The SONY NEX Discussion Thread ver. 3N

TSnlik
post Dec 19 2012, 06:21 PM

876 posts

Date: 22nd December 2012
Venue: KLCC Convention center , Comic Fiesta 2012 main entrance.
Time: suggest to meet at 2.30pm at the fiesta entrance, until 4pm. Then 4pm we go KLCC yum char TT. ok??

** Comic Fiesta 2012 tickets are RM20 per day, I just found out from digging in their website. Therefore maybe more worth it to go much earlier??

Attending:
1. chiahau - Most probably if I am free with my old 5N and 50 1,8
2. CalvinSeak
3. Leowillis
4. mls_gamer - Will arrive there around 10am...hmm wait at there CF main entrace i think not a good idea.... sure crowded.
5. nlik - if I can come back on time from Hulu Langat biking .. haha.
add more ? smile.gif

Repost and add your name for those who wanna go. Thanks.

mls_gamer, if you are more familiar with the venue, can suggest another meeting place instead of the main entrance?

P.S. Last year's Comic Fiesta 2011

TSnlik
post Dec 20 2012, 02:11 AM

876 posts

QUOTE(poolcarpet @ Dec 20 2012, 12:39 AM)
What a bummer.... Anyone tried putting ram heatsinks to hopefully reduce the heat?
Try it!!. That would probably work to prolong the video recording at least. Thermal tape should stick it there. But this basically means your screen can't sit flush with the body already, it will always be indented out... which should help airflow and disperse heat as well.

-----------------------------

On another note, I took a few pics of friends with the paper heart cutout attached as shown earlier. I was pleasantly surprised that it actually changed the eye sparkles from round shape to a heart shape as well. I can't share that close up pic here lah , but u get what i mean, imagine the glitter in the eyes.
TSnlik
post Dec 21 2012, 08:10 AM

876 posts

I think to be clear, can just meet up at 4pm for TT, comic fiesta entry is not compulsory lah smile.gif .
TSnlik
post Dec 21 2012, 01:47 PM

876 posts

QUOTE(mls_gamer @ Dec 21 2012, 01:09 PM)
4pm i have to go back nilai liao cry.gif
Ic.. So 2.30 is still best time ?
TSnlik
post Dec 21 2012, 11:46 PM

876 posts

Oh kay, as of now, TT venue and time finalized as below.

Date: 22nd December 2012
Venue: KLCC Convention center , Comic Fiesta 2012 main entrance.
Time: 2.30pm at the fiesta entrance, until whenever we feel like it. Comic fiesta itself is optional.

** Comic Fiesta 2012 tickets are RM20 per day, I just found out from digging in their website. Therefore some may want to reach there earlier to get the most out of it, ahem.. ahem.. i think photographers are more brave in a group than going caugh.. caugh..solo.

Attending:
1. chiahau - Most probably if I am free with my old 5N and 50 1,8
2. CalvinSeak
3. Leowillis
4. mls_gamer - Will arrive there around 10am...hmm wait at there CF main entrace i think not a good idea.... sure crowded.
5. nlik
add more ? smile.gif

Repost and add your name for those who wanna go. Thanks nod.gif .

This post has been edited by nlik: Dec 21 2012, 11:51 PM
TSnlik
post Dec 22 2012, 12:30 AM

876 posts

QUOTE(mls_gamer @ Dec 21 2012, 11:52 PM)
There also will be a Nikon TT by CalvinSeak..
i think both nikon and sony can TT together tongue.gif
QUOTE(chiahau @ Dec 21 2012, 11:55 PM)
I might join but maybe won't be bringing camera as i would be with my another half.
Chun la;) hahaha.. We can persuade them to use NEX, they may try to interest us to use their lenses, flashes and why a traditional DSLR body is better haha..

But some Nikon bodies use Sony sensors, and some of us use Nikkor lenses, so TT together should be great and interesting.
TSnlik
post Dec 22 2012, 12:43 AM

876 posts

QUOTE(nlik @ Dec 9 2012, 12:51 PM)
There's something fishy about Nex-6 AF with the PZ1650.   I just tested shot after shot using  M mode (35mm,1/20,iso 800) , S-AF, Center weight with DMF, and I always get sharper results with manual focus as opposed to letting the camera AF. This is daytime with the window curtains 1/2 open.

I toggled Setup >Phase Detect AF Area  , metering center or Multi and the results still the same.  There's a Setup > AF Micro Adj. but I am not sure yet what does it do.
So, for those who think their NEX-6 Lens itself is not sharp, try DMF or manual focus to test it out first before concluding.
Weird to be quoting myself here but.. now I see others around the world encountering the same issue. Here at dpreview forum 'Possible BIG problem 16-50 with Nex 6! ' and NEX-6 & E PZ 16-50 owners, please help!

merchant9 , i am just guessing also reported the same issue previously??

This post has been edited by nlik: Dec 22 2012, 12:55 AM
TSnlik
post Dec 22 2012, 09:17 PM

876 posts

Fun day wink.gif. Highly recommended to visit the comic fiesta if anyone is free tomorrow. Mostly shooting cosplayers 1/2 day, end up TT 1/2 hour only. So many different colorful and Wow! customes to cheer your lenses up. nod.gif

For me happy to have 4 Nex, 1 Alpha and 1 Canon together shooting.

This post has been edited by nlik: Dec 22 2012, 09:31 PM
TSnlik
post Dec 24 2012, 12:08 AM

876 posts

QUOTE(lwliam @ Dec 22 2012, 11:25 PM)
sorry i couldn't make it over today, was caught up with something at home

Added on December 22, 2012, 11:25 pmshare pics.. share pics! rclxms.gif
Ok, Here are some of my day 1 captures -> nlik @ Comic Fiesta 2012 , day 1. Thanks for viewing!!.

For day 2..have to rely on mls or other Nex'ers.

QUOTE(mls_gamer @ Dec 23 2012, 10:57 PM)
MLS, Great to finally meet u there haha..

This post has been edited by nlik: Dec 24 2012, 12:10 AM
TSnlik
post Dec 24 2012, 01:11 AM

876 posts

QUOTE(sengwee1988 @ Dec 24 2012, 12:27 AM)
what is the effect used to make the picture look like comic? Is it a default filter in the NEX?
Nex-6 aplication "Picture Effect+", then select Illustration. thumbup.gif I love it!! ... and now u know why the others here are grouping together to purchase more cool Apps!!

However, do note that the original, unedited pic will not be available and the camera will take maybe 3 seconds to produce the results. Personally i feel that not every subject is ideal for this effect , so..some discretion would be good. Eg. Christmas trees just look like melted chocolate which to me is not appealing at all.

This post has been edited by nlik: Dec 24 2012, 01:13 AM
TSnlik
post Dec 24 2012, 01:56 AM

876 posts

QUOTE(sengwee1988 @ Dec 24 2012, 01:23 AM)
Is there a way we could take an original picture, then only apply the effect?
Definitely yes!!! but need to hunt for the Artistic filter lah.. takes more time.

Well.. this one is done after.. on the laptop using watercolor filter

Awa....... sleep sleeppp..... tomorrow worrk.!1!!
TSnlik
post Dec 24 2012, 09:57 PM

876 posts

QUOTE(wsl @ Dec 24 2012, 05:27 PM)
I suspect the issue u highlighted is similiar to what I experienced in my LA-EA2-NEX 5 combination. The default setting always looks to be out of focus, where manual gives sharper images. After looking around, I tried the AF Micro Adjust and I got sharper image then. How I did on the Micro Adjust is, using the chart ISO 12233 print out, place it on flat surface, mount the camera on tripod, at around 45 deg to the chart, use spot AF, and aim at the scale on the chart. try out from +20 till -20 to see which setting give the sharpest image on the Spot you focus at.

Hope this help.
Thanks smile.gif for the info. That should help the LaEa users. It's different with Nex-6 and it's selp1650 kit lens because AF micro adjust cannot be used in this case.
TSnlik
post Dec 27 2012, 12:15 AM

876 posts

Moderators have voiced out and placed a note on the 1st page. MODERATOR NOTE: "APP SHARING" IS NOT ALLOWED HERE.

Playmemories: END USER LICENSE AGREEMENT
I think this paragraph is being referred to here.

So, i think compliance is required here. nod.gif
-----------------------------------------------------------

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Dec 25 2012, 03:50 PM)
I see so many photos from mls gamer and nlik! How many were at the next gathering?? wink.gif

Added on December 25, 2012, 3:51 pm
I like the 2nd pic! Good job! Keep it up!!
Next gathering??
Alpha Teh Tarik Session - Pudu Plaza - 6th January 2013 . Available on the MySony Workshop Listing

This post has been edited by nlik: Dec 27 2012, 12:17 AM
TSnlik
post Dec 28 2012, 01:57 AM

876 posts

QUOTE(mls_gamer @ Dec 28 2012, 12:10 AM)
Guys....comment pls.. need advise for the photos below...

TESTING by JPOPLOVER19, on Flickr
Yea, she's got too much clothes on, haha.. It's 2am..

So what's interesting about her in the first place? What's the story u want to relay to the viewer? I think this reasoning is more relevant than just following photography rules .
TSnlik
post Dec 28 2012, 06:11 PM

876 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Dec 28 2012, 04:07 PM)
any1 can recommend spare battery for Nex6?
I know the Pisen brand that I used for Nex-5, cannot be used on Nex-6.
TSnlik
post Dec 31 2012, 07:03 PM

876 posts

QUOTE(angel-girl @ Dec 31 2012, 09:36 AM)
5r can use?quality ok?
Pisen quality was good for me on the Nex-5 and I used it for about a year. I tried it on Nex-6 but didn't work; so I believe it won't work on 5R too as they were released around the same time. Anyway, anyone else here tried Pisen on 5R???

rclxms.gif Anyway, Happy Nex Year 2013 to all of us!! rclxm9.gif . My new year resolution is Full H:D !! haha..

Added on December 31, 2012, 8:14 pmBTW, share your fireworks shooting tonight.

This post has been edited by nlik: Dec 31 2012, 08:14 PM
TSnlik
post Dec 31 2012, 10:53 PM

876 posts

QUOTE(mrg220t @ Dec 31 2012, 08:56 PM)
Guys, I am facing a weird problem with my NEX5N and my 18-55mm lens.
When shooting at f/22 there are weird spots showing up. But when shooting at f/4.5 then no spot shows up.
Example below:

As can be seen the second image got spots in it. Both are of the same white wall. Anyone know what causes it? Is it dirt in my lens/camera sensor? If so why one got spots the other don't have?
Anyone got experience on sending to Sony for cleaning? Under warranty no charge right?
Yes, no charge for sensor cleaning if under warranty. Before that can try to use a blower like Giottos rocketfirst. No worries, it has happens to most of us. Never blow with your own breath
TSnlik
post Jan 1 2013, 03:09 PM

876 posts

This year the Sony World Photography Awards will introduce the first Malaysia National Awards, just for local amateur photographers. To enter, all you have to do is submit your finest picture into one of the ten Sony World Photography Awards 2013, Open Competition categories*. Entries must be submitted by 4th January 2013.

Could you be Malaysia’s first National Award winner?

This post has been edited by nlik: Jan 1 2013, 03:09 PM
TSnlik
post Jan 2 2013, 11:04 PM

876 posts

QUOTE(mls_gamer @ Jan 1 2013, 02:39 AM)
She's pretty. Still available? laugh.gif

But yea, if I survive Saturday long distance ride then I'll try to attend the Alpha Teh Tarik Session - Pudu Plaza - 6th January 2013. I think can learn lots.

This post has been edited by nlik: Jan 2 2013, 11:33 PM
TSnlik
post Jan 5 2013, 11:24 PM

876 posts

QUOTE(EvanKeat @ Jan 2 2013, 11:05 AM)
yes! TT on Sunday 6/1/2013 @ 3pm. If you come early by 1pm I m sharing video tutorial for LR4 and CS6  tongue.gif

rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
Hi, 1pm event still on??

Added on January 7, 2013, 12:18 amwo.. got a simple free gift + a cup of teh, from TT this afternoon..

A packed turnout in the room just beside the lower ground kopitiam. I found the sharing on stage/concert performance photography refreshing, informative and interesting. Good job.

This post has been edited by nlik: Jan 7 2013, 12:18 AM

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0452sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 02:19 PM