QUOTE(zenix @ Nov 11 2012, 03:57 AM)
Ok, lets just drop the analogy lol. Hope tomorrow night will have as much entertainment as tonight.
Arsenal Street Talk, 18 December 2012 | 0355 | REA v. ARS
Nov 11 2012, 04:00 AM
2,510 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Nov 11 2012, 07:27 AM
4,346 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
We are nowhere near top4 (ecl qualify) or even 5th place. Dont be surprise if we are not playing in euro next season
Nov 11 2012, 07:49 AM
380 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
Arteta, I know it's not your day. No worry, you have the gunners support!
What i see in bpl, arsenal are the only team that also need deal with negative pressure from medias. It very obvious media and commentators are influencing the team mentality... And every game the objective is shut their mouth up! |
Nov 11 2012, 09:45 AM
358 posts Joined: Aug 2008 From: Oxpod |
QUOTE(mickeysew814 @ Nov 11 2012, 08:49 AM) Arteta, I know it's not your day. No worry, you have the gunners support! dont worry mate..we are the same..never really a media darling clubs..i think..they never really like the london clubs..us..spurs always something on the media.. What i see in bpl, arsenal are the only team that also need deal with negative pressure from medias. It very obvious media and commentators are influencing the team mentality... And every game the objective is shut their mouth up! |
Nov 11 2012, 10:24 AM
85 posts Joined: Jan 2010 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(mickeysew814 @ Nov 11 2012, 08:49 AM) Arteta, I know it's not your day. No worry, you have the gunners support! im fcking pissed with commentator last night... how biased toward arsenalWhat i see in bpl, arsenal are the only team that also need deal with negative pressure from medias. It very obvious media and commentators are influencing the team mentality... And every game the objective is shut their mouth up! |
Nov 11 2012, 10:32 AM
2,449 posts Joined: Jul 2010 From: 4.2105° N, 101.9758° E |
Nov 11 2012, 11:03 AM
108 posts Joined: Jun 2012 |
3-3 is fair results..
credit to balak berbatov also... the last minute penalty could have been not awarded as the defender already pulled his hand to back before the ball hit at bad angle.. luckliy arsene has strong heart...if not sure cardio attack liao... |
Nov 11 2012, 11:07 AM
0 posts Joined: May 2012 |
Defence was great beginning of the season. Now giroud Manage to score two goals but cant enjoice because the defence bocor. Kesian giroud..
Nov 11 2012, 11:31 AM
281 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
we had the urgency yesterday. that was an improvement. usually if we have 10 minutes left we'll keep on passing and back passing and losing the ball. having giroud offers a direct route to goal w/o any of that fancy time wasting play. tho when walcott went off for oxlade the urgency kinda faded out. damn walcott was intense ytd
Nov 11 2012, 11:34 AM
564 posts Joined: Nov 2006 From: JB |
a bit unlucky for the team..unlucky arteta for not scoring the penalty..also giving away the penalty to fulham..
IMO arsenal defence combo is a bit better compairing when we have santos on LB..not all defence fault.. also must give credit to berbatov (cool and steady ball control) and bryan luiz (his thru pass was good)..last twenty minutes of the game, awesome and very entertaining football i must say... COYG |
Nov 11 2012, 11:50 AM
1,232 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
The most noticable thing that i noted last night: The Emirates was louder when we were behind. Then, we got the equalizer. That's whatt fans do. Get behind the team, cheer as loud as they can. Every tackle won, every successful dribble, the crowd was louder than usual. Next week is NLD. Provided that all our players return from international unacathed, NLD should be the perfect time to show our real strength.
Nov 11 2012, 12:12 PM
QUOTE(sickx @ Nov 11 2012, 11:50 AM) The most noticable thing that i noted last night: The Emirates was louder when we were behind. Then, we got the equalizer. That's whatt fans do. Get behind the team, cheer as loud as they can. Every tackle won, every successful dribble, the crowd was louder than usual. Next week is NLD. Provided that all our players return from international unacathed, NLD should be the perfect time to show our real strength. the loudest is at half time... the sound of 'booooo'...anyhow, i see potential we back to 4-4-2 giroud - walcott podolski - cazorla - arteta - Ox Gibb - captain - per - sagna giroud, podolski n cazorla mix well, so put all 3 together. walcott and giroud seems blend well too. (btw, walcott is now or corner agent). still, our left back seems like very easy to penetrate... why ar... This post has been edited by mickeysew814: Nov 11 2012, 12:13 PM |
Nov 11 2012, 12:22 PM
1,242 posts Joined: Sep 2008 From: Cheras |
With 4-4-2, you'll be murdered on the center. Unless the team carry higher threat from the flanks, it will be no good. Manchester United and Fulham for examples, they were more like 4-4-1-1 with the likes of Berbatov and Rooney positioned deeper than the center forward. Can Walcott emulate this? Is his work rate, defensively high enough? I don't think so. You need that extra man on the center, to keep possession and give more options. Just remember what happen to Spurs and Man City early this season when they were outnumbered in the center area. Beside, Arteta and Cazorla combo. That basically mean Arteta need to do all the dirty work alone, or it will severely limit Cazorla input and freedom in his play.
Not many team employ the standard 4-4-2 today for the same reason. In EPL only few team retain it, which employ direct football style. 4-4-2 or 4-2-4 are more suitable as plan B for team like Arsenal, taken all the personnel into consideration. This post has been edited by Angel of Deth: Nov 11 2012, 12:27 PM |
Nov 11 2012, 12:25 PM
i'd rather have walcott pinned on the flanks. having him in the center would waste a good crosser, and he wont be linking up much with giroud he just wants to score for himself it seems. plus our center mids are not really combative, santi will get rolled over by 95% of the mids in bpl. when are we facing everton? i do not relish the sight of fellaini battling arteta and santi at all
Nov 11 2012, 12:27 PM
1,232 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
QUOTE(mickeysew814 @ Nov 11 2012, 12:12 PM) the loudest is at half time... the sound of 'booooo'... I'm guessing you only watch the match until half time.anyhow, i see potential we back to 4-4-2 giroud - walcott podolski - cazorla - arteta - Ox Gibb - captain - per - sagna giroud, podolski n cazorla mix well, so put all 3 together. walcott and giroud seems blend well too. (btw, walcott is now or corner agent). still, our left back seems like very easy to penetrate... why ar... |
Nov 11 2012, 12:31 PM
haha! i was full match.
Nov 11 2012, 12:33 PM
1,281 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
It's been so boring to watch Arsenal's game nowadays. We don't look like we turn up for the game at all, all those back passing at the back has costed us dearly. Every single time it happens it's because that we pass the ball around at the back and when the pass isn't completed, we get intercepted and opponent strikers will take their chance against our third choice.
We were very lucky to go to 2 nil up as we finished off the only two chances we created, however I really don't like the style we're playing now, like come on we are no Stoke, we don't just bombard the box with crosses and hope Giroud will score all of them. That kind of play style is nothing but pain to the eyes. Then come the second half we will usually up the tempo slightly but by then we have conceded too much it's impossible to attack anymore as the other team will just park the bus to kill the game. Once again Podolski was never in the game yesterday, never provided any threat going forward and was lazy to defend. His only contribution was getting in the right position to tap the second goal in. Walcott on the other flank was much brighter as he foray forward with pace and always threaten their defense. Walcott is the only joy to watch in Arsenal nowadays as he always looks dangerous when he receives the ball. I can't help but to say that Everton has a stronger fighting spirit than us, 1 nil down and in the dying minutes they always fought and fought in opponent's half until they reclaim the lead and win the game. The partnership and the players in their team is much more joyful to watch nowadays, sad to say. Piss poor performance and really negative game style, I have to say I see no hope in staying as top 4. It will probably be Spurs or Everton that will claim the 4th spot this year. The mentality of the game now is so poor as Wenger has repeatedly saying that we only want to qualify for CL. Fair enough, no trophy and likely no CL qualification this year, now what say you? Nowadays I derive more joy in watching Wenger's frustrated face when I watch the game. This post has been edited by JustForFun: Nov 11 2012, 12:35 PM |
Nov 11 2012, 01:06 PM
that style of play is truly not the best to watch, but how good are we exactly at playing the passing game? yes we were good, but i am no longer convinced that we are. plus, we need to develop a different approach to scoring, and giroud provided that. if we opted to play the passing game ytd i dont know what the score would be. our main passers santi and arteta were dismal ytd.
Nov 11 2012, 01:35 PM
735 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
QUOTE(sickx @ Nov 11 2012, 11:50 AM) The most noticable thing that i noted last night: The Emirates was louder when we were behind. Then, we got the equalizer. That's whatt fans do. Get behind the team, cheer as loud as they can. Every tackle won, every successful dribble, the crowd was louder than usual. Next week is NLD. Provided that all our players return from international unacathed, NLD should be the perfect time to show our real strength. meanwhile in some where in LYN forum, people are giving it a thought of boycott and such, full of win |
Nov 11 2012, 02:46 PM
4,346 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
I dont blame Arteta. This was not his fault. Please blame the fxcking useless defence. Anyone notice whenever we defend against corner, free kick, we park 5-6players in the 6 yard box?
Don't know why. It actually given fulham much more space. |
| Change to: | 0.0256sec
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 04:05 PM |