7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

The SONY NEX Discussion Thread ver. 3N

TSnlik
post Feb 8 2013, 06:31 PM

876 posts

Happy Chinese New year Nex'ers, Nex'ians, Nex'onians..

TSnlik
post Feb 9 2013, 10:17 PM

876 posts

For Sony Multi interface.. This means .. an external mic solution ( model ECM-XYST1M ) for Nex-6, A99..

interesting..

This post has been edited by nlik: Feb 9 2013, 10:19 PM
TSnlik
post Feb 10 2013, 09:35 AM

876 posts

QUOTE(wiNd @ Feb 9 2013, 11:03 PM)
wow, looks good...how much is it?

i hope Sony can release a new compact flash unit for NEX (multi interface), something like Sony HVL-F20AM
I see it's about USD159.

QUOTE(johnchew91 @ Feb 10 2013, 02:31 AM)
Which External Flash can be attached to NEX 6 besides Sony flashes providing TTL?
Can Nissin 622 Mark 2 do the TTL/Auto job on NEX 6?
Found out that Nissin updated its compatibility for NEX 6. Are the ADP-MAA external adapter required?
http://www.nissindigital.com/2012/12/compa...rt-updated.html
my DI622 markII will fire via hotshoe on Nex-6. However, no TTL for me , manually set it cause my Di622 is for tongue.gif Nikon.

TSnlik
post Feb 14 2013, 02:42 PM

876 posts

QUOTE(leinnz @ Feb 14 2013, 09:25 AM)
How are we to snap a light which sparkles?
Am using nex 5R with 18-50mm lens
Sample of the photoshoot
F = f.29
Exp = 8sec
ISO = 3200

Try a few different White Balance settings for a start. Getting the white balance right when shooting is so much better than correcting it on the PC later. Sometimes really headache trying to correct the color casts in PostP.

Button FN > WB > Custom Setup. Then shoot at the wall ("assuming your wall is white"). That should help.
TSnlik
post Feb 17 2013, 08:57 AM

876 posts

New version 1.2 of ' smart remote control' app available on play memories
TSnlik
post Feb 21 2013, 12:00 AM

876 posts

QUOTE(poolcarpet @ Feb 20 2013, 09:54 AM)
rclxms.gif  same situation for me, sigma 30 on the camera almost all the time now smile.gif
same.. but 35mm 1.8 Nikkor stuck to my NEX most of the time for me. Kit lens goes on when i need fast action or group photo ( pass the camera to the waiter to take pic), or when i'm lazy. laugh.gif

So it does make some sense how RX-1 is a full frame with fixed 35mm, cause that focal length is good enough for lots of thing.
TSnlik
post Feb 26 2013, 09:49 PM

876 posts

QUOTE(nerdphotog @ Feb 24 2013, 11:10 PM)
Hi want to know how to get te apps for nex 5r/ 6 since its not applicable for m'sia yet.
If you have a PS3, you may try to use the same playstation ID on NEX playmemories apps.

QUOTE(nerdphotog @ Feb 26 2013, 12:04 AM)
Guys, anyone tried to update SEL 50mm 1.8 firmware?
supposingly after update it should enable phase detection, bt the option is still frozen (Unavailable) in my NEX.
Anyone facing similar issue ?
Or anyone know how to solve it?
Hmm..I guess you may be referring to the "Phase detection AF Area" ?? which only shows the central area that is used to focus. As others have mentioned, PDAF is automatically activated based on the aperture value , not from the camera menu.

http://www.manualowl.com/m/Sony/NEX-5R/Man...324192?page=131

Just to check, can go to Setup > version and share what version of camera and lens that you have now??

QUOTE(shahazwan @ Feb 26 2013, 02:48 AM)
i dont understand how to register my nex 5r warranty. i got it 2nd hand from good guy. only 1 month used or maybe just in box, ex owner sell it to me for only 1.8k.. after nego.. biggrin.gif

warranty count after register or after purchased? how if i dont register till a year. is it posible?
Warranty should be based on the purchase date. I registered mine on http://mysony.sony.com.my/
Perhaps you might meet your good guy seller again and ask him to Log Into mysony.com.my and show you the registration and warranty details. Should be roughly at the top center of the screen under "registered products"

This post has been edited by nlik: Feb 26 2013, 09:49 PM
TSnlik
post Mar 5 2013, 11:17 PM

876 posts

QUOTE(Nexuser3564 @ Mar 4 2013, 12:42 PM)
last time how you guys share the apps? i plan to get multi frame NR & bracket pro
It's Illegal to share playmemories apps.

Cool Nex-6, experiments. Can try at sony center NEx-6 i guess..?

Go to Menu > Camera > Object Tracking. choose an object to focus on and press the button at the center of the wheel. A white box will then appear to continuously track the object even if you move the camera around or the object moves around.

TSnlik
post Mar 6 2013, 10:33 PM

876 posts

Shall we have another TT session during the Sony Alpha experience next weekend on 16/17th ?
TSnlik
post Mar 7 2013, 11:18 PM

876 posts

QUOTE(leinnz @ Mar 7 2013, 09:57 AM)
I've registered, but not sure confirmed a seat. How do we check our confirmation.
COnfirmation received by email, and then Sony followed up with a Call. I've never gotten a call from them regarding events, so they are taking this event quite seriously.
TSnlik
post Mar 12 2013, 10:40 PM

876 posts

QUOTE(Atsutane-Shirane @ Mar 11 2013, 08:45 PM)
Forgive my noobness. But i need to ask... Did we really need Dry Box. LOL.

I know there already many thread around the world regarding the question but still i need honest opinion from you guys. B4 my NEX i got Samsung NX10. Start using it end of 2010 with single lense b4 buying another lense mid 2011, and still using both lense until today...

The thing is... I only store my camera + lens inside the camera bag and only take out when need to take photo, and i never seem to have fungus issue that i aware of...

Again forgive my noobness... smile.gif
Yes. At least get some silica gels for RM5 a pack. Otherwise collect from mooncake packaging, pastry and other food items that have silica/ moisture absorbant. I'm sure your lenses are worth more than these. I even keep a few packs of these in my camera bag. Kinda like the old saying "penny wise pound foolish", which we should try to avoid.

Oh yea.. once a while on a hot sunny day, expose your lenses directly to sunlight, still... do place them behind a window or something as we don't want dust n water to get it.. This supposedly helps to keep the fungus away too.

This post has been edited by nlik: Mar 12 2013, 10:47 PM
TSnlik
post Mar 15 2013, 01:05 AM

876 posts

NEX MEET UP at JOM ALPHA 2013 thumbup.gif

Venue: Zebra Square, Off Jalan Tun Razak
Date: 16th March 2013 and 17th March

Time: 11 am @ MAIN HALL ENTRANCE. (After the first talk has concluded, and the "Photo Shooting Opportunities" starts.

> I see Maluri station, Pudu station, Bukit Bintang station are about 1.5 KM away, so probably taxi or bus is a possibility.
> Not sure if non registered can enter or not, can anyone clarify??

Thanks nod.gif .Hope to see a few of you there n get to snap together .

16th march
1. Nlik
... (add num)

17th march
... (add num)

This post has been edited by nlik: Mar 15 2013, 01:07 AM
TSnlik
post Mar 16 2013, 12:17 AM

876 posts

QUOTE(LeoWillis @ Mar 15 2013, 09:39 PM)
just the 2 of us going?? i thought should have more people going
No worries, I got another gang there meeting up tomorrow haha. And surely will meet the DSLT photographers too, while making new friends there.
TSnlik
post Mar 19 2013, 08:05 PM

876 posts

ohh... I used manual focus for the catwalk.. with the Nikkor 35 1.8. Not confident on the 1650PZ in terms of sharpness and noise in that low light kinda situation. BUT may get lucky with the PZ1650 when then model so happens to get illuminated with the stage lighting.

Here are 3 from the Sony Experience, Guess Collection fashion catwalk , day 1.

NEX-6 superb thumbup.gif !!!

This post has been edited by nlik: Mar 19 2013, 08:09 PM
TSnlik
post Mar 19 2013, 11:40 PM

876 posts

QUOTE(LeoWillis @ Mar 17 2013, 11:36 PM)
i found that the Nex-6 focus is not doing very good in low light & moving object with the 16-50mm kit lens... most of my model shot in the Guess cat walk at Sony Experience 2013 are out-of-focus & overexpose/wash-out(due to the various lighting situation at the stage, in both Auto or Manual mode).

p/s: and i notice only when i look at the picture in my computer screen. Most of the pictures looks fine in my Nex6 LCD screen (perhaps it is because 3" vs 24")

I'm doing it in these modes/setting, but all in same result:
-Dial Mode: Manual, Superior Auto & Aperture
-Metering Mode: Matrix
-Autofocus Area: Multi
-Drive Mode: cont. Shooting
-Clear Image Zoom: On (16-50mm kit lens, some of the picture shot with x2 time zoom)
-Shuttle Speed: 1/80 +- (some below safety shutter speed)
-Focal length: 30 ~ 50mm x2 clear zoom
-ISO: 400~3200 (depends on Dial mode, Manual mode i keep from 400~1600max)
-hand held but leaning on the back of the chair (the blurness maybe affected by the rotation when i trying to aim at the walking models)

Anyway, a question to all the Sifus here.
In low-light for portrait shot, should i:
1.) turn the metering mode to center/spot weight ?
2.) turn the autofuocus area to flexible spot/center??
to help on the issues mentioned above??
i've go through a few photos, and i found out that i seems to be the backfocus issue like many users faced...
Don't mind me sharing my thoughts, based on the same situation we were all in. Putting the technical part aside, the shots have to start way before any model comes walking down the runway.

That means.. U got to have some visual idea in your mind which you would like to make real! To me... I love the flare effect on the hair, so i picked the spot which will directly face the spotlights.

At least 15 minutes before time, u have to assess the hall and see where the lights are, where's the end of the runway, where's the entrance to the stage, and stand where you think is the best spot. This itself helps a lot in getting the shot you want.

For the kit lens, I think it's best to get directly on the right side of the stage on day 1, and left side of the stage on day 2. This is because of the direction the models where turning when they reach the end of the runway; if luck was on our side, they would turn towards us and we get a shot at their faces, otherwise we'll only see their backs. When we are this close to the runway, WE DON"T NEED the CLEAR IMAGE ZOOM and can use F3.5 and a faster shutter which should help the pics for that session.

And if it there's still some focus hunting.. bite the bullet and pick DMF or MF and trust the focus peaking of our NEX, turn off the review, use Cont.mode /speed priority. So far no other competitor has anything better than Sony's Focus peaking as what i know of. Good Luck!.

This post has been edited by nlik: Mar 19 2013, 11:48 PM
TSnlik
post Mar 20 2013, 12:21 AM

876 posts

In the middle with the orange vest, is the Best Photo winner of the event. The vest was autographed by Michael Yamashita, Gary L. Friedman and i think..Motoyuki Ohtake

Picture by Kevin Ng Nex

Ok.. Next NEX possible outing.. 28th to31st march
Putrajaya Hot Air Baloon Festival
http://www.myballoonfiesta.com/

and

This post has been edited by nlik: Mar 20 2013, 01:01 AM
TSnlik
post Mar 25 2013, 08:22 AM

876 posts

Good Morning...
4 shots from, Sony Alpha Studio Experience workshop yesterday.

NEX-6 + SEL30m35 . SEL30 is Super sharp, great for close ups and will capture tons of detail!

TSnlik
post Mar 28 2013, 01:52 PM

876 posts

THere's a SELP18200 power zoom to try at Sony Center KLCC. It's attached to a VG-30. Nevertheless you get hands on with the lens. So far I found the damping and built quality to be excellent and silent. It has the zoom rocker on the left , the zoom is gentle and smooth. However I noticed an extra hump at the bottom, compared to the old SEL18200. I don't see any tripod mount on it.
TSnlik
post Apr 2 2013, 11:05 PM

876 posts

QUOTE(Redcross @ Mar 31 2013, 03:23 PM)
Some problems with my 16-50 SEL PZ lens today.
Somehow not recognizing the lens on my 5R

most probably i was cleaning my lens yesterday, i guess i clean the chip part? after that not recognizable till today. sad.gif

any service centre in KL i should go to send repair?
KLCC, The Curve are two places u can send for warranty claims.

Otherwise I read that u can try using a good quality pencil eraser.. and clean the gold colored contact points. Do this carefully, at your own risk and with the unit upside down to avoid dust from entering the lens or camera body.
TSnlik
post Apr 2 2013, 11:06 PM

876 posts

QUOTE(Ah hao @ Apr 1 2013, 10:06 PM)

5. user posted image

I like this one

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0517sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled