5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Smart Tag, Concealing

tcdotkong
post Jun 9 2013, 02:06 PM

QUOTE(wei @ Feb 3 2013, 01:59 AM)
Various ready made micro circuit I found online, volt meter reading says 9+V. Actually I've even tried connect direct car supply to it. Still won't detect, press button to check credit and battery all ok. As you can see on the photo there's a black casing where I put the main board, that part is glued to the windshield, right behind the rearview mirror where I have some clear space for it.
bro wei,

power supply from car still not working? My car already wired the power supply to a recorder at windshield just right behind the rear-view mirror. I wondering if car power supply can be treated like house by split the power (share share) from there. Then i dont need the hassle of pulling another wiring again. And also will be look neat. By the way, mind to share how to get the thingy you used to lower the 12v? I am not a tech-savvy, so have to follow using those already proven working stuff. laugh.gif

wei
post Jun 9 2013, 03:16 PM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

Actually I tried many method, direct pull from fuse box, splice from room lights, with 12v step down to 9v, with 12v step down to 10.5v. All works while test with card reader mode. Meaning the SmartTAG get powered and works. But when passed toll booth, it fail to scan, says no TAG. So i guess there's some other problem. I sticking with the 9V battery. And it's almost a year now biggrin.gif
jwrx
post Jun 9 2013, 04:35 PM

515 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Jun 9 2013, 03:16 PM)
Actually I tried many method, direct pull from fuse box, splice from room lights, with 12v step down to 9v, with 12v step down to 10.5v. All works while test with card reader mode. Meaning the SmartTAG get powered and works. But when passed toll booth, it fail to scan, says no TAG. So i guess there's some other problem. I sticking with the 9V battery. And it's almost a year now biggrin.gif
actually if you cleaned up the casing abit and made a nice battery/card holder...im sure ppl would buy biggrin.gif

lets say...rm250 lol

anyway, thks for the tips and vid..i go try now.

i lost 3 smartags over the last 4 years...damn sick of assholes breaking into my car
jwrx
post Jun 9 2013, 04:43 PM

515 posts

QUOTE(pelams @ Feb 11 2013, 03:54 PM)
u sure they'll report to police? bcoz i accidentally pecut n cucuk rapat behind my dad's car when he pass thru d smart tag. months has passed, n i have yet to receive any summons from d police. n yes, d lane has camera of course. (plaza tol from subang to shah alam)
yea they def do. I went tru smartag once without beeping because the barrier was up and lane not working. few months later at penang bridge toll, they waved me to 1 side and made me pay, big operasi, alot of truck dirvers kena hundreds of ringgit fine, for me, they accept that it was just a mistake, and i only had to pay the toll, no big deal
patienceGNR
post Jun 9 2013, 07:13 PM

♥ Ride All Day ♥
2,058 posts

QUOTE(jwrx @ Jun 9 2013, 04:35 PM)
actually if you cleaned up the casing abit and made a nice battery/card holder...im sure ppl would buy  biggrin.gif

lets say...rm250 lol

anyway, thks for the tips and vid..i go try now.

i lost 3 smartags over the last 4 years...damn sick of assholes breaking into my car
Do you have the SmartTag windscreen holder stickered on your windscreen? hmm.gif

I have the sticker thing but I threw it away. Easy target for thieves, "This guy has the ST holder, surely got ST in the car." *breaks*

And I put my ST in the glove box and/or door compartments, don't think they can see it.
Noregrets
post Jun 9 2013, 10:23 PM

1,124 posts

I put a piece of Velcro on my dashport and the other piece on the smart tag.
Every morning when I go to work I take the smart tag from my side compartment and the Velcro holds it in place.
As soon as I clear the toll I just remove and put it back to my side compartment.
If I don't do this sometimes I forget and this results in some angry drivers behind me during rush hours.
I also don't hang the smart tag holder on the windscreen because it is just telling everyone that I do have a smart tag in my car.
uexpress
post Jun 10 2013, 09:51 AM

187 posts

You guy may look at this in car charger.
http://www.groupme.my/products/deal/Tick%2...paign=GMN130610
edwardc
post Jun 29 2013, 02:31 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(uexpress @ Jun 10 2013, 09:51 AM)
You guy may look at this in car charger.
http://www.groupme.my/products/deal/Tick%2...paign=GMN130610
Wtf bro Wei and some other member connect to car battery cannot work at toll, but they selling this power supply for smartag. hmm
unitron
post Jun 29 2013, 03:32 PM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

Don't understand why some people wants to go through the hassle of modifying it... but whatever makes you happy.
hmm.gif

Is it really so difficult to just keep the ST somewhere else in the car out of view and only take it out when you need to go through the ST lane and keep it back once you're done ? It's like a 10 seconds task.

Some really lazy people I guess.. tongue.gif But i do agree it's fun modifying stuff and the satisfaction when it works. rclxms.gif
lznce2679
post Jul 1 2013, 12:46 AM

230 posts

ok since everyone is discussing of concealing the smart tag unit...

what if we can just mod the unit put a switch?

We can just switch it on & off whenever required vice versa.

i have a prob.. when i put a switch on the unit... whenever i switch it to off..it drains the battery...

Can someone help what did i do wrong? Thanks in advance.
Shawnzz
post Jul 1 2013, 10:23 AM

1,911 posts

QUOTE(unitron @ Jun 29 2013, 03:32 PM)
Don't understand why some people wants to go through the hassle of modifying it... but whatever makes you happy.
hmm.gif

Is it really so difficult to just keep the ST somewhere else in the car out of view and only take it out when you need to go through the ST lane and keep it back once you're done ? It's like a 10 seconds task.

Some really lazy people I guess..  tongue.gif  But i do agree it's fun modifying stuff and the satisfaction when it works.  rclxms.gif
how is it lazy when you are hacking up a smart tag? i guess you are the lazy 1 for not hacking your smart tag icon_rolleyes.gif
TSvincent_ng86
post Jul 2 2013, 03:41 PM

1,659 posts

Denise,

Thanks for your comments and advices. Sorry for not replying for some time as I was so engaged with my day to day job. Will see if I could revive this old project of mine!
TSvincent_ng86
post Jul 2 2013, 03:44 PM

1,659 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Feb 3 2013, 01:43 AM)
Did this middle last year. Tried numerous way to powered by car power, but somehow can't detect when passing the toll, probably the grounding running on the car chassis somehow interfere with the signal.

Am going to update this mod with lighted screen soon.
Thanks for your sharing. It is a good reference!
SUSceo684
post Jul 2 2013, 03:58 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

I hate the pseudo banana shape of the current version.. the old school square box is better.. this one always slides away from the dashboard and crashes on to the floormat

So if anyone came up with an alternative housing for the smart tag I'd buy one!

This post has been edited by ceo684: Jul 2 2013, 03:59 PM
ibnuasad
post Jul 2 2013, 08:36 PM

A screw is not a screw until you screw it!
558 posts

Smart Tag concealed icon_rolleyes.gif

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

So far no issues with signal... sweat.gif
TSvincent_ng86
post Jul 2 2013, 09:38 PM

1,659 posts

QUOTE(ibnuasad @ Jul 2 2013, 08:36 PM)
Smart Tag concealed  icon_rolleyes.gif

Attached Image   Attached Image   Attached Image

So far no issues with signal...  sweat.gif
Wouldn't it be noticeable from the driver and passenger window?
unitron
post Jul 2 2013, 09:38 PM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(Shawnzz @ Jul 1 2013, 10:23 AM)
how is it lazy when you are hacking up a smart tag? i guess you are the lazy 1 for not hacking your smart tag  icon_rolleyes.gif
laugh.gif because u burn more calories taking it out and hiding it back everytime you need to go through the toll both in the long run..
ibnuasad
post Jul 2 2013, 09:48 PM

A screw is not a screw until you screw it!
558 posts

QUOTE(vincent_ng86 @ Jul 2 2013, 09:38 PM)
Wouldn't it be noticeable from the driver and passenger window?
No icon_rolleyes.gif

People walking by at the sides won't notice..unless the person is short, then only *maybe* can see lah laugh.gif

My tint is also borderline JPJ specs rolleyes.gif
terenceng
post Oct 29 2013, 02:26 PM

what about new model smart tag, can mod?
fahmiyaeii
post Nov 30 2013, 07:16 AM

29 posts

I was using the new smart tag now.. Very small n thin..

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0319sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 12:02 AM