129 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Bottom

Proton PrevĂ© V16, I'm proven. Et vous?

pigduck
post Nov 19 2012, 01:18 AM

422 posts

QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Nov 19 2012, 01:17 AM)
Not trying to bad mouth almera here, but can you actually feel where your car is going/turning during on straight road and also during cornering? I feel so disconnected from the car when I am test driving the Almera.

almost all Proton cars has weighted steering for a reason; it offers better feedback and instill confidence during cornering, part of it is to compliment the "Proton Ride & Handling".
Yeah except the Saga FLX I tested was really too much feedback and I had no confidence with the steering. I really wanted it to be great 'cos for that price and interior, it's worth it.No muscle to turn the steering wheel. Also, pressing on the accelerator and car would rev but wouldn't go that much faster.

Added on November 19, 2012, 1:21 amAlmera was liquid steering - it gets better - when I first test drove it, I was like, "Wow... way too light! What's going on?" but on second test drive, I thought it had seasoned (the car that is) and steering was better.

This post has been edited by pigduck: Nov 19 2012, 01:21 AM
V12Kompressor
post Nov 19 2012, 01:29 AM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

"too much feedback". laugh.gif

if you stomp on the accelerator and expect the car hits 100kmh in a blink of an eye, then sorry to say, you're not used to CVT characteristic yet. Eventually, you will find fault with the Preve as well unless your mindset adapts to how CVT works.
pigduck
post Nov 19 2012, 01:32 AM

422 posts

When I accelerate I expect the car to move, the steering to feel good and the overall drive experience to be good. Not to over-exert myself like with the Saga. Why make it tiresome?

I do have and drive other cars in my house. All pretty balanced and comfortable to drive. With decent feedback when I accelerate and turn the steering wheel.

Added on November 19, 2012, 1:34 am+ why are we getting into the technicalities of my driving? I didn't like the Saga FLX. Full stop. I didn't agree with the steering and how it drove and if that is how the Preve Executive drives like so, then that's bad.

Added on November 19, 2012, 1:35 amAnd if comparing Saga FLX to Kelisa, I'd say, stick to Kelisa. The zippy-ness of the Kelisa is unparalleled.

Added on November 19, 2012, 1:36 amNot to mention if having to compare Saga FLX to Myvi, I'd say get a Myvi. It's definitely a better experience. Just overall, less stress. The jammed roads are stress enough. One should at least have a relaxed ride. Like the Almera.

Added on November 19, 2012, 1:40 amBut if you want a more powerful and enjoyable ride where you feel you're in control, then Preve Premium is good (can we make the steering wheel lighter?) I just feel like utilising the energy in the Preve all the time and since I don't do much highway driving, it would be wasted on me.

Jazz Hybrid is definitely smoother than the Preve Premium. Maybe due to the size of the car, eh?

This post has been edited by pigduck: Nov 19 2012, 01:40 AM
V12Kompressor
post Nov 19 2012, 01:41 AM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

Well, both of us has different perception on "expectation", "feel good" and "decent feedback". Perhaps its due to the difference on how each of us look at cars and how the car behaves like according to our own preference.

Furthermore, when you have set your mind (and money) to get a Preve, why bother looking at other rubbish car like the Saga. Just get the Preve Premium which comes with almost all the bell and whistle. At least you don't need to fix the car everyday like Saga owners do and the chances of getting osteoporosis is significantly lower in the Preve than the Saga.

Another plus point is, the recent ECU remap helps significantly in city driving. biggrin.gif

Added on November 19, 2012, 1:43 amand no, the steering wheel cant get any lighter.

unless you rajin rajin terjun lubang and loosen up some parts of the steering and suspension parts.

This post has been edited by V12Kompressor: Nov 19 2012, 01:43 AM
pigduck
post Nov 19 2012, 01:43 AM

422 posts

HAHAHAHA osteoperosis....wink.gif*thumbs* for that. HILARIOUS. I'm a shorty... doesn't matter -

Oh yes, another thing to love about the Preve- i can boost up the seat to maximum.

Do Saga owners actually have to fix their cars everyday? poor them!

Yes, the ECU update makes Preve Premium more responsive. When I first test drove the Preve, the lag disappointed me but today, it was much better.
dares
post Nov 19 2012, 01:44 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(pigduck @ Nov 19 2012, 01:32 AM)
When I accelerate I expect the car to move, the steering to feel good and the overall drive experience to be good. Not to over-exert myself like with the Saga. Why make it tiresome?

I do have and drive other cars in my house. All pretty balanced and comfortable to drive. With decent feedback when I accelerate and turn the steering wheel.

Added on November 19, 2012, 1:34 am+ why are we getting into the technicalities of my driving? I didn't like the Saga FLX. Full stop. I didn't agree with the steering and how it drove and if that is how the Preve Executive drives like so, then that's bad.

Added on November 19, 2012, 1:35 amAnd if comparing Saga FLX to Kelisa, I'd say, stick to Kelisa. The zippy-ness of the Kelisa is unparalleled.

Added on November 19, 2012, 1:36 amNot to mention if having to compare Saga FLX to Myvi, I'd say get a Myvi. It's definitely a better experience. Just overall, less stress. The jammed roads are stress enough. One should at least have a relaxed ride. Like the Almera.
Then the Saga is not for you. I owned a Saga, drives a Vios and Viva and I have to say the Saga is the most difficult to drive due to the reasons you have stated.

Those sushi cars are built for one thing: get in and drive, easy.

The Saga FLX, however, takes more effort to even get it moving without jerking, but it rewards you in spades once you adapt to that mentality. Especially the Vios....man I cannot imagine a more boring car to drive. Perhaps the almera will trump it.

However, I can appreciate the fact that not everyone subscribe to this. My sister, for example, would derive no pleasure from the saga because her idea of a good car is a fuss free, even if dull, trip from A to B. This is why Myvi is popular with certain ppl, but not ppl like me.

This post has been edited by dares: Nov 19 2012, 01:45 AM
pigduck
post Nov 19 2012, 01:47 AM

422 posts

Then why did you get a Vios, dares? Thinking of changing to a Preve Premium?

Added on November 19, 2012, 1:50 amBTW, I find the butt of the Preve Premium too big. Clearly, not a fan of big butts.

This post has been edited by pigduck: Nov 19 2012, 01:50 AM
dares
post Nov 19 2012, 01:50 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(pigduck @ Nov 19 2012, 01:47 AM)
The vios belongs to my sister laugh.gif

Nope, I recently bought a Fiesta and sold my Saga. The Fiesta jerks even worse at low speed. I like to punish myself like that unsure.gif
V12Kompressor
post Nov 19 2012, 01:53 AM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

QUOTE(pigduck @ Nov 19 2012, 01:47 AM)

Added on November 19, 2012, 1:50 amBTW, I find the butt of the Preve Premium too big. Clearly, not a fan of big butts.
can fit reverse camera to make reversing an easier task.

that dares cannot tahan fix Saga everyday so have to sell it. he wants a better machine to do gymkhana.

This post has been edited by V12Kompressor: Nov 19 2012, 01:54 AM
pigduck
post Nov 19 2012, 01:54 AM

422 posts

How was the resale value of the Saga? I'm wondering is the resale value bad because there are a lot of Protons for sale, or is it just 'cos the car has no value, you know?

And omg, at jerking at low speed. You do like to punish yourself. Many people told me to get a Fiesta but I don't know, I'm quite functional and practical - hence why Preve Premium and Jazz Hybrid. And Almera reliability. But Fiesta is good price, I think. Is yours auto?
dares
post Nov 19 2012, 01:56 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Nov 19 2012, 01:53 AM)

that dares cannot tahan fix Saga everyday so have to sell it. he wants a better machine to do gymkhana.
Gomakantikuspls sleep.gif
pigduck
post Nov 19 2012, 01:56 AM

422 posts

And Almera lost out for me when I found out back seats couldn't be put down. So un-functional. My Kelisa is awesome - can store lots of things. I've carried furniture in it.

Added on November 19, 2012, 1:57 am
QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Nov 19 2012, 01:53 AM)

yes, if i put it reverse camera, the premium preve will be almost perfect smile.gif

Added on November 19, 2012, 1:59 amBTW, does the Premium Preve have an arm rest for the driver? I forgot to notice - otherwise, can we fit it in? or does it have a centre console cum armrest already?

This post has been edited by pigduck: Nov 19 2012, 01:59 AM
dares
post Nov 19 2012, 02:00 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(pigduck @ Nov 19 2012, 01:54 AM)
How was the resale value of the Saga? I'm wondering is the resale value bad because there are a lot of Protons for sale, or is it just 'cos the car has no value, you know?

And omg, at jerking at low speed. You do like to punish yourself. Many people told me to get a Fiesta but I don't know, I'm quite functional and practical - hence why Preve Premium and Jazz Hybrid. And Almera reliability. But Fiesta is good price, I think. Is yours auto?
Expect 20% depreciation in the first year, then 10% for second and lesser for each subsequent years.

Yea mine is auto hatchback. If you are after a practical fuss free ride and dont mind sacrificing performance and a bit of safety....I am gonna get burnt in his thread for saying this......get the Vios J. Anything more expensive than RM80k for a vios is a con job.

This post has been edited by dares: Nov 19 2012, 02:01 AM
pigduck
post Nov 19 2012, 02:00 AM

422 posts

And we can bluetooth our phone so it's hands-free, right? I witnessed it on a Grand Livina HU today and thought it was cool.
V12Kompressor
post Nov 19 2012, 02:02 AM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

most B-segment sedans cant have their seats fold flat anyway.

if your kelisa is so awesome, why bother parting with it anyway since it has adequately weighted steering feedback (by your definition), can zip here zip there, zip till holland, easy to park, easy to steer and you can put the whole of Ikea in it.
dares

834 posts

QUOTE(pigduck @ Nov 19 2012, 01:56 AM)

Added on November 19, 2012, 1:59 amBTW, does the Premium Preve have an arm rest for the driver? I forgot to notice - otherwise, can we fit it in? or does it have a centre console cum armrest already?
Center console storage is the armrest.
pigduck

422 posts

I saw the Vios G,very nice with all the leather, not quite as premium as Altis G but pretty good.

Vios doesn't really appeal to me, sadly.
dares

834 posts

QUOTE(pigduck @ Nov 19 2012, 02:00 AM)
And we can bluetooth our phone so it's hands-free, right? I witnessed it on a Grand Livina HU today and thought it was cool.
Can
V12Kompressor
post Nov 19 2012, 02:03 AM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

QUOTE(pigduck @ Nov 19 2012, 01:56 AM)
And Almera lost out for me when I found out back seats couldn't be put down. So un-functional. My Kelisa is awesome - can store lots of things. I've carried furniture in it.

Added on November 19, 2012, 1:57 am

yes, if i  put it reverse camera, the premium preve will be almost perfect smile.gif

no arm rest.

aftermarket arm rest for the Preve one has yet to make a debut.
pigduck
post Nov 19 2012, 02:05 AM

422 posts

QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Nov 19 2012, 02:02 AM)
most B-segment sedans cant have their seats fold flat anyway.

if your kelisa is so awesome, why bother parting with it anyway since it has adequately weighted steering feedback (by your definition), can zip here zip there, zip till holland, easy to park, easy to steer and you can put the whole of Ikea in it.
yes, one should hear me exclaim every time i squeeze into a nook to park, "ISN'T MY CAR THE BEST?"

family pressure - they are twisting my arm to waste money on a new ride now. they've been wanting me to for the last ... 6 years at least.

129 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0326sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 02:39 PM