110 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Arsenal Street Talk, 18 December 2012 | 0355 | REA v. ARS

ray123
post Nov 11 2012, 11:18 PM

Senior Citizen
2,510 posts

Rising ticket prices meant only the upper middle class and the rich could afford to go to the most of the games and not all of them are inclined to be the singing and cursing crowd.
SUSAzurues
post Nov 11 2012, 11:26 PM

▲▲▲▲
958 posts

Meanwhile spuds lost to mancity
Angel of Deth
post Nov 12 2012, 02:05 AM

1,242 posts

Julio Cesar says he spoke to Arsenal before joining Queens Park Rangers
Julio Cesar: Snubbed Arsenal in favour of a move to Loftus Road

Julio Cesar claims he met with Arsenal before taking the decision to link up with Queens Park Rangers.

The Brazilian goalkeeper arrived in the Premier League over the summer in a surprise switch from Inter Milan.

The UEFA Champions League winner has graced the very top of the game and was expected to join another title-chasing club after taking the decision to leave Italy.

He admits he could have made a move to the Emirates, but says he was enticed to Loftus Road as there is greater scope to fill a directorial role there once he hangs up his gloves.

Cesar told The Sunday People: "I accepted this proposal because I wanted to live in London.

"I have an amazing way of life here and I'm giving my family a great opportunity to grow up culturally.

"I talked with Arsenal in the last transfer window, and they were really happy about me playing for them, but at the last minute I moved to QPR.

"QPR has a project, and I dream about that project coming true. But I came here because I was thinking about my future once I quit football, that's true."

He added: "The directors have signed 11 footballers, and when you put them all into a team, it will be difficult for that team to work immediately.

"That's why QPR haven't won yet. We don't have an identity yet. But let me tell you we are on the right track.

"The fact that I can speak Portuguese, Italian and now English will give me opportunities in the future to be a director once I quit football. Even at QPR I could work as a director."
Thumpy Ick
post Nov 12 2012, 07:21 AM

281 posts

has ambitions to become a director at a club. Julius Caesar indeed
funnyTONE
post Nov 12 2012, 10:04 AM

certified /k/ oldfag
2,949 posts

QUOTE(Rei7 @ Nov 11 2012, 03:10 PM)
Very long rant biggrin.gif

Awful. Absolutely awful. Winning goal irrelevant at end there. Can't protect a lead. Pointless. Utterly pointless. We're at that stage we were at the back end of the 11/12 season after the Carling Cup final where you couldn't cheer a goal. It was impossible too because you knew we'd concede. It's back to that, now. It just seems worthless using your energy to do so because you now expect to concede every game.

That's Fulham at home. 3 goals shipped in to Fulham, at home. From a 2-0 lead as well. Honestly, it's shocking. Unbelievably we look a centre back short again. As in, we look like we could do with another because the others no longer look up to it. I'm sick & *bleep* tired of the same old shit, shit mistakes being churned out, year after year after year. We're a GK short. We're a CB short. We need a left back. We need a tough tackling midfielder and we're a striker short as well and we've been all of those short for f***ing years now.

There's something wrong within the club, it's not just the players. Because its a completely different personnel than it was 4 years ago, but they continue to make the same glaringly obvious mistakes, it's getting boring now, victory is now a surprise, irrespective of whom the opposition are. We needed the likes of Podolski, Giroud & Cazorla on top of the players we had last season. On top of them. Additions.

But with the subsequent sales of Van Persie, Song & Theo in January, they will have all turned into replacements. All we've done, summer after summer is look to replace when we've needed additions on top of what we've already had. Sell 1, buy 1. Buy 1, sell 1. We need to start buying 2 before we're selling 1. It's all wrong, the mentality is all wrong & finally had enough. I try & be as positive & as supportive as I can be, but I can't find it in me to cheer a goal, because I think we'll concede every game. I can't believe in 2012/13 we've relied on the likes of Abou Diaby & Rosicky to be fit. Honestly, if someone would have told you in 2009 that in 2012, you will miss Diaby & Rosicky, I'd have said you're mental. They won't be at the club then. We've pinned our hopes on those two staying fit for a season when they've never managed that before!? It makes no sense what so ever... and I'm sorry, but there is something fundamentally wrong, within the club, and finally, after years of witnessing the same thing & trying to find excuse after excuse, whilst searching for the positives, I can't find them anymore. I'd like to hold my hands up & say I'm sorry, but I don't know any more. I don't know what's wrong, where we're going or what we're doing. I'm completely totally & utterly lost & I no longer have an answer for anything anymore.

The personnel problems started right at the end of the 07/08 season. We pushed Utd & Chelsea right to the 37th fixture that year & perhaps we should have won it. But we should have sat down & evaluated what was needed. But nope, we made do. It was the start of us 'making do'.

We lost Diarra, Lehmann, Flamini, Gilberto, & Hleb. We bought Ramsey & Nasri... Then made do. We probably needed a Nasri on top of what we had in order to push that one last bit. Subsequently, there were no additions. We barely replaced. We bought Arshavin in Jan when we should have bought him in the summer previous. Clawed our way to 4th. That summer? Lose Toure &Adebayor. In? Vermaelen. Again, we needed a Vermaelen on top of what we had, so again, no additions. Just making do, once again. We then finally made an attempt to replace those two losses a whole year later with Koscielny & Chamakh. So where are the additions? To help push on? By now, we've lost Eduardo as well.

We go into 2011 summer. We lose Nasri, Cesc, Eboue & Clichy. We're down. We already needed additions to compete, on top of what we had so now, we're *bleep* basically. We send a depleted side to Old Trafford& Arsene lines up 4-3-3 & they're ripped apart from 1st minute to last. Embarrassing. How dare he line that side up as open as that, at Old Trafford. 4-5-1, pack that midfield out & play flat. Come away with a 2/3 goal defeat, people understand. But we've left ourselves in a position where we're selecting left backs who are being sold the very next day. Why the f***, how the f***, is Traore getting anywhere near that starting XI!?

We then leave it last minute, in true supermarket sweep fashion to bring in Mertesacker, Santos, Arteta & Benayoun. Ok, you've made your purchases. Not everyone's choice, but you've made them never the less. We'll get behind them...& as much as I love the likes of Arteta &as much as I respect & appreciate that we somehow finished 3rd in a shit-off between ourselves Tottenham, Chelsea & Newcastle - we knew what we needed so that we wouldn't find ourselves in this position again. We knew, we all did & at the start we thought the club did too. We went out & completed deals for Pod, Giroud & Cazorla. It was exciting, because finally, after years of not doing so, squad personnel/options looked good again. It may have been good enough. But then every single one of us was smacked in the face with the sales of Van Persie, Song & the Theo issue not being resolved. "Sorry, Theo. We can't offer you that extra 10k or whatever you want a week because Mr 28 year old & Mr 30 year old have no footballing ambition whatsoever & want to sit on thier 50/60k p/w wages which prevents us from keeping our most dangerous player, which you are. Bye." Makes... no... f***ing... sense... WHATSOVER. Its the clubs fault we'll lose Theo, not his. Not his at all. And once again we find ourselves in the same, moronic, tiresome position of being short in the exact, same positions we have been for yeeeaaarrrs.

It's not on, it's not acceptable. We're not Everton. We don't have to sell before we can buy & hope we find a gem. David Moyes has to make do because they haven't a pot to piss in.Which wouldn't bother me if we were in the same position. But we have pots. f***ing loads of 'em. Each & every single board member has their own individual diamond encrusted, gold rimmed pot to urinate all over whenever the f*** they like.

This club does not give itself a chance, on the pitch. We make do through choice, not because we have to. We don't compete because we choose not to compete. Not because we can't. Year after year, all we do, is make do. No conviction. No direction. No ambition. Farce.

...and there's not a single person out there who knows how much its taken me to voice an opinion as strong as that.
+1
I agree to some extent that the Board has so much influence in our success and failure on the pitch. Their refusal to raise the salary of our previous ex players means they have the choice to move to another team that is willing. Call it what you may....greed, disloyal, impatient. Our club stuck with the belief that a controlled salary system would stabalize the club in the long run....but is it really all that? Why do they keep rising the ticket price, why does it always means a lot that our team is making big money elsewhere where football is nonrelevant? Being so successful in tight financial control and prudence, its fair that us fans and the players have waited patiently for the Board to open up some space for investment in the team. Not only in buying the 'right' players, but also keeping the existing ones. Over the years, there've been many variations of reasons to why they left the club... but I simply can't help to notice the similarities of dissent when these so-called 'traitors' speak about Arsenal, the manager and the Board. Arsenal isn't ambitious enough.

For me, its time high time we hit the panic button. Last season, we we're proven to be prospect league winners despite being third. This season, we bought senior players, national players and world class at that. NOT YOUTHS. It was all sunny and rainbows in preseason. So for January market, I'd buy the best player good money can buy. when I say best, I mean top 10 players in the world. Buy RVP if all I care. 200m quids to splurge in one go. F&%* the Board for all I care.
Vinci777
post Nov 12 2012, 11:22 AM

No Title
1,616 posts

Our striking options seems ok atm. The only problem is midfield. Without a combative dm, we hardly control midfield. Its a waste to put Arteta there. Like seriously. I really wonder y AW sold song without a good/proven backup.

Something is wrong with our training as well. Our players are too static upfront and didnt offer any passing options to teammates. Oh yea, maybe except ramsey this time. He offers himself but often stand too close making the pass useless. Same position only diff passer.

Really hope we makes things right at Spuds and we must do cos its Spuds for gods sake.
ciwi1166
post Nov 12 2012, 11:24 AM

~~~Prestissimo~~~
2,263 posts

what dissapoint me is the board is so laid back. no urgency at all. they don't understand the jealousy the fan hv seeing our rivals winning so much, moreover we used to be top dog ourselves.

bring back the days.. smile.gif
Vinci777
post Nov 12 2012, 11:48 AM

No Title
1,616 posts

Our board are business minded. I mean, how can they charge such ticket price when our highest paid player is only around 100k p/w.

It seems that Arsenal pays alot for youngster while limits the star players wages. Scrap rotten players and we could save ourselves like 100-200k a week? Damn.
ssmuhd84
post Nov 12 2012, 12:09 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(zimhibikie @ Nov 12 2012, 11:16 AM)
Maybe AW will regret why the board didnt agree to part-exchange deal invovling RvP and Cakarito..
Thats rite bro. But I would prefer to hv Berbatov instead of Chikarito. I like his coolest when he control, dribble, tricks and hold the ball. During his prime especially in Spud, we could see every defenders hard to snatch ball from him. His instinct to score also not that bad.

Why not AW change the formation back to 4-4-2. This formation is proven to Arsenal squad before.
SilentSerpent
post Nov 12 2012, 12:42 PM

It sucks to be you
699 posts

when we are not scoring goals, all of you said that we need better strikers, our strikers are not up to par etc.
now that we are scoring, but conceding, all of you said that we need world class defenders and dms.
and when the middle of the park seems to be dull, we now need new midfielders etc.

we might not have the best players but we certainly have good ones.
the only thing that we need right now is fcking consistency.
Casanova88
post Nov 12 2012, 12:56 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(SilentSerpent @ Nov 12 2012, 12:42 PM)
when we are not scoring goals, all of you said that we need better strikers, our strikers are not up to par etc.
now that we are scoring, but conceding, all of you said that we need world class defenders and dms.
and when the middle of the park seems to be dull, we now need new midfielders etc.

What we need now is a new manager who has vision & mission to win trophies. Not being 2nd, 3rd,4th.... best
ray123
post Nov 12 2012, 12:58 PM

Senior Citizen
2,510 posts

QUOTE(zimhibikie @ Nov 12 2012, 12:38 PM)
Berbatov is good, but Cakarito been scoring goals for fun now...
In Wenger's defense, Berbatov did say in the pre-game interview that there was no way for him to go to Arsenal. He never considered Arsenal as a choice at all.
vandetta_10
post Nov 12 2012, 01:04 PM

115 posts

dalam keadaan macam ni pasti ada seseorang the great predictor menangguk di air yang keruh dengan kempen tukar pengurus. lepas menang ni, pasti hilang
sickx
post Nov 12 2012, 01:06 PM

:)
1,232 posts

QUOTE(Casanova88 @ Nov 12 2012, 12:56 PM)
What we need now is a new manager who has vision & mission to win trophies. Not being 2nd, 3rd,4th.... best
what we need now is you to shut the hell up.
Lowyat
post Nov 12 2012, 01:36 PM

myLowyat
1,676 posts

QUOTE(aladdin @ Nov 11 2012, 07:27 AM)
We are nowhere near top4 (ecl qualify) or even 5th place. Dont be surprise if we are not playing in euro next season
I still stongly believe Arsenal manage to reach UEFA cup qualification.
Zeus88
post Nov 12 2012, 01:45 PM

48 posts

Enough of the negative stuff.. Let's take the positive from the game
Arsenal.com MOTM - OG12 flex.gif

Btw, is there any chant for Giroud? So far I've heard Podolski one only..

This post has been edited by Zeus88: Nov 12 2012, 01:47 PM
rickysay
post Nov 12 2012, 02:06 PM

Arsenal F.C.
1,018 posts

QUOTE(Zeus88 @ Nov 12 2012, 01:45 PM)
Enough of the negative stuff.. Let's take the positive from the game
Arsenal.com MOTM - OG12  flex.gif

Btw, is there any chant for Giroud? So far I've heard Podolski one only..
sure there is.

Na-Na-Na-Na-Na Giroud (song from Hey Jude) icon_idea.gif

Added on November 12, 2012, 2:12 pm
QUOTE(SilentSerpent @ Nov 12 2012, 12:42 PM)

So true. Consistency issue is what we are facing. There is no doubt quality players in our squad but what we lack is the morale and the mentality to win. I guess we can blame this on Wenger because he made a mess when he mentioned "fourth place is like a trophy" to the fans. what does that tell the other players?

This post has been edited by rickysay: Nov 12 2012, 02:12 PM
'62jaguar
post Nov 12 2012, 02:55 PM

564 posts

QUOTE(vandetta_10 @ Nov 12 2012, 01:04 PM)
dalam keadaan macam ni pasti ada seseorang the great predictor menangguk di air yang keruh dengan kempen tukar pengurus. lepas menang ni, pasti hilang
ahaha..
agreed... cool2.gif
undentifyxd
post Nov 12 2012, 05:10 PM

85 posts

post it for fun... i know there is only 1% chance arsenal will get him
aladdin
post Nov 12 2012, 05:11 PM

True Love Never Runs Smooth
4,346 posts

QUOTE(Lowyat @ Nov 12 2012, 01:36 PM)
I still stongly believe Arsenal manage to reach UEFA cup qualification.
AW strongly believe we could win EPL for the past 7 seasons. You can call this de javu, but yet, he said this again.

Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger has claimed his side are still contenders to win this season's Premier League title - even after falling 11 points behind leaders Manchester United after Saturday's 3-3 home draw against Fulham.

Arsene Wenger
GettyImagesArsene Wenger says Arsenal can still win the league

Despite a series of setbacks in recent weeks, Wenger is confident that his developing side is capable of launching a push for the biggest prize in English football from their current position of eighth place in the Premier League.

His optimism remains intact despite a run that has seen the Gunners collect just one win in their last four league games, with their creaking defence conceding 14 goals in their last four fixtures alone.

When asked whether his side could emerge as shock title challengers in the second half of the season, Wenger's response was unequivocal.

"Of course, yes why not," he said. "We had come through three difficult games, especially the first two. We had to recover from the United game and then we gave it all in Germany.

"All of us were disappointed not to beat Fulham because we had the chances to do that and in the end we were frustrated, but there were many positives to take from the game. Our performances are not as big a disaster as some people like to portray them and I still have great belief in this team."

The improved performance of striker Olivier Giroud was the most notable plus point for Wenger after his summer signing scored twice against Fulham on Saturday, leaving the French striker to conclude he is getting to grips with life in the Premier League.

"I feel better and better," Giroud told the Arsenal website. "I'm confident about my qualities and I never give up. When I didn't score at the beginning of the season, I stayed confident and always worked on my mind and my game. I think there is a lot of quality in this team and we will have better days in front of us.

Source Soccernet

110 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0298sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 12:48 PM