kernel 3.0.1,[56] was publicly released on 19 October 2011.

Google announced Android 4.1 (Jelly Bean) at the Google I/O conference on 27 June 2012. Based on Linux kernel 3.0.31

TSCranky guy
post Nov 21 2012, 03:17 AM

Writer@Gizchina
1,818 posts

QUOTE(captainwifi @ Nov 21 2012, 01:43 AM)
i jus tbought humblebundle for android 7 usd for a whole lot of games.
btw I notice something. the official ice cream linux kernel is suppose to be 3.0.1 and when jelly bean came out officially. the kernel used was 3.0.31

which is our mi501's version. what an odd coincident? no?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Android_versi..._Cream_Sandwich
The SDK for Android 4.0.1 (Ice Cream Sandwich), based on Linux kernel 3.0.1,[56] was publicly released on 19 October 2011.
Google announced Android 4.1 (Jelly Bean) at the Google I/O conference on 27 June 2012. Based on Linux kernel 3.0.31
I noticed that after I watched the unboxing vidreo on youtube. Pretty cool.

Added on November 21, 2012, 11:57 amFinally got my casing from my retailer yesterday.

This post has been edited by Cranky guy: Nov 21 2012, 11:57 AM
syncomp
post Nov 21 2012, 01:43 PM

498 posts

QUOTE(Cranky guy @ Nov 21 2012, 03:17 AM)
I noticed that after I watched the unboxing vidreo on youtube. Pretty cool.

Added on November 21, 2012, 11:57 amFinally got my casing from my retailer yesterday.
Dude.. Where u bought it? I went to the shah alam hq. They hav no stock
TSCranky guy
post Nov 21 2012, 02:25 PM

Writer@Gizchina
1,818 posts

QUOTE(syncomp @ Nov 21 2012, 01:43 PM)
Dude.. Where u bought it? I went to the shah alam hq. They hav no stock
Spectrum in Bandar Baru Ampang. I bought my phone from them too so I got the case for RM30. The case is like Ninetolgy Stealth Case, but the quality feels really top notch. Like my sister's Samsung S3's case. Plus, if you fold the flap over, it turns into a little stand.

This post has been edited by Cranky guy: Nov 21 2012, 02:26 PM
miloy2k
post Nov 21 2012, 03:31 PM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

share some pic if can
TSCranky guy
post Nov 21 2012, 03:53 PM

Writer@Gizchina
1,818 posts

QUOTE(miloy2k @ Nov 21 2012, 03:31 PM)
share some pic if can
Sure, gladly. Sorry for picture quality, I took the pictures with my phone.

This post has been edited by Cranky guy: Nov 21 2012, 03:55 PM

90 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0296sec    1.21    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 06:13 AM